Amara Singapore

Aiyoh! It's Natalin, not Natalia.

Jas: Did u get the red "xi" Amara cards? I'm waiting for the ivory ones.. My wedding's after yours in Nov...
It has to be, cos mine's the last day of Nov!

Aigee: yah, will let u gals knw when is the romance theme setup n can go down to hv a look
so when is ur wedding day? is on the weekday rite?

Louie: no i didnt sign up the faical in Sept actually, i was busy with my exam
i am signing the october promo tomorrow, well it's still within my budget so its ok if i miss the great offer in sept

i saw ur posting so did u get the e-mail/pricelist frm Jessica? if not i can e-mail u , hehe u also happi, like me!

Leo n LT: so happy to see u gals back, thot u all MIA liao,hee...:p

June16: yah I kiasu lor, so manage to get on sunday, what is ur theme? care to share ur theme n package?
i got free milk bath n 4 bottles of red wine under the romance special offer, free food tasting.....

Gals, those bk amara also hv 20% on their spa services rite? hv anyone go n try out? i will do the milk bath first, then will try their other service

BP gal, i had to go for the red cards, since the western designs are not out yet. My wedding beginning of nov, so cannot wait liao. The invites have to go out liao.

Louie, i cant rem my menu, can i go back refer then type out for you? I actually wanted to choose grandeur theme, but during the food tasting they arranged a romance theme with abit of gold. I dun like it, thought it looks loud and obiang, but both side mothers like it and they want it.... ;o(
Soo looks like i hv to hv obiang VIP tables on that day.

ASpara Spa really good?

happygal: my wedding on 25 Sept 03, yah it's a weekdays...thus still not that difficult to get a banquet.. i understand tat most of the weekend in Sept 03 is booked already.. so i also want to decide asap.. coz i can't change the date of my wedding as we got it picked by a fengshui master..

Hey happygal,

thot you said u booked for a sunday dinner at 728? Changed to weekday now?

hi all....

happygal - i have tried aspara at amara. quite good, i would say. body scrub, body massage and wrap. feel so pampered!!
have even signed up for the aspara card that entitles discounts to the services!

June16: no, since when I changed to weekday? mine is sunday
urs? what is ur theme n what freebies did u get from Nat? u hv not answer me.....

LT: hehe, find a day will go down n try, want to be pamper also!

happygal:

My shd be a romance theme. well, she gave me a comprehensive package as I had both high tea n dinner.

Hi, i'm new to this thread and am interested to view any settings of the different themes as well. If anyone knows, please post the dates on the forumn so we can can go take a peek?

BTW, is the food at Amara good? Have only tried Orchard Hotel and Merchant Court recently. Standard at Orchard dropped compared to last year / 2 years ago though.

Another question, is Friday more expensive than other weekdays? I heard some hotels charge Fri the same as Sat, while Sunday is cheaper. A bit confused on the definition of weekday / weekend rates. Generally, is Friday considered a weekday and Sunday a weekend? or vice versa?

Appreciate anyone who cares to reply to my queries.

hello all,

i'm keen in the amara weekend package (768nett)
but jus not too sure if it is worth paying? any advise? any other additional things that we can ask from the hotel?

somebody mentioned that there is a $638 nett package for amara? Is that referring to weekday?

I really like amara ballroom set up...esp the starlight ceiling....but find the weekend package of $768 abit on the high side...

how about the food there? issit good?

Mew,

Yap, $638 nett package is for weekday (Mon-Thur), however if you have a lot of tables you might be able to negotiate to get this price for wedding held on Fri. Food wise, depend on individual taste.

Skoon,

Whether is it worth paying for is up to you and your budget. It all depends on the chemistry between you and the hotel.

Hi Lingo n other ladies, this is one of the Amara bride that feedback during her wedding:

Hi Happygal

Sorry for the late reply

Generally we are quite pleased with Amara.

First, let start with the food....the feedback from my guests is GOOD! (It comes from many close friends, so it should be quite realiable feedback)

The service is prompt even though it's one waiter/waitress to two tables

The Sales Manager (Natalin) is very attentive. She stayed throughout the wedding (at least for our case)

The Bridal Suite is warm and cosy....but not the posh posh type. Go for a swim at their newly renovated pool, it's beautiful and quite an unique experience. Or try out the massage/spa at Aspara beside the pool, very relaxing!

