ACCOMODATION:TOKYO & OSAKA

mskazama

Hi all, Sharing my 1st tokyo trip with my husband( then Bf)

Stayed at Shinjuku Washington hotel-~ SGD 150 per nite. Its abt 5 mins walk to the JR line/ Subway /Takashimaya which has a bus station at its basement.
The hotel do provide transport to places like disney (1 way) at 1000yen.

1st day:
Took NW airlines( cheapest to NRT) from there, go to their limousine trabsport( which is actually bus ) ask for ur destination and pay accordingly, ( Do bring along a printed address as most staff do not really understand ENG)
Free n Easy - Shinjuku is like SG's cityhall. thus lotsa Offices n shopping for Exec's

2nd day:
Off to disney land, Japan has disney land/ disney Sea so u have to buy 2 tix ( which means getting a 2 day passport), unless u dont wish to spend 2 whole days at disney land and sea...

3rd day:
Since its a Sat, we headed off to harajuku, where meiji shrine and all those cosplay peeps hang out, do visit on a sat as u will get to see lotsa street jamming and lotsa cosplay. Its like Mini, SG Cineleisure with all those youth park thingy.. u can ask to take pics with them..

4th day
Asakusa- Temple( rickshaw rides) ninja Village, etc.. Imperial Palace.. its within walking distance to tky tower..

5th day head down to hakone,relax for 1 nite.

6th day Shibuya for last min shopping( SG's Bugis), then indulge in Expensive dining at Ginza( Sg's orchard)

For Osaka, as my husband's Mum's from osaka, we didnt stay at any hotels. but my fren's did stayed at DOTONBURI hotel which most locals dont really know. its like a small budget hotel, but still i went to their room its not too bad. ~ sgd 150 , Osaka has Washington too but its more exp at that time.

Osaka u can visit thier many towers.. Aquariums..and osaka Castle( similar to imperial palace), take a bullet train( shinkansen) to nagoya port, Kobe( for their Steak and mozart playground)universal studios....

Oh since i am a collector of hardrock , my husband arrange our trip according to where the hardrock stores are located..

sandralum

Hi Shannon and Ropsie,

could you send me your iternary too? Thanks

muffin_bear

Any1 can recommend bugdet hotel near Tokyo Station? Going to take train to hokkaido from tokyo station so hope can stay somewhere nearby..

88username88

hello.. all i just want to contribute my 2 cents worth here.

You can try to buy the JR Rail PASS give u unlimited travel on most of the JR Trains like bullet trains.

So I travelled from Tokyo to Hiroshima and back

In between stop at kyoto and can't remember where.

I love the place in Hiroshima, no more nuclear / toxic / atomic bomb. nice city, go visit the ww2 musuem. very interesting and informative!

In Tokyo i stay in a hotel (cannot remember name, but it's just opp Tokyo main station) price ~150SGD or ~9000 YEN

Don't recommend you take a bus or anything that travel on a road in tokyo. Take a Train. (free with JR pass) or the subway (pay some $$$)

The vending machine for train ticket is japanese but got english option. u will need to figure out the train routes as their map is not as simple as our singapore MRT

Buy or borrow the lonely planet japan book. very good very useful.

Even if i dont understand japanese, with that book i had a happy trip there.

any questions i will be glad to answer here!!

fangy

Hi ¨·◦• ♥RaRa♥ •◦·¨ (rara) , for the Kadoya Hotel you have recommended, do u know whether can 2 person stay in a single room? Thanks for helping.

rara

Hi fangy,

erm... I wouldn't suppose so, since it's stated Single room. Unless they are having some promotional plan for 'semi-double room' which essentially is a super single bed in a single room at a promotional price for 2 people, but apparently not for now. No harm emailing them to ask anyway if you really want.

