Advice for PLus Size brides

drizzle, They are nice right?! i been there too! Had a nice chat with Euzart and susan, even taught me how to lose weight but too much their price are really high so end up, got to give up.

u can try bridal concept. I got mine there, going for my first appt in Jan07. there are a few plus size brides and I have seen the pics. nice! as for the kua, my coordinator told me they do have it but i hvnt got the chance to view it yet. If not, can rent for HOE, very nice!!

btw, my friend who got married 2 yrs ago took the package from bridal zone. Its a nice experience too. u can give it a try!

Have any of you seen off the rack gowns that go beyond a size 12?? Very sian leh, all the OTR gowns at the BSs I've been to fit only up to a size 10-12.

I wish they would take into consideration curvier girls like us.

Drizzlestars, I'm sure your FH will think you look nice. He chose to marry you after all mah.
That said, I know how you feel also, haha. Tried on a gorgeous gown at La Belle that was definitely created for someone smaller... couldn't zip it up at all!! The designer had to hold the back of the gown close for me. ;P But it was beautiful, and I still thick-skin and showed the FH. Heehee...

quack, i tried on gowns at "my bridal room" at tan quee lan st. got plus sized otr gowns...

btw, anyone wans to lose weight? i looking for weight losing buddy... at least 1 partner so that we can go lose weight together...

i going accupunture, but very lazy to go. so nver follow appt, always delay 1 week... so losing very slowly.
i need someone to motivate me... help? :/

wah u gers really something... so many msg in such a short period..

I havin PS in Jan... hmmm i also cant find Kua... HOE one.. cant really fit... butt too big!!! tight.. haiz...

Btw, if anyone's interested to know, I've been to quite a few BS. Most of them have OTR gowns for my size. Which is definitely bigger than 14. SO no worries gals~

Hi Rislee,

Can you share with me what bridal you went to so far that have bigger size gown? So far I only went to Jawn Happy since it was highly recommended by people but is way too expensive loh. Anyway, if want to wear kua any place to MTM one? Thanks in advance.

Cool ...nowadays so many ppl online keke ...
drizzlestar my cousin is frm bridal concept. They got gowns for plus size bride like us
I wasnt sure what size u r in but between size 14-16 got lei . I am between size 16-18 . They also got OTR WGs/EGs. And their package is between 2988 to 3000 plus . It should fix within ur budget.
Bridal zone i never been there before but I heard that the service is pretty good from one of the sgbrides that I know . U can try it too...

petrina i should send u an email ...

BTW gers i am going to River View Hotel to see their wedding package. Will update u guys .

Rislee & Petrina, thanks! Will be checking out both My Bridal Room Bridal Concept.

Amanda Lee also has larger sized gowns that are gorgeous!! It's so strange how the gowns can look so different on the hanger and on our bodies...
Amanda actually recommends that we try on different gowns from various places, so that we develop a better understanding of what we want & what suits us; I'm taking her word for it!

Petrina, I was also told that wearing a very snug corset daily might help. Probably because it'll be sooooo uncomfortable, it'll be hard to breath in one, much less eat!! Haha. ;P

A part of me thinks that I should just screw the whole diet plan and be happy the way I am... but I also want to look better leh... how???!!! So sian. :P If I decide to diet, I have about 15kg to shed by June 2007!! That's 2.5kg per month! *panic*

hi quack, if u start to control diet like me now..
think 1 mth lost 4kg is possible..
i lost 4kg on replacement n cut out all fried food/ snacks/ sugar drinks..
carbo like rice/ noodles to the minimum..
it works for me

I'm finally back from a long long disappearin act! hehe.... so many new ppl here... just back from my HM last week... tiring oh....
Jia You everyone! you can do it!

Thanks for your recommendation think I will go down to both bridal zone and bridal concept to take a look. BTW, with body shape of "pear" what type of wedding gown is more suitable for me huh? I am thinking of getting those 2 pieces type think will be easier right. BTW, anyone try any plus size gua in bridal shop?? I am thinking of replacing evening gown with kua instead can save the money mah

drizzle: 2 piece shld be nice. if not can try those A line cutting with can can, can hide the bottom. The person at BS will help u to get gown which suit ur body shape. Dun worry.
My package come with WG, teadress/kua and evening gown so u shld be able to have both evening gown and kua.

