Amanda Lee Weddings

coal

not 2 worry so much on REDBOX, they have a much better idea to do up the flower than most on the mkt. but i must say they a small slip up on my wedding. they pass me the wrong flower and only call me up when i abt to reach home. what to do need to rush back down and swop the flower.

on the whole no issue with them. amanda & joe are fun ppl to work with for the next few mths.

overwhelmed

Hi postpet,

have not gone for trial make up yet ... but going for my 1st gown fitting soon... very excited!!
... regarding redbox, amanda tells me they are good & creative... she told me she will tell them how my gown is so they can provide complimenting flowers... but personally have not spoken to them or seen their works so no comments

i'm taking the 2.5k package from Benny... saw my fren's photos by benny and immediately liked wat i saw
.... ya lah, he not very cheap, but i was willing to spend on gown and photography so other items dun spend so much lor :p

hi pup pup,

i chose Freddy for my MUA... Amanda recommended either him or Jasmine Tiong... and i chose Freddy cos he's apparently more fun and "gao xiao" ... thot it'll be good if my MUA can help me relax!

cassie

amanda mentioned we could take photos during our fitting to show red box. then they'd have a better idea what kind of floral arrangement would suit
i'm also keeping my fingers crossed that all will go well!

JT: my hubby and i also spending more on gown, suit and photos - in fact i think we're spending a bomb on photos and video alone! ;p

overwhelmed

hi cassie,

heh heh... my frens think i'm xiao spending so much on gowns and photos :p ... but i think my AD photo & video quite alright... together $2150 not tat bad right?? only my studio photos more ex :p

pup_pup

Been some time since i came in. Are there any brides willing to share their gown pics with me? I'm meeting Amanda soon and I'm so looking forward to it!

JT, r u having the express montage for your dinner? still undecided if i want to hv express service.

Postpet2, did u see any pics fr Redbox?

pup_pup, what pics from redbox?

i had gone to see them to get a feel of their style and if i'm comfortable getting my flowers from them lor...

if you are asking about actual pics of bridal cars and bouquet, i've seen their bridal cars's done up pic.

personally, i don't really like the design, guess i got to do more research and tell them exactly what i like out of my bridal car design lor.
same goes for bouquet.
the lady that i had talked to sounds nice and generous. That's the reason why amanda ties up with them. She feels that they are quite generous in their flowers.

cassie

hi postpet,

did you see my post on red box? i think they're nice ppl, just that yah, FH and i really don't like their designs
haha i think i give up on my bouquet! too many other things to do to fret over it...

overwhelmed

hi postpet

just went for my 1st fitting... and i love my gowns!!!
... altho it's still not fully completed, i love how i looked in them and esp the colours for my EG... very very pleased... can't wait to see the completed gowns... now i feel like buying my WG cos i really like it *haha* ... but no point lah, expensive and dunno where to keep...

so wat is it abt the Red box that u dun like? have not seen their works yet... is the bridal car decor very bad? cos mine will be a london cab so will be abit different from normal cars... hope they do a good job out of it...

hi pup_pup,

wun be having express montage for dinner cos i'm maxing no. of tables & the coordinator say no space for projector liao... will prob show photo montage only during recep...

pup_pup

hi postpet,

yipe, was thinking of going down to meet them and see their pics/works personally. will find a time soon.

r u ladies giving any wedding favours? other than the chocolates/fruit cakes by your hotels?

overwhelmed

hi pup_pup,

nah, wun be giving anymore... cos i already have to design my church invitation cards and programme booklet, plus my sis helping me to design a card for each table explaining the absence of shark's fin soup
... so no more time to make anything else and i dun wan to spend money on favours...

when are u going to see amanda? u're going for your gown design right? have fun, i did

Hi JT,

you love your gowns!! Fantastic!!!
I remembered yours is a ball gown too rite?
I had gone for mine recently and i completely love mine too....hehe...Think we girls made the right choice...
for red-box, they had a few pics of the ones they did, got one of them, they said is a new design. but i dun like leh...in fact, when i went to Fiore Dorato, i saw some really beautiful car decos....
for london cab, you may wanna give a tot on what kind of effect you are looking at...that will help Red-box quite a bit in their design bah...i hope...
when you taking PS?

pup_pup : you looking at favours...what sort?
my hotel is giving pralines and potpourri which i dun really like. was thinking of getting something special...but still have not decided what to get yet...

pup_pup

i'm not sure wat to give either, was looking at chopsticks and candles but am wondering if i shd save $$ instead of on favours? would pple appreciate it?

