Amara Singapore

I just wonder if Amara is a popular wedding banquet venue.. I know M-Hotel is getting very popular after their renovation

Hi Karen, cos a lot of my friends & colleagues are choosing M-Hotel lor...If u compare is abt the same lah.. But mayb M-hotel Food is not as gd as Amara as my friend told me the fish not fresh... So is Amara is ur first choice?

hi karen,
m-hotel was aso one of my choice at the time of choosing.so was concorde.bt the co-ordinator at concorde was much worst den my wan at amara so i gv them up. as for m-hotel, the perks were nt as gd as amara at dat time.so was their menu.n i simply dun like their ballroom.tink the only ting dat attracted me was the ballroom
. hehehehe...so ultimately i took amara...now crossing fingers amara is a right choice

Hi Shell,hmmm... Amara is not my first choice.. at first was thinking of Concorde... but when i read up some of the thread,heard that the location of the ballroom is very complicated... guest will go to the wrong wedding lor. Didnt went there to take a look at the ballroom lor.. cos heard of these... sian half way through lor.. heehee.... But when read up abt Amara,alot of compliment from you gals... so was quite happi and anxious how is the ballroom like and ambience lor.

Hi Cookies, U have the same thinking as me. The only things taht attract me was their bridal suite...

Hi Karen, u can feel safe that ur guest wont go to the wrong ballroom as Amara only 1 one ballroom and hold one wedding per day.. That is also one of the reason why I decided on Amara..

wow so many posts. great to see that more ppls are joining in!!!

agree with cookie that the bridal suite at m-hotel. they have jacquzzi!!!!

did anyone manage to change the wedding favours instead of the chocolate?

hi karen,
it is best to get a date first. once you have the date, everything can settle. if not here abit there abit.

Hi Jas,

Agree this thread is getting more and more ppl and more fun..

I did ask Li Ping to exchange chocolate for something else but she said cannot as the wedding favours is small amount... I intend to get my own wedding favours leh

shell : Yap,saw the thread that Amara has only one ballroom... and thats what i like about it lor.

jas : agree with you... i wil settle with the date 1st, banquets and the rest... if not all come together, i will gone mad..

karen : concorde ballroom has pillars, do you mind?

tarepanjo : yup, grandeur theme had always been my first choice! amara gave me a few options to choose the type of flowers and colours that i wanted for the ballroom decor. basically, i leave it to them after i made my choice... hee hee, me also took my ps on a friday - you won't regret it!

shell : the printer should be able to share with you some of their sample prints. don't worry about how to print amara address on the inserts, take a look at how other couples did theirs

hmmm..... does it mean that we have to print our own invitation card? i thought amara will provide us the 70% of the invitation card and will do everything for us? i'm blur now!!!

hi amy,
do we have to choose our flowers and colour? blur blur already. i thought if i choose grandeur theme than everything will settle.

hi shell,

oh, where u got the wedding favours? I thought of getting wedding bells but don't know where to get it.

Hi Jas, Amara will provide the wedding cards but if u dun like u can print your own outside is abt $1 per pcs exclude inserts. I saw wedding favours in Thailand and is cost less than a dollar as compare similar thing which sold in Singapore will cos abt 2plus...

Shell:Dun worry, ur pix will turn out alright, mine turn out better then i expected. MY PS timing is abt the same as urs too. Amara will send u a set of the cards & a sample wordings fr their printer. I got Amara's address from there. I have not print my inserts. Cos going to print inserts & my own card(with PS pix)so still waiting for PS pix to be ready....din Li Ping sent u the samples?

My printer:
Isucess
Bras Basah Complex, #03-53, Tel: 68370304

Amara's printer is Jasvy. I will give you their contacts tmr, don't have it with me now.

tare: my mum say my GDL will be abt 2 weeks b4 AD tat means somwhere in nov liao... me not going for the traditional biscuits liao, switching back to the normal cakes but still thinking which one to take... any suggestions? Yeah should choose a Fri then u got to rest the nt day. I slept thru the nt day after PS so tired but its FUN!

Jas: For hotels, they just give the cards, we got to do our own printing leh..

Hi Joelle, Li Ping did not send me any samples. I have wrote an email to ask her abt it.. Hv u thought of give modern biscuit instead of cakes? Whitelink just launch a series of biscuit packed nicely in a box. I just got the brochure from them and they ask me to go down to Suntec to take a look.. It is very nice and unique but it is rather expensive as the cheapest box is $19.9 if u dun intend to give to too many ppl then it is idle..

