Advice for PLus Size brides

i have a size 18 dress from allure charix to let go. I've attached a pic. please feel free to contact me. price negotiable.
370889.jpg

370890.jpg

hi blur blur

unfortunately, allure charix no longer sells plus sizes. they used to carry a lot of nice dresses. but stopped recently. now they carry up to size 12 only.

I got mine tailored at JUST@ Tampines for about 250. I chose a dress style from the rack and they tailored to my size. Went to JUST cos my sis got her dress from there too. It was kind of a rushed decision. But the dress came out alright but service there is not fantastic.

When I was doing my research for my ROM dress, I went to Celia Loe @ Scotts. I also went to White Weddings @ Meridien Hotel for a quote.

Perhaps you can consider getting some quotes from some bridal shops for ROM packages. Some are rather reasonable if you are not particular about certain details, eg my hubby wanted to buy flowers from a specific vendor.=P

On hindsight, I could have gotten a better deal if I went to White Weddings. Rachel quoted me little bit more for a MTM knee length tea dress but with some additional stuffs. You can try calling her for a quote cos I was quoted last year.

For WW, the quality and design style has won me over at a recent wedding show and i just signed up with her as my bridal shop.

hi zarcy,

no worries.

i have just signed with a BS, that's one of the reason for letting go of the dress.

it was really reasonable for the dress but liked the BS style so much that i signed up instead.

Hi mrs.J,

Hmm i dont dare to go to BS due to the stress selling.

That y been surfing the websites to get the cheapest deal for MTM .. so far got some quotation. I am still reaching for more information b4 i decide what i wan.

BTW Is white wedding pushy ??? what r they good abt ??

hi blurblur,

Do not be afraid of gg to BS... it's part n parcel of the planning of a wedding.. its pretty fun.. all u need to do is be firm!

frankly speaking.. webbies not 100% accurate... u need to have the feel of their svc/gowns/etc etc urself.. coz every1's expectation is diff..

my BS also have +ve & -ve feedback.. it all boils down to wat u want..

hope this helps..

oh yah.. how do u clasify pushy? some ppl are very sensitive.. little bit consider pushy... some are pushy.. but yet ppl still finds it ok.. so..

get ur frens to go with u 1st lor.. can use the excuse 'hubby not ard' cannot decide... haha (^_^)

hi doris,

thanks for the advise. My term of pushy is like dont wan to take up the package or tell them that i wan to consider they will die die ask u to place a deposit . this is what i term by pushy and not able to deliever the services that they promise. Coz we r a plus bride ... so a bit concern when come to WG design etc ..u know what i mean

hence that is y i may wan to do alar-carte ... but ala-carte a bit ex lor consider the budget that my bf give me.....

i may even forgo studio shoot just to save money n design my own album arrrhhhh.....

btw how come the forum do not have white weddings ??

Hi Blurblur,

If I am not wrong, White wedding is about 2 or 3 years old.....but everytime I went to my BS (Jawn) both located in Meridien Shopping Centre, I would also admire their gowns.
But Rachel works alone if I am not wrong, so if you want to go down, do make an appointment first.

Btw, what's your budget like? Maybe we can give you a few opinions on BS to check out?

hihi.. sorry MIA =)

blurblur,
my experience with WW is quite pleasant actually. Rachel is designer and has an assistant. They are not the pushy and stress selling kind.
She'll definitely try to convince you to engage her but had not pushed me to decide on the spot or put a deposit for it.

i agree with doris.
you have to be firm with all the vendors that you meet, BS and all. then you will not be bullied into making a decision. if you do not feel comfortable in the BS that you've walked into, the BS is probably not for you. =)

whether to go ala carte or not, you've gotta do some calculations lor. cos going ala carte might be pricier also. i wanted to do that initially, but we bailed out. =P

another option may be to invest in the AD photography instead of a photoshoot. cos temptation to chose more photos from the PS will come at a much higher cost. whereas most AD nowadays give you everytging back.

hi mrs j and serene,

thanks for the information.. no wonder i dont get to see any information frm the forum .. so they just started out only ....

hmm coz my ad is still far away like in 2008/2009 ... so i guess i will try to search for more information b4 i shortlisted bs ... so far i only shortlisted ted collection only .. yet not been to other Bs except everbliss (horrible experience) ......

btw do u guys know if we can select the timing for rom itself...

Hi BlurBlur,

It's good to shop around to compare. If you can short list Ted Collection, I believe you have quite a high budget. Maybe you can give my BS, Jawn Happy.Ever.After a try...visit them or surf up their thread in this forum. They are not pushy and will not ask you to sign up there and then without any comparison made. In fact, I have introduce quite a few members here to visit them, who have also ultimately sign up with Jawn.

