A REAL WEDDING CAKE

Mgt
My cake is from Canele. Can see the pic from my earlier posting. Better for u to call Canele and check the price. the baker will also advise you how many kg to get. Mine is 7 kg for 150pax.

hmmm.. if i get ah, i will be feeding 450pple leh... wah ppiang.. then how many 1000kg am i supposed to get man!! ahaha

hi mgt, i'm also feeding about 400 pple with wedding cake. What I did was to order a cake of a size which would feed 200 persons, and supplement that with sheet cakes for the other 200. Sheet cakes are cakes in trays which are iced in a similar fashion as the wedding cake. This is much cheaper than getting a cake for all 400. I figured after you cut it up, no one will be the wiser

yup, got the sheet cakes together with the wedding cake from the same source.

hey dorami, i haven't decided yet whether to get the customised cake topper from cheryl - i think it's really cute though! also more interesting than the precious moments ones, and they can also serve as mementoes of the wedding after the event. but it's extra cost... are you getting them from her?

beanbean,

Initially tot to..
kao_love.gif
but my hubby prefer precious moment leh.. he tinks precious moment cuter..

anyway cost nt much difference lah.. cheryl quoted me $100 for her topper.. n precious moment fig cost ard $90.. so personally i feel it's worth it to get cheryl's topper.. too bad my hubby prefer precious moment

anybody has had her cakes from Canele? I'm currently have PG in my list but looking for more bakery that does wedding cakes (other than PG and Cherryl)

when did u all cute e weddg cake?
if put on e stage, will it be too wasted? lots of pple cant really take a close look

moo,

for my case, i'll put the cake in the dessert area in buffet line.

but prob pp can't see the shape also since i'll ask them to cut it nicely so guests need not cut it again (and make a mess of it)

so.... actually .. shape does not matter much (except for photo taking) but must be tasty

fleur, savoury's cake is cheap hor... but the design on website seems very old-fashioned. How does yours look like? Did you get to try the flavours (cake-tasting)?

Hi Viv...

You are absolutely right about taste being important! I am absolutely attracted to all those unique favours of Savoury Fare. They specialise in fine cakes which they sell to cafes and hotels. I did try some of the tarts and slices of cakes when I went over to the shop and I must say I was quite impressed with their quality. Subsequently, I had ordered a ice-cream cake for my colleague's birthday and quite a lot of my colleagues were raving about the cake!

Keke... I am not fastidious about the design of my cake, so I am leaving it largely to the baker. I had ordered my cake much much earlier before I came across this forum. Nevertheless, i had done some research prior and one of the things that attracted me too is the personalised delivery services they offer. (They have refrigerated vans)

Hi Guys,

I need some help here. Recently we went to Pine Garden to sample their wedding cakes and had a quotation from their Marketing Manager, Wendy. Was quoted S$600 for a 3 tier cake to be able to serve like 450+ people. + S$50 for the acrylic stand if we want it to look taller. Both fiancee and I find that Wendy did not really engaged us during the meeting and also we could'nt figure out how the calcuation of the cost of the cake was derived. Just wonder if anyone of you had been attended by her? I am willing to pay the $ but I must say the experience with her has kind of held me back. Will be great to hear you guys' feedback if you have enquired or engaged their services before. I love the cakes design and taste, but I think they need to work on the Customer Service part I guess.

hello Azure. I very kaypo and called also, just want to find out also how they charge and what kind of cakes they do. I think the lady who picked up the phone said something about they charge according to the size of the cake.

