Amanda Lee Weddings

overwhelmed

have been missing in action cos really busy as i just collected the keys to my place *yay*

sharky,
the corset is a personal preference... but i must say my figure never looked so good!! *hahahaha* ... it really shapes u up and gives that waist... but the price of vanity is discomfort lor... wearing that thing is no joke... wore it for an hr during fitting and already feel it liao... cos corsets makes u stand up and sit down really straight so u have fantastic posture but means your back may ache if u normally slouch like me

aiya, wedding sure spend money one mah... so depends on what means most to u then u spend on those and save on others
... for me, the gowns and photography are most impt so i took up amanda and benny ang altho they're more pricey... and i save on a more mid-priced dinner... but i never regretted taking up amanda cos she's really creative, meticulous and takes pride in her creations... i am perfectly pleased with the gowns she made for me... now just waiting for the photoshoot to put it down in pictures

pup pup
corset usually for the WG if it's bustier... EG normally those softer material so normally use cups... my EG was a halter neck wif low neckline so no corset just cups

susanti,
amanda's packages quite standard but like postpet says sometimes u get a few additional perks thrown in during promo... as for the no. of photos, it's also quite normal for those photog of that standard... people like Robin, Chris Ling, Benny Ang etc all start their basic packages around that region in terms of no. of photos... alternatively, u can do what i did which is to take her package without photos and source your photog seperately... if u go to those tanjong pagar ones like milan, julia wedding news etc, i think their basic package will have more pics cos done by inhouse photog... so really depends on your preference

cassie

corset with push up? heeheeehee i really dunno

skarky: my hubby never ever did the budget, wedding day schedule, list of helpers needed...... either
i guess it's always up to the ladies to do these, and i must say we probably do a better job at it anyway, heheh

pup_pup

thks for the corset advice. yeah, think i'll need 1 corset then.

anyway, women are better at budgetting than men, so we usually do the sums! hahaha..

jess12

can anyone share with me pictures of WG and EG... am thinking of taking up Amanda's package. Thanks! it;s very urgent... =)

joy118

Seeing your many good comments about amanda lee in this thread, does anyone know roughly how much a Amanda standard package cost?

overwhelmed

Hi Joy,

i only know her package without photography and this is what I signed up for last yr, not sure if it has changed since

$3790
1 MTM WG (rent)
1 MTM EG (keep)
1 MTM suit (keep)
1 set OTM crystal accessories - necklace & earrings (keep)
Flowers & corsages
Car deco
Makeup & Hair (4 sessions)
tiara, veil, can-can

if u wan photography then it shld be at least 1k more... i took mine separately... but u shld just make an appt wif amanda to find out her latest prices (sometimes there are promotions) as well as try on her gowns

tweety123

Anyone can give your comments on Amanda Lee's design and services...coz i tot of signing up her package?

jess12

i am proud to say that i am an Amanda's bride...
her design and services are really good... she is very passionate about her designs and work and you will feel very comfortable with her.. of course, it's better for you to make a trip down to her place and have a chat with her....

jess12

Hi Tweety,

happen to check email very frequently... oh, amanda has just tied up with PhotoLanguage... we took Photolanguage... however, if i am not wrong, she doesnt have any sample on PhotoLanguage... BF and i saw PL work in Flamingo.. we like their style and effects... =) go check the website http://www.photolanguage.com

as for MUA... cos my PS not fixed so Amanda cant confirm my MUA... my PS and AD is quite rush as i have just signed up with Amanda about 3 weeks ago... so she is trying her best... but think you can check out the threads... think Jasmine T and freddy?

tweety123

Hi Jessy,

OIC....i know that she engages both Jasmine and Freddy...heard tat they are good...

Would make a trip to see her...

She dun have tea dress in their package, right?

jess12

Hi Tweety,

Nope they dun have tea dress in the package... the very basic package without photography is 3880, inclusive of flowers, MU, etc... the ones with photography varies... but if i am not wrong, chis ling is having a promo... so if you wanna chris ling then go to him directly, amanda suggest this... oh, her package now also includes accessories.. you can also borrow her kua, just have to pay 80 for dry cleaning... =)

when is your AD? happy BS shopping...

jess12

Hi Siok,
sorry to reply so late, was away for biz... my package consists of the basic with Photolanguage for Photography... Amanda has just tied up with Photolanguage which me and hubby likes... it's 5280 altogether...
It consists of MTM WG (rent), MTM EG (Keep), MTM groom suit (done inhouse), MU and hair, 2 posies, car deco and 1 set of ER and necklace...
not sure if amanda has Photolanguage sample photos yet... but you can check out the website... http://www.photolanguage.com

