Amara Singapore

louie

Gals... how abt the following week? 14th Nov?

Happy: which other SB outing u going for? *curious*

hosanna

sorry huh, lazy to sift through all the above messages again... anyone can provide me Chhon Huat's contact no. and address? He is a actual day photographer right? Any website to see his portfolio and what are the different packages like...?

may

Louie: I went back to my flat for a detailed check and spotted a few defects. Mainly the parquet flooring. Some of the strips were sand down but they forget to relacquer it. Also my master toilet's metal handle was rusty and the clips holding the glass screen were corroded. So i will be reporting the defects. The toilet flushing system is fine though. How long did they take to repair the defects? HDB says 2-3 weeks. Also, the parquet skirting round the house was not done very well too...the nails were not sand down properly. So sad...

louie

Hos: contacts are below

Choon Huat / Fast Soup Photography
Mobile: 9696 7282 Tel/Fax: 6467 1994

May: Watever defects... jus report all to HDB. Even if the parts tat were not so well done. They are resp for fixing it!!!! They took VERY long to fix my stuff... the HDB main contractor was really slow, so must call HDB to chase all the time.

Hey gals... no one responding to my posting whether u all interested in outing????

Pls email me [email protected] to let me know... interested or not k?
Like tat easier to keep track...

may

Louie: report liao...they say 2-3 weeks to fix defects. How long did yours take?

I will email you my email address. But for gathering cannot..i got wedding.

titto

Hello gals!

wow, this thread is really active! so many mails!

Just like to share that me and my FH have signed the contract with Nat and yes! finally confirmed on our wedding venue...

oh yeah, saw that some of u (Leo??) is interested to sign up with Le Galleria? I am a LG bride too and i must said that i have been a very satisfied customer so far. Doreen is very helpful and patient. I went for my gown selection twice but could not decide on one. during the whole process, she gave her advices patiently and her service is really very good! i love one of her gown but gosh, i was too short so alterations will make the gown so awful..sigh..no choice got to give it up...

leo

Hi Titto,

Welcome to the Amara Brides Family.

Yap, I am the one intersted in Le Galleria. I must say Doreen has a wide range of nice gowns. I am attracted by some of them, that's why she's in my list. Glad to hear good comments from you. You mean you give up the gown on the rack and go for MTM or you totally give up La Galleria? I believe she can design a very nice gown for you.

May : I visited Jawn yesterday. Susan and Euzart are very nice and professional. Indeed their gowns are very speical and they make you feel confident on their work. I realised that they like to do gown with 3D effect. You mentioned that your package is $3838 using Linn as your photographer, the quote they gave me for Linn is $3988, think they have raise their price.

Now I headache, I like both Doreen and Jawn, making a hard decision now.

louie

Hi gals....

Titto, want to join in for next thur's outing?
Email me to confirm k?

How abt LT & Hosanna... are u gals coming for the Amara brides outing?

Leo & Happygal & myself currently confirmed. May, its a pity tat u can't come but still got a lot of opportunities ya!

Just went today for my mani & pedicure... at Indulge, very nice & happy wif their svc... hee hee

hosanna

Louie: I can't make it for the outing either... Join you gals next round...update me of your "gossips" ok.... :eek:)

By the way, anyone would be taking the Grandeur theme?

Enjoy...

louie

Hey gals...

Wat abt postponing the outing to 25 Nov tat week instead, seems like most pple can't make it on thur.

Anywae, my photoshoot on 22nd, so cannot eat to much b4 it also :p

may

Louie: I wont be able to make it either...i have got another wedding. So many to attend this two months. Must go lah..if not other people wont come for mine. Sigh...

Leo: Did you get a chance to try the gowns at Jawn? They are really very nice people. What is the package price diff between LG and Jawn?

may

LT: I confirm my kitchen with Classics last weekend. It cost me S$4800 for a l-shape kitchen about 13 ft long with corian solid surface top and laminated with PVC trimming doors. I also enjoyed a 5% discount and they do not charge GST. Very happy now.

lt

hi May,

visited Classic last sat. they quoted me about $5000 for U-shape kitchen about 15ft, corian solid surface top, postform doors with aluminium trimming. there's also the 5% discount and some free accessories

did you have any accessores such as pull out drawers, trays, etc???

may

LT: I asked for the bottle pull out rack - which cost S$100. They gave me the free plastic cutlery tray. I prefer the stainless steel cutley tray which i have to pay.

What kind of free accessories did you get? He used the amount for free accessories and deduct it with the total.

Who did you meet with? Mine was Caff. Florence left already.

I have 2 sets of pull drawers. Each set consist of three drawers.

If you take the laminate doors with pvc trimming, it will be cheaper. Mine is only S$ 198 pfr. yours should be S$ 248 pfr hor?

lt

hi May,
i intend to take pull out trays (2 pieces) - long type (about 90cm)for bottom cabinets. 1 cutlery tray & 1 s/s dish rack mounted inside the top cabinet. we also have frosted glass doors for top cabinets... and of course another $100 per door. i think we have to set aside additional $500-$600 for accessories (on top of the freebies given to us about $400 over!!)

actually we thot laminate is not as durable as postform so decided to have the latter instead. i don't really remember how much is mine pfr. quote is with my hubby.

mine is a lady... her name just slipped my mind... gotta check and let u know later.

may

LT: There are mixed reviews. Some says postform will warp over time but the trimming will hold in place.

