Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi Parmida, i'll be at suntec on thur, bf taking some insurance exam, going there to give him moral support...haha...you see if you wanna collect from there loh or via post also can, postage cheap cheap nia. Hehe..how many set you need.

$708 for OCC, then i rather opt for hotel ballroom, more class.

Hi dummyspy, i manage to got Mr Chan for my solemniation yesterday, kind of lucky cause i heard he already got 3 appt on 28 Dec, but he manage to squeeze me in @ 3.30pm thou i initally wanna it @ 3pm. But we thought 30min diff ok lah.

hehehehe... charmine... wow... so good... i wanna get him initially but timing clash... haiz.... good good...

have anyone tried the furama near chinatown one? i saw their ballroom very nice, i know their food also nice... hehehehe... but price i don know lah....

Hi Chimes, both times u went also not nice? oh this is terrible then...

Hi Charmaine, I will be at suntec tmr too! Watching harry potter
maybe i can meet u before the show? Give me a tinkle! For occ, $708 is their most ex table on weekend, the food list seems nt bad...but then like u say, maybe ballroom would be a better choice?

Dummyspy, I havent seen furama, but my friend's cousin had her wedding there and she said the food is so so only...but then i guess everybody have different opinion abt food..

Hi Parmida, Ok i should be at suntec from appx 6pm. You sms me when you reach bah, i should be somewhere ard having dinner.

Hi dummyspy..my gf has her wedding dinner at furama riverfront..dunnoe whether is it the one u are referring to...but the decor is quite good..and food taste great as well..cos we can see fins in the shark fin soup.. =) maybe u can take a look..and their pricing is quite affordable..

Parmida, actually I intended to hold my wedding at OCC..but in the end drop the idea cos its too out of the way..even though I really like their decor and their food is supplied by Kim Tian.. Club Chinos is a good choice..cos their food is by tung lok..and the location is quite good..and I love their decor..its my first choice on the list but too bad they are not available on my AD..can consider if u really like it..their plus and minus is they only have one ballroom..U wun have wedding with another couple at the same place but u got to decide fast cos once they are taken u got to give it a miss..

Hi Parmida... ya it is hard to get the dinner venue. abt grand copthorn... my experience is the same as chimes n blurblur. the food is so-so. for my cousin wedding, the service staff all look like part-timers. but the place was v nice - ice sculpture, high celling, no pillar, n of cos the garden.

have a look at more places, expecially if there is a bridal show. more perks

Hi Charmaine,

Was wondering did Mr Chan mentioned where to meet you etc ? Cos I actually also call up Mr Chan for my solemization in the beginning of the year for 29 Dec 07. But I think Mr Chan asked to call him back in Sep 07 instead and I dun know whether have he pre-booked the date for me cos he did asked me the date/time/location. So I was wondering should I call him now to confirm or should I wait till Sept 07. Hmmmm...what u think leh?

Charmaine, so sorri tat i didnt msg u just now while at suntec cos I was quite late for my show..terrible of me to make u bring the vouchers out
my apologies.

Miss bean, I am deciding abt club chinois, cos the date i wanted for occ is aldy booked
and i am planning to go GCW and furama...i like their mercury ballroom(from the way they describe, it sounds gd

Don, oh this is so terrible abt GCW
part timers cant be bothered abt service, and im a stickler abt tat...terrible, terrible!

Club chinois is holding a bridal show in oct if i am not wrong, can go take a look. GCW is having a bridal show on 29july and furama is having one in oct too...

so girls, go chk out if these hotels are on ur wedding list.

Hi Parmida, it's ok, the vouchers very light only comparing to my laptop...haha...actually i was there anyway with bf. Anyway, if you want, can post you the vouchers too.

Hi drizzlestars, Mr Chan did not mentioned to me where to meeting. Mine is 28 Dec 2007, and he told me to call him back on 1st October, and he will pass me the details like his licence no for booking at ROM website. You did confirmed the date, time n venue, the last time you call him right? If you have, he should have confirmed the slot with you. But as the ROM can only already to registered 3 month in advance so you should contact him appx end sept to get his licence no and finalise the details with him.

How many months in advance do you go and book the banquet ah? I try to book for dec 07 - jun 08, they dun take in my order as they say too early in early this yr. Any bridal show coming up?

