Amara Singapore

Amy : That really alot of wine & hard liquor...all wipe out...btw, did u bring in duty paid hard liquor ?

Joelle : U still hv times to decide on where to go...i m not surprise if u chgn again...kekeke...there's no way to go all the places for ur honeymoon...mayb, can tell ur hb to bring u to other places tat u hv aim during ur wedding anniversary...kekeke

hi tarepanjo,

Oh, i'm thinking of putting the cake cutting ceremony, champane pouring and yum seng after the 2nd march-in. My plan for first march-in is:-
1. Brides and Groom march-in.
2. Brides and Groom sit down.
3. Lights slowly switch off or dim.
4. Waiter and waitress march-in.
5. Waiter and waitress serve dish.
6. Lights slowly switch on or brighten.
All with 1 song. I don't know is it too risky. hahaha....

any comment for the above?

Hi Jas, Still deciding mayb give both chocolate and the wedding favour..

Hi Tare, The admission per pax is $2 and car is $10 so total $16 lor.

Help ladies,

Hope to join you all im actually planning to sign this thursday as the promotion package will be over end of this month.

See the comments and compliment i think not bad to hold over ther as the promotion package is really very worth... can anyone please give me advise whether can i put my hearts down and sign the contract...

Hi qiqi,

Me too signing the contract by this thurday to enjoy the promo......

Have u seen the actual setup liao? It's very nice.... I thk u can rest assured.... U getting the wkday too? when is yr AD?

So did u manage to et the FREE printing? Must be the 1st 9 couples to sign up...

qiqi, why dun u arrange to meet Li Ping and take a look urself. Go there and view the ballrm & suite.(go again by urself if u have been there b4), then u decide. So far all of us are quite satisfied with Amara, thought litte complains here and there but overall quite happy of our choice. To me Amara is reasonably priced, good location, near MRT, nice ballroom , excellent reception area. hehehe :p

Shell: dun worry i am sure ur pix will turn out well! prepare to have headaches & heartaches when choosing!! hehehe.. so carpark coupons is no problem then.... hey ladies just to share with u, I have asked Li Ping for a glass bowl to be place at the reception then I am going to put some chocolates inside. So just in case my guest goes hungry at least there are chocolates to eat.

Tare: hehehe... see where zoe tay goes nt maybe i will change again hahahah

jas; I still think quite risky cos might miss the climax of the song and dilute the effect...got to timed it carefully.cos it totally out of our control on tat day so the person playing it got to control well.

Hi Chatter,

Nope sad didnt have the chance to see to real set up but seen the ballroom not bad quite like the theme and the cake design. Wow can rest assured liao.. if you say that.. phew....
My AD is on the 29 Sept 2005. Is it too early?? I dun think so lah hor...
Nope i didnt get the free printing, had check with her she say strictly for first 9 couple...
so you going down this thursday to sign?

Hi Joelle,

Yah did actually ask her and wanted to view the setup but heard from her that the next wedding will be on two weeks time which is too late le! Ok heard from you gals so many good comments than bad, maybe i can set my mind down.. hehe...

Anybody who had held the wedding there, can share some photos with us???

ok, maybe it is too risky. I shall forget about the march-in idea and shall follow the traditional way.

hi shell,
ya, i'm deciding of giving both the chocolate and the wedding favours. What you you get for the wedding favour in thailand?

qiqi: hehe.. then Welcome to the big family!

jas: i am also following the traditional way... cun think of any interesting ideas... hehehe...

hey just an idea, attended a wedding and the wedding favours is a photoframe. Those fabric type, looks like a card open up to 2 pockets inside which can be use for pix. Quite nice

Hi qiqi,

I m new to tis thread but hv been following up. I need to let u noe tt my AD is oso on 29Sep05 n i hv already booked n cfm e date with Li Ping tis afternoon.
I hv to let u noe so tt u dun made a wasted trip down to Amara tis Thurs unless u hv other available dates to choose from.

My apologies if tis is a bad news for u :-(

Thanks for the welcome....

Hi Jas,
The wedding show was ok.
They had all four themed table setting on display.
both my hubby n I prefer the Glamour theme and the centrepiece from Dream theme.
Natural theme was to green.. dont think my mum would like it... she hates green... sure would nag...
Romantic a bit china n oldly since only the VIP table will use coloured tablecloth n chair cover.