JT, can share your pics with me? just went to finalise the sketches and it's not ballgown. in fact, amanda didn't show me any ballgown designs. so, very curious!

amanda told me to buy the corset and be prepared to face a hard time looking for it as it's almost out of stocks everywhere! oh dear..

overwhelmed

hi postpet,

hey, happy to hear u love your ballgown too! i absolutely love the effect it gave together with the long & soft veil tat amanda is pairing it wif
... feel like a princess!! ... definitely happy wif her design

PS is early Sep so my 2nd fitting cum trial make up will be in aug... can't wait to see the completed gowns!

hi pup_pup

my hotel is already giving me options of candles and chopsticks for favours tat's y i dun intend to spend any more money on it... personally i dun think the guests really care abt favours... and i already intend to make my church invitation cards as bookmark for keepsake...

for the photos, i think it'll be better to wait till my gowns are completed b4 i share them wif u
... no point seeing it now cos 1stly the beading & lace not done, and also the pics were not well taken so can't see very well... do remind me again after the 1st wk of august

for the corset, i totally agree u better start searching... when i bought it a couple of mths ago, i already had a hard time finding cos that sorella model has already stop production... i only wanted the white one so search high and low and finally found one at metro paragon (but wif slight lipstick stain) ... if u wan white i dun think got anymore... for the beige, the last time i checked, it's still available at OG Orchard Pt, Metro Paragon, Robinsons & John little... but it's a really good recommendation cos it's cheap for something u'll prob never wear again after the wedding

Hey JT,

do share with me on the topic of corset..
is there a lot of corset range for Sorella?
When i went to Robinson in City Hall, i think Sorella has this white corset that looked similar to what Amanda loan me when i try on gowns. Think cost less than $40? Is that what you got?

I've yet to talk to Amanda about my veil yet...
your 2nd fitting in aug? PS in sept...i think our schedule is so close to each other..
BTW, i've got Benny as well..
wah piang...so similar...

Hi pup, perhaps when amanda saw you, she felt that another sillouhette suited you more than a ballgown?
What's yours? A line?
I'm sure what Amanda's going to design for you will be fantastic too.
I'm quite pleased with the workmanship of mine...so i'm sure you will be too...

overwhelmed

hi postpet

wow! we're really similar in our wedding arrangements *haha* ... u liked benny too? i really liked the way he captured the happiness of the couples... and i like his personality and studio too

yup, the corset was $39 i think... got this 2 panels of lace forming an inverted V at the front of the corset... better grab it if u find it cos i find the other models more pricey & i din wan to waste money on something hidden in the dress

hi pup_pup

agreed with postpet, amanda doesn't only go by wat's trendy... it's always wat suits u as well as the occasion better... i'm quite tall wif small waist and wanted something grand for my church wedding thus she recommended me the ballgown
... tat'll be really unsuitable if i had a garden wedding...

pup_pup

yeah, agree tat amanda's reali gd with her workmanship annd she's so frank and creative. tat's wat i like.. instead of some designers who says u look gd in anything and everything!

i'll be searching for the corset too.. will let u know once i find the treasure. I found the sorella plain white but the size was too big and it costs juz $29.90. think i'll have to use the lace design which costs a bit more.

r u ladies renting amanda's kua? am thinking of it

overwhelmed

hi pup_pup

wun be wearing the kua on actual day cos my ballgown very leh chay to wear with the big can-can & all... so will be too stressful to change back into the WG for my church ceremony in the afternoon... but considering wearing for PS... my fren say very fun to have pics of the kua cos it's the only time in your life to be so cheena! *haha*

JT: Yup, the lace one is the one that i saw...okok...will get it soon.

pup: I'll be wearing Kua for my wedding. Mine's a chinese traditional one. No church wedding so got time to change for my return to my mom's place.
JT: maybe you can consider to rent Amanda's Kua for PS?
You taking your PS in early or late Sept?

overwhelmed

hi postpet,

ya, considering borrowing amanda's kua... haven't seen it yet though... but seems like some of the other brides say her kuas are nice
... dun think i wan to specially spend money to rent... broke liao! :p

my ps is in early sep... am thinking of starting my facials... u guys got any good beautician to recommend who's not too exorbitant?

