Advice for PLus Size brides

peaberry

Hi Eternity and Charmaine

I've only checked out La Belle Couture during a wedding roadshow, and briefly stepped into Di Gio to look at their designs.

For Di Gio, I didn't manage to view any of the gowns or speak to the designers as we visited on a whim and had to leave shortly. Di Gio was bustling with couples and despite not having made an appointment, a friendly coordinator still attended to me and showed me many albums. I'm seriously considering them!

Didn't quite fancy the La Belle Couture gowns nor their photography though, and their coordinator (who also claimed to be a designer) made me a feel a bit uncomfy when she said that she can definitely do MTM for me as I'm big-sized but "at least not as big as those Malay brides with huge bums". o_O Found those comments very unprofessional, even though I had been expecting them.

Anyone encountered any bitchy or aloof designers/coordinators at other BS? Think the last thing we need while planning our big day is a string of unpleasant comments or experiences to further stress us out.

royal

Digio always very pack with people..there is not a time that I went with only the staff there.. the place is always buzzing with customers..

bbbs

my beading words has been done!!!
and i love it.. i will try to take pics tonite!!!

and congrats to the other 2 brides who are getting hitched this dec

mine is 4 days away.. god damn. im so excited.. even my dogs hv it gowns ready
LOL

sillyfool

I am planning to get married either 2009 year end or early 2010... Got a BS already... went down to see their range of ROM dress and WG.. sighz.. I am too fat I guess.. their choice of ROM dress also limited from what they show me... WHich makes me only thinking that I need to slim down

Sighz.. They did assure me that sure have for me..BUt i dont wanna have limited choice.. *fussy me* so no choice.. hitting gym and diet now~~~~

So far all the Bride photos that I have seen are pretty and slim.. Anyone who have their WG and EG done.. can show? So can look around..

myfavchoco

Royal - 05 Dec 2008 (TODAY)
LingLing - 07 Dec 2008 (1 days)
Yuan - 08 Dec 2008 (2 days)

Lingsmitten- 28 May 2009
Lorraine - 30 May 2009
Jen_C - 24 Sept 2009
Charmaine - 25 Dec 2009

stariez

Are you looking for X'mas gifts for your loved ones? Look no more! Cos we have the lovliest cutie pies for them!

Visit our blog for more details.

Quote 'sgbrides' in your email for special promotions!

www.blingblingnight.blogspot.com

Wedding accessories (Swarovski Crystal) also available!

eternity321

Hi.. that time when I went Di Gio was on a Fri when they just open, so there isn't any customers. And it is the 1st shop I recee that day.

I actually got to try 3 of their gowns and all 3 looks quite good which became the benchmark for the rest of the BS I went to. I am a size 14 to 16 by the way.

Any way, Di Gio having bridal show at Marina Mandarin on 10 Jan 09 (Thanks Charmaine for this info) and I have registered. Hope to get a better deal if possible.

royal

Good Morning All!

Thanks for the well wishes, Yup! I have just joined the Mrs Club! The wedding went very smoothly! The dinner was a success! I walked in gracefully... haha and nope, I didn't fell flat on my face! The solemnistion on stage was the most touching moments for me..So overwhelming that I teared!
Finally, A new chapter of my life has began!...

royal

Eternity321,

Digio is good.. I have many praises on my gowns and styling.. Jesyln and Elson was my designer and MUA. They are good...No kidding! My advice to u when selecting gowns, when u see something u like, find out who's that designer.. then you will roughly know which designer u like....Likewise when you choose ur PG and MUA..

royal

Thanks Melyn,

I dun nid liao.wedding already over...
Guess the other BTB can check out the webbie...

Ling n Yuan, ur wedding also just over.. got pictures to show? Fun day right??
Mine will only be ready in 3 weeks time.. but would be away fro HM..

myfavchoco

mak mak....

ever since u married... u busy until now still still leh... so long nv hear ur noise.. hahaaa

faster come back =)

yuan,
faster make more, wanna c ur pic pic... =)

royal

haha..gd gd.. when I free i go upload my dinner pci on Multiply too..can share share seee... mak mak...u finally appear liao..cannot be too busy leh! must hv time for us. Thanks for ur pen, i passed on your good will to others liao..will pass the pen to my frd for her wedding in June nxt year..hope u dun mind.. good things must share share.. right?

see when free meet up to return u the shawl.i never use..cos no need...never wear my dress....

