Amara Singapore

Hi jas,
'Looks' like a nice song. Nvr hear it b4. Mind 2 share it wif me, via email?

Hi Jo & socksham,
Me also gg 2 t wedg show, althou i've signed up. See u gals there
Think during t previous wdg show, amara gives very gd perks.
Socksham, Michelle also graduated fr NTU, was stayin same hall as me
hehe... all so qiao...
Jo, my banquet will b on 11/12, 10 days aft urs
1 day aft illac's

i am new to tis thread, but i realized that Amara has recently done a renovation? i only have about 150 guests, not sure if the Amara would be a suitable location for my small guests list...any comments? would love to hear more from you guys.thanks!

hi lilian,

email please...

hi lindy,

Maybe you can try to ask Amara if they allow you to have your small celebration at the swimming pool...

Hi Jas,

Thanks for the info....shall call Michelle nearer to my PS date...hopefully, the swimming pool is free of fuction...else, so disappointing...

Agree tat the more photo u like...more $$$ will b spend...kekeke....thk most pple choose more outdoor photo...how come u din chgn to slipper when goin for outdoor shot ?...i dun thk i can tahan wearing the high heel & walk ard the whole day...

Jas - you hv so many lobang for love songs....kekeke...oso like to hear [email protected]

hi lilian and tarepanjo,

You got mail!!! I just can't resist the song and I listen it over and over again, dreaming away... I'm going to play it during my solemnization, playing it over and over again.

I love this part of the song:

"[Starting here] Ooh, and I'm starting now
I believe [I believe in love], I believe
[Starting here] I'm starting right here
[Starting now] Right now because I believe in your love
So I'm glad to take the vow

Here and now, oh
I promise to love faithfully [Faithfully]
You're all I need
Here and now, yeah
I vow to be one with thee [You and me], yeah
Your love is all I need"

hi lilian,
Wow, Maksim. Very fast pace lay.... Which piece you intend to use?

My photographer told me that about 1 week to 10 days and he will call us to choose the photos. I guess this coming weekend will be choosing... Just can't wait to see the photos.

hi tarepanjo,
Because I'm short and my hubby tall. About more than 1 head different. So must wear high heel than look better in the photos. Anyway, my high heel shoe is only 2 and a half inche so quite ok.

Hi Jas,

can e-mai lme the song too.. thanks a lot

Me got the same problem as you.. shorter than my hubby by one head.. i heard that the poses for the PS will be quite limited due to height different. Is it true? guess i have to wear high heels too...

Which BS did u sign up with?? anyone here with Everbliss?? me ganna "hard sell" by them .. cant change as $600 deposit given

Hi Jas,

wow...that fast of ur BS....dun bust too much of ur budget hor...kekeke...

thk i will oso look for 2/1/2 inch shoe...i am not used to 3-4 inch high heel...

Hi Socksham,

You are not happi wif Everbliss ? I do realise tat alot of bride wan to sell their package away...

hi socksham,

I only wear 2 and a half inch and yet still shorter than him. But no worry, if the photographer is professional enough, he will take shoot that is like mostly sitting down. As for indoor PS, I stand on a yellow book to make me look higher. So no worry....

I took Paris.

Hi tarepanjo,
ya lor, because my BS afraid not enough time to produce.

agree agree. I tried 3 inches and feel not that comfortable. So I be it short. Just want to look natural....

So how you feel about the song?

hi socksham and jo,
sent

Hi jas,
Thks 4 t song. Yup, veri nice song
I also can imagine the poolside solemnization scene... will b veri romantic...

Haven't finished listenin 2 Maksim's pieces. So not yet decide which one. When i shortlist some, i'll send 2 u ok?

BTW, wan 2 ask u abt ur AD photographer Simon. Issit this Simon from www.simonvideo.com.sg? I called him juz now 2 enquire abt price, he said they have 8 professional photographers. Not sure if they're all good. Any idea?

Hi Jas, thks. Base on my opinion i would prefer a fast pace song and if rock music lagi gd (maybe becos i like rock music)
But overall that song u sent to me is very romantic and soothing to hear.
Do u have any fast pace song or rock music?

hi lilian,

Yes, he is the one. Oh, really. I did not know that they have 8 photogrpahers. By the way, I heard that Simon do video is the best. So has to insist him in doing the video.

This is the thread about his service:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/124453.html?1101866173

Maybe you can post this questions. I'm interested too so inform me if you had posted.

Have you signed up his package?

hi Jo,
Can feel that you are a rocky girls!!!

I don't have, most of the songs that I choose are of soothing and slow songs.

Hmmmm...... Maroon 5, She will be Love. This song is on the hit now... Not bad choice either.

