Advice for PLus Size brides

I didn't got everything actually, mine doesn't come with the VCD & DVD and outfit for mum cause i think my mum and his mum may prefer to get themselves. But my sis die die wanna have the bridemaid dress loh. But most of the items have bargained for, actually both is MTM, but i prefer OTR, so i ask for further bargain, so think they deduct $200, so from $3088 to $2888 loh.

btw, Charmaine, you said your package doesn't include photographers .. do u mean the actual day photography or the pre-wedding studio photography?

Hi parmida,

I've went to the orchard hotel, the setting not too bad, prcing also very reasonable, food the serve pretty good. I wanna book but they are closed for renovation in the 1st quarter of 2009.

Weekday packages, 8 Dish is $638 come with additional 2 wishes beside their basic promo. Today got additional 10% discount some more. So sad, unable to book for my preferred date.

Hey ladies, besides banquet venue, bridal service, actual day PG/VG, are there any more things to be source or to be done for a wedding?

Not sure if I miss out anything ...

Hi Charmaine,

Orchard Hotel is the one opp Ochard Parade Hotel right?
Been to the place to eat before but didnt asked them abt their banquet pricing...can email to me to kaypoh if u have? Thks!

So which hotel u looking at next?

Parmida, we have decided to give hongbaos to friends who will be helping. Guess it will be more practical, cuz we dun wanna end up buying gifts that friends dun like, hee.

hi..i m new here to this thread..
having problems deciding which BS..
any suggestion?
what about White Link?

thanks for ur help in advance! :p

Hi June,

Maybe u can read the forum thread about white link. I remember going thru the forum their feedback is not too good, alot of hidden costs.

I think the gals here sign up with different Bs like

GHA, Dio gio, Precious moments, Bridal concept, J&M. That is the few that i can remember..

For me i sign up with J&M

hi dearris...
i went to bugis and saw the White Link roadshow..
chat with a lady called Kathy...
she kept stressing no hidden cost but of cos i dun really believe :p

i read the white link thread..alot of pp diff comments so i m quite confuse..

J&M..where is the studio? :P i think i will go n take a look soon :P

hi gals!!! Long time no come into this thread... busy with my PS and trying to slim down..sighz...

Hi june, u r looking for BS?? Well, i think BS are almost all the same... except that for large..i will say curvy pple like me... opt for MTM gowns... at least if u can't find anything u like OTR ..or if OTR is not curvy enough for u..at least u have ur MTM gown to fall back on...

for me.. i only had my WG MTM... found my EG OTR and really love it...so got to slim down just to fit into my EG...cos as u know..most BS largest size is L ... i was very disappointed when I first tried my EG, and was told that even they let everything out, it may still be too tight for me... sad huh...

so just choose carefully... and best is... bargain for both gowns to be MTM... :-) happy searching!!

I've been to DiGio too, it is directly opp J & M. Their grown is lovely. Thou i sign with GHA, i was allow to choose all my dresses there.

Btw, i've quite a lot of stories regarding MTM thus i prefer OTR and ask for discount for taking OTR. MTM sometimes after tailor out may not look nice on you, my colleague got a very bad experience with her mtm dress, it look bad.
but no choice still got to wear. Some girl in the forum did mentioned that WG or EG with full lace, beads or embroidery need to top up for MTM, and it is true. I did check out with GHA, need to top up appx $500, some ladies top up till 2k for MTM grown but end up the grown still belong to the bridal shop. And i also saw people complaining that some bridal shop got different shelf for the grown, some shelf need you to top up too. Maybe you need to confirmed the details with the bridal shop when looking ard.

hi dearris..
thanks for the info..i will drop by n take a look..
i stay quite near tanjong pagar anyway!

ur PS is in two weeks' time? must be really excited...outdoor? indoor?

hi cutie..
i must lose weight too

my bf mum is very open in expressing her views on how fat i m...

plus i m fat everywhere except my bust (almost flat)..that makes things worse i guess :P

guess must find the best studio with MTM gowns to fit me...

so how does ur evening gown look? :P

Hi June,

ya.. excited .. but nvb slim down leh... the PS is indoor n outdoor..

