Advice for PLus Size brides

cutiephinphin

there's a chinese saying... "There's no ugly women, just lazy women". In a way this is true. If you are so conscious about your figure and weight, it's time to do something. At least even if you don't manage to be as slim as your SIL, at least you prove to your hubby you did your best.

I may not be that plus size as some of the gals here think but I feel that I'm plus size enough that I want to make a difference for myself.

I've seen myself losing weight and so far I've lost 6-7kgs. I want to lose another 5kgs to feel comfortable. It's NOT easy I tell you... really takes a lot of willpower and determination. I reduce my food intake but still keep regular meals, I exercise at least 3 times a week for at least 1 hour and I saw results. I tried to take the easier way out by taking pills but I felt uncomfortable physically so I gave up. Even if you should need to take the harder way to achieve what you want, the slightest bit of result you see will be a big encouragement to you.

Ultimately, it's determination and will power and how you motivate yourself to push yourself further. I also know other gals who are plus size and they are bubbly and comfortable with themselves. I think it also boils down to... if you are plus size coz of health problems or coz of accummulative wrong lifestyle and if it's the wrong lifestyle, it's time to do something then...

The gals here have put in effort so that's the first step you need to do. Don't let what your MIL say affect you and demoralize you. Even if you should decide about getting slimmer, you should do it coz of yourself and not coz of others. If you start having the wrong mindset, having the wrong reason to achieve something, you'll never be able to accomplish it. And remember, if you should decide to lose weight, it's also not because of wanting to be more beautiful but it's also for health reasons. There's also no better time to keep a healthier lifestyle and be healthier.

Hope we have been encouraging to you in some way... and do not give up!

jazzy_chimes

hi mira & kel, it's important to feel good about yourself, only then, no matter what others comment about you, you won't feel miserable. Big girls are beautiful too ... I rather be on the bigger side than to look like some refugee from Ethiopia :p Being stick-thin is not a good thing ... when I see ladies who are way too thin, it's actually quite scary. I did try to lose some weight to look a little better on photographs ... went from size 18 down to size 14. But I don't think I'll ever be like those slim-slim gals ... so I've learnt to be contented with the way I look.

In the first place, I'm sure your hubby adores the way you are, that's why he married you. Just be positive about yourself!

jengcc

mira, if u ask me.. a man married, he married me for who i am n wat i am not if i fat or not..
i don c anything wrong with being fat so long as u r healthy..
wats the use iof being slim n skinny but u have high cholestrol etc etc?
wats the use of having a pretty face/ body but an evil heart?

don live for others live for urself..
tell them straight in the face i'm fat u r ugly but i can diet.. jus tat we r happy the way we r..

plus size can b pretty n sexy n most impt, no one can look down on u other then urself!
build ur self esteem babe!
cheer up!

blurrz

perhaps we can share some tips of losing weight ???
sometimes, we lose weight cos we wanna maintain our good health... its not a bad thing to diet n lose some fats...

mirakel

thank you so much for the encouragement. yesterday nite, had to face the pretty SIL again because they live with my MIL. so she's always there. and again, i cried last nite, bcos i feel so inferior. i feel so lousy for not being the wife with a beautiful body that my husband wants. know something? i ever caught my hubby surfing for porn..not those hardcore type..but those where slim pretty girls posing.
it made me feel so down. i know i need to do something abt my body. last time before i get married, i was happy but now knowing that hub surf the net to look at slim women, i feel so down and now when SIL came into our family, it made it worst. u ladies tried any diet or some regime? i was also told to lose weight before trying for baby. had 2 miscarriages.
that made me feel worse.
i hope to lose 20kg asap so that i can start trying for baby again.
btw, if SIL gets pregnant before i do...it will make me feel even worst.
fat, ugly, big and cant even produce baby

blurrz

oh ya,a nd i tink SIL is a bit pretty yuan wang... cos she did not stir anything to create the impression tat she is better or wat... so mira, try to keep a better impression of her ba... afterall its ya MIL who is provoking u...

jengcc

mira, i'm currently preg now.
if u need some advice or someione to talk to can email me or msn me lah

true the SIL is not at fault..
n also i think mira, u shd start to build up ur self esteem n confidence..

for me it don bother me that my hb watchs those Jap porn videos inside the com..
man have their needs n desires also..
watching n admiring don mean they mind how u look..

maybe u thinking too much?
b optimistic, we r all here to hear u out..
u can add me in multiply too if u wanna c some of my b4 n after pics.. although i still not slim n pretty but i'm happy n healthy n gonna b a mummy in less then a mth??

