Aimin Acupuncture & Weight Loss Centre

dreamzz

hi cheryl...
[email protected] no news from me? yah.. have been quite busy recently.... oh.. i just went to the last treatment.. only dropped 0.4kg... means now 62.3kg... thinking back last very first treatment.. i was like 66.9kg... although now my weight is dropping not as fast as last time... i'm still glad... cos i did have lost that 4.6kg already... hope to drop more weight.... hope that by this upcoming thursay treatment i can go down to 61.9kg at least

hamasaki128

dreamzz,
wow! so each wk u'll go there once 4 treatment? so d 1st wk,u went consecutively for 3 times treatment in a row,is it? so hw mani wks apart've u gone for yr recent treatment compared to the first one?

btw,wad did d dietician initially ask u 2 eat huh? forget le..pls tell me again...so now,u still eat 1 pc of meat plus veggie now 4 yr lunch? hw abt dinner? juz veggies rite? if i dint rem wrongly...hw abt yr brkfast? u juz merely 1 cup of coffee,is it? ya,can knw dat yr wt loss slow down nw....btw,did u go exercise 2?

hamasaki128

wanna ask if one c no wt loss alreali but however,dun 1 2 cut down ani more portion of d diet,wad to do? but one still exercises....wad to do?

dreamzz

Hi Cheryl...
I hav already gone for 11 treatments... today's going to be the 12th one... this week is the 6th week of treatment.yah... 1st week has 3 treatments consecutively then subsequently 2 treatments per week.

the food that i was told to eat is wat you have mentioned... one pice of meat and vege forlunch and plain vege for dinner... but seems like i haven been really following very well for the dinner part... i sometimes took yoghurt and meat with vege... and now i haven been exercising ... so kinda bad for the weoght loss thingy... maybe this is the reason why my weight has been dropping rather slowly.

as for your question of wat to do if one sees that no weight loss - do not wanna cut down on eating portion but still exercises... i would say depend on the person current size and weight right now... if lets say the person is like Cheryl's size... i doubt any more weight loss will be seen no matter how much exercise you are going to put in cos the weight is already the minimum and i guess the exercising part is no longer losing weight but more so of toning up the muscles and all... but as for people with overweight or slightly overweight or not in the cceptable range of weight... think execercising willl still lose weight even if one do not cut down on the protion fo the food that he or she is taking in (of course you cant expect to lose weight still when one is eating like an elephant...;>)

Anywae... i hope that the question that you have asked is not based on the problem that you are facing right now cos i think you would fall in the first category of the example cum explaination that i have mentioned (which is that ...impossible to l;ose any more weight cos of min weight has reached!)

well take care people... update you guyds again tonight after the treatment yah.

youngmum

Hey all...new here....juz came across this forum and really find it applicable to me. I'm a 22 yr old teacher and a mum to a 10 mth old baby boy. Got a huge weight problem. I gained 30kg during pregnancy and only managed to shed 15kg during 2mth maternity leave. Now stuck at 84 kg at 1.62m. I feel soooo auntie esp when i go out wif my same-age frens. They'll be wearing jeans and all sorts of nice clothes while i have to stick to bigger clothes and look like their aunt tagging along. Really feel unattractive. Trying hard to cut down on carbs now. Exercise-wise, I dun think i can start to even jog as my weight puts too much pressure on my knees....hurts! So i'm doing brisk-walking. but i need another source of help. Want to try acupunture. Anyone on it rite now? Can perhaps tell me the latest pricing? and useful tips as well....will really appreaciate it

alan_golfnut

vienna: Sorry, just wanted to help out on the comment on your knees hurting. You'd need to take the pressure off the knee, so do avoid high impact exercises until you've taken some weight off. Yes, brisk walking is good, just make sure you're working at the right intensity and for at least 20 minutes each time. Try deep water running too, it's pretty hard work without the stress on the joints. Try to start with at least 3 days a week of such exercises, get the body used to the workload (some weight will come off too), then increase the frequency. Dun worry, with patience and perseverance, you'll do well. Good luck!