The only thing you may want to pay more attention to is the main ballroom, it's quite narrow. We had 38 tables in the main ballroom, 2 tables at the L-shape connection and it's quite cramp at the main ballroom area. Our estimation is that it will be more comfortable to have not more than 35 tables in the main ballroom.

Hope the above helps.

Hello everyone, i am back ...having been missing for a while...busy with home and gowns designs etc.

Happygal...the comments from your friend really made me feel so good. I agree the spa at Amara is great. Been there with hubby for his birthday celebration last year. We had the couple room for our session.

Lingo: You can try to negotiate a weekday rate for Friday dinner if you have the numbers of tables. Just try no harm...you never know if Natalin can accommodate or not.

Amara brides, do you think the ballroom layout is good for a long train? I will be having just avout 30 tables so should be quite spacious for a long train?

Hello...

seems like everyone had natalin as your coordinator...anyone out there had Lynn? Comments pls, thanks!

hi May!

aiyo both of u so sweet n romantic.....
ya, u can give it a try for the long train, it will be a grand match in if ur train is long

oh yes Amara Brides,

this Friday there will be a romance wedding dinner going on n
this Saturday is Grandeu wedding dinner

can go down n hv a gd view
antyone want to go together? I am going down on friday after work...

Happy Gal,

I wont be available to go down but do let me know how's the grandeur decor. I am actually considering between natural and grandeur.

LT,

Have you booked your bridal package? You mentioned BV before. I'v attended BV bridal show, very impressed by the designs and the effect of the crystals on the gowns. Quite tempted to sign with them, hv you been to their shop before? Their price is at the higher end but they throw in MTM shoes and rental of accessories and the photographers attached to them are few of the best. What do you think?

How about the rest of you? What bridal shop have you'll sign up? Any other recommendation? Very stressed now ^~^

Hi ppl,

Me and my FW is considering between M and Amara hotel, can't really come to a final decision. Any feedback and comments for us?

The contact person for us is Lynn, din read much about her in this thread, most of you ppl using Natalin huh?

Thanks inadvance!!

HeROin

Hi heroin, Lynn seem inexperienced. My hubby had asked her quite a number of questions yet she was unable to give us definite answers.
And she didn't even tried to call us back for follow up on our questions or fax the menu to us after two months.
We were quite worried over their prompt service and felt that they didn't treat us seriously.

Ended up, we had already booked M hotel last month. You can speak to Diana (M hotel) if u are interested.

Hi Heroin,

I am a Amara bride in May next year. And I actually face the same problem as you last year
But finally I have decided to use Amara
The reason is because:
1. I feel that Amara will be more spacious if it goes up to 35 tables. I think it will be able easy for me to move around

2. Amara has a straight and long march in.
3. Heard from my friends who have attended Amara's wedding banquet, the food taste good

But actually M Hotel has their strengths too:
1. It's exclusive and has bridal suite with Jacuzzi.
2. Free flow of beer.

Leo: I signed up with Jawn located in Meridien Hotel. Mine is the mtm package and it cost me S$ 3838. I am using Linn Kong for photography. I actually shortlisted xzen and Jazreel Low. In the end chose Jawn. Will be finalizing my gown designs and materials soon.

Who have you shortlisted? BV is so expensive.

Heroin: It seems that this Lynn person could be new. hmm...before signing up with Amara, i was also has shortlisted Inter-Con and M hotel. M hotel attracted me because of its beautiful bridal suite...price wise - i felt that they were expensive and food tasting is not included. Also the exterior of M hotel is terrible. Amara at least did a full reno. I also heard that M hotel has plans to reno exterior but dunno when. Worried that it may be during my wedding..that will be terrible. I like M hotel 10 floor ballroom coz it is exclusive but then it is quite an awkward match in. The capacity is also a problem. SO in the end settled on Amara.

