Amara Singapore

Hi Joelle, Then u start at 7.30 or 7.45 by then after the 3 hours the dinner will b ready lor.. I think nowadays Beer are not so popular liao

Hi Chatterbox,Oh u oso thinking of signing up with Amara... when is your AD??? Is Amara your 1st choice??? This saturday i cant man,cos FH birthday... going for a celebration for him.

hi Karen,
I did enq quite a no. of htls. All out of my budget. I luv Amara exclusive reception n their pricing fits my budget. But -ve pt is that it got low ceiling.

Now Amara having promo till end of this mth. Very attractive deal for wkday package. 10% off per tbl. I will be taking their wkday package. My AD in June.

Hi Chatterbox,

yes,is low ceiling but is okie as long as you love the ballroom setting and oso ambience.

So how much is your per table? So when is Wedding day?

Hi Karen,
wkday is 629nett/tbl, so 10% off per tbl abt 560+.. That's a very gd deal. No corkage charge for duty-paid wine and free flow of beer. And 9 course somemore

So which r the other htls u looking @?
I can email u the packages if I have them....

wow,thats a very good deal. Moreover there is free flow of beer man... Hmmm,the actual package for weekday already have free flow of beer liao rite???

What are the packages you have... maybe you can email to me and let me have a look if you dun mind lor.

i m planning to go korea 4 honeymoon.hw abt u gers??

jus called liping todae,will b meeting her nex fridae.my package no free flow beer...mayb will try bargain wif her see she can allow it not since mine's weekday aso...wahhhh chatterbox..dats bery worthwhile.i m paying 688nett leh...but i took up the package beg of this yr...coz needed to make sure e date was secured as our date was aso specially selected.

our date was aso calulated for us based on the entire family info..a nun did it for us.

hi chatterbox, u got ur package during the bridal show is it? Heard that they offer gd package during their promotion...

Hi cookie, i am planning to go europe but after my wedding is still winter so will wait til end spring then go.. But must see how the budget left after the wedding... Korea is a very nice place to go for honeymoon especially a place called Cheju (korean call it honeymoon island).. Very relaxing and refreshing place

Hi Shell,wow korea...thats a nice place. My parents went there for holiday too... they love the place so much. See whats the budget left for your wedding,then decide whether to go anot.

cookie,
eeh it tot wkday package all along is 629nett? no huh? u mean they reduce their package recently.

shell,
i haven't sign up. the promo last end of this mth... most likely signing up after mtg Liping....

all,
any perk that we can bargain for?
any1 manage to get free usage for a rm for the day time?

hi shell,

my wedding date is fixed. it 28 mar. was afraid that the attendance is poor but however more perks!

hi chatterbox,
where u sign up the package? is it from the bridal show? hmmm..... mine is $629nett.

for the perks, i bargain more person for the food tasting. amara is quite inflexible when come to perks!!!

jas - so any luck for that? is the promo in conjuction with the bridal show lor.... for sign up by end of the mth.
BTW, u took up wkday package too? which wkday? I got 2 dates for wkday, but the 1st date was taken up liao, so using the 2nd date.... Mine will be on Mon, very worried abt the Mon blues

hi chatterbox,

mine is a weekday package!!! hahahaha.... mine is a Monday as well.

hmmm.... i'm worried too. part of the reason why i sign up with amara coz of the hotel is near to MRT! i only invite relatives and close friends. Can only cross fingers that the attendance is good.

btw, i read other thread that actually weekdays attendance is as good as weekend. guess had to do RSVP.

So when is your AD?

chatterbox,
i was offered two package for weekday.

1. $598nett for 8course
2. $688nett for 9course

perks wise...tink its abt the same.

as for day room...amara DOES NOT provide FOC.gotta pay.i was quoted S$90/day room...not bery worth it.will bring it up to liping again.i only have one 9 stay at bridal suite only...will demand for one more though...

wow...so many msgs to catch up....

my package is $638nett leh...u gals packages is so worth it...how come they got so many diff prices ?

mine is on a Thurs...as i got no wkend date tat r suitable 4 me...

cookie : i'm thking of goin NZ for honeymoon...kekeke

chatterbox : low ceiling can oso give a more cozy ambience...most impt is still the overall look of the ballrm...some other htl ceiling is so plain...