*hugs mira*

missyling

i just went ROM ctr to collect the cert today... very jia lat... dunno what happened to my hormo.. like the pimples all going to attack me...

jengcc

choco, mine's abt 5mins or abt the length of the song u using..
missyling, is like tat one so more water n extra facial sessions!!
ling, excited n scared..

myfavchoco

chimes,
yeah yeahh.. me also send out all the invitation card...

jus now i receive a sms...
"hi, **** (the guy name) here.. have receive ur invitation card, btw my wife will not be coming as she gt another wedding to attend"

my first reaction is who is this person, hw come i dunno this name.. and paiseh to reply "who r u" in the end i call back.... he say "sms wrongly" piangz.... so coincidence man cos i jus send out the card last wk mah... kekekeee

taime81

hi Mira,

Don't be sad. No one is perfect. I believe yr SIL is neither perfect too. You should be glad you are not staying with yr MIL & SIL. Stay together more conflict i think.

And i agree with that it is normal that guy watch porn. I guess a lot of people are watching it secretly. LOL...

If you're determined, i'm sure you can lost weight too. I just saw some slimming program, wow 9 weeks can lost 10kg+. Kind of motivated. I need to lost weight badly too. Gotten start on sat. LOL... Maybe you can try reductil, not much side effect, my colleague try it and it is effective. Can get it from GP.

taime81

Pehaps you are stress up. When i'm stress i got breakout too.
Apply some anti ance product on the breakout and go for some facial and massage should do you good.

I very kwa zhang one, 2 weeks before my ROM, i go for treatment 6 times a week. LOL. Slimming, facial, treatments, massage, back treatment, scrub, body mud blah blah... Go until i super tired. Schedule fully packed

taime81

Hi Royal,

No lah, not stress up. Go salon lie on the bed, ppls do the job mah. Just that every day reach home late. Most of the time in beauty salon.

Hi myfavchoco, my colleague recommend me this.
He took the passion delight. He told me he was very impress with the food. He order friend scallop, he initially thought it is fake scallop, end up it is those with shell. He order a few times so far in a year. LOL...but i haven't got chance to try out.

Torrid having 50% off clearence.
Saw this super cute man. Wedding panty @ US4+
http://www.torrid.com/torrid/store/product.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302036046&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442176394&bmUID=1223747746918

taime81

Just gotten my wedding shoes from Holiday Inn Plaza JB. Quite cheap man. RM110 for such a blink shoes. Transparent heels with crystal.

791707.jpg

791708.jpg

791709.jpg

jazzy_chimes

choco, my buddy used Four Seasons for her AD lunch buffet and her bb 1 year old celebration, we find it ok if u r not fussy ... some fried stuff a bit hard though

missyling

i just finished my ROM... *chew* but very disappointing with the MUA...
i didn't realised my eyes was one big one small till i saw some picture taken but it was too late...
end up.. i only took some group pic and forget abt the tian mi mi picture with HB ...

missyling

choco: my eyes are like that but last time when my other MUA did make up for me during a dinner, she managed to make it both the same... but this time -_-" he ovbiously know that i got 1 eye bigger and he didn't managed to make it balance..

taime81

Hi Ling, who yr mua, so unprofessional. I thought all mua will make it look balance. But sometimes i feel the tape make my eye uncomfortable after a long day. I'm also not sure if it is the tape or the fake eye lash.

missyling

charmaine, i don't remember who recommeneded him.. but rather disappointed cause the things he mentioned.. he didn't fulfilled it .. like when i asked him,do i know to prepare my own hair accessories? or ampolues.. he said no need... den in the end.. on the day itself.. i got no accessories on my hair ( he did bring those fake hairs.. one big branch which doesn't match my hair @ all & it was so heavy.. so painful when he put on force to click it onto my real hair).. he kept insisting i tries it.. in the end... I TOLD HIM.. NO pls removed) ... It look so obiang and drama... and no ampoules provided... worst is.. i don't know if he smoke or what... i kept smelling this weird smell when he applied make up on me...