My PS photo will be ready in abt 2-3 wks time by then i will hv a hard time selecting them.. Joelle, how many pcs of photos did u selected?

Morning Ladies

Amy : Do heard that concorde have pillars,whether it blocks the view anot,i'm not very sure. But from the concorde thread,the ballroom is at the corner,guest will go to the wrong wedding if they are not sure where the ballroom is. So my FH and I decided not to go down take a look. But will definetly take a look at Amara. As what shell says, i definetly will not regret choosing Amara cos Amara only 1 one ballroom and hold one wedding per day.

Hi Karen,

U can take ur time and choose carefully as Banquet will cost a huge sum of money.. If not will regret after spending so much money and turn up not ideal.. That is my worry..

Hi Cookies,dun worry abt your choice with Amara... Everything should be fine. All Amara brides here,have no regret choosing it... so far didnt really see bad comments about it, so should be fine lor. =)

hi karen,
hehe..thks for e encouragement.planning a wedding is really stressful...

lucky got tis thread where we can all share info. i will b writing li ping a email todae.gonna mit up wif her to view the themes again.

Shell : Agree with you,we have the same thinking lor, i oso worry abt that. Sigh... if turn out not ideal,we cant do anything oso lor.

Cookie : True lor,planning is so stressful and tiring lor, but when comes on actual day is a different feeling. Hahaha...

Btw,would like to know how much is the deposit for the banquet in Amara, issnt 3K???

Hi shell, okie noted... reali thanks alot for all the information and advise given to me.

Btw,ask you hor.. asking someone to calculate a good date for me next year... they are able to give me the date in advance meh???

Hi Karen, some can even give u 2 yrs in advance.. But for ur case if Tong Shu for next ur yr already out u can ask get the date liao

Hi Karen, Those date which u ask ppl to calculate are very popular so u may face some problem sourcing for banquet venue.. Unlike me source for venue quite late so dun have much choice

Hi Shell, Yalor my collegues oso tell me that lor... if really wanna have good date.. have to kiasu book the banquet early lor...

Oh,u source for venue quite late... Why lei???

Hi Karen, Cos we planning to hold our wedding late 2005 but the date calculate was in Mid Jan 2005 but the time we start to source for hotel was already late march so those gd ones are already taken up.. moreover mine is a popular dates... So quite stress at that time...

Hi Shell,dun be disappointed... your AD now is oso a good one rite... not popular is okie.. as long as you and your FH is happy on your AD, thats more important lor.

Hi Karen, u r right as long as everybody happy on the AD..

Hi Joelle, hv u source for red wine? I have source for mine already..

Shell : most pple print the htl map & address...at the back of their invite card....

my frenz order her wine frm Cell Star...she says the price quite reasonable...where did u get urs ?

Joelle : My frenz who is getting marry tis yr Dec intend to order frm Sweet Secret bakery...she says their packaging is very nice...thk they hv a website...u can go & look look...

Cookie : Dun worry...it once in a life times...although stressful...but u will feel very happi on ur AD....

go & hv a look with the actual wedding set up...it's definitely so much nicer than the empty ballrm....

Karen : I feel tat Concorde is quite out of place as it's not near to MRT...although, i stay very near there...it never my choice...Amara is definitely a much beta choice...

Amy : Do u confirm all those details (flowers, theme, song, etc) 1 mth b4 ur AD ?

hi karen,

i had my date calculated around July for next year, 2005. U can get a date for now.

is urs a weekend or weekday? our AD is on weekdays therefore not much of a problem to get banquet. if urs is weekend, have to get the date fast

hi jas,i will be having it on the weekdays cos guest could come down after their work,attendance wise should be better than on weekends lor.

jas,where you have your date calculated??? and what else will that person tell you???

Hi Tare,thats another problem why i didnt choose Concorde... Is somehow out of the place and oso the ballroom problem. Will take a look at Amara once my date is settle,hope everything will go smoothly

hey so happy to see so many posting.
Shell & tare: we are not alone anymore

Shell: I have tot of modern biscuit, saw whitelink's box V nice but ex leh i am giving quite a no of boxes so kinda of heavy on the pockers.... Not sourece for wine yet... maybe will give star cellar a try... maybe taking fr carrefour... no idea yet... where u got urs? how many did u order & on consignment? My PS pix ya, u better prepare urself b4 u go choosing. My package gives me abt 26 pix, i bought 20 extra so altogether i have 46.and cost me another $1.5K for the 20! But those are really the nicest one, i cut fr 200+ to 46 leh.... cut & cut till i told my hubby, i dun noe how to cut liao...