In any case, for a convenient hotel in the heart of Tokyo, this is a very reasonable price liao.

fangy

Hi ·◦• ♥RaRa♥ •◦·¨ (rara) ...thanks...yah my frd also recommend this hotel to me...thanks alot.

chrissrp

Im planning a 7 nights trip to Tokyo in Mid Feb.. Understand that its their winter.. But, im wondering will there be snow in Tokyo? Nvr seen snow b4, so am interested...

88username88

maybe u go to nikko u can see some snow, but like starting to melt liao. i went there in march still got but look like those ice from last time the old fridge.. hehe

yoki26

has anyone receive Shannon itenary? Can share with me too? I would be going to Tokyo nxt month and like to know which are the places of interest and would be best if someone can recommend me those cheap places to buy stuff

email: [email protected]

fangy

Hi Yo (yoki26), I will also be going Tokyo in Oct. Where will u be going other than TOkyo? I will be going to Kyoto and Hakano too.... :D

yoki26

HI fangy,
im going to tokyo on the 31st Oct. I am on Chan bro tour package thus will cover area such as osaka, kyoto, mt fuji. How about you? Are you going by tour?

You can send me your email address and we communicate thru tat. I seldom online to this forum. Only once awhile

Hi gals, i have not receive Shannon itenary yet. Anyone care to send to me?

thx

fangy

Hi Yo (yoki26) , I will be flying there next wedensday....after my ROM...mood liao...hehe...
we going F&E...we preferred not to be restrained by tour guide....we planning to go tokyo, kyoto, osaka and Mt Fuji....
we booked a cool hotel in Mt Fuji with attached hot spring bath tub....can oversees Mt Fuji while bathing...haha....U can check out more from Japan Tourism Board (JTB) @ takashimaya (beside POSB)....

eml_

does anyone know where is a good area/ place to stay at Hakone?

planning to take a train down myself... but i think there are a few stops around the Hakone area.. which area is more centrally located ? moto-hakone or?

TIA!

haru

can anyone share some nice and cheap hotels in tokyo? will be there around end feb'07 for 2-3 nites.thanks!

funnyfunny

hihi..
try toyoko inn in japan.. its near train stations n its clean.. its very cheap n reasonable. tat is if u want to stay in town.. if u want to stay at narita area.. not so convenient u can stay at either marroad hotel or choice hotel which are pretty cheap.

funnyfunny

hi emily, not sure if u have already gone to hakone.. just some info u can stay near gora station.. its very convenient as its central.. if u take the train to hakone.. take from shinjuku n buy the freepass which will cost 4700/5500 depending weekdays or weekends.. alight at odawara its better..

jew

just fyr!

during the month of feb in tokyo, u may not be able to c any snowing, just lots of 'ice' on the street, same at mt fuji, the temp. can drop to as low as 10°C or even lower and someday may rain, and worst at night..

places can go in tokyo (from my previous trip-4yr ago) :p:
1. Harajuku (Kiddyland, Snoppy town, 100yen shop..etc)
2. Odaiba (Fuji Tv building -nice architecture with lots of jap drama posters, ferris wheel-seems b always long queue, rainbow bridge-with lighting around it)
3. Shinjuku (lots of electric and It shops)
4. Asakusa - Sensoji (buddhist temple -w/ shopping street just outside the temple... can get some souvenirs there and finger food)
5. Akihabara (if u r manga lover - there r many animation shops)
6. Tokyo station (Imperial place)
7. Tokyo Tower -- forget the name of station ;p (pay 1500yen to go up to e top) ++ go there during the day, cant c much at night!
8. Ikebukuro (many departmental stores!!! shopping spree)

-- almost every station (given abv) has departmental store around the area!

* Don take their cabs (too exp), or bus (usually jap speaking driver, unless u understand or can speak).

* take their subway (similar to MRT in spore), the subway stations are all in jap (katakana>chinese-like) & jap (in english alpha.) - more accessible to shopping or place of interest, the subway station staffs are v helpful..n tkt price almt same as spore

* try to look out for lane between shops or buildings when walking down the street, u may be surprised tat there r quite a few unique shop in tat narrow lane.. u may find some cheap stuffs there 2..

u can look into this webby for pic: www.japan-guide.com.