Joelle : Yes, we are finally not the only one...there r so many msgs to catch up...kekeke...
hv u take a look at sweet secret website ? how is it ? i personally prefer diff cakes pack in 1 box kekeke...more choices..

IKEA is a gd place to get nice furniture...but oni prob is to fix it...i got quite alot of my kitchen stuff frm there...

Shell : So u r not goin 2 book any tour ? Nata fair is coming soon...

Hi Tare, I am planning to go Honeymoon next May so it is too early to book any tour.. How abt Joelle..

I was also suprise to Amara got so many prices. Thought the rate was standard and only perks different...

shell: my honeymoon postphone cos AD is dec, no pt going when i got to pay extra so most likely shift it till may or august 05. Still depends on when my apt will come cos we are expecting it by then too. Me tot of going to tasmania but now thinking of Egypt :P..KOrea is a nice place, been there once but nv went to cheju island (v wasted)!

Hey agree with u that beer is not so popular now, red wine is more IN now... ok then i will take ur advise starts at 7.15pm. - thanks!

tare: i been to sweet secret's website, looks good leh. i will go to the shop today and take a look at their brochure see wat they can offer. I am looking at abt 20+ boxes so the different pcs cake sounds a bit more ex...

Hi Joelle, U check with Li Ping again roughly when the dinner will end lor.. As far as I know ppl will tend to left by the end of 7dish cos I believe the timing is all right.. Can u let me know the outcome of ur cake hunting.. I am thinking of sweet secret or Prima Deli.. I dun like Bengawan solo... I think u better go before ur apartment come.. If not u will not hv the moon to go anywhere if ur house is reno is not completed.. Even after the renovation there is sill some minor defects here & there u find u it annoying if they are not resolved

hi joelle and tarepanjo
i intend to give a box of chocolate instead of cake. this is what my mom gave for my brother and sister wedding. hehehe....
sound weird but she said as long it is something sweet will do. Furthermore, can distribute anytime.

hi tarepanjo,
i attened a wedding dinner yesterday, which is a Thursday as well. Attendance was 100%. But the problem is that the dinner start at 9.00pm due to the relative is late. One of my friend had their AD on Thursday as well and everybody was early, dinner start at 8.15pm. Guess have to keep on informing guest to come early.

gals,

ya lor y Amara got so many diff pricing. I was offered any 8 couse dinner. Is only 1 price @ 629 nett for 9 course.....

tare,
yup i willing to compromise the low ceiling coz of the reasonable price n perks lor.... BTW, can we bring in duty-free liquor? wat the corkage charges like if not duty-paid?

gals,
any1 not serving liquor? I was thking that coz nowadays plp hardly drink maybe only the elderly....

hi chatterbox,

yes i do serve liquor because of the elderly. My mom want to save her face!!! As for the duty free liquor, most of my friends do bring duty free liquor so i thought of doing so as well!

have u check with lipeng if the charge u for bringing duty free liquor. coz most htls dun allow duty free n will impose corakage charge with is not cheap....

Anyway, i will check with her tmr.... will update u gals.....

Shell : If u r thinking abt May...i thk March...will hv another Nata fair...but May is oso consider holiday season due to the sch holiday..unless u goin on early May...

ya loh, i m really surprise tat they hv so many diff prices...wonder any diff in perks ? fd ?

i hv a frenz who attend a wedding at Amara yestersday...she says the fd is gd...portion is big...theme is Grandeur...she commented tat it's very classy & elegant...says i hv make the correct choice

Joelle : Is it becos of the Zoe's travel show tat make u wan 2 go egypt ?....kekeke...i like the "xia ri xiang qi" scene in Korea...so tempted to go Korea...but NZ will still b 1st choice..

agree with Shell tat beta to go HM b4 ur hse start reno cos u really nd to go down & chk out occasionally...oversee & make chgnes as & when there r mistake...