Yuan..faster go create..show ur pic.. ur doggie cute leh!

bbbs

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3291/3094543001_2dc0e09bc0_o.jpg
My JMs and me in their white capris and pink top.. taken in a handicapped toilet at T3
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3035/3096007233_46ec28b28d_o.jpg
colour scheme

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3071/3096031049_54e7cd539c_o.jpg
they do look like a bunch of JC students. LOL. we were thinking where to buy white top and cheap white pants... we shd jus borrow from RI students hor? anyway pants were tailored
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3187/3096035873_eda8b8a897_o.jpg
We took our own unconventional shots. set timer... use cable release. wahhahaha. total spent. $600 inclusive makeup and photos processing.. (me and hub knew each other thru photography sch)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3208/3096035361_e1afae9cb9_o.jpg
a close frd baked for me... and i love her cupcakes.. 10 at 1 shot. haha.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3195/3096874398_65b5a2ec28_o.jpg
oh yes... can hv a clearer pic of my gown in pants...
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3184/3096874460_1717240ca2_o.jpg
my dog ready for march in too...
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3078/3095094881_2989ac7ea1_o.jpg
on STAY COMMAND with Ring pillow in his mouth
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3140/3095094941_f028db178b_o.jpg
finally fetch the ring over....
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3203/3096873532_e97058dba7_o.jpg
all flowers and bouquet, wrislet, car decor all from 85 bedok! it was so cheap. LOL. and they did a gd job
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3160/3096873596_0d0c6bbf22_o.jpg
very nice chanderlier...

bbbs

i feel tt all brides shdnt make themselves look so christmas tree.. try to go simple of accessories. haha.. someone told me tt.. and im glad im not a very acessories person

royal

Thanks Yuan for sharing..hmmm Pant suits..very unconventional way...You are pretty as long as u feel confident in it...and Glad your day was enjoyable and memorable..:)

bbbs

fort gate.
i did a garden wedding.. and its a dog friendly place. wahahaha. invited my frd's poochies.. its like a dream wedding of all dog lovers

sillyfool

Charmaine - I am wearing a size 16 if i am not wrong... argghhhz... I believe that they do have it.. but I wont be able to have much choices.. kekeke

peaberry

Hey ladies, anyone tried Jess Haute Couture before? Their current promotions look quite attractive, wondering if anyone's got feedback trying to get plus size gowns there?

peaberry

I visited Jess Haute Couture yesterday after emailing the designer Jessica and speaking to her on the phone. FH and I were impressed by their albums and the very personalised service offered by Jessica, so we signed up for their package! My first MTM appointment is in February... Time to hit the gym even harder than before. :x

piyo21

Juz back from my honeymoon few days ago. Very busy with work now also, cos year end rushing for report. I'm glad that everything is over and quite smoothly. Only bad thing is my hubby not feeling well during AD and some relatives complaining abt the sitting arrangement cos got pillar la.

I upload my photo to facebook instead cos my company blocked multiply. If anyone has can add me @ [email protected]

blurrz

merry xmas to all!

just wanna ask where to find rom dress or gowns tat can fit a big size ger? i am ard uk size 14... sometimes can fit a L or XL... but seems like i am having difficulties in finding a dress for my rom which is in feb!!! pls help me...

thanks a lot...

taime81

Ling, yr rom dress didn't come with bridal.
I saw some nice 1 @ century square, sell plus size, Cubby L & York subsideries. Can't remember the shop name, it is at level 2.

blurrz

hi charmaine,

cos i did not sign up the bridal package yet. thus i dun have a rom package as well. diy-ing everything myself. found bouquets already, mua, now left with the rom dress.

thanks a lot. me will go there take a look.

peaberry

Hey Ling, check out Karen Miller at Wisma and Warehouse. Seen some really pretty dresses that will be just nice for ROM there.

blurrz

hi peaberry,

thanks a lot! i will go there take a look... walked past karen miller at wisma yesterday...

anyone any idea does daniel yam caters to big size???

mlh

Happy New Year!!

Ranger,
Yes, more busy after wedding cos boss said no more commitment for personal stuff, need to focus on work, wahahhahah

Emi,
no worries for the pen, please pass on to your friend and thanks for making me feel good and have a chance to share.
For the shawl, no hurry, i am not using it currently, will arrange a meet up later, let u know again!!

Take care all!!

peaberry

Hey Jane, from what I've read on this thread so far, these BS have plus size OTR gowns:

1. Di Gio
2. My Bridal Room
3. Allure Charix

Maybe some other members would like to add onto the list if they have more firsthand experience at other BS. :D

pebblex

Does anyone have an idea where I can find long dresses? Need one for my bro's wedding in March09 and another for my own ROM later this year.

I'm not only a UK 14/16 but am quite tall so dresses from local designers (eg. Daniel Yam) turn out too short (reaching at best until my ankles). I need a long dress so I can wear flats as my FH is shorter than me.
kao_sad2.gif