JT : me with AngelFace using Sothys pdts lor...
not that ex.
if you really want to start doing facial, better start fast..

cos skin will need some time to get used to the 'trauma' it go thru during facial...

overwhelmed

hi postpet,

ya, at 1st no intention to go but frens ar telling me it'll be better to clean up my face b4 the PS :p ... guess i'll start nxt mth...

JT, pup,

i'm thinking of getting someone else to do flowers leh...
i dun think i wanna freak out with Red Box last minute..
pup : you looking ard for flowers too?

pup_pup

postpet2 - think i will stay with red box coz no $$ left to spend on more floral works. plus hoping the hotel can work something out for me as well.

JT - i've started facial three months ago and still not used to the painful process. my advice is get started soon. amanda has only one red kua for loan (silver dragon and phoenix design)

JT : its true to start facial soon...when i first started, skin had a little outbreak..but after a few times, skin 'settled' down...
Did you reserve the Kua with her? cos she only has one.

pup: i called Amanda the other day. she said she got tie up with another florist called Petals and leaves leh. but i dunno if we need to do any top up or not. can always ask her on the next visit...

pup_pup

din know she got another florist, will check with her again. can't find the corset everywhere.. the sizes r too big. not sure if i wan the kua yet coz would rather spend the $$ on something tat i can get to keep and maybe wear again in future.

overwhelmed

hi postpet & pup

me not changing flowers either cos i'm not really particular as long as the flowers are fresh and look decent... amanda seems quite confident of them so i'll just use them lor...

i'm gonna start my facial half mth b4 PS just to see how my skin react... if can take it then will continue till AD... but if turn out bad, at least got 2 wks to recover b4 PS!! *fingers crossed* ... was telling her i always get red marks from the blackhead squeezing... but she said they dun use squeezing but some other less painful method to do it... will be doing it mid Aug & let u guys know if it's at good as it sounds...

only 1 kua? i thot got 2... anyway, we just have to pay for dry cleaning if i dun remember wrongly... no rental involved... me going for my 2nd fitting in another 2 wks time... can't wait to see the final product!!

pup_pup

hi JT, u mean you're not renting from amanda? i know we have to pay for dry cleaning though. maybe i'll go and try the kua to see if it suits me before deciding. i only saw 1 kua

postpet, any news on petals & leaves yet?

overwhelmed

hi pup,

i think amanda doesn't charge rental for her kua... u just have to pay the dry-cleaning charges which i think is $80 ... think i will ask her again when i see her next wk...

who did u guys pick for MUA? i chose Freddy and will be seeing him next wk for my trial... anyone met him before? how's he like?

pup_pup

nope, i've asked for freddy too but amanda couldn't confirm his schedule yet. so i'm still waiting...

heard tat he's a humorous guy.. u shd have fun!

Hi pup,
duno how come i can miss your postings..
i did ask amanda about petals and leaves...actually its located at sungei buloh leh..super far...so if want to go and talk abt bouquet and do car deco super far ah as comapared to red box...
amanda kept reassuring me that red box is ok...i kinda pai seh to be so mah fan..

my MUA is Jasmine. At first i wanted Freddy as well. but Freddy's taken on my AD, so take Jasmine..then i like not comfortable with jasmine and Amanda was there reassuring me again...me a mah fan girl..

i think both Freddy and Jasmine are good MUA. but Freddy is a little more open up in his style when talking to clients so more brides to be would want him...

overwhelmed

thanks for the feedback on Freddy... it's true tat i heard he's quite a funny guy, just wanted to see if anyone of u has actually met him yet... well i'll be seeing him this friday (my 2nd fitting with trial makeup *yay!!*) so will let u gals know if he lives up to his reputation

btw, have u gals started your renovation for your places? am currently looking out for someone to do some simple reno for my place... if u know of anyone reliable, efficient and provides good svc, pls let me know!

pup_pup

so exciting! trial make up this week! din realise it's done together with fitting and it's a gd idea so you can see the whole package instead of just the face part.

give us some feedback after this week ya? thks!

overwhelmed

hi pup,

yup! really excited
... amanda recommended me to do the trial makeup on the 2nd fitting with the completed gowns... just like u said, can see the full works
... can't wait to see the results! ... when's your fitting? do let us know how it went

pup_pup

amanda told me i shd be able to go for first fitting in sept.. so waiting anxiously.. can't wait too!

seems she's quite bz these few weeks, haven't fixed appt to try the kua yet. wori if not suitable on me, i won't have time to get a nice tea dress.. heard tat Empire has some pretty decent ones at reasonable prices. will check it out too.