hamasaki128

dreamz,
would not advise u 2 take meat 4 yr dinner...coz it nds at least 4 hrs 4 u 2 digest d meat...so u can eat meat during yr noon instead...dun think it's bcoz u consume yogurt,meat during yr dinner....i believe it's most probably due to unchanged exercise routine which cause wt loss 2 b slow....try changing d order of yr wk-out or increase yr intensity....

btw,arent u tired of eating onli 1 type of meat during dinner? b'side western& chai cai stall meat,wad kind of stall have u tried? coz find western food v exp...

youngmum

Alan: Thank you so much for your advice. Sometimes I really feel like pushing myself to run everyday so I can slim down quickly but I dun want to sacrifice my knees. My mum has arthritis and it hurts to see how she cries every morning when her joints are swollen. I dun want to be like her for sure. That day when I went for foot reflexology, the therapist said that my knees are kind of "loose"...gosh...he scared the hell out of me!

I put weight mostly at the bottom parts so i look really unbalanced. anyone with the same problems?

alan_golfnut

vienna: Re your body shape, dun worry, cos you're not alone. You're classified as being pear shaped.

It's important to strengthen your legs, esp those that work on the muscles and ligaments that stabilises the knee, such as leg extension (works front of the legs) and leg curl (the back of leg). Running faster does not mean you can slim down faster, it's the intensity and duration of your exercise. Make sure that you're working out hard enough so that you're slightly out of breath and is able to complete a sentence REASONABLY comfortably. Good luck!

hamasaki128

vienna,
yr mum has arthritis and it hurts to see how she cries every morning when her joints are swollen? her arthritis so serious dat she cried when d pain cum? is she on ani medication now?

dreamzz

hey people...
just to update you again... i went to the treatment yesterday... lost another 0.4kg only... but well.. better than nothing yah... hee means now is 61.9kg... dropped a total of 5kg...

hi cheryl..
i dun only eat one kinda meat everyday... although it might always be chicken... but those chicken are cooked in many differnt kindda ways... right? and sometimes i do eat fish too... and seafood.. and mushrooms... there are so many different varitey kindas of food and diffferent kinda of cooking ways...

Hi Vienna...
i'm currently going through the acupuncture treatment... its aimin acupuncture slimming programme. 30sessions 1680bucks... can have more sessions but no lesss... 30session is the minimum. qutie effective... got lose weight almost every treatment.,. around 0.4kg-1kg drop each time i visit for treatment. but i guess its depends on individual too.

muddle_ger

hi dreamzz which branch are u wif now?
does it hurts whn the needle is inserted into ur body? i am interested to try but i am very very afraid of pain... btw how many treats had u been throught?

northgal

dreamzz, Wah! I am really impressed by your 5kg lost, keep up the good work, though I think that the weight loss is also greatly due to your diet control. Btw, when can you start to bring in your carbo and be back to the normal meal portion? Are there any scar left by the needle pop? Do you have stretch mark or feel flabby after losing the 5kg?

dreamzz

hi people...
my height is 1.65m... took 6weeks to lose this 5kg...
i will only start bringing in my carbo when i reach my target weight... which is 55kg... means got 7more kg to lose...
there is some scar left... but it will heal eventually... its not going to stay there forever kind you know.. guess will take a few weeks for it to go off totally. stretch marks? flabby? i have always been kinda flabby.. cos i seldom exercise.. or to say never exercise... i think i'll start doing the toning up after i get my ideal weight.. cos dun wanna my fats to turn to muscles and make me look chuncky...
as for the pain... it does hurt a little actually... but once the needle is in your body... you dun feel much pain... its only just the moment when the needle goes into the body then you feel abit pricky... other than that overall its still bearable.

hamasaki128

dreamzzz,
i find dat it'll b pretti long b4 u can reach yr ideal wt....7 more kg 2 go....& 18 more sessions 2 go...change yr routine exercise& intensity den i find u can reach it much faster...

i undstd most of d time,u'll b eating chicken...mostly,i saw is those deep-fried one...except curry chicken,did u eat during slimming now? u eating deep-fried one oso? i knw abt mushroom all these thingz...all r veggies...
yup...i love zi chai's fish...v nice! lemon deep-fried fish...v nice! depend on where u buy....

northgal,
i dun think dreamzzz can go bck 2 her normal eating diet...i mean d portions size& types of food....might oso nd 2 adjust her portions size aft slimming....plz check it out w yr dietician,dreamzzz...

youngmum

Cheryl: My mum is on medication, she had operation on her knees years back. Doctors removed her knee caps with metal....so big scars there.