Hi Charmine,

Thanks, think to play safe I will give him a call soon just to confirm with him when do we need to obtain the details from him. hahahahhahaa

My wedding will be one day after yours, for the banquet, what u mean by too early in early this year? Cos for my case I book my banquet in last year Aug 06 for Dec 07 maybe I am too KS hahahahahhaa

Hiya, i try to book for Dec 2008 - 2009 slot they say too early too book, they say the pricing for 2009 not out yet.

Oh so yr solmnization will be at the banquet ah?

Charmaine, there are quite a few bridal show, GCW is having one this month and on the same day fullerton having one too...both on 29 july. furama riverfront on oct...the rest i forgot..i remember these cos these are the few places me interested.

Singapore Marriott Wedding Workshop
4 August 2007, 1pm to 5pm at Level Two Foyer
Please call 6831 4769 for registration and enquires.

Hi parmida, can share me the deal they have if you did go. :-)

21 July - Park Hotel Orchard, Having wedding fair.
Complimentary for 1st 50 UOB Card Holder.

The perks for weddings signed up before or on 21 July 2007 are:
1) 10% discount off the wedding package
2) Complimentary day-use room from 2pm - 6pm
3) Complimentary 6 platters of canapes (100 pieces) for cocktail reception
4) Wavier of corkage charge for wines
5) Chance for the Grand Lucky Draw held on that day

Any reviews on this hotel?

Hi Charmaine,

sure!shall pass u the details when i meet up wif them soon..

if im not wrong park hotel orchard is fka crown prince hotel, right?

heard from my friend who went there, the carpark is small and the ballroom abit of dark. Now i dunno abt the ballroom, cos they may have reno and make it look better? But if u got more friends tat are the drving kind, then carpark lots maybe a prob

Hiya,

Yes it is former crown prince.
I not too sure, going to take a look on 21 since it is complimentary for uob card holder. No harm going down to take a look. Yeah, i saw the new hotels too, dunno can book on 21 a not thou, shall keep a lookout for that, oh ya you mentioned you keen in the vouchers, you wanna meetup to collect the voucher from me or via post, do let me know. :-)

Hi Parmida, when's your AD? Not sure if you wanna consider Furama Riverfront, I've just signed up with them after viewing some other hotels. Their price is quite good and the food is nice, I've attended a wedding there in June.

hi chimes, my planned AD is on 25 may 08...i am going down to furama RF this fri to meet up wif the coordinator...who is ur coordinator? Im pretty keen on the mercury ballrm..how many tables u having?

oh chimes, i read from other forum tat furama changed their fish to black groupa...u may need to check on the fish thingy tat is if urs isnt that black one in the first place.

Charmaine, if u go, can share the deal wif me?? hehe..thanks...

I am not sure when I can meet up wif u, maybe can u post it to me? thanks! I pay for the postage! Thx a millonz!!

Parmida, my coordinator is Terence Ng, the catering sales manager. I was very keen on the Mercury ballroom cuz we went down to view the wedding set-up and it was very nice, with cocktail reception by the pool. But later on, my future father-in-law wants to increase the number of tables, so we had to give up the idea of having Mercury and booked Venus ballroom instead. My AD's in Nov 08 and their dates are going quite fast.

Btw Parmida, I'm having 33-36 tables. The maximum Mercury can take is abt 30 tables, but they usually don't advise up to 30 cuz it's very cramped. Ideally, 28 tables shd be the maximum number in Mercury.

Hey gals, which are the bridal boutiques you are with? I'm in the midst of shortlisting a few and go down to reccee all in 1 week. I've been to Bridal Concept and Jazz Bridal.

Hi Chimes,

My BS is J&M. Going for fitting tonight ... cos will have my PS in Aug.

..err... forget to bring camera today ... hmmm

Hi Chimes, I saw from other forums tat they say the FRF got a niteclub there and its a uncles hangout..are the ballrms on the same level?

think right now, my no of tables is abt 20, not sure if will add or not, depends on my mil's decision, she can be fickle minded at times...

can u share wif me the deal u got? hehe

Hi chimes, me havent look at BS yet >< and yes i know i am late liao..if cant make it on time, then i guess i have to push back my date

I am thinking of going to precious moments brides and di gio or GHA @ tampines.. any reviews??

Parmida, Mercury ballroom is on level 5, the niteclub don't belong to FRF, it's a separate building next to the hotel. The minimum number of tables to get Mercury room is 22 tables .. maybe u add 2 more to your existing number. Mercury ballroom is 608++ which adds up to 716nett, the price quite attractive. But I have to take Venus ballroom cuz i have more than 30 tables. Venus is 788nett for weekends. I managed to get two nights' stay in the bridal suite, still trying hard to fight for free corkage for red wine.