As for the MTM, it is the best to ask about all the additional cost that might occur before hand.

My BS did not charge me for the french lace that is use my gown becos the lace is only for the top only not for the full gown.

One more thing to ask, is if the mtm after make u dun like, can choose OTR to wear during AD and have any extra cost ?

Hi! Hi!

I guess every bridal shop will say that they dun have hidden cost, but then when u sign up wif them, the price u paid for the package suddenly dun seem to be enuf for them to do ur dresses... perhaps price increase? :p

hi dearris..

i cancelled my appointment with white link
i guess i dun want to commit till i see other BS!!

most likely settle banquet n house first!!
where is ur AD held at? :P

i haven decide yet(abit slow)..still looking for suitable hotels...

Hi June,

My AD is held at Holiday Inn Park View.

Have you fix your date ? Ya. u are right to settle your the banquet first as the venue need to book like more than 1years in advance for hot dates ... BS is more easy to book.. just scare no money only ! hahaha

shop around first... try on their gown first... before commit

Hiya,

Me also looking for banquet venue for 3rd quarter 2009 but holiday inn park view refused to take my order. They say too early, they lugi if they take my order in now. Sad. Now looking at Bugis hotel n Grand Plaza Park Hotel @ City Hall.

Ya i agree, all bridal shop will say no hidden cost. But whatever you want later on which is not listed in yr packages, will need to top up additional cost, you better list all the things you need in yr packages.

hi dearris..

my AD i m looking at end of next yr..
wat bt urs?

holiday inn is quite near my place..i went and eat there b4..the food is good :P

as for the hotels..so far shortlist Ritz and Raffles the Plaza..went and see both oreadi..still cannot make a decision.. :P

u are rite bt the BS..scare no $$ only!! plus i oso scare hidden cost..and scared look fat in WG and EG only..

beside BS and AD..wat are ur other wedding concerns? :P

hi charmaine...

grand plaza park hotel not bad..can try..slowly take a look around..some other hotels are not bad too..

wat BS do u have in mind?

Hi June,

Yeah i went to see the venue before but my sis think the bugis hotel is better and is trying to arrange to go down and take a looks. I'm going for my buddy wedding at ritz too, kind of expensive, 1.4k per table.

BS not that expensive actually, usually about 3k. But if you top up this top up there can reach up to about 4-6k. Think need to control n bargain when you top up loh.

hi charmaine..

i guess ritz is ex cos we are paying for its ambience...
maybe u can try swissotel..i heard from a couple of frens it is not bad...

i went n took a look yesterday with my bf parents and his aunt(who came and join in the "fun")..all the hotels they saw oso manage to find fault..including fullerton.. haizzz..guess must hold in void deck liao..

anyway..which BS are u taking? :P

Hi June

my AD is this oct. so i only hv two months +
+ to go

my mother n his mother all like bo chap ... i hv not do any GDL stuffs yet... n need to buy wines too...printing of invitation cards..etc..

hey dearris, just got a contact for wines from my colleague, you might want to check out Bottles and Bottles at Tudor Court. They allow consignment.

Hi June,

Guess nothing is perfect 1, if you wanna pick fault, i think even in ritz, there might also bit something smalll which you don't like. Just choose something within yr budget and both family are pretty comfortable with will do.

My bf and me are not very particular on the banquet venue, just wanna find a decent hotel ballroom we comfortable will do. Our parents are not that particular people. We settle all the stuff by ourselves too.

My BS is GHA but i've went Digio to take a look at their grown and told my coordinator i'll be choosing from Digio. Love the growns @ digio.

Hi Chimes,

I have not shortlisted my BS yet...have u seen urs already?? me have been too busy wif work to an extent tat i can sleep anywhere i go
such an embarrassment

Oh yeah, most likely im taking club chinois..they are giving me almost everything i wanted...and that hubs of mine like tat place (he say no to every other place, even b4 seeing)...

oh yeah gals, ive got a friend tat sells red wines..not sure if he can do consigment for us...but so far his recommendations for wine had been pretty good...if u are interested, i can ask him for ya!