The Dream theme is blue based but only avail for the more expensive package... think it comes with a blue theme stationery or somethin... would have to check with Li Ping

manage to try their fusion food n the famous cod fish in bonita sauce. It was good. But most of the food were a bit cold. Mayb coz we were served at abt 9+.

Hi Tare,
Ya I have chocs too...think at the moment Amara only has choc no matter which package. But LiPing says they are sourcin for somethin new..

welcome to LiLi and QiQi too... kinda coincidental both of u have similar names n choosin similar date too...
QiQi hope you can find another better day.

Dont worry QiQi, the table setting is quite nice.. love their centrepieces.. usually a mixture of candle and fresh flower for VIP.
then for guests table is floating candles and fresh flowers..

jas, I think the march-in song should set the romantic mood of your entrance.. you shd nt allow the FOOD share the same impact of the song.

Chatter, when is your AD?

shell : i had 39 tables, including 2 vip tables.

jas : normally, couples will choose a slow song for 1st march-in, and fast song for 1st dish. if you use only 1 song, you need to find an appropriate song to address the 2 different moods. any song in mind already?

joelle : with 36 tables, don't think you need to open the L-shaped, right? we just wanted to give our guests a choice between red or white wine, so it's up to them knowing that most will prefer red wine
nope, didn't open new barrel of beer - with hard liquor + red wine + white wine, who wants to drink beer

tar : mine all duty-paid liquor.

qiqi : oh no, will you be changing your date? if not, need to quickly source for alternative venue. anyway, here's a pic taken on my wedding day for your viewing...

165919.jpg

lili : welcome to the amara brides family! which bridal boutique did you choose?

Hi Ash,
Thanks for e welcome :=)
So u hv oso signed up with Amara, i suppose our choice is e rite one. M impressed with e ballroom..quite zen look.
Though low ceiling, but it makes e whole ballroom veri cosy.
I had attended a fren's wedding tis Jun at Amara n generally e food is great..hopefully when our time comes, e standard is maintained or improved ^-^

Hi Amy,
i hv not scout around for bridal boutique cos juz settled on e wedding venue n since my AD is only a yr later, will take my own sweet time :p to look around. U hv any recommendations?

amy: yeah i dun think i will need to open the L shaped. Erm... was thinking whether i should give white wine... may be i should. hehe. Hey did Amara charge u for the cockage for ur wines?

Ash: What is the centrepc for the dreams theme? I was told that if u want to upgrade to dream theme, u got to top up $500+.

Qiqi: o dear, u may want to source for another location or another date... stil have time though..

Lili: welcome!

Hi Ash,

Did u ask Li Ping for any extra perks other than wat is given in e package? Do u mind sharing with me? Thank u :-)
I had a hard time gettin extra perks from her..such as e projector, she is chargin me abt $260 per unit...imagine hv to pay tis amt for a 10 min use..quite unwilling to pay tis amt leh :=(

Hi LiLi,

So it you who call her yesterday huh... actually quite sad coz only limited date.. but dun worry managed to get another date which is ealier than you 15 Sep. Gal, what are the perks she given you???Y dun you ask for free usage of projector.. i think can discuss.

Thanks Ashleigh /Amy /Joelle,

Managed to get another date as the package relly look attractive and so many goods comments from you gals...

Amy,
How many tables you had for that wonderful night?? abit dark cant see properly but seem so cosy...

Hi Ash,

My AD is in June. The 1st date that I want was always taken up by another couple. Hence I settle on the 2nd date

Give me FIVE. u got the same taste as me... Luv the grandeur theme n like the centre piece for the Dream theme... Very nice! I was also there for the bridal show.

Lili,
I din manage to bargain for any perks... Like the gals mentioned, they r very inflexible.... But I quite happy with the promo package anyway....

QiQi,
is even nicer with the actual setup. Initially I was not very impressed when I saw their empty ballroom. Looks very longish...

Amy,
do u find the aisle abit narrow? It appears to me that it seem quite narrow for the couple to walk thru :P

Hi qiqi,
M glad tt u hv another date available :=)
so sori cos i only hv a date.
But really happy for u ^-^
I onie managed to get an extra 5% for e carpark coupons...
I hv asked her for free usage of e projector, but she din agree cos she told me tt they dun hv spare in e hotel n need to get it frm their contractor.
Tom i m goin down to meet her, will try to negotiate again, if cannot, then will try to source it frm outside cos $260 plus is too expensive.

Hi chatterbox,
i do agree with u tt they r rather inflexible, mayb is becos of tt 10% discount entitlement.

