Advice on Renovation Contractor

berries5588

Living room with TV console
569218.jpg

berries5588

I like hotel type of toilet...as i got budget constrain, i didnt change the sink top. I made cabinets, mirror and shelving on the sides
569225.jpg

bobochan80

I had very bad experience with Un*que D*sign. They looked very professional at Home Fair at exhibition. They act very humble..say they very flexible..promise lots of free gifts like fans, aircons, refrigator, dvd player. They itemised every detail, every work proposed for us to decide whether to do or not.

But their quote for each item is way too high! I checked the same quality and material done with my fren who is a interior designer, he said I kena "cut throat" liao! I din approach my fren coz I know his design also not cheap. My fren knew and gave his 2-cents worth opinion.

Well, what is done is done. I did my payment bit by bit and who knows, my ID ran away with my $$. Now the company is harassing us for the balance payment, send hooligan to our house to demand payment. Employee of the Company ran away with the money, they should chase him! Not us!!

Work is not completed also, 3 years already! Now I'm left hanging halfway. What can I do? I doubt CASE or even Small Claim Tribunal can do much for me..hai.. beware of Un*que D*sign.

lin_teo

I am looking to renovate my new flat - its resale 4A, in original condition. Am looking for a good and reliable contractor with good pricing.

I appreciate if any of you can help me by recommending me any good contractor contacts and sharing with me the quotations..many many thanks in advance!!!

Thanks thanks!

phaffia

I would like to find out if anyone had used the service from Advantage Interior Decorations.

Any comments?

muchacho

Hi All, first posting from me...

Really need some advice and recommendations on good contractors to tear down walls, move doors and do the toilets in by 5 room resale HDB.

Am also looking for good kitchen specialists.

Pls help. You can reach me at [email protected]

katherine16

Hi Berry (berrywife). Not able to PM you.. the contractor which you have recommended (Andy) seems good..What is the company name? thanks

dan008

Whoever recommended Eagledesign pte ltd in this forum should stop recommending him. His price is cheap but the coordinator is a bloody blood sucking person. Everything also dont know, and install things and didnt inform the owner and who in the world lay laminate floorings first when the walls and ceiling are not done when you still need hacking on the ceiling. Electricity also not done but lay laminate floorings first.

Only wiring alone drag for 2 weeks and still haven't even finish living room area. Not re-wiring somemore. Haven't acid wash but fix toilet bowls first. And I got a question, acid wash meaning what kind of acid? what brand? This contractor told me it is those 2 dollars washing agent (brown color bottle)you can buy off anywhere. Charge me 150 for that.

Keep dragging time, ask them when coming keep saying tml, tml...today then you go and check no one there....called them up then say the workers on MC.

Vomit BLOOD.
EAGLE DESIGN PTE LTD
6223 8833

1 Everton Park

dan008

why you guys like to say your whoever ID firm or contractor good and cheap but dont post their contacts to share?

kai9

Hi Cherry,

Maybe you should draft out a schedule or any other requests and make them sign on it so that if anything happens, it's all black and white. You can then take appropriate measure against them.

If this doesn't help, worse come to worse, report to the CASE.

kai9

Name all the blacklisted company here so that we will all be aware of them! Lets help each other to avoid being cheated!

chariot

Hi there do not engage with this contractor (Hoon Hoe Brothers/Eagle Design) to renovate your house. I had a bad experiences with this contractor.

Its been 4 months already and my house renovation is still not complete.They had been dragging the work and they can work one day and stopped for many days.

And whatever that I had discussed and confirm with him, in the end the work that they had done is different. And he can argue with you that its not like this as per discuss.My walk in wardrobe they had even built wrongly and they still dare to put the blame on me for not telling them.

My kitchen cabinet the measurement can even take wrongly and in the end they had short of one cabinet and got to do again.

Even my parquet flooring they had not done properly, the flooring is uneven and they take so long till now still have not even polish it.

Their workmanship is really lousy. Also they do not have proper time management. You can arrange to meet them at a particular time, but they will end up coming 2 hours later. keep you waiting without informing you that they will be late. Really ridiculous....

You can arrange to select the materials early for your work, but after that they can call you to tell you its out of stock.I have selected mine more than 1 month ago, then they called me to tell me that the material is out of stock. I was really furious about it. I mean since i have already selected, they could have arrange to order it, not wait until the last minute. In the end, i had to change the colour of my material again.

When they had promise to finish the work one month ago but in the end it never complete on time and drag on and on for another month. They simply over promise and under delivered. So do not even consider to use this contractor even the price may be slightly cheaper.

Btw both company are under the same boss. They not very reliable for the work done.

muah

Dai-ichi Contractor

They are old timers, but the quality of their work leaves much to be desired.

We provided them with drawings and measurements for some cabinets, and they came twice to do their own measurements to make sure ours are correct. Sounded responsible and reasonable , right?

Then they called up on Sunday and wanted to come the very next day (Monday) to fix the cabinets! How do I apply for leave at such short notice???!!