There r many more to expore in Tokyo.. so its better for those to concentrate on 1city 1st, rather than going to too many... (advise to those who r taking short trip)

jew

just fyr!

during the month of feb in tokyo, u may not be able to c any snowing, just lots of 'ice' on the street, same at mt fuji, the temp. can drop to as low as 10°C or even lower and someday may rain, and worst at night..

places can go in tokyo (from my previous trip-4yr ago) :p:
1. Harajuku (Kiddyland, Snoppy town, 100yen shop..etc)
2A. Odaiba (Fuji Tv building -nice architecture with lots of jap drama posters, ferris wheel-seems 2 b always long queue, rainbow bridge-with lighting(only at nite) ..nice)
OR
2B. u can also take a river cruise from Asakusa pier ard Asakusa station (forget how much) --cruise pass ~7bridges (incl. rainbow brigde) to Odaiba area... just like cruising Spore river!!
3. Shinjuku (lots of electric and It shops)
4. Asakusa - Sensoji (buddhist temple -w/ shopping street just outside the temple... can get some souvenirs there and finger food)
5. Akihabara (if u r manga lover - there r many animation shops)
6. Tokyo station (Imperial place)
7. Tokyo Tower -- forget the name of station ;p (pay 1500yen to go up to e top) ++ go there during the day, cant c much at nite!
8. Ikebukuro (many departmental stores... shopping spree!!)

-- almost every station (given abv) has departmental store around the area!

REMEMBER:
* Don take their cabs (too exp), or bus (usually jap speaking driver, unless u understand or can speak).

* take their subway (similar to MRT in spore), the subway stations are all in jap (katakana>chinese-like) & jap (in english alpha.) - more accessible to shopping or place of interest, the subway station staffs are v helpful..n tkt price almt same as spore

* try to look out for lane between shops or buildings when walking down the street, u may be surprised tat there r quite a few unique shop in tat narrow lane.. u may find some cheap stuffs there 2..

There r many more to expore in Tokyo.. so its advisable to concentrate on 1city 1st, rather than going to too many... (for those who r going short trip)

u can look into this webby for ref: www.japan-guide.com.

sfun

Dear Ropsie & Shannon,

I'm new here.
Can share w/ me ur itinery & wat was ur expenses like for the trip @ [email protected]..

Or anyone received their itinery? please send to me k? As I going this April... still planning...

Thanks!!!

lingling2

sfun,
u bought your air tickets liao? me also planning to go this April but haven decide to go F&E of with tour lor...

sfun

hi ger2,
yes.. I bought the tic...
NWA.. inc tax is $651.. =)
F&E, i dun reli lik to join tour from Sg.. But will join those daytour in Japan..

Anyone can send me the itinery?

wedding9999

Need some advises, anyone know which hotel ard $150 - $250/nite (twin sharing) located ard shinjuku area which provides bus limo to & fro narita airport ?

Heard that shinjuku is gd area to stay in toyko. True ? Any other gd area to stay in tokyu ?

Thks so much !

s__h

Hi wedding999, maybe u can check the distance btwn shinjuku and Ginza...if is suitable for u, then i can recommand a ginza hotel to u

wedding9999

I prefer to stay at shinjuku area.....;p

Any recommednation of cheaper hotel within walking distance to shinjuku station ?

Thks !

rara

Hmm... there are quite a lot of recommendations earlier on this thread and other Japan threads already. Perhaps you might like to just scroll up and do a bit of reading?

bunnyngsg

Hi, I'm planning to go Japan in May. I think it's summer, not too cold. Any idea is there will be lots of rain or typhoon?

melodykitty

hi penelope, i'm gg tokyo in may too. heard tat its cool weather then. which hotel u'll be staying?
my fren suggest to stay in UENO area. Is it an interesting place with lots of F&B n shopping? or staying in GINZA is better? folks who have been to tokyo, please share ur experience.:) coz reading thro the previous posts, no one has mentioned UENO!
also, how can we F&E to Mt Fuji? cos the train lines r already so confusing.. still gotta take bus to reach 5th level Fuji.. so confusing isn't it? is it cheaper/ easier to book local 1 or 2 days tour to Mt Fuji?