Hi jas,
Have not sign up his package. Will probably go down n have a look at his/his photograpers' profile first b4 deciding. Hopefully can book an appt with him tis wkend or next. I heard he's always veri busy...

Hi Tare,
Any progress on ur wedding favour search?

hi lilian,

yes, he is very busy. Can only meet him in the weekday. I met him on a Monday and he was late. There were so many couples waiting for him.

By the way, you know where is he shop?

Sorrie for the late reply..
Jas: song is nice n soothing..

Tarepanjo: Me haven try out their services yet but read alot of negative comments so a bit worry now.... but i once went down to the shop to talk abt the details of the "contract" dun really like their lady boss. My coordinator is a auntie, she seems to be "trying" to be nice .. feel kinda very "jia".. hope things went well....

My AD is next yr Nov , do i need to find the photographer n videoman so fast ? Is it too early or its the norm to find a yr in advance like the banquet venues?

Some songs my sisters used in their weddings for reference
1st march in : Fallen / Perfect moment ( the one played in the Liu xing hua yuan part 1)

Food Serving: Beauty n the Beast - Be our Guest

Second march In: Cant take my eyes off you.. ( a very cheery n funky march in ... couple come in at the chorus only)

Some reference for u gals.

Hi Jo,

Saw your post in another thread u are lookin for hotel rendevzuos... me also lookin at 27 Nov 2005 for my banquet, but cant find venue that can meet my budget, so misht postphone my banquet to the monday 28 instead. U have any budget? or u have found already?? Amara 27 Nov ?

My sis held her wedding at rendevzous, the food n service okie.... the place is cosy.

Hi Socksham,
my budget is less than 600 nett. I have not sign up with Amara yet but since there is a bridal show this sat so i will be going to see what perks they can give me. I have a few dates to play with cos my mom had got the master to give a few dates.

Do u have any budget? What type of hotel are u looking?

Hi Lilian,

Hv KIV on wdg favours....kekeke...now, main focus is on bridal gown...both EG & WG goin 2 b MTM...headache sourcing for design tat i like...i shall also see how my budget..if i bust my budget on choosing PS photo...might hv to stick wif chocolate

How abt you ? What are you busy with nowsaday ?

Hi socksham,

If you seriously hv doubt in them...mayb, you can try to see whether your $600 can be change to other stuff...like tea dress to keep or make over-couple photo

most impt is that you must feel comfortable with them...otherwise, you will feel frustrated & can't enjoy the whole process...i hv a frenz who regretted choosing her BS....she dun like her gown, her photo...

It really depend on individual...i am very kiasu...i confirm my video & photographer 1 yr ++ in advance...reason being they r oni one-man show...if they are booked by other pple, i will not be able to use them...another thgs is tat they might increase their prices...i am oni 1 wk late & my videographer increase $100 more...my photographer also increase his price now...perhap, you can start looking ard now...

Hi Tare,
Ur KIV wdg favours r from where? Wdg favour will be my headache next year
Now, i'm headaching over AD photographer & my new hse. Din managed 2 successfully ballot for t Bedok HDB flat
, so hav 2 start looking 4 resales from tis wkend onwards...
Who's ur AD photographer? I'm trying 2 get more choices 2 compare compare...

Hi socksham,
Me also dun like t way Everbliss hardsell their package. There was once, me n bf walked passed their roadshow, an uncle 'pulled' my bf's into his booth n then try 2 sell us their package.

Seems like EB hard selling is well known.

Jo: Me budget 650 nett for weekday and 700 nett for weekend .. I only have one date that is 27.. my mum very superstitious, so i got to stick my customary that day. haha.. l managed to talk her round that banquet no need to follow... if not i "chiam"

Have u tried Club Chinois, read from other threads food is good n service good too.. i went down to see the ballroom before at orchard parade hotel, small n cosy.. put ard 25-27 tables will be nice. got 2 pillars if i remeber correctly.

Hi Lilian,

My meaning of KIV is pending for my wedding favour...leave it aside 1st...

My photographer is CF Tien
http://www.tienfoto.com/

Bedok never hv walk-in-selection ? If buying resales, better to check with their neighbours like got pple knock on their door, anybody passed away, etc....

Hi Socksham,
my sis had went to attend wedding at Orchard Parade Hotel before and she said the service and food not bad.
How abt Grand Plaza Pkroyal Hotel, quite nice and got jacuzzi too.

Hi socksham,
I've been 2 a wdg banquet @ orchard parade last yr too. I like t cosy ambience & food is not bad. Actually it was one of my choices too, but unfortunately it is booked for my wdg date.

Hi Tare,
Yes, there was one walk-in selection exercise early tis year i think. But those flats r old ones, moreover the q outside HDB t nxt morning after news announcement is already so so long... This recent ballot exercise r for new flats. Thks 4 t reminder on gettin a resale, they nvr come across my mind...

