Amara Singapore

hi all..... guess i must be the only one who has gone missing forever...hee hee...

Leo - i'd signed up with Frederick Lee.. after much research, comparision and agony... ha...

i was at BV's show too, she is indeed good with crystals and has some interesting ideas in her designs too. however i guess i'm lookin for someone who is into dramatic and elaborate gowns, hence have decided on FL. i signed up during his show too, so paid only about $3.2k (w/o photography): 1 MTM WG & 1 MTM EG, 1 OTR gown for phogoraphy, 1 MTM mens suit, 4 makeups, flowers, cosages. will be asking marcus from Picture box to be our pre-wedding photographer. had also confirmed with Choon Huat from Fast soup as our actual day photographer. glad i have sort of settled this! well, will be seeing FL next week to discuss on WG design.

i'm also going to renovate my place. still negotiating on price!!! such a headache!

happygal - you starting amore soon? i'm currently with them for about 4 months... well need to tone up too...hee. had been going twice a week very religiously!!!! well, have to really be disciplined and 'focused'... (my goal: toned arms and legs by July next year)!!! so i think this really keeps me going...hee hee

LT : I used to be with amore too, I finished my package ard August and have since stop cos my kaki got pregnent. Going alone is so boring and lack of motivation. I intend to sign up the twice a week aerobic class early December, now I got kaki liao. Do you mind going with me???

You signed up with FL ah, indeed his gowns are mostly quite dramatic which is not my taste, I prefer simple and elegant type. So you went to FL bridal show, I am there too. Missed meeting you again.

May : Sign up amore lah, so we can go exercise together and motivate each other. Do you like swimming? We can go swimming too. Swimming is a very good exercise that can tone all parts of the body.

Happygal : What do you mean by "how did you wait when you apply BTO" dun know how to answer you. I applied last year Dec and got to select my flat early part this year. Usually they need to have around at least 70% occupancy rate before they decide to build that particular area so it depends on the response from the applicants. I find BTO is a very good exercise as you get to choose the site you would like to stay, eg. near MRT, school etc. My flat is still in the process of building and my excepted completion date given by HDB was Nov 2004, but I expect to get it earlier, probably by early 2004 cos they are already building 2nd storey liao.

I try to push my wedding date to Dec next year so after my wedding I can start preparation for my new house, plus can shorten my stay with in-laws. Hope the info I provide helps. Let me know if you need more info.

sure leo, we could attend classes together
in fact i do have a kaki too, but she only attends class once a week, & i guessed she is stopping her lessons after her classes finishes in jan '03. she is getting bored with aerobics liao!!! **SIGN**

wow.... you guys have been discussing about your new home!! i'm so lazy reading those previous threads, can i ask who has their house done up?

LT : Which branch you normally goes to? For me I go to the Bugis branch more often, sometimes I also go to Orchard Cinelesuire and Sime, depends on the time of the class I want to attend. I go more for Hi/Low class, you? I won't start so early so can you wait for me?

I think Louie has done up her house, May is in the process and mine still long way to go. You staying Sengkang too?

Leo - such coincidence... i go to bugis, orchard mrt, cineleisure or simei too, mostly orchard mrt and simei now cos of class schedule. i used to do hi-lo, but had switched to SS and NB a mth ago. thot these classes more effective for toning
so wat time do you usually attend classes?

i'm not staying at sengkang. are all of you at sengkang? mine is at toa payoh - a balloted flat gotten this year.

Leo: Cambridge diet? hmmm... dont know what is about... abit sceptical of such diet thingy after slim 10 leh...

I cant swim - so sad... so swimming is out...frankly speaking...i dont really fancy aerobics too...you know leh...when u stop..you will put on weight...and i dont want that to happen to me...i think i will just stick to my jogging weekly...so lazy hor and still want to lose 3 kg...cant stand myself...

LT: agree FL's gowns very drama ... like Leo,i prefer simple one...also i am not thin enough to carry drama gowns...

I just collected my keys to my flat in Sengkang so i am now busy looking for stuff to buy to beat the GST.

may - actually i think whichever exerise you take up, if you stop, you are likely to put on some weight!!! like if you stopped cycling (if you do cycle), then our tighs and butts will not look as shapely as before

oh... speaking of buying stuff for our home... has anyone any recommendations for fridge and washer? been so confused w the brands and models!!!

thanks to help!!!