Hi Pup Pup,
Yes...

trolley_dolly

Hi just visited Amanda and would like to find out more fr Amanda's BTB.
Noticed tt she likes to do coloured embroidery and must say worksmanship is pretty good. personally, i'm not too inclined towards coloured embroidery and emphasize more on the cut of the gown. anyone has any comments abt her worksmanship in this aspect?
a bit worried cos understand tt her shop is pretty 'young' so duno if she's experienced enuf.

another thing is realised the duchness satin she uses for her gowns seem to be stiffer than those tt i tried on at BV, any comments abt the quality of the fabric she uses?

also heard quite a no. of negative comments abt the florist she works with - Redbox. any comments?

1 interesting thing abt the package she offered me is the MTM cheongsum for keep. anyone bt her cheongsum before? any comments?

sorry for the numerous qn, but in dilemma now. caught btw her and Kai who is v experienced but more pricey cos he doesn't tie up with eric of attitude for PS (i'm set on him! =) thanks in advance for your advice/comments!

cassie

amanda's strength is in her detailing, and not just in embroidery, but i had no problems with her workmanship as well. the gowns fit me ok. what's important is that you convey to her what you like and dislike; if you don't like coloured embroidery just let her know.

I personally feel amanda's better than kai in detailing, having visited both of them twice when i was sourcing for a designer
feel kai's strength is more in his EG designs.

Hi Trolley Dolly,

Actually, Amanda had been in the bridal industry since 1996. Just that she set up her own boutique in 2002. In actual fact, she has at least 10 years of experience in the wedding industry already.

You may like to find out more about Amanda Lee Weddings in one of our feature article:

First Impressions - feature on Amanda Lee Weddings.

toot

i just signed up with amanda lee over the weekend..phew. it was such a relief to end the bs hunt. anyway, i really love her gowns. Out of all the bs I've been to, i like most of amanda's gowns and i also feel i look nice in it..eventho some of the gowns didn't fit well :p. can't wait for my 1st appt. am really excited bout it.

wasabi

I am in the midst of selecting a bridal studio, I have met up with Amanda on Sat and realised that she has tie up with several photography studios. I am impressed with Utopia's work and wonder how was it like working with Utopia.

Thanks,
Wasabi

lazeeladee

I've signed up with Amanda Lee and my gowns are in the process of making. My 1st try on will be in Jan05. So far very satisfied with her service. Really nice and willing to accept and give truthful opinions.

jess12

Hi Wasabi,

i am not sure about Utopia though... but i think it should be quite ok cos many BS tie up with Utopia... Photolanguage is good too... =) I would highly recommend Amanda... My AD is in Jan... have gone for 1st fitting and will be going for the 2nd one next week... Amanda did a wonderful job! her gowns are just what i wanted... just tell her what you want... what kind of design or look you are looking for and she will let her creative juice runs... hehe... an advice from another bride which i think is very true... you can tell amanda what you are looking for... but let her use her creativity and incorporate your look with her designs... and you know what? the end result is fantastic!!! dun worry, she know what she is doing and will advice you on the colours which are suitable for you and the cut of the gown... =)

overwhelmed

Hi Wasabi,

my AD is in Dec *argh!! stress stress!* ... and i can tell u Amanda is a fabulous, meticulous and totally creative designer... her customer service is excellent and she is fastidious in the quality of her gowns... i totally love my gowns and everyone who's seen my gowns have said that they're really unique esp the EG... so i know i definitely made the right choice...

i used Benny Ang for my photos... he's a great guy and we had alot of fun during our shoot... the photos turned out wonderful so i wld highly recommend him too

all the best to your wedding preparation

pup_pup

agree with all... my AD is in Feb and i juz luv my gowns.. they're juz ME!! can't wait to see my guests' reactions when they see me in it!

jess12

i do agree... when i saw my gown i feel the same... they are just me! fits me to the T... jsut that i will have to do amanda justice by losing weight... =P AD in jan

overwhelmed

Hi pup & jessy,

we shld ask amanda to consider using the tagline "Gowns that are just you" ... seems tat we all feel the same abt our gowns!!

jess12

Hi JT,

yaya... hehe... will suggest this to amanda when i see her on monday.... =P have you taken your PS already? can share photos? my PS on 8 Dec... worried that i will put on weight... ergg... any advise for PS?

Hi Pup,
can share PS photos?

bejeweled

Hi Jessy,

Feeling really excited about your PS in Dec...