JL & ZZ: I met u ytd at the carpark but i tink u and HB doesnt know tat me. U rem seeing someone in yellow at carpark? Someone who open the door for u?

JL & ZZ, I'm a real foodie, so asking me to replace meals with supplements is impossible leh... ;P 4 kg in a month is amazing though! Have you been losing that much??!

I've got appointments with Bridal Concept & My Bridal Room! Hope I manage to find gorgeous gowns in my size. Fingers crossed man!

Hi Ahblur,

Saw u mention dat u wana check out river view hotel. i considered dat place b4, but i heard comments from ppl dat the food isn't very nice so i decided not to. Pls let me know how it is tho...hehe

Hi drizzlestars,

Went to Bridal Concept, Jess Haute Couture, Flamingo, Yvonne Creative, J&C Bridal and Graceful Image. They've all got plus size gowns... So i tink u dun haf to worry cos i feel dat almost every BS has BIG gowns juz a matter of more or less...

However, in terms of service, BS environment and comfort level, i personally prefer Bridal Concept and J&C Bridal. Felt really nice and i feel dat they've got better taste in terms of the kind of gowns dat would suit ur body shape better.

;) hehe... juz my own personal opinions lah... u can go try and see lor... But dun worry la..my personal feel is dat most haf gowns our sizes..

But rem lor... i feel dat most importantly shd be ur feeling abt the ppl etc. dat's most important! if u feel uncomfortable, den no point... Hope dat helps!

drizzlestars,

sorry ah...i very lor soh..hahaha...

Another very important thing is dat u need to noe wat kind of gowns u like or prefer lor... cos some of the BS dun haf the kinds dat u might like.

depends on ur preference for the kind of gowns u want.

hi ladies, going for my 1st appt with my BS after christmas... so scared!!! thinking of wat gown going to be nice on me, have not done any homework for my gown..

Hi Rislee and Jo,

Thanks for your information leh, appreciated alot Rislee dun worry lah u where got lor soh you havent see the king yet.....kekekekkeke

Anyway, I just went to bridal concept and meet up eddie ang, is he good?? To me it seem not bad leh but alot of things like already fixed liao I cant negotiate much. Do any of the gals here have your package details from Bridal concept so that I can compare and negotiate with him kekekekekekkekee..... me very stingy hahahahha.

Anyway, I am going down to liang seah st to see some of the gown before signing the contract. You ladies think necessary to try on the gown or not? Feel very worry the gown cannot wear then very pai seh leh...I should be around size 18 leh...how how?

Another thing hor....I feel alot of bridal shop almost have the same package leh is it ok we just settle on one of it I very lazy also lah....kekekeke

Sorry huh I lor soh king leh ...thanks.

together go exercise lor... meet up... i gg acupunture mah, if can finding one person who wants to do spot reduction like waist or arms... i lazy lah... need people to push me. otherwise die le, wedding dress cannot zip
haha

39.90 per session, pain can be adjusted. if u wan faster results, more pain, slower results, no pain at all...
the phyician i seeing is ma kuang chinatown /ghim moh (alternate days)

Hi Girls!

Merry Christmas to you all!
I have been pigging out the past few days man... belly happy, but now that the season's almost come to an end, I'm starting to feel the guilt! :P

Must really thank you girls for your recommendations.
I went down to Bridal Concept and was really pleased with some of the gowns I tried on.
For once, there were actually gowns I could completely zip up! Haha! Oter than the size fit, their gowns are also really quite pretty - Big Sally chose a few gowns for me that were actually quite flattering... almost made me rethink my decision to go on diet. ;P Heehee.

Although I really felt that I was in good hands with Amanda Lee, I'm also quite sold on Bridal Concept now. Sally also has a very good eye for designs that compliment a curvy figure - must be through experience, haha! Will be checking out My Bridal Room, Jawn Happy Ever After and The Wedding Present next. Think I should be able to make my choice after these visits.
Yay!

Lim, you can use these few days to do a bit of research on your dream gown yah?