LT : Normally I try to catch the 6.30pm class cos less crowded. Actually I prefer to attend the Sunday morning class, was told that doing exercise in the morning is more effective than exericse in the afternoon or at night.

I think majority of us stay in Sengkang.

May : I think cambridge is quite safe, so far no complains from anyone yet. In my opinion, all execerise is effective, as long as you execerise regulary and have a strict diet, losing weight shouldn't be a problem.

Leo - oh..is that so?? thot i read in the papers couple of weeks back that exercising in the morning is not so good, cos we just wake up, and sth about our body system and the environment,and we might attract more bacteria or sth like that, so we might get sick easier. In fact newspaper source said best time is about evening. when body already adjusted to the day's temperature and also about evening's not so warm!!!
anyway, sometimes i do go wkends classes, but if i am not occupied!

U gals - make me feel so guilty - i have not even plan any exercise regime. I am so lazy and i am still snacking... terrible.

LT: I intend to get Samsung Fridge - most of my girlfriends say their fidge good - save electricity... I am looking at this model SR57NXAS, i think it retails around S$ 1199 or S$ 1299. Technology wise, it sounds good. There is a bigger model that i also like, but hubby says too big for us and it does not come with an ice-twisting feature and it cost more at S$ 1599. SO he refused.

As for dryer and washer - i intend to get the Ariston one - the asian front load model washer and the new dryer - after 5 discount for washer - they both cost S$ 1028. They are made in Italy - so price wise - i think quite a good buy. Altho the washer not fuzzy logic one.

Ariston new fridge also quite nice - at S$ 1299 i think. But i heard that Ariston fridge not that great. SO i am not getting their fridge.

What about TV and aircon? What brands do you recommend?

hi Gals... you all seem to post msgs on the forum much faster than I can read & reply

Leo: U BTO flat really quite cheap leh. Mine walk-in this yr also abt 236K leh... maybe becoz its nearer to the MRT?

Leo & LT: U both wif Amore. Me wif California Fitness. Just converted my membership fr a Individual corp plan to a Permanant member, another 1000+ bucks (for 4 yrsm aft which only $188 per yr) jus flew away yesterday. My FH signed up as family add on, so now both of us can ex together
My Trainer said tat excerising in morn better... increase metabolic rate!!!

May: Me got 1 bustier EG for photoshoot... most bustier make me look FAT! Anywae, q happi wif my MTM gowns, so no complaints lor! Seletar Broadway pple very nice too... hee hee... Yours is Premium flat?? Think u shd settle the hse reno soon (make sure u report all defects to HDB 1st) U buy too many furniture, Ur ID will find it q inconvenient to paint etc.

Happygal: Me will write to u soon, my exam on mon- deepavali holiday... so sad hor?? We can arranage for outing esp now tat the thread is so HOT

Me still looking for actual day photography, seems like a lot of good comments abt Greymatter Photography under Qing Zhong. Heard of him>??

Louie : I reply fast cos I'm very free. My work so boring, SB.com helps me kill time. I think the reason my flat is cheap maybe becos they are using us to try out this new system.

I find that amore price is quite reasonable and the duration of the package is not long, we can stop whenever we want plus no monthly membership needed. Another plus point, all girls.

May : Aiya, take your time lah you just need to lose 3kg, I need to lose at least 10kg leh!

LT : One of the areobic instruction told me that exerising in the morning tends to burn more fats then exerising in the afternoon or evening.

wah, u ladies so active in thread!
me so busy wif work nowadays....

Louie, take ur time as i know u busy with exams, just to remind u only, hee....
sure, can hv a meetup!

LT: yah, intend to sign up Amore after christmas, never so many of u are amore students, hee...got kaki liao....

LT n Louie, when is both of ur wedding?
i only can remeber Leo same as mine n may is in May, rite?

May, thanks for ur info regardig the march in, will take note the length of my train when selecting my gown, aiyah anyway next yr then decide
regardig green tea powder it's the normal lor, but frm Japan so it's good n somemore help to digest after meals, the promoter said can reduce tummy after 2 weeks, if u take consistently take a packet everyday, a packet will do

Leo: thanks for ur informative for BTO,so which means hv to wait for 2 yrs at least once u select the unit lor? do they allow u to choose ur own block n storey? my FH n I prefer high rise building cos we are used to stay 10 n above storey since young....
how much is Sengkang BTO flat ah? we are looking for 4 room....
so if I apply end this yr, i got to select most prob end next n ready by 2005? really must plan one by one...

