Aimin Acupuncture & Weight Loss Centre

May: Actually, how do you determine how fat you are simply based on weight alone? Has it occurred to you that you might be heavier simply because you're bigger boned, have more muscle content, etc? Don't fall into the common trap of using weight as an absolute to determine whether you're of ideal fat level or not. Just not accurate enough. Cheers!

Just want to share my sisters experience with Aimin.

My sis#1 lost more than 10kgs in about 4mths. She look fabulous now and younger too. She's abt 52Kg and 158cm tall now. After more than 6 mths now, she's at the maintenance stage (she hardly go to aimin now) since she has reached her desired weight. She has started to eat carbos now and though she may have gain abt 1 kg recently, i think that's not bad since she has increased slightly her food intake now. Just need to watch what she eat, she'll be fine. I have heard abt other slimming centres that the treatments only last until the whole course end. But at least my sis hasn't regain that much after the treatments.

Seeing the success in my sis#1, my sis#2 has sign up too! she has lost 2kg after the 1st 3 sessions, now after abt 3 wks, she lost 5kgs! I think its great!

I'm considering signing up too but not sure is it worth it for me since I only need to lose abt 5-6kgs (unlike my sis, they need to lost more than 10kgs).

Hi, i have been to my 4th session, had only lost the 1kg+ til now... so sad.. i was hoping for faster results.. hi kitkat..did your two sisters maintain their diet plan with aimin?

Hi May Lee,

How is your progress so far? Managed to lose more weight. I had just finished my 2nd session yesterday. Still coping with the diet plan

hi girls, can i just check with you, do you need to take any chinese medicine with aimin's slimming program?

also, does anyone experience red dots (where the needle poke into the skin during the acupuncture treatment) the next day? i know some people don't have any leftove marks but i have, so wondering if that's normal?

could be i have sensitive skin.....

Hi all, anyone knows which 1 is better ? Amin or Ma kuang ? cos my FW wants to try acupuncture to get rid of excess fats, but dunno which 1 to try..
hope someone can help, thks.

hi girls...
i have stop going to aimin for some period of time... think is because of weight hasnt been going down... keep stuck at 61kg... for a few months actually...

ah yah... toking about the red marks from the needles... i think mine now like a scar already... its beeen months since i went for the last treatment and till now the mark is still there... i think that is one of the reasons why i did not continuethe treatment... might be wat V_ni is saying... that we both have sensitive skin.... i just hope that the mark will go off eventually... so ugly...

but recently i have been jogging... around 2-3 times per week... can see the scale dropping abit.. now weighing 60kg... hope i can perserve on and lose to 55kg... oh yah... i was also thinking of taking the fancl drink as a supplement to help in the weight loss process... read in the thread for fancl that it is quite good... got people drink for a month plus... lost about 4kg... quite amazing... but the drink likevery ex leh...think i'll only buy a box of 10bottles to try first... if good then maybe will consider in getting a month's supply

after losing so much weight, will the skin be flabby? my sis tried ma kuang, she did lost weight but tummy area is very flabby...

Hello all!!! Been a long time since I posted. Many things have happened during this long period of time. My weight loss thingy...I got down to 76kg...then my dad passed away...I got very depressed plus we had so much to do so most of the time, I ate out....then up to 78kg now. Sob...sob...but I'm ready to go back on track!!

heard that the slimming session is not bad.. can let me know more in details... I have problems with my arms and I would like to slim down my arms only.... anyone here can advise????

I've with Aimin for quite a while, n after my 16th session, my period come twice a mth!! did anyone of u encounter this problem? Need advise. tks.

Don't have this problem encounter. But i know that the acupuncture will help to tune ur menses regular if u having irregular menses.

Hi cheesecake,

For the 1st 3 mths, it really tune my menses regular,as all the while my menses not regular. But after 3 mths, it become twice a mth, i've checked with doctor and he advise me to go for utlra scanning. I did check with Aimin, the accupuntist saying some pple will hv this problem. So i'm the unlucky one! It really irrates me as I can't go my body massage n swimming.sign....

Hi, I am new here~! Just wanna share with u gals my experience. I'm able to lose 5kgs whithin two mths... =) Just a normal diet & regular exercise will do.

Hi tulipng...
Oh.. in this case there might few reasons... firstly is either u lose too much weights that affect ur menses or ur menses suddenly become imbalance.. Cos if all the menses ur menses not regular might be due to imbalance.. Cos i experienced same problem as u before.. went to scan before.. must drink alot alot of water before scanning.. and lucky nothing grow inside the womb.. if something might be cyst..

