Amara Singapore

starnitedolp

HappyFairLady (his_fairlady)> to add on, they have 2 themes only...but they are working with 2 florists...and each florist has different design for each theme...so effectively, they have 4 designs...hope this helps.. =)

kling

hi ladies, my coordinator's jenny too. but apparently i nv receive any updates frm her or amara at all. probably my wedding toooo long more.. oct 2010. HAHAH. kiasu hor.

bipobipobipo

Hi peeps.. sad that tiffany n rebecc have left.. currently really seems like sue ann is having one man show. met her once but dun really have a v good impression. everything is v lost.. she's not as friendly as tiffany, and many things we requested b4, to tiffany, those are nothing, she's v easy going, but sue ann dun dare to commit anything.

Luckily uncle jeff is still there, if not i really going to cross my fingers liao..

senti

Hi all, actually its not true that rebecca has left. She is in fact still in amara but has transferred to another department. What i heard from rebecca is that there are actually many other staff in Weddings, for instance, samuel, Joanne (who is my new coordinator) and Sue ann who has just joined.
I believe sue ann does not dare to commit coz she's still quite new to her job. Could get her to check for you if you want anything.

Yes! bipobipobipo, i like Uncle Jeff too. =) I know other banquet managers who are very nice too, for instance, Fabian and Jason. All very warm and friendly people.

journey

Hi Starnitedolp, Mine is on 20 Dec. Me having my food tasing early too. will be this sunday! cos dun wan be in the 7th Lunar month...

carolyee

I've booked amara hotel as my solemnization this coming 090909. My ex-coordinator is Rebecca and now has been changed to Sue-Ann. Over the phonecalls and emails, she sounded friendly and prompt. Sometimes maybe too busy until it's abit blur. Just now i received an email from Sue-ann, addressing me as 'Yvonne'. haha! i'm wondering isit if the Yvonne is the one from this Yvonne(journey) from this thread?

At first my solemnization supposed to be in a function room (Connection 2) but today she contacted me and informed me that my solemnization will be changed to their Ballroom 1 instead due to my increased amount of pax. Feeling happy and excited about this "upgrade" and hopefully everything turns out smooth on that day. *fingers crossed*

carolyee

hi Yvonne!
Nice to know u over here... hehe... Congrats to u in advanced for ur wedding!

I've not seen Sue-Ann before so I believe the only chance I can see her will be on my ROM day liao. I have not seen the ballroom before as well.... but i'm sure it's gonna be beautifu than the function rooms. I'm so excited about my rom.

senti

Yvonne, I am having my foodtasting this Sunday toO. hAHA. Is yours lunch or dinner? Would Sueann would seeing you on sunday?

journey

Hi Ling, so coincident... mine is lunch... she did tell me that there is aother couple having Food Tasting too..
Nope. she can't make it this Sunday for the meet up. and had arranged another day or meet up .
When's your AD?
CAn share your menu list with me? we might be having the same dishes..

senti

Hi Yvonne, I am the other couple having food tasting on sunday afternoon.
My AD is on 7th Nov. I would email you my menu.

icejade

Hi all, I'm considering having my AD with Amara but want to know what are the additionals that I can ask for apart from what is offered? Can anyone email me the perks that the hotel offer? Thanks.

icejade

i will be signing up with Amara hotel for my wedding dinner next yr and my coordinator is Samuel. Anyone has him as coordinator? I met him just once but don't really had very gd impression

kling

hi jadey,

i just emailed them, and my coordinator is oso now samuel, the gal who called mi is call christine. i don really haf good impression of both. die liao. hai~

icejade

Hi Kling, when is ur wedding day? Haiz i'm quite disappointed at the Samuel's attitude and he dun really want to help us. In a way i feel he is not sincere in helping at all. At 1 point i feel like asking for the a change in coordinator! On the good side, I heard the food at Amara is quite alright so i'm just praying their service and flow of the wedding is good!

kling

mine's oct next yr, but meantime i haven't contact him yet, i just don really like their service coz i had to email them twice to know who's my coordinator. actually i duno wad's the prupose of contacting them, i mean when do couples usually NEED to contact them, and after doing so, what do we do/ask them?

blackonyx76

Hi everyone, my ROM lunch is on 18 Oct 2009 and no coordinator has yet to call me to discuss the details at all. I am abit disappointed that I have to do the calling and chasing them instead. What is the normal period of time before the ROM lunch, that the coordinator will call you to discuss abt the details? Anyone knows?

drew_drew

would like to contribute some comments which i experienced at a wedding lunch held at amara hotel today. I was very disappointed with their service. I am not the bride but was being invited to attend a wedding lunch reception today.