Drizzlestars, don't be pai seh!! I realised that trying on various gowns is important. It really allows us to better understand how the different cuts can flatter (or not). I was actually quite surprised by some of the gowns I tried! Some I definitely wouldn't have chosen for myself, but once I put them on, it was an instant "wow!". ;P Of course, there were the gowns that were an instant "YUCK!!" also lah. Haha. What's important is that we learn to recognise the styles, materials and cuts that fit.
Just because we're plump/curvy/fleshy doesn't mean we can't look good - we just need to work a bit harder! ;P

Also hor, by trying on gowns, you can get a sense of the different coordinators' ability to pick out gowns that suit your figure. Confidence in my coordinator is very important to me, so ths is definitely something worth finding out to me.

Just realised that I'm very loh-soh hor? ;P

Hi Quack and gals out there,

Thanks for all your helps, I just signed up with Bridal Concept during christmas with the current Citibank promotion. I tried around 5 to 6 gowns including kua, quite happy that I can actually wear so many of them
So signed on the spot since I am quite lazy to search further. Kekekekekee...Ok one more item down from the list.

hi rislee,

my update for river view. I like the bridal suite as they just renov the rooms. The hotel will be fully renovate after end of 2007.

May Wang as the banquet manager is nice and quite straightforward when we try to bargain for perks. We almost want to take up the package but after making a serious calculation on the number of tables that we are looking at. I guess 35 is not sufficient for us. So eventually we give up. Food wise I dont have much comment coz i never attend a wedding held there. But i like their ballroom coz it is a squarish ballroom that has two projectors . All the guests will not be block . The package is quite reasonable for a hotel. But i guess they r going to increase their price soon . Sianz

Wow so many gers nowadays keke.

BTW welcome Jac back from her honeymoon

Drizzlestars - congrats on settling your BS!
Who is your coordinator at Bridal Concept? I've met with Big Sally & was very impressed with her good service and professionalism. I also like their gown designs & their comprehensive package too.

But.... I'm sooooo sold on Jawn Happy Ever After now!!

Jo & Drizzlestars, like you, I really really enjoyed my first visit with them.

Jawn's photo albums are so-so lah, but once we got to trying on and talking about their gowns, I was really quite blown away! Euzart & Susan put me in the most incredibly flattering gown I've tried on so far... so much so that my waist actually looked small! *FWAH!!* Serious optical illusion man! Heheh.

Comparing Apple to Apple, I feel that the Jawn gowns I tried definitely worked more magic on my figure than the ones I tried at Amanda Lee. So, we've scheduled another visit with Jawn to see and try more gowns... hopefully I can confirm my BS soon too!!

Another thing hor, I've taken to wearing a corset daily - And it's REALLY helping. Can't eat as much as I want to, because it gets damn tight & uncomfortable... so I HAVE to stop munching! ;P

No will power lah, so whatever helps! Heheh.

Been long time since i last visit the thread. So busi at work and X'mas celebration. Hmmm, think i shld also go to visit those bridal shop for gowns ideas hehehehehe

Hi Quack,

Where u bought ur corset and how much??
Cos i am thinkin of buyin one too
Dunno have my size or not kekekeke

Hi Wendy,

I bought my corset from Maidenform (available at Tangs, Taka & Blush). It's very very snug, but still not too bad because I can't feel the boning. Cost $109 - worth it, esp. when I think of the money I'll save on food. Haha.

Hi Petrina,

Actually come to think of it i didnt negotiate much with them leh....I just sign whatever they have given on the $3088 package. I thought good deal liao so didnt negotiate further. I have send over to your email already. See you can get better bargain or not if have must tell me huh I go and request also kekekekeke. But you must sign up fast leh I heard the citibank promo is ending on 31/12/06.

Hi Quack,

I am very impressive with jawns gown too in fact they have those inbulit corset in their gown. This is one thing i request during my meet up with BC but they told me we will need to buy corset ourselves haizzz no choice lah the price is very different leh nearly $1k different. Anyway for the corset what size do they have and what type you brought??? Is it those one whole piece one? will it affect our cup size if wear too long.

Hi AHblur,

Wow! How many tables are u planning to have? hehe.. to me 35 is oredi a lot wor. i'm planning to keep to 25max but seems hard leh..