My husband had to take leave and they said will come early at 10am. But they came only at 12 plus! And work past 9:30pm and still cannot finish! Had to take another day and still not finish! And the workmanship so poor!

Edges of cabinet laminate all jagged, clothes bar not straight, cabinet doors slanted, laminate pieces not long enough, so there are many joinings, and all not done to our specifications! They made changes but did not inform us. We found out it was because they tried to save costs and use shorter pieces of material which was too short for what we wanted!

And they left so many glue stains and fingerprints on our floor and walls! We had to clean up after them ourselves!

Sigh. I find it hard to breathe when I think of how they messed up my place with their sloppy work.

We are getting them to remove one of the cabinets completely because the work is so badly done. We will have to compromise on another because it is too draining to get them to remove it all.

It is 2:20pm now. They were supposed to come by 2pm. Sigh...

Does anybody know of a contractor who will do small jobs, just one built-in cabinet? Appreciate if you can recommend a good and responsible one. Thanks! Will also give Andy recommended by Berry a call.

blessed_1

Hi, peeps.
Me also looking for contractors, anyone here bot a resale flat thru ERA? heard they have their own contractors and if u buy house from an ERA agent, they will do it at a subsidised price. So any experience/advice? How much is a good budget to set aside for reno for a 5 room flat? Maybe jus to do up the dining, kitchen and toilet area with walk-in wardrobe? Thanks! btw, if there are cracks on the wall, shd i b concerned? it is a 5 room flat in Senja area and they say it is not structural but still if i buy that place, will it be a recurring prob? how much would it be to fix that up?

jerome7770

Hi. I am looking for a direct contractor to do Marble Floor polishing only. Anyone has any recommendations to make?

Mine is a resale 5 room 120sqm. I intend to polish living room, dining room, balcony and 3 bedrooms. Some one quoted me about $800. Is it reasonable or can go much cheaper?

jillian9

Hi Shirley,

After reading all the reviews from forums, I decided to go down to Classic Design Interior personally with my hubby.
After few discussions with the Gina, we decided to engage them due to their friendliness, responsibility and creativity.
They had just started renovating my house and I believe that the outcome result will be great.
By the way, I will be doing 2 wardrobes in my MBR, a storage TV console, prayer altar, household shelter and shoe rack feature wall and of course cabinet for the kitchen etc.
I will update you guys the progress again.

agie

H Jillian,

Im gng wf my hubby to discuss wif them too.. thru a friend's recommendation.. hope they are good.. but then.. our 1st meeting is at hdb void deck.. do u actually meet them at their office or void deck like mine??

realli hope u can advise..

btw, we are meeting bryon.. u know him?

odelia

anyone has a good contractor to recommend? Fiance and I are pretty lost at which contractor is good and wat to look out for?? like hidden cost and all..

poohmama

I just moved in to my new house. it was renovated by Peter from Joo Guan Huat - Trade Hub 21.
I choosed him from 10 quotation that i got because he is one of the cheapest. From our conversation, i find him a reliable and responsible man.
i should say it was a good experience overall. though you may not get a fantastic design from him but he will give you realistic and practical advice.
Tell him what you want and he will work it out for you. Don not expect 3D drawing from him as he said he prefer to draw by hand. this is not important for me.
very experienced. prompt service rendered throughout the renovation. Reno completed within time frame. 1 year warranty. one incident after i move in is the glass door of my tv console was slightly slanted. i called peter ans he immediately arrange 1 guy to fix it for me.
but, everyone will have own preference and have to see if they are clickable with the contractor or not.
try to talk to as many as u can and listen to your gut.
good luck.

jotanjotan

My house is still in the mid of reno and abt completion in 2 weeks time. So far so good with my Contractor and he is one of the few lowest quote i get after comparing with over 20 quotes. My final decision to chose him as i find him easy to talk to and feel comfortable with him and more over his prices is good, hehehhe.

shanechua

Hi Berry (berrywife). Not able to PM you.. the contractor which you have recommended (Andy) seems good. What is the company name? Can email me. Thanks

tabogal

Just like warn all who are looking for renovation contractors..

Beware of Silver Star Home Renovation located at Playfair Road. Once you sign the agreement, everything changes.

Slow, Dishonest, Bad service attitude, Worksmanship looks good in the first few days, but many problems occurs after that & when you call them to come back, they never do!

shaggydog

I got contractor too maybe can share hahaha, Lim 91344944. I got the contact from forumer from a renovation website... MB can try loh

sullivan

hi pple, recently my pipe was leaking but and when we ask someone to come for repair, they actually told us the connecting pipe we are using is not government approved...oh gosh! i wonder how many thing is my house is illegal...so please folks, do not engage strategic design at ubi

takashinzy

hi, i'm a newbie. want to get a contractor (not ID) to do a minor carpentry work who is cheap and reliable. pls PM me.thanks.

lovely_bluey

Hi Steven - tried to PM but your setup does not allow. You can PM me if you are keen as I have somebody (not ID) to recommend for carpentry work.