A Venue for ROM ?

i just had mine at four seasons hotel windows east room for 30pax

very beautiful n romanitc place n e service is excellent.

overall i had a good n enjoyable experience

hi. finally i have choosed Peony-Jade as my ROM venue. just now called David, he told us he got problem with the license that he can't confirm with us whether he can become our JP or not in this July. any good JP recommend?

Hee hee just wondering how come no one considers Conrad for soleminsation? I had my soleminsation there in 2003 at Salon IV. Quite a nice place and they set up the buffet for me in the other room next to it. There's another function room by the pool too if you like casual seating and if your group is big.

Hi Piggy,
Do you have photos that u can share for ur ROM @ 4 seasons? If u dun mind.
Can I have the quotation as well? Looking a nice place & my friend say that place is very nice. Thanks.

hi jaslyn,

heard tt the food n ambience is not bad.

juz wondering: are u considering holding ur ROM or customary there? cos i called this afternoon to discuss abt possibility of having my ROM in Oct 2006 (it's a Sat) and this lady (Pauline) said tt for saturdays, they don't take advance bookings for ROM as they might hv bookings for wedding lunches. if they were to take the ROM booking, they will lose an opportunity... *disgusted*

i sort of write off peony jade liao.

I'm kinda "lost". My gf and I are planning to do a very simple ROM next month, 24th, Sat. We planned to do it in a hotel suite with a few of our family members only. Followed by lunch at a resturant downstairs.

Problem is .. when registering online.. we are require to submit "venue" (which is printed on the cert) and we've not settle the venue yet. I have already booked my JP, the date is confirm, only the venue is not.

Can i like submit online with a fake but more personel venue name like "special begginings" or "sweet haven" .. instead of Carlton Hotel or Conrad?

I mean .. does ROM really checks on the venue that is listed on the cert?

I'm asking only cos time is running out .. and i want to quickly register online, then take our time to find a nice affordable suite.

Hi Whitehooves, tks for yr info. I'm actually considering PJ as my solm and dinner venue as I've read so much abt them. it seems like a nice place..haha..but looking at what you mentioned, maybe i've to reconsider...=)

Hey Gary...

In my knowledge, you're not supposed to come up with a fake name.
Think the JP has to acocunt for it also... so have to quick decide your venue then efile lor... you have to efile at least 21 working days before your ROM. So better settle your venue soon. But sinc eyou have confirmed your JP, everything else should be easir.

Hi Gelaine,
Thanks. Its not exactly a fake name per se i guess... just a more personel one. But then again, i better not get my JP into any trouble. He is my fren's dad and was kind enough to do this for me.

But thanks for the reply. Really amazing how fast you all respond .. life has never been the same w/o forums. Heehee.

Wish me luck .. looks like i goto find my hotel really fast.

Heh... Gary...

Think another way is to check with your JP lor... if he says is fine then no problem to go ahead i guess. Heh...
Good luck in sourcing your venue.

And yes... the forums are great help!

Hi Reinn, sorry for the late response. I had High tea for my rom @ Conrad so the price is cheaper. Have you checked out the place? I don't have nice pics of the place leh cos didn't engage a pro PG for my ROM. The pics were taken by our friends
I suggest you go down to take a look at the rooms so that you can have a better idea of the place

Actually Conrad wasn't on our list when we were shortlisting for rom venue. It just so happened that we had just viewed Ritz and still had some time before going for our next appt at Fullerton, that we decided to pop by Conrad to take a look. We were impressed with the rooms and the coordinator's service (my coordinator then was Judy). In the end, we shortlisted Conrad and FS and decided on the former.

hi starris
actualli plan of going over to ritz and fullerton but i tink their price comfirm will be higher den conrad so i didn't actualli ask for quotation.
i went down to conrad to view the rooms alreadi. is veri nice and cosy but the price is slightli above our budget.my coordinator is maran and he is rather strict with certain things, but we do understand is not within his control

Hey Love Diary,

ROM office is closed on Saturdays. If you plan for Sat ROM, have to do it outside. But think their LoveThatBinds section may be open... can check with them.