My frens, his frens, my parents n esp HIS parents r giving me a big headache cos i wana keep it small but his mum wana invite so many ppl! alamak..

drizzlestars, BC also has some gowns with inbuilt corsets right? I thought I tried some 2-piece types that felt like they were corsetted. (I didn't wear a bra for those fittings.) Is there a favourite gown that you love yet? Maybe can ask if BC can at least sew a corset onto the gown for you?

According to Euzart at Jawn, their inbuilt corsets can come with as many as 20+ bones! That's why so flattering lah. ;P Their handicraft is so impressive leh; at Amanda Lee Weddings, the gowns I tried had corsets sewn ONTO the bodice (so can see that the corset is a seperate sewn-on piece), whereas at Jawn, the corset is BUILT into the gown! Big difference in the silhouette created man!!

We definitely feel the pinch in price... but since we may not be doing a pre-wedding PS, I figured the money saved can go towards the gown lor. ;P Luckily the FH also likes me in Jawn's gown best, so no need to psycho him. *Phew!*

Rislee, I share your pain! We also wanted a small, intimate gathering... but once we started planning the guest list with FH's parents, it became obvious that our dream wedding isn't going to happen... :P

I realised that our perceptions of what a wedding should be are so different! To us, inviting guests we don't really know = giving those guests problems. (Invitation = Waste time & ang pow.) But to FH's parents, they HAVE to invite certain guests (even if they are not close) because they need to give them face! (Invitation = Giving face.) Oh well... Fortunately, FH's parents are very nice, so they actually volunteered to trim their list a little.

We're looking at 23 tables MAX, probably split into 2 dinners so we can still have the intimate dinner we want. *Must look for win-win solution...*

Oops, forgot to answer your questions on corsets drizzlestars. ;P

The corset I got is the bustier type. Comes with detachable straps - think it's the Lilyette range from Maidenform. It molds to the body from the bust onwards to just past the bellybutton. I'm getting used to it, so it doesn't feel THAT uncomfortable anymore. Not sure what sizes it comes in leh. I'm a 36 C.

Eh, I don't think it will affect cup size, cos' the bust cups work just like a bra mah. The only difference is after the cups, the corset has a 'wrap' effect on the torso... to hold in fats! Haha.

quack: i agreed! thou i din get the chance of trying the gowns at Jawn side but seeing their gowns is enough! I was assure by Euzart that the body will be well support by the corset and he was telling me that for our body shape, support is very impt. I feel so safe there but too bad, their cheapest package is still out of our budget plus no car somemore. Hai..

Now that I had signed up with BC, i got to let my coordinator know abt the support corcern. As my package is MTM, i will ask if possible to hv a corset gown, if not then got to get one myself and wear it inside the gown. i dun feel safe with just the gown alone! hee..

hi guys,

rislee .. yap we r trying to keep it to 35 tables but after a talk with my MIL and my dad no choice but need to give up coz i can sense that they really want us to hold a banquet n invite many ppl.

So no choice will have to give up on that .

Quack congratulation in getting ur BS . I tot of going to BC too seem like more affortable. No point for me to get ted collection when i am holding it in a restaurant . A bit out of way ....

Hi Quack,

Thanks for your explanation on the corset portion guess i will make a trip down these few days to buy one to wear. Anyway really envy you can sign up with jawn, I wanted to very much but the price is too high already.
Currently, I havent select any gown yet but try on some cos they want to assure me that they definitely have size of mine loh. Anyway from what I know BC will only start to call me to select gown in may 07 then photoshot will be around sept 07 since I am a dec bride to be. :P Hopefully, I can lose some weight by then so can choose my favourite type of gown.

Hi Jo,

May I know who is your coordinator, for mine is Eddie and I told him that is it possible to have a corset sew to gown but he advise me to buy a corset myself anyway, think when the time come nearer I will request again and see how is it. BTW, I forgotten to see their evening gown selection leh have u see them??? I heard the evening gown range is not that much is it true?

Drizzlestars, actually I saw many beautiful gowns at BC too, so don't think you have much to worry about!
Besides, I think BC's service is really quite good - they should be able to help you with your corset request yah? In a worst-case scenario where they can't sew it on, wearing one separately should help loads too. So, don't worry so much yah?