Hi juz to add my opinion as well.
Me was oso deciding between Amara and M hotel. But felt that I din like M hotel cos their ballroom's quite an odd shape. And they seem quite inflexible in giving better offers cos I am having a high tea n dinner.

Amara much better! Like the ballroom and the ambience. me din know much about the food. But after hearing much comments, I am rest assured that Amara is a good hotel to hold my wedding cos it has both ambience and good food.

So to all those considering, you can try to contact Natalin at Amara

Happygal,

I have seen the Romance dinner before so won't be going down this time. But I may be interested for the Grandeur theme
If you aware of one happening, can you let me know.

Hi happygal...

Hows the Romance theme?? Sorry, haven't replied ur email yet!!!

Me just moved house, so everything's in a mess! Keep in touch

The thread is so active now... welcome everyone!

Hi Louie n other Amara Brides:

Overall the setup is not only romantic, I find that it also add to a personal touch and feel very comfortable.
The marching down from the aisle is very grand too n can imagine both of us marching, hehe...
One thing unique is the mirror really make a great difference, it is as if having a very grand affair because of the reflection
and I only realise is only 30 tables during yesterday dinner.
However, need to take note that the main 2 tables in the ballroom, the table cloth n tealight with red petals are beautiful except that their seats is red and dark orange alternate colour....maybe is requested by the couple?

Louie, it's ok, take ur time

glad that u move in ur new hse

Hi ppl,

I would like to thank everyone for their comments and suggestion, me and my FW is still very much undecided between M and Amara, guess we will make the decision over the weekend.

Thanks again!

HeROin

Hi gals.
Just attended a fren's dinner @ Amara last nite. And would like to provide some feedback.

She had 50 tables which I think was too much for the staff there to handle. Dinner started at 9pm (guests were almost all in by 8.30pm) and finished at 11.30pm.

Maybe due to the late start, the food was lukewarm. Service from the waiters were slow as 1 waiter serves 5 tables. Plates were only changed once and there were no serving spoons provided with each dish.

Ambience-wise, the ballroom is quite nice with the ceiling lights and yellow candle stands.

Hope that any1 that chose Amara, should iron out these little issues with them.

Cheerios!

Hi Wenn,

I was there to view the ballroom on Saturday!! Your friend had the granduer theme ya?

1 to 5 tables? How to handle it!!?!?! :P I used to be a bouquet waiter *donkey years ago* and serving 1 to 3 is already a killer!! you practically have to throw the food on the table!! :P

Is it normal for wedding dinners to start at 9pm? kinda late ya?

HeRoin

Hi HeRoin,
Actually, I dunno which theme they have. Cos the ballroom is quite crammed and noisy with so many pple

Hee hee,, due to the late start,,, every1 spent the time drinking... so when dinner is served, most of them not hungry liao... the wine ran out pretty fast and they dun allow for our request to have a bottle of wine at our table.

Most of the dinners I went to started before 9pm. Or else, the guests will get restless liao.

I can see that their captains (got at least 3 of them dressed in white suits) and the waiters where all confused and lost as to wat is to be done. For the drinks, have to ask at least 2 times...

If u've decided to book w Amara, do ask them about their service and how early they can start the dinner. For me, I'm quite particular about food & service

Hi Wenn,

Thanks for the information, hmm... looks like we have to clear up the service quality before deciding on Amara huh? :P

Bottle of wine at your own desk huh? They charge corkage izzit? By the way, anyone has any idea how many bottles of wine is enough for a wedding? Just a rough estimate will do!!

HeRoIn

Hi Wenn n Heroin,

actually depending on the number of tables u are having, if u are having 30 plus, gd quality service shld not be a problem
and dinner will definately start earlier, 8pm normally is the standard time?

well, i think still depends on the budget of individual couple, if the couple has more than enough savings n want to throw a grand dinner of 40 over tables, then shld look for hotels like Ritz Carlton, Fullerton, Conrad etc...definately they hv better service n more experience on handle big banquet...

like for amara brides having less than 40 tables, amara will hv the ability to provide a certain standard of quality, moreever they are 4 star hotel
we have the confidence in them to satisfy us, rite?

so if u gals do not hv budget constraint, n is having alot of wedding tables, emphasize on quality of food n service
then can drop idea of amara if u hv no confidence with them

HI everyone

Just hope to get some feedbacks, we met up with Natelin to discuss the details for the contract, but it seems that the corkage fee for wine is quite ex for Amara compared to the other hotels.
They are charging us $25 for each bottle with 24 bottles free corkage. can i know if ur also get this price or is there better bargain out there for Amara?
My hubby frens drink a lot, so wine is quite a heavy cost looking at the corkage as well...