Parmida, I've not really gone to look around, was thinking of actually going sometime in mid Aug. Same as you, I've been really busy with work this month. But I'll only shortlist 5 and that's the max I'll visit, then I'll make my decision. So far, I've only visited Bridal Concept, quite impressed by their service I must say.

Will go on to visit Precious Moment, Jess Haute Couture, GHA Tampines, then maybe either J&M, Thomson Wedding or Bridal Zone.

Hi Chimes, the grown at GHA Tampines so-so only, think DiGio 1 looks much better.
I went to thomson wedding before, with my colleague as referal, they willing to throw in better rate for me thru referral, but they will request for the referral couple names and they offer you the same pricing that yr friends sign with them few years back or something better.

Have visited PMP, Thomson Wedding, Yvonne Creation. Actually the moment i sat down at GHA booth during the BOW, already like it very much but my bf drag me to look at others first. But eventually, my bf and i still prefer GHA. Both of us click very well with Amy from GHA.

hi june,

sorry for the late reply... =P been really busy...

u can view my MTM WG on the bliss bridal creation thread...

also, u can go to multiply & look at my photos... i've loaded up quite a bit of photos taken during gown fitting and PS... my nick in multiply is cutiehellokitty

i feel what u r feeling...abt FMIL saying u r fat... cos i've been critised behind my back... not with current FMIL but my ex-HTB mum... i dun mind if she said things in my face..but dun talk behind me.. well, she is the reason why he became the ex-HTB ...:P

Dun worry...i'm sure u will be able to look pretty and slim if u find the right gown... =D

Hi chimes

I'm with Bliss Bridal creation @ Marina Square...

as mentioned, u can go to multiply and add me in... cos photos of my gown are posted up there... =D

Oh..just before u girls sign with any BS...need to tell u not to go to YC..Yvonne creations...

nothing against this BS...and i always like YC's gown...and was a little regretful when i sign with my current BS.....but my friend recently got married and i saw her gown...totally changed my mind and was glad that i did not sign up with them.....her gown from YC... full lace, all beadings...very nice... but a pity...the workmanship is very lousy... they did not hemmed up her train, leaving the train trailing with lots of loose strings..and the beadings...lots of loose strings hanging... and worse of all..the beading loose strings caught onto other beadings thus pulling the lace up, revealing the ugly & messy loose string trailing from her train...

just my 2 cents worth... :D

Hi cutie,

my friend signed up wif YC abt 4 yrs back, their gowns were quite alright...quite nice ppl..i was thinking of having a look at their gowns.. i guess i gotta do a double check when i visit them soon..

Hey Chimes,

when u go to GHA tampines and PMP, can u let me know? me want to go too!! That is if u dun mind. I think Bridal Concept is having a roadshow in bugis, maybe u can take a look there too?

But my buddy is saying tat their attitude isnt tat good...once u sign up wif them, u will have a hard time getting things done wif them.. I guess all bridal shops have their pros and cons

Charmaine, I think Holiday Inn Park View is having a wedding show this month..are u going to take a look there?

Hey Felibell,
There is a shop in Sembawang selling plus size gown. I bought 2 from them b4. Only wear twice, abt UK size 18, still in good condition. Willing to selling @ 50, i bought @ 109 orignially. One is black color, the other is greenish blue color.
Intend to sell off cos too recently it's now too loose for me. If you interested , can send u more details.

Hi parmida

YC was good ... but if u read the recent comments from YC BTB... it's bad... and i saw the workmanship on the gown myself... feel sad for my friend that her gown is literally falling apart...well, the beadings on her gown anyway and the train of her gown...

but look around and source for package that gives u both WG & EG MTM... like that.. u dun have to worry about having to top up for ur gown 'cos u cannot fit into their OTR... and best of all, u can design ur gown to make u look slimmer...