Hi Gals.. hav u chk out chery1 shuen's cakes b4.. i recently had my ROM cake by her.. it's bvery nice n every1 has praises for it
331536.jpg

dorami! was just wondering if you still come to this thread. your cake is so sweet
i got the lychee cake from cheryl as well and everyone liked it so much, everyone stayed to eat the cake instead of zooming off when dessert was served. mine's yellow one now fronting cheryl's website

Hi Dorami,

First off, congratulations on your ROM!
What were the sizes of your cake and were the flowers edible? And it's covered in fondant? Was the lychee cake spongy or heavy?
Lots of qns.... :P

hihi sue.. thanks

my cake is 10" + 6" round

able to serve up to 50 pax

flowers arent edible.. there r swarovski crystals on d cake n i got d hotel staff to cut d cake for me.. cheryl advised them on hw to serve d cake

it's covered in fondant.. lychee cake is spongy hehe

her url is www.chery1shuen.com.. replace 1 with l

Thanks for the info dorami!

Bride, there's lots of info and contacts you can call to find out the answer to your question on this page.

Hi Azure,

Did you order from Pine Garden's in the end? I am sourcing for a wedding cake for my cousin and she was asking me about PG. So need some feedback from you. Thanks.

Hi Minnie,

I have yet to order from PG. I have enquired Cheryl's charges but personnally, both fiance and I still prefer cream cake over fondant cakes so we are probably going with PG. I got a call from Wei Chan from PG on Tuesday to follow up on Wendy's quote to us. Not sure if it was because he has read the forum about my concerns. Anyways, I told him my max spending is 600 and he said he will get Wendy to work out something for us. Down side is I do not agree with having to pay a S$350 deposit for the acrylic stand (to make the cake look taller). His explanation was a lot missing or damaged stands from past experience... Though it is returnable when we return the stand, I find its a tad high to pay for a stand. Anyway, he cant waive the $50 rental fee for the stand so I just hv to see what they can offer.

Hi Azure,

How come you have to pay such a high deposit for the stand?? Its more than 50% of the cost of the cake! I think the $50 rental fee sounds reasonable though. Are they gonna design the cake for you or you pick from their catalogue?

We tried PG cakes before (We went to the shop to purchase different slices of cakes) and the taste was pretty good.

Okie, you lemme know wat they manage to offer you and I feedback to my cousin. Her wedding is end next year so time is on her side at the moment....

Thanks so much!

Hi Dorami,

Your cake looks wonderful!! Very nice and sweet. Too bad its fondant and my cousin is looking for fresh cream cakes. Anyway, Congrats on your ROM!!

Hi Minnie,

Well, just got a call from PG 2 days back. Told me its S$200 deposit if the stand is used. The cake, I have the flexibility of telling them what I want. Am still in the process of finalising how it shld look. My wedding is in June 06 so plenty of time. Probably have to wait for my decorator to revert and see what she proposes as well. I am looking at a white square cake - 3 tiers and lined with flowers. Probably need to look Marthar Stewart for ideas. How's your cousin's wedding preparation coming along?

Hi Azure,

My cousin is taking her own sweet time to plan her wedding.... Relying on people around her!! Hahahaa...

I think she is thinking of a round cake. Maybe 2-tier, exploring some options at the moment.

How come PG suddenly reduce the cost to $200? Hmm... But I guess if its a refundable deposit, I guess no choice. Their lychee martini cake is quite nice.

hi Dorami,
Wow, your cake looks so sweet....how much u paid for it? I will be having 30 tables, wonder how big of the cake should i order hor?... Do u tink theres time to order cos my AD is next sun...

hihi newbbi.. thks for d compliments

paid $425 for it.. ur cake wil hav to b pretty big to serve all d guests

but then dun tink u'll hav enough time since ur AD is nxt sun.. too short a time

Dear ladies,

I've got my cake from Pine Gardens. Just to share my experience with you. Everyone commented the cake was yummy thou. but the in between experience i had with them was not very good but things were ironed out nearing the date.

I will try to post some pictures of the cake up soon.