Before that, i emailed him pics but he still called me and asked what is this & that... and mentioned OH he know how i look like la... bleh bleh bleh.... and i got to sms him 2 times my address...

my hb got a shocked when he saw the preview on the camera and took me not to blink my eyes.. then realised it not my fault.. its the uneven eyelashes that cuased my big small eyes so obvious...

overall.. he might be ok but i doubt i will ever recommend him to anyone i know... hb was joking.. maybe early in the morning.. he see you no pretty.. so no mood to do make up for you olso.. *hammer*

jazzy_chimes

hey parmida, you re-surfaced in this thread! hehe .. ya ... everyday also have things to do these days .... I need more than 24 hrs a day! lol

hellbride

hi girls, need your advice. i went to a bridal shop and was quoted $7k for bridal package. mtm wedding and evening gown, photoshoot and all the other items. i didnt really go through the items but it should be a pretty standard package. is this the normal price for mtm packages?

jazzy_chimes

hi hellbride, that will depends on what kind of bridal shop u went to. If it's those one-stop bridal shop, then 7k is a little overpriced. But if it's a designer boutique where they pride themselves on the gowns, then it's quite standard.

royal

7K package? Which BS? More Famous or branded BS will usually quote such price..but 7K is quite expensive. Are your gowns made to measure for you to keep or you have to return after your wedding? You hv to check the what type of album they give u,how many pose and how many pictures, and also if groom's jackets are OTR, how many costumes changes for PS, cars, deco, corsages, Parents jackets, kua, make-up, ampuoles etc etc etc..are they all included?

Well, if you have the budget for a 7k bridal, go ahead, or else there are always other BS which offers the above but probably at a cheaper price-tag.

FYI, I hv MTM gowns too..and price was abt 40-50% lesser than yours. But I didn't get to keep my gowns..and I signed up early this year. Then again, even if price increase, it shouldn't be so drastically difference.

It's really up to indivdual.

hellbride

the gowns are mtm but have to return after the wedding. i dun think its considered a designer shop. it should be a bridal shop but pretty well known at tanjong pagar. not sure if i can reveal the shop name here. i went to jb today they offer me mtm at abt RM 6k.

parmida

Hi chimes,

Once in a while i pop by to see..just no comments..

Hi Hellbride,

At 7k, u need to knw what are the items in the pkg..go to other BS and compare...and see if its worth the 7k price tag.

royal

hellbride,
I don't see any reason why you cannot reveal the BS name. it's perfectly ok.. If they charge you 7k, then there mist be stuff in theiry quote that's worth the price tag...Unless they are out to con you..:)

coraine

Hello!!!!
I didnt know that this thread is soooo active!!
I posted in an inactive one..HEHE..

All plus size brides, hope we can chat more...
=D

please feel free to visit my blog!!
www.big-girlicious.blogspot.com

Lots lose weight together!!!

Anyway charmaine, Your heels....GORGEOUS!!!!!

mlh

hellos gals,
i am back!! finally.
Jet lag for whole week, cant sleep well & never rest well.
Now ,adjust back a little...

Jeng,
Tomorrow is your baby due date, feeling excited?
hahha....dont think i will join your club so soon neh, not ready yet..hee hee

mlh

Hellbride,
yes, i agreed with Royal, u can reveal the BS name in the forum, i got many advices from plus size bride here, they are helpful & kind...try to share & achieve win win result (not to the BS lah)

One of my wedding helper (close friend), her sister also rushing her wedding within 2 months. Di Gio managed to help her to rush for it (off the rack gown).
If you dont mind off the rack gown and manage to find the design you like, i think your package can be cheaper than $7k, i knew most of the BS up their price mid of this year, try to compare a few BS to get a better price. $7k is too pricy for a basic package.

Lastly, you must feel comfortable with the design of the gown and the BS (designer, coordinator and photographer).