Heroin,
guess the number of wines depend greatly on the guests.. for example, my friends use 2 cartons and were okay... some whose guests drink a lot, need to go up to 3 or 4 cartons... wine is really easy to finish...

Titto,

I agree e cockage charge for Amara is very expensive. However, because i do not intend to serve wine so i was not really bothered by the cost. If you really plan to serve wine for your dinner, i suggest you try to negotiate a cheaper cockerage charge. It is expensive.

I know some 5-star hotel waive cockerage charge for wine.

Attended my colleague's wedding dinner @ Grand Copthone on 020202. Being a wine merchant's son, they used up 7 crates of wine. I think he got 50 tables and I think they got free corkage but I can't remember liao.

As for my fiance's frens, they drink a lot. So, either we'll go for cheaper wines (not so good wine, so they won't drink so much) or we'll ask the banquet manager to control. But our estimate is 1 bottle to 1.5 bottle for 10 glasses of wine.

Cheerios

May : I'm still sourcing around. Indeed BV package is quite expensive but I really quite like their gowns. Finally I gather my courage and step into 2 bridal shops, BV & Irene's Creation. I'm going down to see Milan 2nite and check what are they offering.

Leo: Hurray. Did you try the gowns? You should know what kind of designs suites your body. Wow, the two shops you visited are quite x. My hubby's cousin signed up with Irene's Creation. I have not heard a chance to ask her how the service but i heard that accessories are not provided. So you got to be careful, check that the package includes everything.

I settled my gown design and fabric liao. Going for bustier wedding gown design with long train. 1st fitting will be in Dec. Very excited...i hope i will look good. Now must try to lose weight and trim tummy.

I have also collected keys to my sengkang flat...now busy sourcing for house stuff...it will be a busy end year for me.

I have been to Milan - just to let you know my views. I like their photos - the finishing is very nice. However, the photos are developed in Taiwan - that explains why their package cost is so high. It was the first shop that i tried and their gowns are very heavy. So i dont really like. It is bad enought that we have to wear can can and walk around and with the gowns so heavy ... it is worst.

Hi May,

Yap, I tried 2 gowns at Irene C. Their gowns are heavy too and it makes me wonder is all the gowns that heavy??? Irene C price is slightly higher than BV and they don't provide accessories. The reason why Irene C is more x is that they do a mock-up of your MTM wedding gowns, so you can have a better idea of how your gown turn out to be better than imagine it yourself.

I'v called Jawn up too to make appt but they seems like having very good business, their appts are fully booked this whole week, probably will make a trip down next week.

You staying in Sengkang? Me too! I won't get my keys so soon cos they are still building my house, expect to get it around early 2004.

Leo: Is it not true that all gowns are heavy. Of course it depends on the material and cut. Milan told me that they have gowns imported from Taiwan and those design in house. They also got OTR gowns - classified to new and old. Theirs was the first gown i tried and i really feel very heavy. Partly because can can is so on the gown that explains the weight.

Subsequently, i went other shops to try and their gowns less heavy and can can is separated from their gowns.

Try visiting Jazreel Low, they are too bad, price not so x and they have alot of designs to choose.

Jawn so busy? I just went down to confirm my design...hee...do go down and see them...their designs are so unique...and they really make you feel different.

Yes, me staying in Sengkang. Yours is BTO, right? How much you pay? Mine flat is near Jln Kayu. Shopping around for tv, fridge and kitchen stuff.. so many things to buy...i have not decided on the reno yet...too many things to do...

Hey Leo & May...