My frenz will order their cake...she says got 4ever frenz bear design...very nice...

Jas : chocolate is unique...kekeke...my cousin ever give fruit tart...but dun last long...after 2-3 days...become mouldy...

hopefully, my attendance will b 100% as well...i wan my dinner to start early cos the next day...alot of pple still hv to work...pray hard...

Chatterbox : my corkage charges is waived...u might hv to ask Li Ping whether can ur be waived...htl will advise us not to bring in duty free liquor...but i thk bringing in afew...they will close one eyes...

I will bring liquor...cos i thk elderly will definitely wan to drink...

joelle :
- the walnut butter cake from prima deli costs S$7.50/box. my parents love it - cheap and good!

- mine was a sat wedding dinner, so only have 1 barrel of 30l draught beer, didn't have free flow of beer. perhaps, you can serve it only during the dinner, i think that's good enough. no good for guests to drink on an empty stomache too!

- played "Answered Prayer" for my 1st march-in. for the 1st dish, i played a soundtrack from Saltiblanco.
- besides the 30l free beer from amara, we also served 10 bottles of hard liquor, 40 bottles of red wine, and 10 bottles of white wine - all wiped out! we were shocked!

how many tables will you be having?

jas : i didn't timed my march-in
you mean you just want to play one song for both 1st march-in and first dish presentation?

chatterbox : amara's low ceiling isn't that bad afterall cos they have the lighting effect which does make a difference to it

shell : me also went europe for honeymoon last nov, also during winter but no regrets about it!
should go and experience the winter and christmas mood in europe, it's simply romantic!

hi amy,

yes, i just want to play one song for both 1st march-in and 1st dish presentation. Do you think it is ok? will it be difficult to time?

hi tea,

u can always feel free to contact Amara for the package and menu. They will provide you with a booklet for the theme as well as menu and you can get to know more about the hotel.

met Liping last wkend.... I'm now waiting for them to prepare the contract.
BTW, do u all pay the deposit 1st then wait for the contract or vice-versa.

Din get much perk... Anyway I din ask for much as everythg was included in the normal package liao.... And also, anythg to look out in the contract?

hi tea,

u can get the package from amara website

If u r looking for a wkday package, currently they r having a promo till end of this mth....
Very attractive.

shell: ok i will check with Li Ping on tat, just went to 1 dinner yesterday, think u are right can start beer at 7.15 - 7.30pm - 10.30. Most ppl have finish or stop by then.Din get to hunt for the cake last weekend but will do it tis week. Let u know on the outcome.

Go b4 apt comes, ok will take note of tat.hey tasmania v cold during winter? I am now thinking of going to Hokkaido leh... hehehehe

jas, chocolate! tats interesting, wat sort of chocolate ur mum gave? I guess attendance got to RSVP early to be able to judge.

chatterbox, i tot amara is quite strict on no duty-free wine? I think there are youngesters tat drinks liquor... do tat note of tat but best to limit the bottles, u dun want ppl to sabo u using tat...

tare: glad to hear tat!! think we all made a good choice by choosing Amara.. heheeh *Boastful* Yeah watch zoe tay's show and made me thinking of going to Egpyt hehehe but now change again :P. I want my dinner to start on time too. dun want to drag too long... ppl starts to go off after 6/7 dish if it starts late...

amy: will be having abt 33-36 tables... thinking of the wine now... 40 bottles of red and 10 bottles of white... good to serve both? how is ur beer consumption? didn't open any new barrels?

jas: i think using same song for both things quite difficult to time leh.... must bear inmind u are in a gown and difficult to walk and ppl may call u when u are walking and may delay the timing..

tea: u can also go down to amara, they have a table set up at the lobby and the booklet is there too. Best if u call Li Ping then she canarrange to show u ard.

chatterbox: i paid deposit after i sign the contract.