Leo, u very bored ah? this is my hotmail: [email protected]
mail me n we chat? hee....

so maybe we can hv a gathering after Louie's exams?

may - ya i heard so much abt ariston washer. a friend of mine is using ariston and was happy so far!!! wat is fuzzy logic??

ya, i did see the samsung model too, but not sure if samsung is really a good brand or not... since so many of your friends have such (+)ve feedback... so can trust lah!!

as for TV, think hubby most likely getting that philips pixel thingy... everyone's been raving about this TV. for air con... either mitsibishi or daikin. how many systems are you getting? think we r taking system 4 (2 in living and 1 each for 2 rooms). actually we hacked away one of the rooms for a walk-in wardrobe and study corner.

Louie - hey, we have met up Khing Chong before. his skills are really good. however we did not signed up with him cos of the paper he used for printing. we felt it's too flimsy and might not last through time! however when pictures are posted on web, it looks really good!

It's been a long time since i last posted on this thread... it seems that after you've settle on the bridal and hotel thingy, you are more relaxed liao hor...

Can see that you gals are very active and excited about your new houses and wedding gowns...i took mine from J&M and now i'm headaching over the design of the EG, i very scared that the final product may not be what i want... anyone same feeling..?

I'm also interested in the Amore classes...in fact, i just went down to the Bugis branch today to get more info about their package...seems quite reasonable... so think should be starting my exercise regime soon, if not...hiyah...won't look nice liao...:o)

Have you all gotten your furniture liao..? I went around a few shops at Furniture Mall etc... not easy to find something that I like lei... but, i bought my mattress liao... going to store in my room first....

May: sorry, didn't ans a lot of questions. My MTM WG is offwhite round neckline with thin straps & beadings, V back, double layer of organza behind, embriodery wif crytals.... trail quite long, dunno got how many cm though
EG: Deep royal purple, V neckline, also wif thin beaded straps, got a bit of trail also & small can can (coz the cloth a bit soft), embriodery also...
You also having church wedding, tats why u have a long trail??

My Aircon is: Sharp Invertor, System 4: BTU 26,000, the living rm one is slightly larger than for the rooms. Go 2 Hong Seng, q reliable $3,850. Heard abt the Mayer items, washer & dryer... quie popular. Bought my oven there, haven't used it but quite like it lah!
Use UOB & citibank credit card for installment plan!

Happy: My wedding is 6 Apr, Yours is Dec or May? *confused* I still haven't selected the theme yet, its not too late rite? Need to arrange wif Nat to c when got Romance theme again!!!

Leo: u tried Cambridge diet ah? Good? Its meal replacement, wun hungry ah??? Anywae, must ex 3 times a week for more effective weight loss! U need to lose 10, no lah... u look quite ok. Like tat I also need to lose 10 liao

LT: His paper too thin? Can request to use thicker paper?? Tot his price & quality of photos was good. Which others did u consider b4 selecting Fastsoup? I only got a few quotations, never spoke to 1 yet...

Yep yep... lets have gathering aft my exams. Happy, me also in stat board... hee hee...
Maybe we can meet for dinner? Think weekends, most of us will be bz shopping for stuff rite? Anywae, need to go IKEA next week...

Louie: What kind of defects shld i be looking for? I collected my keys and walked around. All seems fine. Nothing chipped off...of course i felt that some of the plugs were not aligned straight but this is not considered defect, right?

Leo: To lose 10kg is very difficult leh...i decide not to be greedy, can lose 3kg..i very happy liao...must set a more realistic target to achieve...

Happygal: i think you sound call HDB and find out about the BTO flats...it very much depends on the take up rate for the flats...they are now more concern about the leftover units so i feel that BTO is just going too slow now. Why dont u considered walk-in selection in the mature estate?

LT: Fuzzy logic according to the myer salesperson means that if you set your washer to a particular program and then someone come and reprogam it, it will be so smart (or silly) to not act on the latter program but the former. I actually dont really understand..so i didnt really bother...hee.. Someone also tell me it is a smart system that we check your washing load and adjust the suitable level of water for washing...
Sorry..it seems that the more i explain, the more blur i am...go check out the myer store.