Dreamzz: I really envy you, gal! Gosh...wish i can go aimin now, but must wait for december....bonus! ;p btw...do u find it difficult to control your diet? I tried cutting carbs...lost weight for forst few days but after that i felt so unsatisfied...need at least wholemeal bread to see me thru the day...does aimin allow that?

dreamzz

hi vienna..
you cut down on carbo on your own?? i dun really find it much of a problem for myself... with the handling on no carbo issue... think is because the treatment helps to curb the appetite.. and cravings for carbo stuffs.. you lost weight? how much is it? how many days have you been in such "no-carbo" diet? wats your weight and height now?(if you dun mind saying...

youngmum

Hi Dreamzz....yes that was some 3 weeks back when i really feel motivated to lose weight. Initially I was 85kg 1.62m. Then I didnt have carbo for about 3 days plus brisk walking I think....lost 2kg. Then I got sick...flu and diarrhoea n vomitting...in a day lost another 2kg...but then again that's water loss. Just wanted to start exercising again...sprained my ankle!!! Now my weight is 83kg and I will be starting again. In december hopefully i can go aimin and speed up weight loss. Actually i can lose weight but i dun have the discipline u see...and most of you here dun have weight problem as serious as mine

Any way how's your progress at aimin?

dreamzz

hi Vienna...
last treatment was my 13th treatment... and i have not really drop much too... still maintaining at 61.9kg... sad.. but i hope that by 30th of oct i will be able to lose more weight and go till 60kg at least... sigh... at first tot that i will be able to reach 58kg by 30th oct... but my weight loss has been dropping very slowly... guess the max i can go by end of oct is only 60kg... sigh... you do update me on your weight loss progress too k...

hepi

im new here in this forum. im sgrean but study in KL. my prob is, its hard to ctrl diet here coz i live in hostel..so we're not allowed to cook...most of the time i buy food outside. damn hard to ctrl my diet! at my uni, it's so difficult to find salad, veges. most food are fried...as usual malay cuisine..ive tried alot of eksesais...sit-up n others. yet i gain again if i stop my eksesais for while.. hope i can go to Aimin asap...uwaa! im 1.54 in height..weigh arnd 63kg..im an obese!! uwaaa!

hamasaki128

dreamzzz,
u mentioned yr last treatment's d 13th treatment....do u knw y u dint drop ani wt? did u ask them? or has it reached a plateau? is aimin's service gd? it seems to me dat it's better than ani accupuncture clinic...

alan,
is there in ani case dat one's wt cant drop animore even one's increased d intensity or change the routine of exercising? y is it so?

hamasaki128

alan,
no,no,no....i mean even though change intensity or change exercise order,is there in ani case dat body cant drop ani more wt?

hamasaki128

Alan,
(a)i read frm magazine dat a certain supplement which've green tea containing 90mg of EGCG& a total of 200mg of caffeine which help in increasing burning of calories. is it true in effective burning? Does spicy food increase metabolism?

(b)Does too much protein consumption which is for building muscles store as excess fats if unused? y does those body-builders nd so much of protein? they took too much protein for building muscle ? does it lead to calcium deficiency& cause osteoporosis?

(c)I saw on a magazine which say dat she'd spent 2hrs a day on cardio. The more she did,d less it helped. Coz d body clung to fat...explain to me.

(d)A california instructor told me dat i dun nd so much of cardio exercise. I onli nd 2 do 20mins/wk& it's enough. I juz nd 2 tone up thr wts. Wad's yr view?

(e)Wad's routine training? circuit training?

dreamzz

cheryl... i think alan's going to really get damn pissed by one of your repetitive questions man!!! you have been asking the questions all over again and again... arent you tired of it? he already mentioned wats circuit training.. routine training...comeon!! look back at the previous postings... stop asking the same question again and again... even i get urghh....

hamasaki128

dreamzzz,
get pissed off by my repetitive qns! which ones? did i? plz dun b like dat 2 me...i m here 2 learn too! nobody knws all,rite? may i knw where can i find d ans for circuit training& routine training? plz direct....

youngmum

Hi Cheryl...maybe u can set aside about an hour or so going thru the past threads....i'm new here...and bursting with questions but I dare not post most of my questions until I have tried to read all the posts. True...most of the question u asked have been asked by many many others before...and they have been answered many many times too. So be a darling and do your reading aight?

youngmum

Hey Dreamzz...
How's it going with aimin?