Hi Joelle, if u go Hokkaido, u must go in Jan is the best time.. My colleagues just when last Jan and I saw his photos very scenic...

hi tarepanjo,

Went to Punggol Marina last weekend. Personally, i feel there are not much shots to take there except the lalang. Can't image myself wearing the wedding grown, under the hot sun, wearing the high heel shoes and take pics there!

hi chatterbox,
Pay deposit first than wait for the contract send to you by the postman. And have to reply back within a time frame.

hi moonny,
carberry chocolate with the tin box. The brand has no preference as long it is in a tin box.

Yes, i agree with the timing. Very difficult to get the timing rights, maybe i will forget the idea. However, i will still check with Liping on the timing, provided that she know!

I had signed the contract. Any idea when can I expect a call from Liping before the AD to arrange for the theme, food tasting, collecting of invitation card, etc?

thanks for all your replies...:>
i already called amara for the package.
btw, how's the food serve from amara ??

thanks !

tea, heard tat is quite good, in big portions.

jas, i went punggol marina for PS too but i find quite a no of location for shots. (lallangs, beach, stony beach, forest, roads, jetty). normally we dun noe where to take the shots but photographers will know. they have special spots to go. Normally hotel will contact u 3 months b4 AD, if not u can contact them then too.

shell: didn't check out the wine part yet will do tat probably nt mth since i am taking lv. so will go during weekday not so crowded. but went once to take a look, they do have a large range... january ya... but CNY ard the corner leh.....

Hi Joelle, remember to source for a wine supplier who can returned the unconsumed wine. In this way u can save alot.. Australian red wine is nice and can suit ppl taste easier... Carbernet is very fruity..

After hearing what u said abt punggol marina, it seems like a nice place to take PS.. A bit regret gg to Sentosa liao, expensive and nothing much except the beach, chapel and lotus pond...

hi joelle
oh realy, so there is beach, stony beach, forest, roads, jetty. Than i have to check with my photographers. Hmmm.... I will reconsider about pungol marina.

i will be getting signature scroll from my BS. It is a big card with our wedding photo in the centre and guests are able to sign around the border. I like the idea as i feel that i can frame it out and hang on the wall. I will not be getting the signature scroll from Amara. Any idea what to exchange the perks for? I feel that it is a small thing and thinking of forgo the signature scroll from Amara? Any comments?

hi shell,

In the previous thread, you mentioned that you will get the wedding favours from Thailand and will ask liping to exchange sometime else for the chocolate. Does liping allow you to do so? I am thinking of doing wedding bell for the guest. Just wonder if you can get other perks.

Ash here, just join this thread.
I have just signed up for Amara last week.
My AD would be in Jun'05.
Was at the Wedding show earlier this month.

shellL: yeah will take note to take under consignment, carrefour have it too (consignment i mean). Hye sentosa is nice place too, each pl is unique just like the couple mah. It not so much where u went to PS, its who u PS with.

jas: i will not take amara's signature book too.. i will be trying for more car park coupons... dunnoe if it will work..

Hi Ash, welcome!

hi shell,

so u forgo the chocolate?

hi joelle,
we did enquiy about the carpark coupons and liping said no problem. So I guess i have to forgo the amara signature book as well.

Jas : I oso agree tat it's difficult to hv the same songs for march-in & 1st dish...dun 4get after ur march-in, u hv to cut cake....then the 1st dish...

Chatterbox : After i recv the contact frm Amara...i went down to sign & pay the deposit...

Tea : My frenz just attent a wedding at Amara last wk...she says the fd is gd, portion big...services of the waitress & waiter r fine as well...they chgn the plate after every dish & top up the drink...the dinner start ard 8.45pm...

Shell : U pay how much for entrance to Sentosa ? My frenz mention tat she take picture at a tree in Sentosa...as long as the photo turn out nice...it enuff...no regret anymore...

Ash : Welcome ! Btw, what is ur wedding favours ? chocolate as well ?