U also hack one bedroom...me also considering to do it...but worry about the resale value later...sigh...
I also intend to aircon the living room. I was told that Daikin is not so good nowadays coz it is assemble in Malaysia. U heard about Fuji Electric...i wonder is it good...it is made in Japan and has 10 years warranty on the compressor. I am thinking of either Toshiba or Mitsubishi. R u planning to conceal your aircon pipes? I am so it is very important that the person doing the installation does it right.

I dont know any thing about the Philips TV. It is falt TV or projection TV?

BTW, is yours a premium flat?

Hosanna - i went to many furniture shops over the past weekends. been to IMM, Beach road furniture mall, IKEA, suntec city, parkmall, plaza s'pura,pacific plaza, paragon, millenia walk, stand alone warehouse sales - maybe these can be some places you might want to consider going too. some shops really sell very similar stuff... as i know one of them actually distributes to the rest. anyway, we still have not find wat we want - been looking for a TV console & dining table. and of course a high bed frame - but i guessed no one actually sells high frames and maybe i might have to custom-made one!!!

Louie - well, he actually doesn't use other types of paper, but he did mention that if we want, he could do so. but isn't this only experimenting?? and wat if it doesn't turn out good?? we have seen many photographers - Linn Kong, Hilarion, Monica & couple of ones whom i forgot their names. but they are the ones usu. engaged by couples. i guessed in the end, it's the comfort level and trust you place with the photograher. you do not like fast soup?? i thot this pict are great and service really value for money!!!

may - i was also worried about the resale value once the room is hacked away... but my husband said the most we eract the wall back if the buyer ones it. i think it really looks better with the wall hacked.

ya i hear about fujiair and the 10-year warranty too.. and we are also comparing to see which brand is good. mine only a standard 5-room flat.

LT: Standard flat is good. u literally can do all the things you want in your style and preference. esp. the toliets. I got to leave with the toilets that HDB has provided.
sigh...

What about your kitchen? I am most likely using Classics Kitchen. You sound really busy hunting furnitures. Any reommendation, where i can go?
What about water heater? U getting the ariston brand too?

Hossana: I also worry that the gowns may not turn up nice on me...but what to do...this is what mtm is all about. I also worry that the color might not suite me. But i just got to keep my fingers crossed and hope that all will well. I trust the designers.

Louie: I not having Church wedding..i just pure vain...ha..ha.. Anyway, the designer says i have the height to get a long train so might as well go for it. Once in a lifetime. I intend to get my hubby's niece who is 7 years old to walk down the aisle first and we will follow behind.

Anyone thought of the wedding march songs already...?

Happygal : Yap, you get to choose the block and storey that you want but of cos to get what you want, you have to be lucky to be the first batch of people when choosing the flat. Mine is on the first day. Mine is a 5rm standard, only have 4 blocks to choose from the rest are all 4rm flats. E-mail you and tell you more.

Hos : When do you intend to sign up?

Louie : I never try Cambridge Diet before, one of my girlfriend did and it really works well on her. Of cos you will get hungry cos you are taking liquid whole day especially the beginning part. You must have a very strong determination to get slim in order to be effective. However, if you want to lose weight slowly, to begin you can replace 1 or 2 meals first before going into all 3 meals replacement.

The reason why you think that I look ok its becos I am tall and I camouflage well, that's why give you the idea that I'm ok.

May : I know it's very hard to lose 10kgs but I will try my very best. Set a higher standard then can reduce more mah!^o^

may - actually HDB did do up the toilets and the flooring of the kitchen. but we intend to over lay floor tiles, (for master's only) hack away the toilet bowl and sinks and replace with our choice of designs!! cos i'm looking at more elegant luxurious feel of toilet!! hee...

seriously speaking, i haven't talk to classics. but heard their prices on the steep side. how's your quote? could share abit here?? as for heater, ya, might get the ariston, heard quite good too!!!

i'm not sure wat type of furniture you are looking?? but the places i mentioned earlier, you might want to try.

haven't thot of march-ins really.... thot it's too soon. oh..my banquet's in july.

May & Louie: What kind of material are you using for your EG and what color is it? Actually i saw a WG whose length is up to toe only, it is satin with a overlapping infront, thought of using it as my EG but of cos in a different color... The gown is not too "can-can", think A-line kind...Is it funny?

LT: Wow...you really go all out to hunt for your furniture...!! BTW, there's a shop at PS called XZQT. Their furniture quite nice, expecially their dining tables, alot of extendable kind... anyway, their items are all catalogue-based one, so if you can't find your ideal piece in the showroom, you can see from their catalogue and mix and match the different material and design to get the final product you one... Quite zen kind one...