Hi cheesecake,
this morning i went for ultra scanning, like what u said, i've to drink a lot a lot of water, luckily nothing happen, so may like what you've said is because of hormone inbalance. my doctor gave me hormone pills to take for 2mths, he said it will help to balance up the hormone...so far, i've stop accupunture for 1wk, next wk think must go liao, this wk eat a lot, quite scare will put on weight, how abt u? how's yr progress? i still hv 10kg to go!!

hi tulipng,
i gained weight cos i stopped going for acupuncture now. I take the hormone pills but later change to injection instead. Somehow injection work betters for me. The doctor did mentioned to me when losing too much weight at one go will affect the hormone. Perhaps u lose too much weights at one go?

Hi cheesecake,

my doctor said the same thing as yrs. I've lost 9kg within 3mths, according to aimin, they said is ok.

Har?? medicine don't work for u? u mean after u took the hormone pills, yr menses still twice a mth?? i've not take mine yet, mine is 2mths course, my doctor said after taking the hormone medicine, my menses will somehow irregular, is that true for u? i wonder will the hormone stablise if i stop slimming...sign...

hi tulipng,
when i took the pills the menses become irregular and still missed a few months. Plus consuming of the hormone pills i scare the weight will pile up so i take injection. Injections works better for me. When i stop slimming the menses came back. weird rite?

I just signed up today at Aimin and started my 1st session. I felt pain at certain parts and didnt dare to move coz of the needles.

On the overall, they were very nice ladies and friendly. no discomfort at all.

tomorrow goin again. update later!!!

Hi celia,

i paid $1780 by credit card. and its a 30 session package.

pay back credit card by instalment plan of 6 mths. so per mth i pay back ard 300 bucks.

i went onli after hearing so much abt it..seems it works but gotta control diet lah....but im quite determined tis time and so far, i realli followed their diet for breakfast.

hope i can stick with it

Hi **brea**,

they have special diet for u to follow? How do u feel after the first session? Any effects? $1780 for 30 sessions seems reasonable, provided they dun push u to buy stuff like those slimming centres.

So what's for breakfast?

All the best.

celia,

they are very nice over there. try the branch at temasek towers (tanjong pagar). basically they giv u list of plan (3 meals). suggest to u wat to eat and wat not to eat. thk god i can still drink coffee, sugarless of coz.

i ate a boiled egg for b/f and coffee. then keep drinking water. have been feeling like my body lost some inches like tat, but i guess its jus my psycho mind haha.

lunch u can eat lotsa veggie and lean meat . dinner they suggest we dun eat if not necessary coz diff to digest i guess.

in between we can eat a pc of fruit for snack . taz all.

with the $ spent, i guess i will stick on with it. feel excited to go again later. but still quite bothered with the needles...my body will have reaction when needles are poked into the right side of my tummy. like my livers and twisting around. uncomfy.

eating so little? Do u feel full? What would the needle do? Does it speed up metabolism rate, burn fats or make u full? Btw, will it affect ladies in future if they wanna get pregnant? Sorry, ask so many Questions.

I tink the needles curb appetite...dun wori, wun haf effects on any other illnesses or pregnancy. its juz pure acupuncture. the needles she will juz poke into tummy and thigh coz that where the acupoints are for curbing appetite. trust me, if u go down and try for urself, then u will be convinced. Im feeling slimmer alreadi, haha.

i believe it works lah...if i eat more or dun follow, i will vomit it out. unhealthy i noe, but better than keeping it to digest in my tummy right. how old are u btw?

ladies,

aimin works wonders. my tummy lost inches and miraculously overnite i fit better into clothings.of coz i did diet and follow their plan or rather try to..

its working....im glad...and lost 0.6 kg ina day....

im goin again tomorow

the first 3 days are consequetive. subsequently will be twice a wk. 1/2 hr session, very fast and the pain is not as much now. guess i gotta lose another 15 kgs...im juz big bone lah...so the weight quite heavy...

**brea**, i'm sure u can do it. Btw, do u feel anything different now? I mean how's your body reacting to the needles as well as eating lesser? Do u feel tired or refresh? Without much food, how's yr body reacting to the new small intake of food?

Hi cheesecake,

I'm quite upset, my menses here again!! very sian, stop one wk, then come again, seems like this whole mth i'm having my menses..n now i can't even go for accupunture...by right, i shld start my hormone pills, but i forget, hv to ask doctor tomolo whether i can start although now is half way liao..my doctor told me the hormone pills that i'm taking will not increase my weight. so will be safe for me. i also quite sarce that i will put on weight. now did not go for accupunture for half a mth, started to eat "rubbish" again! but i try to go gym at least twice a wk, not so guility. at least my weight so far mantain, did not increase.

When u say when u stop slimming, the menses came back, meaning become once a mth? if yes, that means really the slimming affect us liao...

cheesecake, really apprecitated you shared with me the same experience that you have with me, at least now i'm not that tense up why my menses become like that.thanks again...