Yes, you can select the timing with ROM, but it's to select from their list of available timing

hi blur blur,

white weddings can be found on style weddings forum.

I went to a wedding show in march and was very impressed by her dresses, stylish and elegant. I was also impressed with her commitment,

i get the assurance that the amount i pay will cover for whatever material i request for. any beadings, lace, embroidery are all included. so i signed up with her even though her packages are pricier than most.

Hi blur,

u still got quite some time to look c look c la.. no worries...

no doubt some are pushy but its ur feel and collaboration with the BS most important..

I personally went 14BS.. so.. i guess not all is as bad bah..

btw if u can shortlist ted.. guess ur budget is high enough.. some of the BS i went is rather ex.. so i forgo them as i do not have a high budget..

as for being plus size.. not to worry.. most BS can provide/mtm for u

I myself is a size 18-20 btb too!!! keke

nevertheless happy searching..

hi doris, serene and mrsj,

thanks for your advise. the BSs that u guys suggested, i will look into consideration. Coz still got time to see see n look look haha... btw do u guys have any ideas on how to diy a photo album ?? haha coz i intend to diy the photo ablum instead of PS From my preparation of ROM all the way to my AD keke .... at least enjoy the fun haha....

actually my budget is like $4K only .. that y i also hesitate a bit if i should sign up for ted collection haha.. but their gowns n service indeed very good.. Seem like WHite wedding nt bad lei..... haha i will only go for BSs shopping next year after looking n settle my house. HAI , btw do u gers got any experience what to look for a resale flat n what we need to prepare ....

i am between size 16 to 18 also big size lah keke...

Hi Blurblur,
Not sure about the DIY of photo album but I guess it depends on what style you want, may want to do based on scrap book format etc.

Actually, with $4K for BS, you have loads of choices, and can even get a nice ROM dress! Haahaa....and these packages can get you with good quality PS shots done! So I don't think you have to DIY that much lah...in fact, to DIY could be more expensive.

No experience for Resale flat....cos I bought mine new from HDB.

I am a size 18-20, just like Doris!

hi serene and all gers,

thanks for ur advise keke.... But seem like white wedding is not bad lei after reading the forum in Style wedding ...keke

thanks for ur advise gers ....

btw do u gers got any wedding photos frm white wedding ?

Hi blur2,

my package is actually less than 3k.. :P

serene... u where got same like me??!!! u smaller la.. me ah pui ah.. keke

hi doris n all gers,

3k ... wow that is cheap .. who is ur BS ? R u guys going ... I sign up for the eplus open hse too maybe we can go together keke ....

blurblur,

mine is Jess Haute Couture.. personally i find Jessica a nice lady to work with.. so i cant really be bothered with all those feedbacks from the btbs here... hahaha (personal feel...)

I like Jawn/Dang too.. e designers are nice n frenly jus too bad.. i no budget...

Hi qingqing,

i am going anytime after 5pm ... how abt u lei ...

WOW ... Jess Hauste couture .. hmm so far the comments i know is quite alright... What does it includes ?

Hi Qingqing,
Heehee explained to you via MSN!

Hi Blurblur,
What's your email address? Maybe you can write to them again?

blurblur,
my package is pretty straightforward,
MTM WG & MTM EG & MTM SUITE oh yah + MTM ROM dress (to keep)

then those pics n mu lor..

wow ... when did u sign up the package... do they still have it now .... ROM dress for Keep.. I will be very interested to sign up keke

hi doris, I went to jess couture website and like her ROM dresses. Do you happen to know how much the ROM dresses costs per piece?

hi doris,

thanks for the information. The rom dress looks alright to me... keke but seem like the package quite worthwhile ... It will be one of the BS that i will visit...

hi so u girls going for eplus open house??
i feel like sneaking over b4 my fitting.. hopefully my fh don grumble :p

hi ppl wow i have a great time chit chatting and of cos BUYING the clothing heehee at eplus .... hope they can bring in more range!

hi all, i am a BTB next year, and searching for a BS. I am also a plus bride (pear shape), am short and big lah, so how how how? i abit no confident

Hi Zarcy,

I dunno how much per pc leh.. mine is a package... btw norm a ROM package is abt 299-500 bah.. depends more ex also have..

Lim,
not to worry.. all of us here are gernerally big... me also pear... big but... big stomach.. only part small i guess is little toe nail ba...

a experience designer will know wat is best for u.. not to worry too much....