Parmida, I'm also quite keen on Di Gio, their gowns quite unique but dunno whether got my size or not ... I'm size 18 leh ... if I can got OTR, that will save me a lot of hassle ..*lol* I went to Bridal Concept and they guarantee me that they have OTR gowns for me lol

Parmida n Chimes... why not go down and have a look at their gowns before deciding? ask them to show u the plus size gowns. most bridal studio got plus size, but it might not be what you want.

alternatively, get the bridal studio to MTM. ask them to design for you or just point to gown n ask them to make in your size.

my package is with GHA@Tampines. Personally I'm not impressed with their evening gowns but their bridal gowns is quite nice. My co-ordinator is also a designer, Jessie. think she is also manager. Very nice, not pushy. can ask for her if you want.

chimes: Bridal concept sure hv cos i tried before!
before u sign, can request to try on first, rem to try both the WG and EG. no problem at all. oh ya, btw, i m with them!

Don: how's the price range like in GHA?

Jo: you took their OTR or MTM package? When I went down to BC, they actually advised me to take OTR instead of MTM .. I thought usually ppl will advise MTM for plus-size

Chimes, me made an appt wif albert to view the place this fri and i just realised that I cant make it! S-H-I-T! I better call him tmr and change the time..

Been seeing a few places, and Im confused which one to choose..think I better stop seeing and be 'chope' my date liao..

When u go down and have a look, let me knowm okie? perhaps I can pop by and take a peep
hehe

Me looking at Yishun Lake Garden as well.. cos my parents priotise food over ambience. Has anyone been there before?

Don, I thot GHA is together wif DiGio? Heard tat we can use their gowns as well.. How much did u pay for ur package?

Jo, Where is bridal concept? How much u pay for the package?

chimes: i took their MTM package.

Parmida: BC is at liang seah street, opp bugis junction. My package was signed last yr and they hv revised their price so maybe u can give them a call to check on it?

Yah DiGio &amp; GHA are sister company.

Hi Don, me also GHA Tampines bride. Why don't you request to choose the evening grown from DiGio or Yishun if you dun like the EG in Tampines outlet? I did went to GHA Tamp to see my ROM dress, not very fantastic thou, i went Digio to see and i love it, told my co-ordinator Amy she say i can choose to take from Digio 1.

hi parmida and chimes.. my package is almost 4K cos i added actual day photographer. i tink their price is standard, just that the details might differ depending on your negotiation skills. (like i got more photos that my fren but she got videographer AND photographer, etc)

hi Charmaine... humm ya i think my co-ordinator did say can go di gio to see. but i haven't go down yet. lazy leh. dun wan to go alone also. plus i 'might' give up my package. see how first i guess, so many things to do ><

Parmida, I've already signed my contract with FRF last week, been there twice before i sign and view the wedding set-up for all their 3 ballrooms. U should ask Albert to arrange for you to view the wedding set-up for the ballrooms before you decide, call him quick quick

Jo: I think now their OTR package is 3388 instead of 3088 after revision.

Don: the package that BC offered me is about 4k too, inclusive of photos top-up to 40pcs for the mag-style album ... I guess that's pretty standard price?

Haha ... BS-hunting is quite troublesome huh ... hee. What are the boutiques you girls have been to? Don, Jo and Charmaine

Hiya, i got the full details of my GHA package and Basic PMP package, if you wanna, then drop me an email, i forward you. Other bouqtique i went to include thomson wedding design &amp; yvonne creation, both roughly 3k for 25-30 photos appx.

My GHA is $2888 including 31 Pc photos, full rom packages, car &amp; quite a bit of other goodies, but does not include photographers. Basically i request for whatever goodies i come across in other thread, my invoice is full of text...

Things you can request:
- Guest Book
- Fathers' Jacket
- Outfit for Mums
- Bridemaid dresses &amp; Bestman Jackets
- More photographs to be given in the packages
- 3-in-1 Digital Style Banner / Canvas
- Mini Album (Upgrade to 5R)
- 4R Usually 24 Pcs But most bridal can give 36 Pcs or 100 Pc Bookmark
- Table Top with Frame
- Photo Cd given (usually for selected copies only)
- Ask for more sets of outfits for photoshoot
- Accessories free on loan
- Request for free set hair (some bridal does charge extra if u use curling etc)
- ROM Packages
- DVD / VCD

Thing to ask:
- Include Digital Touch Up
- Top up per photo
- Transport included for photoshoot

Hope the above helps.