Long time no hear fr u gals!! Hee hee... have u settled on the bridal boutique? Me went for my 1st MTM fitting liao, quite happy wif the gowns. Next month going for photoshoot... me can't seem to lose weight leh!!!

May: You can fit bustier? Then, U quite slim still mah... me cannot leh :P Anywae, think u shd settle ur reno b4 buying any furniture/ electrical items.... regretted buying some items for my Sengkang home...

Keep in touch

Hi Titto,

She giving you 24 bottles huh? Me only got 18! heehee... need to go back and start "re-negotiate" again! :P

HeRoin

May : I went down to La Galleria yesterday after visiting Milan. I am very impressed by the gowns that La Galleria has in their shop. Very nice and sweet emboidery gowns and Doreen is very friendly, she makes you feels really at home. They also have gowns that combines emboidery and crystals which I'm looking, it's like combination of Ted Wu and Bridal Veil at a slightly lower price.

Yap, mine is the BTO. I paid $229,100 for my flat. Actually you dun have to buy everything in one time, just get the basic neccessities. The rest can get one by one slowly. Happy shopping!

Louie: Hi, really long time no chat. Understand that you are real busy with your hse renov and wedding preparation. Dun worry about weight, try to eat less and exercise more before your PS you should be able to lose some weight. We tends to lose more in the beginning, after that try to maintain, you will be a very beautiful bride.

Louie: What's your gown design like. I not slim lah....somehow...in the end the only cutting that suites me was the bustier cut...it is the only cutting that i dont appear fat...ha..ha...

So exciting for the 1st mtm fitting...did the gowns fit you well and to your expectation? My 1st mtm is in Dec and photoshoot is in March.

U also stay in Sengkang? Where? What did you buy that you regret? i was thinking of buying the stuff to beat the increase in GST. Need to get fridge and TV too.

Did you buy anything from Myer? I was thinking of getting the hob, hood, oven, washer and dryer.
They now have 5% storewide discount.

Leo: I have visited the Le Galleria too. You like emboidery? I prefer crytals - more shinny and glam. Hee..
I think you should visit Jarzeel Low too...they are all along that stretch.

Your flat near MRT? $229K sounds good, you on what floor?

I also cant seem to lose any more weight. I really need to lose 3kg...any tips?

wah thread so active!

hi ladies!
so must be busy n happliy trying wedding gown

Leo, how did u wait when u apply BTO? me intend to apply end of this yr, prob mid Dec.....

May, wow, bustier with long train, so elegant...

u actually hv to try exercise at least once a week, either jogging or gym
but if u really determine to slim down, can sign up 3 mths at Amore, all ladies n somemore only $90 to $120
i believe intense gym or aerobics for three months can tone our body n slim down alot
oh yah, drink Green Tea but powder, Bugis cold storage always promoting, it detox n slim down aorung waist
so exercise plus healthy drink, sure can lose weight!

Louie, u still hv not reply my mail, hor? hee....
u also want to lost weight?

me actually skinny but want to firm n tone up my body so prob will sign up the Amore after ....christmas?
u gals want to go?
aiyah, actually ah, once u pay then u will discipline to do exercise one, thats how i feel lor,hee...:p

May : My flat is one block behind the LRT, very convenient. I'm located at 8th storey, got very nice door no. too. From my flat I can have full view of the roof top garden just next to my block. My friends also told me I have a good price for my flat.

I like both crystals and emboidery, very "tum sim" hor, and Le Galleria can do both.

Hmm.... 3kg, did you try cambridge diet? One of my girlfriend tried and she say it's very effective. Maybe u can gv it a try.

Happygal: Thanks for the advice. I used to be with Amore before i sign up with Planet Fitness and but i have since terminated both. Not disclipined enough and i dont seem to lose alot of weight. But i agree aerobics is good ... i just got no stamina.

Will consider going to gym after xmas or try to go jogging more consistently...what to do must look good....

Ya...my wedding gown's train is about 100 cm long and we were discussing if i can do a right hand turn and then have the train follow.

Amara's ballroom the march, we got to do a right turn and it is not a grandual one but a 90 degrees one...so amara brides plse note this for your gown trains...

Green tea powder..sounds..interesting...tell me more....