Hi tulipng,

When i stopped slimming, it takes around 3 months to stablise my menses again. Cos when u stop slimming, ur body is still weak. Weak in a sense that not enough nutrient for blood. So i take iron pills but cos me to have constipation. It takes me around 3 to 6 months to stablise my menses regular again. U better call ur doctor again regarding ur hormone pills, wat is the name of ur hormone pills? Some of the hormone pills will stop ur menses from coming so if u take the pills and yet ur menses come, means something wrong with womb or something like that.. u must check with ur doctor again.. Cos certain hormone pills is to stop ur menses temporary or let it come...

Hi **brea*, i wonder how ur progress since u jus started with aimin, i wonder asthma patience will have any issue?

I tried so many diet plan & slimming centre but its dun works for me

flora: Diet can only help you so much initially, cos essentially, the basic of fat loss is really creating a caloric deficit, ie. you burn more calories than putting in. Even if you restrict your calories, you might stop yourself gaining weight or fat, but if you wanna lose it, you gotta expend it through an active lifestyle. Then you'll definitely see results.

thanks Alan, I do understand the important of exercise, i tried b4 5 times to gym light weight lifting and bodycombat classes manage to lost 0.5 per week but nowsaday due to busy schedule with my works commitments i have stopped going. although i have signed up in one go 3years membership with california gym.sigh..sad to say..

i too have tried your counting calories b4 but after awhile its really tiring and yet its dun give result fast. i understanding the way to burn calories is when heart beats higher while exercise for active lifestyle.

My wedding day is getting nearer & nearer its in Dec 05, i gotto find somthing tats fast in result and still maintaining the weight lost.

Actually, 5 times a week is prob a bit difficult to stick to, prob 3 times a week of a strength/cardio workout for about an hour would be good to start with. Prob you could go to the gym like twice a week, and the other time you can just do cardio wherever is convenient for you, such as brisk walking or swimming. Strength training (unless you know how to do it elsewhere) is usually restricted to the gym, so that takes time to commute. But for cardio, it can be as easy as brisk walking around your neighbourhood or cycling.

No point counting calories, it's horrendously tedious.

Actually, from now till Dec is a LONG time, I have clients who lost 9kg in 10 weeks, so 6 months is really simple. And you're right, knowing which method which can ensure that you MAINTAIN that loss is the key, and I shan't comment on that online. We can take the discussion offline is if you wanna know more.

Cheerios!

sure alan , are u a PT? i cannot afford one yet. cuz i doing my house reno and at the same time coping with wedding banquet & bridal financial kinda real tie ,times too very tight. sigh.. so stressful. i work from 9am to 10pm. at times sat me too need to back to office for meeting. sunday oredi dead meat plus doing laundry and other stuff. not saying bout exercise not even to rest.

Ah, what a terribly combo to do: reno and wedding prep. :P I'm doing me reno now and it's a nightmare! Well, you could squeeze in little 'workouts' such as using the stairs rather than the lift, lifting heavy detergent containers, etc.

Eh, I serioys abt the extra bit of walking and stuff leh.
I mean, it's making the best of the situation. No worries, and have fun with your preps and reno. And remember, dun stress over the wedding preps, esp on the actual day. It's something you look forward to for the longest time, and trust me, everything that can go wrong, will go wrong. BUT it's what makes you laugh when you look back, so make it enjoyable, have someone do the important/stressful work for you, and enjoy your big day! We did that, and we were determined to have fun, and we did/

Cheerios!

WOW. seems wonderful like tat. u not only a PT but also & good wedding counsellor. THANKS.

bUT i still quite curious bout aimin type of sliming.hehe cuz i got some arthritis problem so i tot 1 stone kills two birds mah.hahaa accupunture mah.

Hmm.. if you want something for the arthritis, then you should go to a 'proper' accupuncturist then. BTW, where's your arthritis affecting? Ever tried glucosaumine/chondroitin?

Anyway, just sharing my experiences when I went through my wedding lah, what counsellor? LOL! People just expect perfection on their wedding day, not that it's wrong, but when expectations are combined with stress, it makes a very bad day lor. So just have fun and make it something to remember!
I made it fun for everyone by making a fool of myself singing on stage! LOL

my shoulder from neckline and also knee cap when i over exercise the last time.

glucosaumine i treid b4 but my whole body rash. i got allergies skin & i got asthma since 2yrs old

Actually, exercising does help, just gotta be careful of what sort of exercise you do. Asthma, exercise actually helps to strengthen the airways, which is why so many of the Australian national swimmers were asthmatics! They started swimming to overcome their asthma.

Re your arthritis, maybe you could see the doc to get anti-inflammatories to alleviate the pain. Could try accupuncture at some of the hospitals that offer. Some 'western' hospitals do offer.