I also got the s/s dish rack and 2 frosted glass doors for the top cabinet. I was told the full range of BLUM accessories will be displayed this week. So you can bet that we will spend more for accessories.

Do you like their kitchen?

lt

May - must really budget not to overspend on accessories... cos i can foresee the kitchen is probably our biggest investment if i include the washer, fridge, hood & hob (getting fujioh which is abt $1k).

i think my hubby loves their kitchen much more than i do. their quality is no doubt good, but the price's really a 'killer'!!!

so when r u starting your kitchen reno? have you completed reno for the rest of your home??

may

LT: yep, i have already bought the washer, fridge, hob and etc from Mayer. Have not bought fridge thou.

Kitchen is very impt to me so i ahev actually set aside 5K budget. Actually, i dont find classic price a killer. I think contractor also charge the same. U can be rest assure that the quality is there for classics and they uses better hinges from BLUM. So dont worry.

No, i have not start reno yet. waiting for hdb to return me my keys..they fixing the defects. Sigh...i plan to have everything done b4 CNY. BUt dount i can...my wetworks have to do be done then classics can come down and measure...sigh...

If u are worried of the cost...go for laminated doors with PVC triming loh.

titto

HI Louie

Thanks for the invitation, would really love to join u gals but i cannot make it if it is 29th nov and after..before that, i can, so let me know yeah? i will be out of town til 13 dec.

keep me posted okay?

lt

hi May - will be checking out Louie's recommendation on cisreen before deciding... it's true the price quoted by classics is about the same as quoted by some of the ID companies!

actually i don't quite remember how PVC trimmings look like?!!

anyway, i used to hope my reno can complete before christmas.... that's really wishful thinking...haa.... now i wonder if mine will start this year at all...

may

LT: most of the units in the showroom are laminate doors with PVC trimming, i think. Except the first one - which is white in color.

louie

Hi gals...

LT & May: actually some IDs may even be cheaper than classic. Think the alum trimmings are nice, pvc trimmings are more old-fashioned. Most showrooms I saw use stainless steel/ alum trimmings leh...

Titto: no probs, will inform everyone abt the outing again!!

lt

hi gals.... wonder if there is anyone on line now to chat.... been quite bored... going to fall asleep if not doing anything constructive!!

Louie... i called up richard from cisreen yesterday. hopefully he can arrange for me to view the worksmanship tomolo. yet to hear from him though!

louie

LT: Wahh... you so "free" one ah in office, envious

You call him to remind him lah, he very nice one... wun mind! hee hee... I always call to disturb him for this & that... He always entertains my calls

My nick v smiliar to my original name, so u just say I recommend one lah! Can email me if u want..

Gals... why dun we postpone the outing to Dec, when Titto is back in sg. Me very bz lately, next fri is my photoshoot liao... hee hee

leo

Louie : No objection on the postponing just let me have the date earlier to arrange my schedule. Are you using Choon Huat for your actual day photogrpahy?

louie

how abt outing on 4 Dec (wed) or can anyone propose a date?

Leo: Not sure abt the actal day photography yet... haven't met any of them to see the portfolio... will update u if any news k

lt

i think 4 dec is fine with me. but can't really confirm till that week cos not sure need to work late or not!!!

Louie - wow, you going for photoshoot this friday right?? have your locations been decided yet?

leo

Louie: I'm fine with 4 Dec. I will be taking Robin Photography for my indoor/outdoor as well as actual day.

Talk about photo shooting location, which are the more popular one? I like beaches, greenery and architectures.

louie

Ok gals... lets set it on 4 Dec 1st lah...

LT & Leo: haven't confirmed the locations yet, most likely sentosa, Capitol towers & maybe Esplnade? Where is Labodour park ah??? Very far or not?

Leo: Robin is nice, esp their actual day photos...

LT: You seen Richard yet, how was ur discussion?

lt

hi Louie, didn't manage to see Richard. actually arranged last sat, but my meeting was extended and so had to cancel the appt with him. will try to contact him again.

titto

I will not be able to join on the 4th Dec gathering , but never mind, for the next gathering, can let me know?

Louie, enjoy ur photoshoot tomorrow!

Remember to keep smiling

may

I am not too sure can make it or not. But if i can, i will join u gals. Where will u all be meeting?

leo

Louie: Are you sure you can cover so many places? Sentosa alone will take up a lot of time cos you have the whole island to shoot. Robin told me that if I choose Sentosa, the whole outdoor shoot will be in Sentosa. Labodour Park is around PSA. There is a beach there, a bit dirty but heard that you can take very nice sun set shoot there. Enjoy your shooting and share with us your experience.