Hi Joelle,
Thanks for e welcome :=)

Yah chatter,
me gng down tomorrow after work hope no more calls that there is changes of anything if not will be very sad.. sob^^ Are you gng down tomorrow to sign the package?

HI Lili,
Yah thank god! i though you had sign the contract le yesterday. or you gng tomorrow just to discuss with her regards the perks huH!! yah maybe if really inflexible maybe you can try to source your own maybe cheaper...what time you gng down tomorrow?

qiqi,

yup I'm gg down tmr....

same as lili, only mangage to get 5% more for parking coupons....

I got the FREE printing also, but that is a $100 voucher. Got the pay the excess.

I will try to borrow my co. projector

Hi qiqi,

I hv booked e date tentatively earlier with her but not aware tt ur AD is e same as mine.
I hv cfm e package with her over e phone yest n will make e deposit on Thurs. Meanwhile, will c if i still can get e projector free. Though hvnt sign e contract, verbal confirmation is acceptable.

Actually i only got to know ur AD thru tis thread after i cfm with Li Ping n hv understood frm her tt it will b on 1st come 1st serve basis.

My appointment with her is 8pm.
Wat abt urs?

If u r confirmin, its best u let her know first in case anyone b4 u had e same date. So to play safe, its best to call her early tom to cfm b4 u meet up with her so as to secure e date.

Welcome Lili & qiqi !!! Glad to find more & more Amara bride here...my AD is even later than u gals....13 Oct 05...but i hv confirmed my deal with Amara in June...kekeke...

Ash : really hope tat they can chgn the wedding favour to somethgs else...i dun really like chocolate...after eating...no more...cannot keep for memory...

Joelle : Gd ideas leh....can give guests eat chocolate during the cocktail session...but just afraid tat there will be leftover chocolate wrapper everywhere...esp if there's alot of kids...

Jas : I agree...it's should be a diff songs for your march-in & 1st dish...

ladies : will u be having childhood to grow up montage as well as morning ceremony highlight ?

Thank you for welcoming ladies..

LiLi, oic you confirm with her earlier le huh! Mine also tentatively booked the date just this week and she agree which i find puzzled as if you had booked she shouldnt tell me that still available, and i think she tell me that you actually yest on the way down to pay deposit.. so sad...is she telling lies.. anyway as long we can get a gd service after contract is more imptant right... i had make the booking tomorrow with her colleague 8.30pm to see her. yah better confirm with her tomorrow morning as she is on leave today. Regards the projector did she agree verbally to complimentary to you?? "" maybe you confirm earlier than me!!" heheh

Hi Chatter,

What time you gng down? lili gng at 8pm and me 8.30pm... oh are you the first 9 couple that you can get the free printing????

Hi qiqi,

Prob she din wan u to b angry n b mistaken, tt's why she lie to u tt i on my way down to make e deposit pymt. But i tink she is a nice lady, so no worries k :=)
No, she din agree to compliment me for the projector, she is chargin me abt $260..i was tinkin of negotiatin with her again tom...but i tink e chance is veri minimal.
I suppose she must hv many appointments tom evenin cos is e last day to enjoy e addtl priviledges..esp e 10% discount for all tables which is realli a good deal...i guess all of us wld not wan to miss it rite :=)

so ur appointment at 8.30pm...prob u r e last customer she is meetin...i tink its gd to b e last one so tt she won b rushin for time n u can take ur time to negotiate with her.

hi lili and qiqi,

welcome to amara brides!

hi chatterbox,
oh, you got the free printing. that good for you. Btw, you know how much is amara charging for the printing? Wondering if the printing is cheaper than outside.

hi tarepanjo,
ya agree with you on the wedding favour. I saw a shop selling wedding favour. I love the wedding bells and it cost $1.50 each. Too expensive and not within our budget. So we will do our wedding favours. I thought of changing the chocolate to other perks but it a small amount so i forgo it. So I'll have chocolate plus the wedding bells!!! Guests have something sweet to eat and memory too!

Hi Li Li,
I signed up last Sun for my AD on 23 Jun 2005.
I like the ballroom too. I was actually considering Pan Pac, Meritus Mandarin n Amara.
Didnt choose Pan Pac coz of low ceiling (Ocean Ballrm) n poor cust service, no follow up, quite inflexible.
MM has too many pillars... but quite good n experienced sales manager.
I love Amara for the unique ballroom ceiling lights, pillarless, zen n trendy... of cos the 2005 package is veri attractive as well.