:-)

below is the quote i got from PG:
a. wedding cake 7", 12", 16" with acrylic stand SGD 570.00
b. wedding cake 5", 9" 14" with acrylic stand SGD 500.00
c. wedding cake without acrylic stand SGD 450.00

and for kitchen cake:
Premium cake
a. 6 kg Lychee Martini SGD 210.00
b. Delivery SGD 10.00
c. Total SGD 220.00

Mid range cake
a. 6 kg Black Forest SGD 192.00
b. Delivery SGD 10.00
c. Total SGD 202.00

and i also went to the Pattisier and tried their choc+white choc cake (my FH likes it too). Quoted $500 for 6-9-12" with one accrylic stand.

Although i like PG's cake (i'm not choc-fan), somehow I prefer the way Pattisier handles our request. Somehow i feel that PG is trying to squeeze-money out of me hehehe.... maybe i'm wrong.

Well, my galfriends and FH all likes choc cake and i personally like the not-so-sweet choc taste of it. So will prob take Pattisier now.

It will look smthg like this, but the outer layer will be white-choc (inside still usual-choc).
336917.jpg

abt cherryl shuen, i share same taste with Azure, prefer cream cake (or choc cake). I tried CS's cake and (maybe it was taken out of fridge) it was hard! But Cherrly explained that it has to be harder than cream cake cos it needs to support the fondant.

When we went the Pattisier, the lady who served us also told me that although fondant cakes looks good, she prefer normal cake as it tastes better. She told me that the choc cake (she gave samples) is recommended as she receives good feedback and repeat orders. So... we gave it a bite and my FH gave "thumb's up" (and he wanted to aks for second helping tsk..tsk..)

Hi Minnie,

what happened is partially our fault. They have verbally promised us some things for free but in the quotation/invoice it is not stated. so in the end, we had to pay more if we wanted the thing. There was abit of displeasure then and i was unwilling to forgo my deposit then. I went ahead with it but was unhappy of course. I allowed my hubby to handle Wei. I cannot stand his tone. but his sister Lee keow is much better. The cake is good but the service i rate it quite low.

Hi Viv,

My cousin was thinking of going Pattisier for tasting in Jan. She doesnt like Fondant cakes so CS is out. Besides Pattisier and PG, do you know wat other places does wedding cakes?

Thats a nice cake you have there!! I think it will look beautiful in white chocolate.

Blursotong,

Oh dear... Its v tricky to deal with such situations when things are not stated clearly and misunderstandings occurs. Happened to me before with another place but luckily, they kept to their word in the end.

Their service really so bad ah... My cousin hasnt called them yet so dunno wats her decision about it. Will let her know about wat happened. Thanks so much.

Viv,

Merry Christmas!! Thanks for the list. I will send them to her and let her decide.
So you will be using Pattisier for your cake?

Blursotong,

Can I see a pic of your cake? Thanks!

Hi Minnie,

Ok i will send it to you tonight. (provided I remember). Will try.

Thank you so much for your compliments. It was a very fun wedding. All my friends and relatives particiapted and dressed up to the theme. Was very good. ehehheh....there were some performances by my sisters too..

Im so wanting to have a cake to during my AD dinner. However it is really extra cost. Nice to have but not entirely neccessary! But when do we serve it? Together with the desserts? It seems more appropriate for my church reception though.

Hi Jacquise,

I'd my cake done by Cheryl Shuen (url of her website is that of her name-1 word). We sat down a couple of times to discuss the concept and design. She was great
and we had the cake as dessert.

1 way of bringing down cost is to have a 3-5 tier cake (real of course) out front but have a couple of similarly iced cakes in the kitchen. And when the tiered cake is brought into the kitchen for serving, your guests are not going to know that their slice isn't from the cake u've just cut ;) btw, a wedding cake slice is usually quite small..as it may be rather heavy. Hence, u may not need quite as much as u think. I'd suggest u discuss your ideas and budget with a shortlist of bakers before you decide. Have fun!

hi all, i'm new to this... can i check what is the difference between fondant and fresh cream cakes? if i'm catering for 230 pax, how big a cake is required?