Since we are Amara Brides, why not we have the gathering at Amara coffee house or silk road restaurant, their food are good.

May and the rest : Hope you all can join us.

louie

Hi Gals...

Enjoyed my photoshoot very much... was quite fun, didn't feel tat tired! Sad thing is by the time I got more comfy in front of the camera... end of photoshoot liao!

Really thank God for the good weather. It was drizzling the whole day, but when reach Sentosa it STOPPED!
Went to this place with huge tree & the beach only. Later we proceeded to Capitol Towers & Esplanade...

The photographer was nice, he gave us a polaroid shot, look not bad lah... very happy!!! So, now just hope the rest of the photos will turn out well

lt

morning all....

Louie - wow.... it's good that you have had a good session. yeh, sometimes when you have warmed up, the session is over!!! i did a personal portfolio - also quite stiff at first, then slowing warm up in front of camera as it progresses. quite fun too!!!

so must share with us your photos ok.

i'd also finally signed with my ID to start my reno next mth.... am so glad.. after 7 mths of search, efforts and agony!!! phew!!!!

May, Louie - don't think using a kitchen specialist liao, cos when we negotiate price with the ID, everything's agreeable, so i think it's more convenient that they do everything. thnks for the help anyway!

louie

Hey gals...

Titto: realised tat u will be out of town till 13 Dec, can u make it for outing on 18 Dec then?

Leo & rest: can't make it on 4 dec liao, coz' meeting up wif Choon Huat & others to discuss actual day photography!!!

LT: U must be very natural in front of photos liao lah... wedding shots no probs sia! So, u didn't use Cirseen liao? I went to my fren's house... VERY nicely done up, realised he used the same reno ID as me!!! Heehee... their works are really good. I didn't have to monitor their work... I just went over the weekend or 2 weeks later to check if everything is ok... good hor!

Will share if u gals the photos when out lah... they shd be calling me in a week's time or so lah....

leo

So our appointment change to 18 Dec hor, just in time for pre-Christmas celebration. Hope we don't change again, otherwise it will stretch to January 2003. Gals, try to make it leh!!!

jeejee

Hi all Amara Brides,

For those who have their wedding dinner at Amara during 2003, the nett price, are we paying the original 5% GST or 3%?

Currently its comfirmed for year 2003 GST increase to 4%, so if Amara Nett price are base on 5%, shouldn't we ask for a rebates??

Just a thought

lt

hi all....

i'm not sure if i can make it on 18th dec. probably can only let u know as the date draws nearer

hi jeejee, i thot the nett price is already inclusive of gst. i presume that is 3% gst inclusive. am i right???

louie

Jeejee... think its inclusive of 5% gst. Tats whats stated on my contract... Mmmzz... maybe can speak to Nat?

leo

Louie : So far, only you and I are very confirmed. The rest can only know nearer to the date.

Jeejee : I think it should be 3% GST, heard that they are increasing their price next year, but it's better to find out with Nat directly.

Finally I signed up with Le Galleria and using Robin as my Indoor/Outdoor + Acutal Day photographer. Really stressed up choosing the bridal shop, hope I make the right choice. I can sleep well now.

bp gal

Hi everyone. I had my wedding banquet at Amara 2 weekends ago. Must say that the food portions were very generous, the sharksfin bowl was quite big, and there were lotsa crabmeat and sharksfin. Other dishes were quite nicely done..e.g. the scallops were fat and juicy. Most of my guests happily "complained" that they had too much food! Hahaha... :-D Service by the Amara staff were good... they were helpful and kind. I am glad i chose Amara. Natalin has been patient and nice too. The bridal suite was quite good... half the room was available for my friends to hang out in before the dinner started, and the bedside tables were decorated with red rose petals. Quite romantic. It was worth the money we spent.
Amara definitely deserves a 5 star hotel status!

leo

Hi BP gal,

Thanks for your info. Really put our mind at ease after reading your comments. Do pop in frequently and chat though your wedding is over.

louie

Hey BP... Thanks for sharing

Leo: Good tat u settled ur photography & stuff. Me saw Choon Huat/ Kin Chong & Nick Goh last wk... sigh... still can't decide who 2 select yet

gals: Those who are joining us for our Amara Brides outing, pls confirm ur attendance asap ok!!!
Email me or Leo

My contract just says NETT, but the menu states, inclusive of 5% gst, so can go & speak to Nat???

may

I cant confirm my attendance. Just started reno work at my place and now got so much to do and buy before the end of the year. Really stress man...

Louie: i also have not decide on my actual day photography. Dunno will have any more $$ after spending on reno and furniture. Last nite, hubby just comment that all the things we have bought are more than what we have budget. Sigh...

Leo: good that you have settled your bridal. so now you must do homework hor. when is your first appt? My first fitting shld be this month - very kan cheong and worried that i have put on weight...

BP Gal: I am happy that Amara is great for your wedding. Shows that we have all made a right choice. How many tables did you have? Was the march-in a long one? My WG has a 100 cm train and now i quite worried that i cant handle.