You realise the thread is being updated very actively, it seems that everyone is taking a breather from work huh..?

LT: I like classic kitchens because they are so clean in design and structure...my quote is above S$ 5K for about 18.5 ft inclusive of corian top. Actually, their price is not so steep. I feel it is worth it coz their system is so much better than those done by contractors. u shld go down and take a look. Initally, when they quote is quite scary but they quote high first and you can always do away those items that you feel not necessary. What is your kitchen layout? Mine is long so i am going for a long stretch layout.
Who do you have in mind for kitchen?

I so envious of your luxurious toilet..i wish i can also do so. Floor can be overlay but what about the wall tiles?

Leo: i also same..same..use height to cover up me imperfect shape. Sigh...

Hossana: My EG's front is only to ankle length and behind is extended with a mini train with length 54 cm. So if you look sideways it looks from short to long..u understand? So i got to go make a pair of nice shoes to show off and need to do pedicure.. I got a small can can sometime like semi-circular gown shape. Materials wise...it is something like Thai Silk...it looks bluish and purpishish depending on the light.

May: U shd check within 7 days of collecting keys. U shd check every single inch of ur hse! Mine Master toilet jammed, window crack, hollow tiles etc. U really have to examine, o/w if anything spoil, ur contractor wld say not his fault!!! Ur quotation fr classic very ex leh!! Mine was done by "Cisreen", as my kitchen needs ard 30+ ft, its only 5,400 wif solid surface top! U need the contact, let me know... so far, I am very satisfied wif my reno
My cooker & hob (turbo) came free wif my kitchen

Hos: My EG is royal purple 4 further description, see above
if u like the design u saw... its a good idea changing the colour fr WG to EG. One of the Seletar Broadway brides did that 4 her MTM. Although my EG got can-can, but it looks A line though...
I saw this shop opp Celinii at Park Mall, very nice TV console (can custom make length). Too bad already bought fr Melandas, now still got defects!!! Hope they will replace new one

Leo: If I try the cambridge... will only replace dinner. Lunch starve... how to work??? My photoshoot Nov, die die need to look slimer liao!!!
Hee hee, me abt smiliar height as you, maybe can conceal more fats... haa haa
Must tell the photographer to shot fr ze best angle...

LT: U really spending a lot on reno. Mine was only abt 15K. Already no $$$ liao....

May: Everyone wants to be a pretty bride lah... hee hee... Get the LA Brand heater $195- 15 Litres(same size as Ariston - $180), its stainless steel. Don't use Ariston, lots of complaints!!!! Can try tis shop called San Seh at Jln Bersah, nearer to Lavander food court side. Ariston not worth it. The LA brand one GUARANTEE 5 yr NO LEAKAGE, not jus the heating element!! Hope it helps

LT: I think Choon Huat's photos are nice, but for the no. of rolls given, I tot was q ex. KC gives 400 shots (both colour & BW) & photoessay album for only 1,200. CH's pkg D got only 8 good rolls of colour & BW, already cost $1300. Actually really loved Robin, but much too ex. my fren not photogenic kind, still the photos looked just great!!! Sigh...

hi ladies!!

I saw someone using Choo Huat as actual day, who ah? I lost track liao...
But he's good, my friend is using him for her wedding, next yr march n his price is reasonable

Louie: mine wedding is next yr Dec, same as Leo
u going facial soon? since April shld pamper liao, hee....so u received the pricelist frm Beauty Inspiration? or did i e-mail u that time?
oh yah, which step board u r at nw? tell ur working area n i guess?

Leo: that's why I am following the HDB news closely now, currently my FH not in spore, he's out station for work so hv to wait for him to come back n discuss. BTW, anyone of u went to HDB Hub to look att he model hse? me going this sat to hv a look...!

Leo: thks for ur info again, will wait for ur e-mail...so ur selection settle, so which bridal shop u hv shortlist?
anyway u can take ur own sweet time ;)

hee..me curious abt u ladies age, those who dun mind can share share? me born in 1977....

May: oh, now saving $$ for wedding, flat settle later, so not in hurry to get walk in, somemore walk in all 5rm which we want to save, well so long hv 1 main bedrm n 2 smaller bedrm, we happy can already...