I am in the midst of selecting my Bridal package and i have narrow down to Ted & Amanda. I have visited Amanda twice, what captures me was her boundless creative energy during discussion and a thumbs up for her customer service... the only concern i have is her ability to deliver from raw ideas to the final stage, anyone care to give me some pointers? I believe that a couple of you guys here have gone through the process.

jess12

Hi Audrey,

hehe... me too... i am very excited about it... having my final fitting before PS this noon...

Dun worry about her ability to deliver from raw ideas to the final stage... her ability should not be a concern for you cos she is really good... i wanted something really different from the rest of the gowns she made but something which suits me cos i am a bigger size gal... she really took the time and effort to think of a design which combines my theme and look which i wanted and her creativity... she design something really different... and you know what the outcome is great!!!!... i have been to ted wu... that was the first stop.... but only got to meet his staff... not very personal... amanda is very personal and she doesnt meet anyone else during your meeting with her unless it's someone who is collecting their clothes etc... she really does her best in everything... and joe did a great job with my hubby's suit... =P he look so good... not that man's suit differs alot... but the cutting etc is good...

if you choose amanda, let her design something for you, incorporating your ideas... dun restrict her... cos she is really good... also, if you wanna soemthing different, i suggest you have colours or embriodery on your gown for she is really good with colours etc...

Happy BS shopping...

toot

juz wanna know whether any of you negotiate with Amanda for any of her services, since she only do the gowns and the rest are outsourced i.e. make up artiste, photography, flowers. I am quite confused since I don't think there's much to negotiate, but my colleague said I should have negotiate before engaging a bridal shop.

Another thing, does can we ask Amanda to change the wedding gown design if we dun really like it?? Cause for my case, Amanda actually designed the gown during my first meeting with her and my next appointment is already for measurement.

thx...

joellez

Hi -tute

I visited Amanda a few times but didn't sign up with her. Still, hope can help with your queries.

Regarding negotiating - some studios allow while others don't. One-stop studios that do in-house gowns, makeup, photography, flowers, graphic design and album printing, are more likely to negotiate because they have control over almost all aspects. What they gain in one service can be used to cover their loss in another.

Studios like Amanda's do not allow for negotiation because you're paying her for her design, gown & jewellery. The rest are outsourced.

What can be discussed though, are perhaps things like - extra rental of suit / gown? Or the cost top-ups, if any. Still, my impression is that Amanda is quite firm on her prices.

As for designs - if you have second thoughts, do talk to Amanda ASAP! Better to make changes before the gowns are sewn.

bejeweled

Hi Jessy,

Really appreciate your detailed analysis, i will bear in mind when i pay her the 3rd visit...
How was your PS? Any difficulty with the photographer? BTW, who did you engaged as the photographer? I personally like Attitude,

Hi Joelle,
What hold you back from signing with Amanda?
I believe that you will look great in her bridal gown..

I do agree on her being firm on her pricing, as everything is outsourced, there is nothing much we can negotiate... I am hoping that she will be flexible with extra gowns for PS, which many BS does nowadays.

Hi tute,
Amanda did some fast sketches based on my requirements during our 2nd meeting... Have you committed to her as your BS, since your next meeting is for measurement? Have you paid the initial payment?

joellez

Hello Audrey

I also believe that Amanda is a creative & competent designer. :] What impresses me most about her is that she seems to be very organised and detailed; I can trust that she'll get things done. However I found I could relate better to another designer, so I went with him.

Re: extra gowns for PS - when I asked during my visit, she told me a rental fee is required. I hope you can persuade her to change her mind. :]

toot

Hi Audrey,

Yes actually I committed to her as my BS and thus have paid the initial deposit. My 2nd meeting was to confirm the design she did in the 1st appointment. I was actually quite okay with her idea, and she is supposed to come up with detailed design in the next meeting. So, was just wondering if I have new ideas, whether I can ask her to change or add on.

As for extra gowns for PS, does she really allow rental? For my personal opinion, if you choose to do more outdoor PS then differences in wedding gowns doesn't really stands out. Unless, the photos are done indoor or if choose to wear diff evening gowns wif diff colours. Hmm...I wonder whether Amanda has any evening gown collection for rental, anyone knows ??

overwhelmed

Hi Jessy,

u can see my pics on http://community.webshots.com/user/jonjaswed

my only advice for PS is to really relax and enjoy yourselves cos it really shows in the pics... for my album, all my frens said can tell we had lots of fun and tat's exactly wat we wanted
... so dun stress over poses, just be yourself and HAVE FUN!!

tute,

i suppose during design stage, u still can change idea... so be sure to do your homework by going thru bridal mag, throw her all your ideas, raise all concerns and discuss in detail... but once the gown is made, i guess it's a little hard and also unfair to expect amanda to make a brand new gown for u cos alot of effort is required (she personally does all the detailing on the gowns... and handsew every bead on my EG!)... and u'll prob end up feeling upset & disappointed if tat happens... so do think abt the design and only agree if you really like it ;)

I am one happy amanda lee bride so for any bride who's worried abt her service, quality and worksmanship... i can only say, dun worry! cos she's really good at wat she does ;)

toot

JT,

Thanks for the advice. Will start digging through the magazines for wedding gown designs b4 my next appt.