Chatter: You were at the bridal show.. we are the couple who won the $300 feng shui voucher.
too bad our house n AD chosen... dont konw wat to do with the voucher...

I got the free printing as well, stated in the contract.

Lili: the centrepiece for dream is somethin like 2 giant wine glass(as candle holder) Tall slim leg... abt 30-40 cm tall... with fresh flowers at the base.. quite elegant...
Chatter, correct me if i'm wrong...

I agree Li Ping/Amara quite inflexible with the perks. I couldnt get a free day rm... but manage to get free use of projector... but must bring own notebk.

Jas, can intro the shop selling wedding favours?
Tare, I dont feel like havin choc too... so boring...
I really hope our guests can have somethin to take home n remember our wedding
I actually gave chopsticks to my guests for my ROM.

Qiqi, if you'd like to keep your gown, you can consider Allure Clarix.. feature on the cover of the latest Style weddings... Fann wong dress..
it's a friend's wife's shop.... hee hee...

I have signed up with Fame Bridal at Yishun.

Ash, you send to wrong person le huh!! hehe

Hi LiLi,
yah i think so anyway is ok lah! yah maybe you are right she is quite ok and quite patient! Hope everything goes well tomorrow.
See whether can see you tomorrow!! hhehe see you gonna sleep now...

Nitez. ladies.....

hi ashwen,

Can share with me on how you managed to get the free projector?

Oh, the shop is in Delfi, the shopping centre that is near to the Orchard Hotel and opposite Forum. There are about 3 shops selling wedding favours. I'm not sure of the shops name but there are located at level 2 and level 3. Happy Shopping!!!

Btw, where you buy the chopsticks?

Hi Ash,
Thanks for e info...i m oso interested to noe how u manage to persuade Li Ping for free projector??...u must b a veri excellent negotiator!

Hi qiqi,
hope everythin goes on smoothly today for u too :=)
If there's fate, we will meet..hee :p

Hi Ash,

So u r the couple who took my 1st date
I wanted that date too.... Anyway mine will be a few days before you....

Wow u really gd.... manage to get the free projector....

hi jas,
Not too sure hw much jasvy charge for printing....
Heard from liping is ab 100+ lor... So got to top up excess coz is only $100 voucher...

I think we asked for many things she rejected all... so pai say alreadi just give us somethin loh. we asked for additional ppl for food tasting- rejected must pay abt S$50 per add'l pax. so we are adding 5 more paxs for our siblings...

free day rm - rejected, must pay $110+++
overnite must pay abt $120-130+++ cant remember..
anyway i think the projector already there wat no add'l cost to them for using....
not like add'l food or rooms which they let out to other guests...

Chatter, sorry I took your date...
I went to some feng shui guy who calculated the date for me...
actually tent. book before the bridal show...

jas.. i got the chopsticks at Daiso imm. S$2/pair. but they only carry for no of chopsticks... think if you really want have to order...

Hi Jas,

So you bought the wedding bell tat cost $1.50 each...how many are u ordering ?

Hi Ash,

So co-incidence...when i m shortlisting my venue...Meritus mandarin, Pan Pac Ocean Rm & Amara is my choice as well...

So you are paying $250 for the fd tasting... the normal fd tasting oni 6 coz for 6 pax right ?

Do u hv 1 nite or 2 nite stay at the bridal suite?

hi ashleigh,

thanks for the info. Liping told me that the projector does not belong to the company and need to source for vendor. Really wonder i can get the free usage for projector.

hi tarepanjo,
no, i did not buy the wedding bells because it is too expensive and not within our budget. We DIY. We called liping to enquiry something else and she also informed us that they are sourcing for others wedding favours and we are entitled to the wedding favours. Now i'm confuse. Do not know if i should DIY the wedding bells or not.

Hi Tare,
wow u'r rite! quite incredible tat of so many hotels in S'pore.. we actually shortlist the same 3...
so wat make you made up your mind abt Amara?

And gals,
some update on your meetings today leh... u guys got to meet each other?
hope u managed to get all the stuff u wan.

Jas, i meant to say small no. of chopsticks. hee hee...
i hope Amara can source for some great weddin favours... tat would b fabulous.
mayb we can give some suggestions to Li ping...

sorry Qiqi, think the part abt bridal recom shd b for LiLi. I blur..

btw, how many of us in this thread now?