Happygal : Sent an e-mail to your hotmail yeterday evening, you got it? Wow, you still so young, me old liao, so much older than you, but of cos me still looks young ^*^

La Galleria is on my top list. Thinking of signing up the package without photography. LG can do both crystal and emboidery which I am looking for. As for photography, thinking of signing up with Robin. He has a package that consists Indoor/Outdoor plus actual day, quite reasonable price and his work is quite good.

Louie : Yah, you are right. Normally when I take photo, I avoid taking close up pictures, it makes my round face rounder and big, everything expand in close up. Stand further from the camera, I look slimmer. ^o^

May : At least our advantage is that we are tall and we dun look that fat.

Louie: What do you mean that your master toilet is jammed. You mean the toilet bowl? You seriously knocked on all the floor tiles to see if they are hollow? Wow...
yours premium flat?
The weater heater - 15litres enough ah? I was thinking of buying the ariston 30 litres one. Ariston so bad ah?
15k for your house reno - what did you do? Any hacking? I will be hacking one room to extend the master.

Happygal - if you not in hurry to get flat then u can wait for the Tanjong Pager 30 storey one. It will be worth it man. Or the Queenstown one.
I think i am the oldest here...so sad...

Leo: I was told that Robin very ex. Be careful, the basic package is reasonable but he will advise you to top up like crazy for the premium package. Heard some story about it. Unless you got the budget otherwise do not advise.

You not going to take a look at Jawn? Go lah...they truly are very nice people...

Agree we are tall to hide our fatness...

happygal - no they are new flats. not build yet. but bacause in prime and mature estate - it should be balloting system. try your luck loh..it will be worth alot of $$ in future. But it will also cost a lot too. So if your cpf enough ..go for it.

Hosanna - i'd been to XZQT too!! actually spotted a L-shapped sofa and coffee table. prices pretty reasonable. and sofa very comfy. ya, i think must really shop in as many places to get more options and designs. you never know wat you will find!!!

May - i did not find any kitchen specialist, thot of asking my ID to handle the kitchen for us too. well, but i think we would just visit a few kitchen specialist to compare workmanship and prices.

Louie - i'm doing up my entire flat. so gotta spend more. yours is a premium rite??
oh... i signed up with Choon Huat's Package A that is 8 rolls of colour only $750. cos we feel that B/W pictures are easier to take & you don't need a professional, you could do it just as good. so we will be asking a friend to do B/W.

Happy: Me at Novena, can guess liao hor!
Me also xiao mei mei here... hee hee... 1 yr later than U

Leo: A lot of studio shots are quite close-up one... sigh. If U take Robin's studio cum actual day photography, its much more reasonable. Feel tat their studio shots, photos a bit too small, coz everything like photojournalist (eg. a few 5R) on 1 page.... think not tat nice if MOST pgs are like tat. But their actual day photography is SUPERB!!! Haa haa... maybe I havne't compared wif others yet

May: My flat a lot of problems!!! The toilet bowl switch was stuck, so it doesn't fill water. You have 2 do a very detailed check
We not only knock all the floor tiles, but all the wall tiles also
There was a hollow wall tile in the kitchen!!! Yep, mine is D&B flat, rms all homogeneous tiles. I got 2 15L ones, my hse doesn't allow for 1 30L tank. LA brand also got larger tanks one... its stainless steel inside. Ariston is not.

Hos & LT: Me like the sofas & other furniture fr Cellini. The high back sofa was really comfy, so I bought a ottoman to put legs... hee hee
LT, BW easier to take ah?? BW tot wld be very nice if the photographer is experienced & make it photojournalistic?? Did u see CH's remarks on the quotation? "Usu more than 8 rolls will be needed for good coverage of day's events"?? My pkg A quoted is $750 btw, px increase liao!

Louie : Siao liao lah, I will look big and fat on all my pictures. Muz start exercising and go on strict diet liao, I want to be mei mei not fat fat leh! ^~^

Louie: I will do another detail check this weekend. I check all the taps and power switches. But not all the floor tiles. So many ...all must knock ah? Now, i am getting worried. Anything else i should check? Did you hack any wall?

LT: Go take a look at classics kitchen. very nice.

Leo: Tell me about looking big and fat for photoshoot. Mine is scheduled in Mar...so i have literally 5 months to lose weight...possible?