s__h

there is local bus tour with english speaking guide to mt fuji...may not be cheaper but sure is easier and smoother !

tsubame

Hi melodykitty, there are lots of budget hotels and hostels in Ueno. It is one of the backpackers place. There is one main station for some long-haul trips, like to Sapporo. The JR station have the Yamanote line which is essential for Tokyo sightseeing.

There's plenty of food there, Ueno market is famous for seafood and snacks. If you love cuttlefish snacks, scallops and such, you are gonna burn a hold in your wallet. We came back with 1 luggage full of such snacks. You can get those yummy Japanese nuts snacks there too. You can bargain slightly for your purchases if you purchase a lot.

Lots of good food there. Very yummy melon-bun stall there in one of the streets if you can happen across it. Just drool thinking about it...

Ueno park is famous for it's sakura blossoms, but since you going only in May... And if you are the otaku type, you can actually walk to Akibahara from Ueno, it's just a station away.

Ueno is my second choice if I cannot get Ikebukuro. Hope this info helps.

melodykitty

hi all, thanks for the advice!

if i were to stay one nite outside tokyo, between Mt Fuji n Hakone, which is more interesting? Mt Fuji seems to have nothing much to explore except acsend to the 5th level whilst the latter can get to do Hakone round trip..
or visit both places? if so, how to reach Mt Fuji from Hakone or v.v?
which lodging do u gals recommend in either place? my criteria as follows:
1) prefer jap. style room
2) with ensuite bath n toilet
3) easily accessible location/ near train station
4) budget for twin sharing: Yen 20,000+ per nite
5) ONSEN !!

yjstory

Urgent...Anyone been to Osaka before? I need information urgently as i will be flying to Osaka tml night.
I still have not find an accommodation.
Can anyone suggest any reasonably priced Hotel or backpackers (clean ones) in Osaka city where it is close to shopping malls etc. Any other information is also welcomed.
Thanks you

ropsie

o_O

My itinary ka...we really hopped a lot.

Day 1 - Arrive in Japan in Kansai Airport. Head to Kyoto and dump luggage in hotel. Off to Kiyomizu dera. (At tat time there was a dragon festival)

Day 2 - Off to Himeji Castle and dropped by Kobe at night.

Day 3 - Off to Osaka. Met japanese friends. They took us out here and there in their cute little car. (Japan's carpark is interesting. You put ur car in a giant lift and u take a ticket for ur car. and they store ur car in their erm...car storage building.)

Day 4 - Off to Beppu in Kyuushu. Just walked ard the town area. At night we went to a local club and partied.

Day 5 - Went to see the jigokus and multi-colored hot springs in Beppu.

Day 6 - Off to Shizouka where our friend stayed there b4. Funny thing was tat we didnt know our hotel was near a host club area. Lol....red light district.

Day 7 - Fuji Q Highland!!! See Mt Fuji and go on the Fujiyama and go for the haunted hospital. (the haunted hospital is very very scaryyy....)

Day 8 - Down to Shuzenji in Izu. Take well-deserved rest in traditional ryokan. We also saw local attractions like waterfalls...wasabi fields...

Day 9 - Went to the wild boar park b4 we head off for Tokyo.

Day 10 to 12 - Was just Tokyo...whereever u wanna go.

Expenses were ard $1300 without food, air ticket and shopping. We had a package air ticket and JR Pass deal and in the end, our food expenses were much lower than expected.

I don't think we spent more than $3000 xcludin shopping.

Will be goin for another Japan trip again next April perhaps. Plans alrdy bein made...just need to set date and bk hotels...

ropsie

Hmm....I think it's out of the budget. This time we are aimin $3000 for 14 days (2 more xtra). Hahaa...

Thanks anyway.