Abt CF Tien, I talked 2 him jus now. I find him quite friendly n t photos at his website also not bad. I'll consider. Most likely will drop by SimonVideo tis comin Sat after t Amara show 2 hav a look at their portfolio.

hi lilian,

Yes, but he rented a small area from Wedding News BS. So you have to enter into Wedding News BS and ask for Simon.

The first time when I went there, we can't locate the shop and in the end we went to the backlane. Knock on the door, and someone opened the door telling us that this is the back door of Wedding News BS.

Hi Lilian,

No problem...just hv to be more cautious when buying re-sale...hope that you can find your ideal flat soon....

He is a nice uncle...likes to share on his experience...give alot of tips...i hv a colleague & another frenz oso using him as photographer...will you be mtg him ? You can tell him recommended by me...see whether he can give you cheaper rates...kekeke

Hi Jas,

Are you goin to select your PS photo this wkend ?

hi tarepanjo,

I'm not sure because I have yet to receive any call from my BS yet. I hope so beause I'm so excited to see the photos. Don't how it will turn out.

hi, I am considering Amara poolside for my wedding. Anyone same here? Heard there is a indoor venue besides the pool, anyone has any idea which room is that? Thanks ;)

hi coyote,

Me, but it only a 15minutes affair whereby I'll held by solemanization there. Follow that will be dinner at the ballroom.

I'm not sure of the indoor venue beside the venue. What I knew about the indoor venue is that there is a toilet, a gym and SPA.

Michelle told me is actually an alfesco shelther dinning area for 50pax by the pool loh. Nvm, tmr I am gng to meet her and take a peek... Hopefully is the ONE coz my wedding in 1mth time :P

jas - is venue deco inclusive?

tks but venue not settled yet, very panic now. I just worry that the sheltered area can't take in my 60-70 guests...haiz...

hi coyote,

Do not worry too much because we can't predict or maybe "control" the weather. Let natural take its course. Anyway, your ROM is next month so I guess not like now, rainy season.

It best that you talk to Michelle to have a backup plan.

hi coyote

i had my wedding at Amara's poolside in Oct and it was fantastic. i'm not sure if the sheltered area can take 60-70 people, I'm sure Li Ping should be able to advice you on that but there was a back up area in case of bad weather on wedding. we had to pay for the use of the back up area if it's utilised.

thankfully, we had a bright sunny weather for our wedding (ours was a lunch affair). we didn't use the back up area but our guests cos of the 'wonderful' weather, it became too hot for our guests to sit at their tables to eat their lunch, so, they were scattered everywhere BUT at their tables.

we apologised our guests and they were a good sport and said they got free sun tan from our wedding.

overall, we had a wonderful experience holding our poolside wedding at Amara and I'll definitely reccomend the place to other brides
hope ur negotiation works out well this evening

No prob jas ;)

Yvonne, tks for sharing. I oso tot its gonna to very hot in the afternoon, so plan to have cocktail session in late afternoon to have the day view and proceed for sheltered area for dinner. Michelle attended to me, she advised 5 tables at the sheltered area. And if really want 1-2 more tables they will be put outdoor. I am stuck here loh...hmmmm... Yvonne u have any photo to share with me? If have, my email is [email protected] Tks ;)

Jas when foto ready show me ur pics can? BS very good at pysco u to top up one. Most of my frds spent $2k & above to topup. I boh lui, die die take 8 additional pics at $380 only :P

Saw the pics & forum comments, the service provided to dreamdream is so nice I wld think.

Hi all, I'm interested in having my wedding dinner at Amara next year but unfortunately was unable to attend the charity show yesterday. Anyone can tell me what perks they provided in addition to their current packages?

Hi Yvonne, can share what dishes are nice? Were they served hot or at least warm coz I noticed many reviews saying the food were served cold but I suspect those were refering to the banquet food. Wonder is the buffet meals the same situation?

Choosen my photos. Had a headache after the choosing. So difficult to choose!!!

My hubby and I keep on reminding ourself that only 10 photos which cost $650. When selecting, we choose what is within our budget. Flitering and filtering, counting the number of pictures and counting.

After that, realise that our package was digital phototaking but the layout is those normal one. Meaning album is portrait and the page is 1 big picture and maybe some small square pictures within a page.

The guy keep on asking us to take hotstamping instead of the normal printing. We compare the both album and hotstamping does really look nice. So we took hotstamping.

And it cost $1400!!!

My hubby and I decided to split the money and each of us pay $700.

Anyway, ALL the photos that we have taken will return to us as a CD. There are about 200 plus pictures!!!

hi coyote,
Sure, no problem, will show you the pictures. My BS will pass me the CD after chinese new year.

Yes, I'm just like one of your friend.
Say $650 and in the end $1400.