Louie - oh ya, i heard about Choon Huat's increase. but cos i met him up early this year, so he promises to keep the old price for us. ya, he did mention a good coverage would needs at least 7 rolls, & i think we can keep to 8 cos my hubby doesn't have a big extended family, so there will be lesser photos taken during the ceremony. and also we only have 30 tables. well, i think BW photos easier cos you don't have to care about lighting so better pict can be taken!!!

and we also feel it's actual day photos, shouldn't they be colourful, unlike pre-wedding shots, where BW would be nice!! anyway, both of us like colourful things more!! hee....

may - could provide contact of classic? did you also approach other kitchen specialist??

i'm also looking for wardrobe specialist. cos making a walk-in. any recommendations, anyone???

LT: I saw in the newspapers yesterday that XZQT is having sale lei...so you can go and see whether your stuff is cheaper... think i will get something from there too, maybe their dining table... Actually, Picket & Rail stuff is quite nice and good also, theirs is really teak wood...

Louie: Did you get their packages from Cellini? Tot was quite worth it, but didn't really like the combination. Anyone know of any place that sells quite zen furniture, preferred "teak wood, dark brown"...?

May: If i dun remember wrongly, your wedding date is about the same as mine right, in 1st week of May? I'm taking my photos before CNY, so not much time to tone up myself liao...

Refresh my mind again, who will be getting married first among us..? Can share with us the service with Amara then...

hi Hossana, i saw the ad too. will be popping by again next week. ya, been to picket & rail too... my husband likes one of their dinning set. might be getting from them too. so what's the theme of your home? you could try liano at suntec, i think there's also teak furniture.

my wedding's next july.

may - u hacked away one room for walk-in wardrobe too? ... ha.. saw your last few threads abt long train... me too.. want a long train for march in.. cos i thot amara's ballroom is long, so just appropriate.

Louie - could i have the contact of cisreen? you bought furniture from Melandas? how's their after sale service? read in other threads that they r quite irresponsible... actually saw a couch at their show room, but wonder could trust them or not??

LT:
Classic Kitchen:
blk 845 geylang rd #03-56
tanjong katong complex
It's open on m-s fr 12-9 n su fr 12:30-8:30. u can look for felicia leong at 67474119.

I have not seen any other kitchen specialist because quite a few of them import the structure from europe - from expensive. Classic is local but somehow their system looks real cool. Go take a look at their showroom, i really like it very much.

for walk-in wardrobe - i intend to get my contractor to do - think it is cheaper. But you can try CUPBOARDS (a subsidiary of OM - i think, they have a showroom at IMM or Hoffen (which is very expensive at Plaza Singapura). Cupboards is cheaper but my gf says their stuff like ikea? It depends on personal taste.

I got to hack one room lah...the master is so pathetic i cant have decent wardrobe nor a king size bed if i dont extend...

how many tables you have? I think mind is 32 so the ballroom should be spacious and with long train...should be quite an effect...ha..
i wish my wedding is in March instead of May now that the flat is here...May seems so far...but the fortune teller says March is a bad month to get married...

Hosanna: mine is on 15 may...when yours? Actually, i wanted to ps in Jan...but the photographer cannot ...so i push to March...cannot enjoy CNY...cannot eat too much mah...but actually i dont really snack alot of CNY goodies...just keep the bak kwa away from me can already liao.

There are lots of warehouse in sungei kadut that sells furniture at warehouse price...you might want to check out...just drive around there and look out for banners with the word furniture sale...

Louie: forget to ask earlier - you 15k reno includes what? what is Cisreen? I quite like a bedframe from Melandas - the purple and grey one...but felt that it is too common...

may - thanks for the contact. will definitely pop by to see. i have 30 tables. so i suppose could have a long train too... hee...

actually i wanted to have my wedding in may, but geomacer said not a good mth for us too... even for mth of june, august and september... so ended with july...

i have the same prob as you... my master is pathetically small, so have to hack away the other too!!

May: Mine is 10th May. Anyway, even if I have the ps before CNY, dun think can relax on my diet, if not, wait cannot fit the gown then die liao lah...
As for those warehouse sales, dunno how's the quality and service, so i have never visited such shops before...

Just a tot, anyone of you have tot of having the stage in the Amara ballroom in the centre instead of the mirror side? Cos i tot, if i have it at one of the mirror side, it seems a bit far for guests who are sitting behind to enjoy what is going on on the stage. However, if you have it at the centre, it will be a better view for all...Also, i tot, with the mirror reflection, it might look abit too cluttered as well when all your guests are looking in front to the mirror... any tots..?

Louie: how's Melandas? Quite like their furnitre too...is their stuff x and service how..?