I'm starting to fast today (I'm a muslim) 82kg as of today. Hoping that I can lose some weight at by end of fasting month...Before dawn, i take 2 wholemeal bread with thin spread of margarine(can't help it!) and a cup of hot milo while the rest of my family were having delicious rice with other dishes...but dun really feel like eating that early...so not so bad. Telling myself that during breaking of fast, I will drink hot tea slowly before attempting to eat anything else...coz tend to gobble up a lot on an empty stomach. Much of starvation but can't help it...religious obligations...

hamasaki128

vienna,
wow! fasting mth! so u mean u nd 2 fast frm d start till d end of d mth? wad time start fasting& wad time 2 end fasting? y nd 2 fast? hw mani times a yr do u all have dis thingz?

wad's ramadan? i heard it recently... i luv malay food 2! u all v united one...plus u all alwayz cook v big portion...hmm...yummy! btw,r u trying 2 slim down 2? kueh all these v fattening...so must portion ctrl...undstd? usuali,if u break fast aft fasting for long...u tend to gorge on more food especially fatty food...b careful...=)

alan_golfnut

Cheryl: While you might be trying to be concerned, but do be sensitive about the cultural aspects of the eating. The whole experience is religious and spiritual, and it's a celebration and a joyful occasion.

vienna: Dun worry too much during Ramadan about the food aspects. A lot of the food is sposed to provide a quick shot of sugar to the blood stream so as to 'recover', hence the food such as the sweet tea and dates. You're rite, that one tends to gobble when hungry, very natural. If you can, go for food with complex carbo, which takes a longer time to breakdown, thus providing a fuller sensation, and providing slow release of energy, which can hopefully sustain you for the daylight hours. Look forward to the joyous festivities at the end of the fasting! Hang in there!

dreamzz

Hi Vienna... you mean you have dropped another 1kg? that''s great!! hee... for me there's not much improvements ... cos i haven been exercising last few days.. but you know wat... i have already bought a pair of sports shoes and i just went to the gym last night after my work... its real tiring especially i haven been exercising for a real long time, but still the feeling after the workout is really great... think i can go to gym more with my bf also... that'll really encourage me to go and not give excuses for not going cos of tiring... he now always kinda "force" me to go...haha... i'll keep you guys updated about my workout...

alan_golfnut

dreamzz: *big hug* Good for you on taking this next step of your life!!
Come join us at the 'how to slim down properly' thread if you need to read up on any advice, they'll be glad to lend you moral support!

youngmum

Cheryl: Basically in the muslim calender there's 11mths instead of 12. and in a muslim year, we fast once, for a month and that month is called Ramadhan. We fast from dawn till dusk everyday in that month to remind ourselves how less fortunate people feel in their lives everyday, thus we'll be more thankful that at least we have food served on our table evryday. Over the yrs, people start to have misconception that fasting is all about no food, but actually we have to refrain from doing bad stuff...even gossiping is considered one. Have to control temper also.
This year fasting starts at about 5.31am and we break fast at about 6.53pm.

Alan: Yeah...yesterday so hungry when i got back frm work to break fast. My mum cooked her awesome fried noodles and i was salivating!! but i controlled myself and took my own sweet time eating a date and drinking tea. then i tasted just a bit of the noodles. it works...i dun feel like eating after that liao...My hubby was eating so much he couldn't stand up after that...no matter how much he eats he's still slim...hate him!!! ;p But i was laughing away at him...while i carried my son, leaving him seated down at the dining table...