Btw, ur pictures are gorgeous...u look so preety and I love the natural-outdoor pictures. And of course the wedding gown is beautiful. Is that embroidery on your gown ?? looks like gold embroidery to me.

overwhelmed

Hi tute,

yup, tat's gold embroidery on the WG
... love the richness of the gold thread on satin... amanda did a small sample of embroidered flower using the gold thread when i was deciding whether to use the thread or not... she also added silver lace flowers and crystals but guess it's not as visible as the gold thread in the photos...

thanks for the compliments... i do hope that u have a wonderful time with Amanda like i did

milmil

Hi JT,

Your pics are really nice.. i can really see u & ur hubby enjoy it a lot

BTW where is ur wedding held? Any recommendation for banquet venue?

You must be very busy preparing ur Big Day. :p

jess12

Hi Audrey,
My PS will be on the 8th... praying taht it will be a wonderful day that day... =) my PS is photolanguage... will tell you more after my experience that day... hehe...

hi JT,
do you have any advise as in what to bring that day etc? thanks!

milmil

I finally have decided to work with Amanda Lee on my gowns & my ROM dress. She is very friendly, professional & creative. I love her designs for my wedding gown, eveing gown & ROM dress very much. Although we only met 2 times, she already roughly know what i like & dislike.

My ROM dress will be a white color modern cheongsum...can't wait to see it!

overwhelmed

Hi milmil,

yes yes, things are a little crazy now cos only 2 more weeks... mine's at Grand Copthorne Waterfront... but unfortunately i'm not very familiar wif the other venues so not much advice...

Jessy,

bring your best mood and your best smile... have fun, relax and u'll have the most beautiful pictures
... but seriously, just bring everything tat amanda gave u... some blotters, water etc... i din need anything much during my PS

toot

I was surprised to know that most bride-to-be visited a BS more than once before deciding! I just went once to around 10 BS then decide on Amanda! Hehehe...I guess I rely strickly on my first impression on the BS. Not very good huh?

JT,
My gown would most probably quite similar to yours. If nothing changes, gonna use full dutchess satin plus gold embroidery. It's just the cutting would be diff. Agree that gold embroidery looks nicer on satin. Oh, and good luck wif the wedding =)

Jessy,
Hope ur PS goes well! Do share wif us the pics. Would love to see ur gowns. =)

lindy_koh

Hi ya,
me new here. but it seems like Amanda lee is good just a little pricey eh? And i happen to be considering Photolanguage as well!! any idea how much deposit it normally required?

toot

Hi Lindy,

Yup, ur rite...Amanda is more towards the high side and thus more pricey. But her work is really good. As for deposit, the BS requires 50% deposit from from the total package.

lindy_koh

Hi Tute,
Thanks for the info. Wedding is a once in a lifetime experience so i dun mind to pay a little more for something special. Any other recommendations other than Amanda lee?

toot

Hi Lindy,

It all depends on what you like and your budget. Also whether you are doing MTM or OTR cause some BS has limited OTR. I only went to 10+ BS during my BS hunting and that really varies from mid-end to high-end BS. Some of those BS that I visited are Flamingo, The Wedding Present, Bridal Veil, J&C, Ritz Couture. Perhaps given more time, I would have like to spend time to visit BS like Silhouette, Ted Wu and Kai just to have a feel on their designs. Reason why I didn't go there coz I thought their packages price would be sky high. Hehehe...didn't realise that Amanda is almost on par with them. But anyway, didn't regret my decision cause I think Amanda will be a wonderful person to work with. =)

lindy_koh

Hi Tute.

Thanks for the info! i'll be heading to TWP the week after next just to check it out as my priority now is my venue! have only got about 15 tables,and i am lookin for excellent hotel with great food and nice arrangement for small guests numbers. Have seen Grand Hyatt and their garden is sweet.just to consider as it is a buffet dinner. If buffet is out for my family then i'll have to consider other hotels.any suggestions??

In e meantime, i'm still considering Amanda Lee!!read to many great stuff about her works to ignore!