Leo & May: Seems like too late for me hor! My photoshoot in 22 NOVEMBER ah.... die liao! I dun even have a mth to lose weight
No choice lah, try to make my face look prettier lor
Must go for facials liao...haa haa *self consolation*

May: You bring a hammer or wooden pole to knock, use hand not accurate wor! Check ur doors, wall tiles, toilets, shower screen (whether creaky), windows, bomb shelter (if got rusty, if yes to get HDB to repaint). KS a bit...jus check everything HDB has done up lor
I didn't hack anything, tot no point & didn't want to spend a lot of $$$$.

LT: Me got church wedding as well, so confirmed 8 rolls is insufficient one. By the time top-up, may not be tat cheap also. Wat r pre-wedding shots? Can enlighten me???

The ID's contact is: 9 6836 505, look for Richard & say recommended by Louise
He's very nice, prices are good. Kitchen I used for Posform wif aluminium trimming $120pf & solid surface $90pf. Reasonable hor
Can go to the website http://www.ciseern.com/ to take a look. I went to the Balestier branch, its bigger compared to AMK (recommended my other fren also, her reno also done liao)
Richard can bring you around 2 see his works done!

Melandas so far ok lah, they came twice 4 the TV console, they will have to make another trip coz' problem not solved!

Hos: I like furniture fr this shop opp Cellini fr Parkmall. dunno wat name liao... TV console was dark teak, can custom make length also. Lami International at Marina also has nice beds etc.

Didn't get pkg, coz' only wanted their sofa. My mum wants to use our old dining set... so can't take pkg. Think I shd be the 1st getting married here... i.e Apr 03. Most pple May onwards...

mAY: My reno got.... Custom made 10 ft wardrobe, abt 30+ ft in kitchen (postform wif aluminium trimmings & solid surface, FOC turbo cooker & hob), L box & false ceiling wif downlights, electrical works, plumbing was done by a fren (can give u his contact), painting, Powder coated alumnium grills for whole hse.... etc...

My fren also used them, hers more hacking & changing tiles... she said also quite reasonable lor
He is quite nice to bargain wif lor... his after sales service is good too, I called him a no. of times... he immediately come to settle the problems

Think no pt going to Cupboards, very ex!!! For a 10 ft wardrobe, the px is nearly double of wat my ID & other IDs quoted me!!!! Madness! Quality also so-so only. Heard Hoffen is nice, but much more ex than Cupboards, becoz they use very solid wood??

Louie: Dun stress yourself too much about losing weight, A? I thought stress also can lost weight, ok, sorry, stress up now!!! Hee.......!!!

Ok, serious one, try not to take carbo food till your PS that means no rice, potatoes etc. Try to take soup type or those steam cook food. You should be able to shed at least 1kg, hope it helps! (A-man) ^=^

Hosanna: i think those at Sungei Kadut are ok. My parents bought a console and coffee table there...zen looking one. Still last what...also many of those lile OM and Melandas, i think their factory is in Sungei Kadut.

Louie: ur ps so early. i cant remember yr wedding dinner date. Where r u going for outdoor shots...you racky already?
i agree your reno is reasonable. Bring a stick to go check the tiles,ok, i will tell hubby.

hi titto and heroin,

i'm only given 12 bottles waived!! my god! $30 nett per bottle for corkage.. must re-neg too! but i've paid my deposit! gosh!

Leo & May: Looks like me NOT stressed abt losing weight leh... hee hee... still v "itchy mouth" at times
Yup, my photoshoot is early, my actual wedding is in early apr. Now only abt 5 mths away... STRESSED
My frens advised to get most things done by year end or latest Jan then wun so stressed later on!!

May & LT: Ohh... my reno cost also included simple shelving at recess areas & customed made M. toilet mirror & shelving.

Skoon: welcome to the thread
I got about 12-15 bottles waived for wine.. sigh... guess have to limit my guests fr alcohol. If they want beyond tha pkg limit, at their own exp lor
Any other brides have any comments??

Want to have gathering 7 Nov (thur) dinner somewhere?
Email me (click on my nick) ur emails/ contacts, then can compile a list. Only have Leo's & happygal's emails...

Have a good weekend gals

aiyo 7th of Nov, me having gathering with other SB gals, sorry, we decided to meet since 2 weeks ago :p

some other day will be great

aiyo so many msgs, i lost liao.....think i chat with u gals when we meet lar