Hi Ash,
is ok... yah me went down but quite late coz something held up.. reach ther abt 8.45pm liao.. hehhe sad i think i didnt manage to meet up anyone of them.. yah eventually i think i get almost wat i want!! Hope our choice is RIGHT!! hehhe.

Hi chatter / LiLi,

How is you gals discussion?? Any gd news???

wow we are quite active huH!!! heheh so anxious to see so many AMARA bride... hehe.

Hi qiqi,

i onie get to meet Liping at 8.20pm cos she was held up in her earlier appointment n our discussion ended at abt 8.45pm...luckily u were late else may hv to wait long..but still din get to c u too..so sad :=(
But glad n happy for u tt u hv got wat u wanted :=)
i hv managed to get e projector free ^-^
she was veri insistent n i hv to crack my brains with all reasons to 'counterattack' her :p
..but veri veri happy to get it foc n i hv signed e contract and made deposit on e spot.
Hw abt u? wat hv u got?

ZAO AN ladies,

me too signed up liao.... YIPPY!!!!
But I din bargain for anythg lor.....
wow u gals really gd huh.... managed to bargain for so many thgs....

But that's fine with me, coz the basic package already very attractive.....

Any1 view their bridal suite already? Haben get a chance to c it yet......

Have u gals settle yr BS already......

Any keen to meet up for a gathering for some chitchat and sharing on wedding preparation?

Hi Jas,

Hmmm....thank for the info, i will chk with Li Ping when i am collecting my cards next yr whether i can chgn my wedding favour to somethgs else....i dun mind top up abit...

Hi Ash,

We dun like MM becos of the pillars...we prefer a pillarless ballrm...i am very confused over PP or Amara cos i like PP perks...esp their wedding favour...the wedding bear...but Ocean Rm is kinda plan...even with the decor...the ceiling got nthgs special...when i enter Amara ballrm & saw the optical "star-like" light...i like it so much....i feel tat the ballrm is very cozy & classy...i choose to go for the ambience...

Hi chatterbox,

I agree tat their basic package is oredi quite attractive...oni thgs is the wedding favour...btw, did u gals ask abt pre-dinner snack ? i ask liping b4 but she mention tat they dun provide...will oni pack for us after the dinner end...

tare,
yup Amara doesn't provide the pre-dinner snack...
Maybe juz call for room-service lor....

yup, I have settle my BS liao.... I'm with Camelia... But have not decide on my PS photographer. Mostly likely I go for Kelvin from Chris Ling. N also haven source for AD potographer... :P

yr AD sep?

Hi Jas,

Did Li ping give u any extra perks?
If she did, then mayb is not easy to get e projector free.
I onie got extra 5% carpark tickets, $100 voucher for cards printing n tis free projector.
in fact, i hard-pressed her for it..givin her reasons like not willing to pay tis amt for juz a few mins video montage, got difficulty sourcin one from outside, minimal cost to e hotel....

Hi LiLi / Zoe,
yah loh so sad cant meet you gals... me get everything same as yours... plus one free usage of day room use but only 2-6pm... wow have to persuade her... but she quite ok maybe she guilty lah heheh joking lah!!

Ladies,,, feel like meeting you gals out....

How????

lili : i chose bridal veil to be my bridal boutique. they are located at delphi orchard. any boutiques that you have shortlisted so far?

joelle : good for you - no need to open the L shaped. initially i was still hoping to squeeze my guests within the ballroom, but my guest list grows longer along the way!
i find that it's ok to serve white wine too cos some guests may prefer white wine instead over others. nope, amara did not charge me corkage for the wines.

qiqi : me had 39 tables, including 2 vip tables. you?

chatterbox : the aisle is ok, unless the couple are big in size then it will be too crampy. me don't have any problems that night
their bridal suite is ok. just to share, fullerton's bridal suite is 2-storey high - good right? i missed fullerton

tar : yup, i did have a video montage on that day...

wow qiqi how did you manage to get the free day rm? I think u r the champ negotiator here...
can i bring u along next time i wan to request for more stuff..heehee...

tare, u mean Amara would pack the extra food for ta bao or send to the suite?
i totally agree with you abt the hotels. For MM, the pillars would sure to block my guests. I wont wan them to "curse" me or feel "2nd-graded".. I want them to b happy.
AA's star lights ceiling n pillarless ballrm really did it for me.
I also like the weddin favours from PP. but tat can b arranged for AA.

jas, I think AA should buy their own projector if they havent done so already-more economical for them then to source from outside.
heehee... then more of us can use it for free...