Karen: call Li Ping b4 u go down to Amara. Try to go when they have a wedding on that day. gives u a better idea of how it will turn out.hey if u are getting someone to look for the dates, might as well as abt the timing for AD(like wat time is good, must reach by wat time... BUT dun let ur FH know everything, later v difficutl to sabo)& also the an chuan date, GDL date.

cookie: relax, take things as it come, we should be enjoying the process.

tare: Ok i go take a look. I know tampines have a Sweet secret cake shop. Anyone tired Prima Deli's cakes b4?Hey i think nt mth i am going down to meet Li Ping to confirm the flowers, settings stuff already leh.. think better dun leave things to just 1 mth b4 AD.

Shell: Yes i will take a look at a few hotels before decided on which to go to... wont take a look at too much lor... had a few on the list already. Thanks for your advise. =)

Joelle : Li Ping is the coordinator rite... heard that she is a nice person. Will call her b4 i go down, will oso ask her is there wedding going on... so that i have a better picture what is the deco of the ballroom like. Oh,can oso ask the timing and etc... good lei.... i thought only applies to Date lor. heehee

i have try Prima Deli's cake before... hmmm,not bad lor... but i prefer Sweet Secret cos is more tasty and their cake design are much more better. =)

jas : for ballroom deco, most of the things are fixed according to the theme. however, they do allow you to choose (1) the type of flowers/colours within their selected range, and (2) the wedding cake design.

joelle : me ordered walnut butter cake from prima deli for my gdl, you may wish to consider too

karen : the concorde thread feedback is correct
amara's 1-ballroom concept is one of the reasons why i chose them to hold my solemnisation and wedding dinner banquet
me visited alot of hotels during the shortlisting period, if you wish, i can give my comments on each hotel once you have narrow down your choices

Hi Joelle, I ordered red wine from Wire Network.. I order 6 carton and they will delivered to the hotel and I only need to consumed a min of 2 cartons, the unused the supply will bring back.. Is abt the same price as carrefour abt $18 per bottle..

Morning ladies,

Yesterday bought 2 drawers cupboards fr Ikea, nv know putting ikea's furniture together is such a task!

amy: walnut butter cake... yum yum.. sounds good. how much is 1 cake? Hey, did u serve beer during ur reception? I am still thinking of whether to serve, cos I have 3 hrs free flow... but afraid that by the end they still wanna drink then quite lu gi to open a barrel just for tat.

Karen: Li Ping is the cooridnator, nice person.

hi karen,

i have my date calculated at a temple which my future FIL always visit. our is a very simple calculation and he asked if i want weekdays and weekends and then our birth date. He got two dates for us and told us to visit him again after we had decided on the date. visited him last week but he was in china. will visit him again this week.

hi amy,
oh thanks for clearing my doubt. i have one more question!

how long it take for the brides and groom to march-in till sit down? any idea? coz i intend to have one songs for 1st march-in and 1st dish presentation.

Hi Jas, so when did u plan to hold ur wedding?

Hi Joelle, u can start the beer at abt 7.15pm after 3 hours, ur dinner is gg to end soon..

morning ladies

amy : Thanks for your help. Once i narrow down my list... i will let you know,and u can give me the comments on each hotel that i choosen.

jas : oh,at temple huh... then that will be easiler lor. There is a thread toking abt Date calculation,some information like the address,hotline are given in the thread also. Saw one,named Huang Shifu... Zoe tay went to him for her wedding date calculation lor... thinking of looking for him to help me with the date lor.

jas, u going to use 1 song for 1st march-in & 1st dish? Think Amara's march in going to be long!

amy: wat songs did u use for 1st march-in & 1st dish? hey also, how many bottles of red wine did ur guest consume altogether?

shell: erm 7.15pm....like quite early leh....

Karen,
There's a wedding this coming sat @ Amara.
U may wish to go don and take a look @ the actual setup.
I'm meeting Liping this sat too.... Mostly likely gg to sign up with Amara.
Yeah, another thg cleared