JT, take photo and share with me and pup on your trial ok....we can share share...

my trial and second fit is next tues....super duper excited as well....mine's Jasmine...will take photo to share with you all too..

overwhelmed

wah postpet! our schedules are nearly identical!! ... good luck for your trial, let's hope everything turns out great!

pup, u must be so anxious for your 1st fitting *heh heh* ... i was dying for mine to come *hahaha*

pup_pup

wow, such a coincidence! great! i'll have more photos to see.. hahaa...

looking forward to your pics!

Can't wait for my turn..

pup_pup

hey ladies, may i know what fabric r u using for your EG? i'm using the shantung silk but my frens told me it's like thai silk coz it has dual tone. r they the same?

cassie

a tailor told me shantung silk is actually synthetic, hence it doesn't crease as much. shantung comes in single tones and you can see raw threads in the material. thai silk is the real thing, and yes, it has dual tone. it used to be that thai silk had raw threads too, but i'm told they've refined the technique or something and nowadays the fabric is smoother. but being natural silk, it creases quite easily. thai silk is more shiny than shantung.

pup_pup

thanks cassie! juz wori abt the overall effect the dress will give coz many pple told me tat thai silk shdn't be used for EG as it's "cheapo" looking? not too sure abt tat...

but, you're a great help! thks again!

cassie

haha actually i wouldn't have known all this if my bridesmaids didn't have to choose between shantung and thai silk ;-)

just curious, what did your friends suggest in place of thai silk? ;-) anyway you don't have to worry, just leave it to amanda i'm sure she'll know the best material for your design. if you're worried, can ask her to show you a sample of the material before going ahead

pup_pup

amanda showed me the fabric and the colours and i chose it on the spot, not even realising the name of the fabric.

when i told my frens it has dual tone, they immediately said it's thai silk and may not have a gd effect.

anyway, i'll leave it to the hands of amanda, i trust she'll do a gd job.

sharkfynn

So far Amanda is the only place that I have been too that uses corsets. Do you guys know the reason for this? I have not tried on enough to know the real difference. Does it hold better for those bustier types? (all i tried so far are those padded cups) Or is it a design thingy?

I am split between Silhouette and AL. How How?

cassie

hi sharky,

tough decision, silhouette or amanda - i had exactly the same dilema about 1.5 years back ;-) i would say go with the designer whose style and service you're more comfortable with. who attended to you at silhouette? i think they work with quite a number of photographers - is the photog you have in mind working with both?

amanda mentioned some time back that corsets will shape your figure (ie make you look better unless you;ve got a great figure to begin with
) it will also better support your gown so (if it's a bustier) it doesn't keep sliding downwards.

lya

am a new member here....
read quite a lot of good review abt amanda...
decided to go over take a look on last saturday...

she offer me a package of 4k+ with robin photography...

but no tea dress, my husband wan another suit ---both add up to 6K+

and the no of photo only 24 8R + 1 table top (too little....)

anybody have any advice? or can tell me what kind of package u r having?

Hi susanti,

Amanda offers various promos at different times...depend on when you sign up what does she have....

When i sign up, she was having a promo for tea dress/suit....

i think the number of photos are about the same for everyone....if i'm not wrong, basic is 20 pics...but got promo so is 24...
you'll have to weigh if you are willing to top up more and the overall cost lor...

besides looking at the content of the package, important to look at the dress and if you can click with amanda...becos you are going to face her for the next 1 year?hehe...

i agree with cassie about corset...really can shape you up...

Cassie : but can we have push up for corsets ah?

sharkfynn

Sigh... I wonder if i should just stay away from these specialise boutiques. They all cost more than the tanjong pagar type. sigh. 4K is already alot of money hor.

Can you believe I am still cracking on the budget. Fiance is not helping. He doesn't do budgeting at all! Spend spend spend like there is no tomorrow. Terrible.