A REAL WEDDING CAKE

hey dorami, just wondering which flavour of cake you took from Cheryl? I'm ordering from her too and now I'm trying to decide the flavour so just curious which one you took

zen, not sure if you've already gotten the answer to your question, but i think the chief difference is that Pine Garden's cakes are fresh cream cakes, whereas Cheryl works with mainly fondant, though i think she has some buttercream ones as well.

dorami, me thinking of getting lychee too! thought it's different and pretty refreshing. took a poll of my family members and so far it's tied between strawberry and lychee... hmmm... will have to decide soon.

beanbean,

I requested to cheryl to try d strawberry too..but she forgot to gif to me

so only got to try lychee, blueberry n chocolate.

Lychee is really nice! hehe..it was luv at 1st taste..hehe..like u said it's really refreshing hee

so u cfm ur cake design liao?? when is ur big day???

i've sort of confirmed the design with cheryl over a discussion - waiting for the final sketch
Yay! i've decided to take the lychee too, it's unusual so i think it'll make more of an impression. Plus it's yummy too! My wedding is on 23 Oct 2005. Yours?

how much for one layer of wedding cake? What kind of cake?? Butter cake? I've never tasted a wedding cake, none of my friends ever ordered a real wedding cake. All of them just use the dummy cake.

Christy,

It's nt a muz but it's something both me n my FH wans keke.. v r both very excited over our cake..cant wait to c it

Andrea,

Nt too sure abt tt.. prob u gotta make an appt with them n find out more.. tink cost oso depends on ur design etc

mik,

yr cake frm the patissier only $275? i thot the patissier is veri ex. so dun dare to find out more frm them. but heard tat their cake is veri nice. did they let u try the cake before u decide? how many ppl can yr cake serve?

hi zen,

yep. i find it cheaper than other sources, that's why placed my order with them.
nope, i didn't try. can serve about 60 - 70ppl.

Don;t mind if I join this thread? I also had a real wedding cake for my banquet on Sunday. Everyone loved the cake. Its a 3 tier fondant cake and the flavour is Violet (quite a unique flavour). It was very nicely decorated too. My baker even put fire sparklers on it and lit it while we did the cake cutting.

Zen, Dorami and Tansan
I will be getting my AD photos next week and will share the wedding cake pix with you k? I was so busy on my AD that I forgot to take a pix of the cake myself.

I bought the cake from Canele. I think the price is reasonable for a 3 tier contemporary looking wedding cake. Perhaps u can check it out at Canele and ask them to quote on the cake u want. My cake can serve up to 150pax

Here's an image of my wedding cake. Its not the romantic looking kind with real or sugar flowers. Its more on the cute side I think

298558.jpg

I purposely don't want any fresh flowers on the cake and want the flowers to be incorporated into the cake. Cos I thought if put fresh flowers, it will still be removed when the kitchen cuts the cake and it will look really plain when served.

mik, do u hv a pic of yr cake too?

scrumpee,
can u give me the add of canele?

gals,
how long in advance do we hv to place order for the cake?

hi scrumpee,

thanx! now then i noe canele is under les amis grp. can pm me the price of yr cake if not convenient to post here? [email protected]

btw, hv u tried or look at other bakery before u decide on canele? why did u choose them har? i veri confused wif so many bakeries ard. dunno which one to choose.

thanx scrumpee!

actually i've heard abt tat chef. i mean the cakes frm tat hotel is really good! din noe he went over to canele.

hi zen,
i happen to have a pic from the patissier which i chose my cake design from: pic is 3-tier cake. mine will be 2-tier and ivory in colour

hi zen,
just so you know, about 2-3mths in advance would be good to place an order for your cake. becos there's a limit to the number of cakes which the bakers can handle.

hi gals ( i presume :P)

i know there are a few weddg cake specialists eg cheryl, pine garden, patisser and now cedele

may i know what the differences are?

i only tried pine garden so far. we had a v full lunch when we tried the cakes so we didn't think that the cakes are v delicious.

cherly is going to charge a fee for a sample of her cakes, i think + she is gg 2 set up her own shop 2

will there be free cake samples for the other 2 bakers?

what's fondant by e way? :P

scrimp, can u post me?

milkmilk,

d cake looks really nice!! hee

moo, i'm havin cheryl do my wedding cake too.. thumbs up for her cake.. i luv d samples she gave me to try.. simply yummy hee

hi Scumpee,
your cake is really unique too with the fire sparklers.

hi dorami,
got any pic of your cake?

hi moo,
you'll have to visit the bakers to find out. each has their own different ways of making the cakes as well as different flavours.

i know that patissier doesn't give out free samples of cakes.

fondant is the coating you see on the cake.

milkmilk

yr weddg cake is sweet! my hubby said those little flowers look like nipples!! haha what an imaginative hubby i hv

dorami, rem 2 share a pic of cheryl's weddg cake w me yoz k? will be poppg by her place when it is open. is in west coast, i think. hope is convenient.

hi dorami,
oic! congrats!
thanks!!

hi moo,

heeheehee! your hubby so cute! maybe becos is little rosebuds.

ladies,

cheryl quoted me $700 for 3-tier using sponge frsh cream cakes with fresh flowers decoration do u gals thk is expensive because i nd to cater for 600 guest.

i m in the midst of waitg reply from Patissier if she can quote me cheaper then i may consider them no doubt i agree cheryl's design is very nice i believe others can customise to what i want right.

Mikmik,

Can I check is your 2-tier cake all in real or some in dummy cake ? How much did Patissier charge you ?

I receive the quote they charge me which is within my budget but I thk I am considering using 1 tier real the other 2 tier dummy because I dun wish to spend much especially it is just to match my decoration theme on stage. I just bring back the tier in real and not intending to serve to the guest.

hi virgo,
my cake is all real. i posted the price in the earlier postings. =)

another cake source to consider: coffee bean. they've got this pink cake which seems really right for weddings. 7KG at $250.
posting the pic from the coffee bean website:
301526.jpg

hello ladies... me hoping to have a real cake for AD also.. been hearing lots from the Canele is at Robertson Walk...
looks nice... unique also.. hehe.. how much does a cake like that cost?? if the number of my guest hit 450??? how many kg should i order???

Dorami.. hehe... i meet u here too!!! haha... so coincidental!!!!