Hi Love Diary, I just went for my friend's ROM on a Sunday. It's being held at the Mansonic Garden which is at the submit of ROM and we had the lunch reception at the Mansonic Club. I think the garden is being set up by ROM but to lunch at the club, you have to be a member. You can try and ask around

Hi Reinn, when's your rom btw? Yah have to agree that Conrad's price is on the high side. Why don't you consider high tea instead of lunch? Which other hotels have you checked out?

hi starris
i went to amara, calton, goodwood park, four season, conrad... still got 3 more coming on the way to view.
but so far i like goodwood park n conrad. but goodwood park the coordinator service is not v good. and heard alot of bad feedbacks from other forum also.
i very afraid if i take up goodwood park and last min the coordinator cock up smthing again and i have to wait for 3 wks den he came back to me again. i dun wish tt to happen again

hi reinn,think u have to keep a close eye on ur coordinator,i find some of the hotels coordinators dun really bother much abt ROM functions being held at their place.my own opinion

hi babystarlet
i agree on you. maybe because is a small scale function and they dun realli bother compare to those banquet.

I'm having my ROM lunch at Peony-Jade. I have heard negative things about Pauline from a friend. Lucky I got the other lady Lydia who attended to me. She's very nice and helpful. Looking forward to the big day.

Just need to get the nightmare guest list. Originally 80 pax, now it's ballooning to like 117. And the space at Peony-Jade we booked can only accomodate maximum 10 tables, though Lydia said she can let us have tables for 12 pax.

Just went to my cousin Rom lunch at Yum Cha Restaurant in chinatown. Really a nice place for Rom. I had a hard time looking for a rom venue, so i thought i can intro this place to you all.

They have a very nice decor. The table and chairs used for the ceremony is nicely decorated w flowers and ribbons.

The food is great and so is the service. My dad just commented that one of their xiao long bao is not done nicely and the soup actually spill out and the staff bring another basket with 10 when only one of the bao is not done nicely. actually my dad is only joking w the waitress and she actually told her manager. Really very impress. Actually i should say i have a lot of dim sum in Singapore and overseas before but theirs are really fresh and delicious. I love their xiao long bao so juicy, and their mango roll w shrimps. and the best is their dessert, dunno wat it is called like mango w sago. and they use dry ice to give it a very nice presentation. just like a rehersal for the AD.

And i am surprise it only cost $138 for table of 10. really worth it.

If you girls are interested can call 63721717.

Has anyone tried LoveThatBinds before? I'm having my ROM in Nov, not sure wanna hold at ROM and have lunch at a restaurant or just hold the ROM outside, coz budget is a factor... Not sure which would be cheaper... Estimated abt 50-60 pax...

Lost here too..still searching for my ROM place...thinking of Love That Binds but yet I heard reviews that the suites are rather old...any comments? As for peony jade and Amara, I am aso considering but any recent comments for these 2? I am estimating about 30pax.. Thanks!

HI all,i once considered LoveThatBinds.but my hubby says that other den the suites,there's nothing special and e process is jus as rush as the normal registry office,so a bit no point.

anyway i held mine at furama riverfront.they have a lovely waterfall lounge

Hi Babystarlet,

Heard you are having ur ROM solemnisation at Furama Riverfront. Care to share your ROM pics?

I'm wondering how is the solemnisation is held. Is it at the Waterfall Lounge? It's an indoor? Then where will the guests be having their food?

HI, i just had my ROM at Peony Jade @ clark quay, was fantastic and the service and arrangement was good. my guest enjoyed a lot and everyone said the food is good!!! the package is not expensive. if you want, you can contact Kenny in that restaurant.

Hi Qiqi,

Saw your post, i am also looking for venue for my rom.

I just call up Yum Cha, the lady tell me the cheapest for the table for 10 is at least $250.

How come ur is so cheap, which contact person you look for. can share with me

As I'm holding my customary and ROM together, I decided to forgo my Peony Jade ROM lunch reception. I had already paid a deposit of $200.

I'm willing to let go at $150.

Any interested parties, please PM or email me at [email protected] ASAP.

hi emytan,currently i'm using a friend's laptop,cant send u e pics yet.my package are all in hard copy.

you can email my coordinator,jasmine at [email protected]
ask her to send u e package details

she's a very nice and friendly lady,let her know ur requirements and she will try her best to cater to them.

I'm planning to hold my solemnization in April 2007 but FH & i are having trouble deciding where to hold the ceremony.

We have decided it's definitely NOT at ROM so it's either a restaurant or hotel poolside. Our budget is $1K for hi-tea reception. Any suggestions on venue?

Hi Cutiemui,

can i take a look at your photos?
I'm doing really very last min planning for my wedding next yr! In a great fluster manz..

hi Babystarlet, QiQi0505,

can i take a look @ ur ROM pics too?

i'm urgently looking for a venue for 20~25pax..
my ROM is coming on the 29/9/06 & i hav not settled on a place yet...desperately need some help here...