1) most of the waiters are young man like students doing part time job. Most of the guests were not being approached by the waiters for order of drinks. We had to wave and signal to the waiter to order our drinks because few of them are chatting away at the corner of the room.

2) after waiting for abt 10 mins or so, the waiter return to our table with only 1 drink and totally forgotten abt our order for 3 orange juices instead of only 1 drink. Later, the waiter came back with another 1 drink and again forgotten abt the order for TOTAL OF 3 drinks !! I was rather pissed off with the waiter as they are not old aunties but young chap with SHORT MEMORY AND SLOW ACTION.

3) The abv incident not only happened to us but to others as well. The guests have to remind the waiter for their drink orders having wait for more than 10 mins. The wedding which I attended today only consists of abt 15 tables or less which I think is not a grand affair but despite being a small scale wedding lunch, the waiters cant even give their best service haiz....

4) During the serving of the fish, after the waiter (again young man) had helped to slice/cut the fish into small parts, the waiter overlooked and conveniently took away the spoon/fork leaving the guests not knowing how to help themselves to the food without the fork/spoon on the plate (with the fish).

Last but not least, I am very disappointed with the service provided by Amara hotel. However, I am quite impressed with the nice deco of the ballroom and the food is not bad either. If the hotel can get more "responsible" staffs instead of those young student and cheap labour I think most of the guests will be most impressed attending any wedding lunch/dinner at Amara hotel.

his_fairlady

hi ixora76.. did e co-ordinator from amara called u by this time to discuss on ur rom lunch??

hi luvflower.. i'm btb in nov.. n i agreed with you tt amara service is very bad.. i felt very regretted to sign my package with them.. n they kept changing co-ordintaor which actualli pissed me off too..

Hi Kling,i did realised tt usually e couple will have to tk the initative to contact them instead they doing e job..

icejade

OMG! tats quite bad! mine is next yr May hopefully by then their service will improve! I think their coordinators are not experience enough and the turnover rate is quite high

I heard from my friend who attended wedding lunch on 3rd oct at the ballroom, saying the food and service was bad
I'm quite worried after hearing that.

kling

ahh, now im getting worried. im doing my outdoor solomnization with them as well before the banquet man.. and i think it's too late for mi to do anything now, coz mine's a hot date next oct. =(

blinklash

sue-ann had resign her last day is on 13th . well i hope i will meet up the new co-ordinator
wait for them to call me up ... my wedding is in 2 week time ... hopefully their service can improve .

kling

wah biang, now tt sue ann resign.. tt's very kua zhang.

Happyfairlady: no la, i don think im in time o change hotel and besides already paid deposit liao.. so face the fact. jus hope things will change next yr.. =(

his_fairlady

blinklash.. so in end did u met up with e new co-ordinator??

apparently i'm alreadi very unhappy with their service..

Ling.. i guess email them doesnt seem to help.. coz e co-ordinator will seems to be 'disappearing'

senti

Do you mean the new coordinator would leave one after the other? My hubby sent an email to them, telling them how disappointed we are and they got a coordinator to talk to us and serve us very promptly. I think its worth the try..since we have all paid for the service.

kling

LING, who's the coordinator that spoke to you all? maybe we shld note him or her name down.. afterall, if tt person deserves a compliment, we should. =)

his_fairlady

Hi Ling.. this usually happens to those who resigned.. so i guess its like once resign = to bo chup..

let pray for a better n responsible one ..

bb_queen

I have a few nights stay at Amara to sell. Pls Pm me if you are keen to know the details. I will not be checking this thread. Thanks.

biuesky8

E coordinator, Christine quite enthu in her services. Emailed them on e quotations and was promptly responded. Subsequently also follow up with me.. requested to view e venue, even though she could nt make it, had arranged for another lady, violette to attend to us... still considering between Amara & Traders...