Dreamzz: Hey!!! Yes, I lost a kg! I planned to go brisk walking abt an hour or so after break fast but it was too dark...scared lah.In times like this i really wish i can get a treadmill. Anyway yesterday was super busy day at work, handing out worksheets to my students before they go for that 4 days break due to PSLE marking and also rushing thru some marking...so by the time i got back so tired already. You're rite...feels gooood when you sweat rite? ...i WILL go brisk walking tonite!!!

hamasaki128

4 snack today,i took 1 waffle wiz chocolate& blueberry fillings...v v tasty! v v nice! luv it! it's so great! hope wont gain more wt...or else sad...sad...nw,facing a platau...plus gain ano 0.3kg for last few days...sob sob...dun knw y...mayb bcoz of muscles or reli fat..recently,dint watch so much on wad i eat...eat more nw...

dreamzz

hi people... today i just went for the gym again... but this time is with my bf... hee... initially didnt wanna go.. cos tired... (work too busy recently).. but in the end still go cos meet him already.... so good... means i had worked out today... actually its one of the great ways the spend time together too... hee... hope i can tahan this gym thingy... pray fer me... hee

hamasaki128

dreamzzz,
sure,it's a gd way! btw,wanna share wiz u,on friday,i m so tired dat i dun 1 2 go 2 gym...always dragging time...while taking my nap,i m still thinking if i 1 2 go,if i dint go,will grw fat...have dis tot of postponing 2 go on sat...but when i was sound asleep...a call frm hp rung& woke me up...i feel so refreshed..coz i put d ringing tone until d loudest...den i went off 2 gym le....

northgal

dreamzz,

Which gym do u normally go? I really admire you ley, juggling with your work and study, plus making regular visit to Aimin. It is really nice to drag the man to the gym, else he will irritably spoil woman's plan. My bf alway propose going makan and supper.

I wonder how you survive all these activities with your low carbo diet. Do u think the acupunture is really effective in curbing your crave? Or your determination is simply that strong?

dreamzz

Hi northgal...
i usually go to the khatib gym...cos its really big... spacious and comfortable there and most importantly not smelly... cos small gym will smell due to poor ventilation...

oh cos my bf is a gym rat la... and he really loves sports and exercising alot... so can get him to motivate me loh... heee

yah... i do think that the acupuncture really helps in curbing the apetite...

alan_golfnut

dreamzz: *applauds* Good job for making the effort! That's why I always encourage people to go together with loved ones and frens, so that there's the group support thingy. Great job, keep it up! One thing tho, do be cautious abt the low carb thing, but you might literally hit a point when you become really tired cos of lack of carbo for fuel.

dreamzz

yah... thanks alan... for your appluads.. hee... anywae i will be going for the aimin today.. hope that i can see more weight drop... keep my fingers cross!!!

alan_golfnut

dreamzz: Jus playing the Devil's Advocate- do you think the loss of weight stems from the acupuncture, or the combo of a sensible diet and exercise. Seems like you were ever much of a exercise person till lately, which also correlates with the period where your weight loss has jump started again.

dreamzz

Alan...
i think the first 5 kg that i lost is due to the aimin and the diet... not so much on the exercising part... cos i only started the exercise regimen these few days... but i guess exercising does play a part of my weight loss also... but i dun think is for that 5kg...

alan_golfnut

Hmm... how abt the dieting bit? Cos if you were never terribly careful abt what you ate, starting out on a new diet does make a difference. Sorry hor, not trying to disprove anything, just exploring.
Anyway, great that you're starting an active lifestyle now.
Keep it up!

hamasaki128

dreamzzz,
when u first started wiz no carbo at all, do u feel tired/lethargic/no energy? i cant imagine dat u nd 2 take juz veggies during dinner. hw u feel? wad wd u take during mid-noon? oh,acupuncture reli curb yr appetite,reli?

let us knw yr latest news, k? looking ahead 2 hear yr wt loss plan...4 me,i dint lose animore...but it seems to go up frm 31.7kg to 32kg....sob sob....dun knw is it gaining wt bcoz of muscles or reli gain wt?

dreamzz

cheryl.. i refused to answer your questions... cos i'm sick of it... i have answeredx those question umptee times...!!

northgal

dreamzz,
I feel that 5kg lost is really a lot! I would have fall off my bed with joy if I can lose that amount. Did you check with Aimin how you can speed up your weight lost? I feel that it is not good to be on low carbo diet for too long, so better speed up to reach your desire weight. Do Aimin encourage exercises or they are neutral on this?

Cheryl, as usual, you are repeating yourself.
193547.gif