I still haven't signed with Jawn... will be meeting them again tomorrow to finalise our decision. Their price is on the high side, but since we're prob not doing a pre-wedding album, it's still bearable. Without photography, Jawn's price is $3188. We will prob just go for actual day photos.

But yah lah, no car. I wonder how much renting a pink London Cab would cost? Always thought that that'll be cool.

Ah Blur, How big is your dinner going to be in the end? I can empathise... the FH and I could also sense his mum's real feelings during our discussion. Even though she said she'd leave things up to us, she also did share her thoughts... After that, how can we just disregard her suggestions to do what we like? Guess all this preparation is also a good time/chance for us to strengthen our relationships with our future PILs. Better to close one eye and everyone happy, rather than to let one day overide everything else I think. BTW, what was your experience with Ted Collection like? Seems like there are quite a number of good reviews about them too.

Today, we will be going to my final 'look-look, see-see' BS before we decide!
We are going to The Wedding Present (since they're on the same range as Jawn) so we can compare sama-sama BS to BS more fairly. It's been quite hectic lor, so hopefully we can settle soon. *Fingers crossed!*

drizzles: mine is big sally. so far she has been ok. she keep telling us anything not happy, let her know, got to voice out. hee..

quack: the pink london cab whole day rent cost ard $500. The uncle live near my place. my neighbour use his car as their wedding car too. The uncle actually wear pink shirt to match his cab. So cute right? if u need can get the contact for u cos its cheaper to approach directly than go thru the company.

Jo, YAY!!! I'll definitely appreciate his contact.
Thanks for the info! Yah, sounds like the Uncle is a pro. Heehee. $500 is ok compared to most other vehical rentals yah? I haven't starting scouting for all the misc. stuff yet. Now aim to settle venues + BS first. Photographer next. Then can consider videographer & band. Then all the other various stuff.

Just thinking about it, can faint. :P

I have happy news - finally my BS is settled!
We signed up with Jawn yesterday, after meeting Euzart again. Took their $3188 package without photography as Euzart said that we have 2 months to decide whether we want to use Jawn's partnering photographers. Still undecided whether we should go for pre-wedding shoots leh...

Just to share with you girls my experience with The Wedding Present, which helped me confirm my decision to go with Jawn...

The designer I met with kindly let me try on a few gowns - all which made me look like a complete cow. :P I asked if they have much experience with fitting plus-sized brides and sadly, the designer bascially replied that usually his plus-sized brides will lose weight & slim down, so they look nice in their wedding gowns.

However, to me, I go to a designer because they should have the expertise and experience to make me look good. It's easy to design for a slim, svelt figure - almost anything would look good on a girl like that! But to dress a plus-sized girl such that she looks gorgeous takes more work, knowledge and ingenuity. In my personal opinion, the designer that I saw at TWP seemed to lack those qualities lor... :P Implying (very nicely) that I should lose weight so that I fit into their gown is an easy way out! Once I'm slim, I'll fit into the 'standard template' mah. :P Why cannot think outside the box and use the tools of their trade and their experience to REALLY look at me and tell me how they can help?

I want a designer passionate & talented enough to face his challenges. ;P After that short 30mins at TWP, I was totally convinced that die-die must sign with Jawn. ;P Even the FH was shocked by how awful I looked in TWP's gown, so he readily agreed that "...tomorrow we'll bring the cheque book with us when we go to Jawn." Haha!

To TWP's credit, I felt that the designer was really trying his best to be tactful & nice - he wanted to describe me as a "bigger" BTB at one point, but then he was also too kind to say the word, so he struggled with his sentence for a while... haha. Their normal sized gowns are also very very lovely, just too bad that they're not for me. :P

One thing that is bad about Jawn... I'm so convinced that they can make magic that I don't feel as pressured to diet leow!! *bang head on wall* Help!

Hi quack and anyone else who need contact for the pink london cab, his contact as below:
Mr Low

Quack: congrat on ur selecting of BS! Jawn is good! U r in safe hands!

A bit off the main topic huh :P, just like to find out from you anyone got any good jp to recommend me? Cos I will be having my soleminzation before my dinner so I guess I will need to book the person early right? Any suggestion? Thanks.