A REAL WEDDING CAKE

purple_poppy

hi girlfriend, can i have the contact and website of the cake designer? thanks!

cc2

Hi purple poppy,

I just confirmed my wedding cake yesterday with Pine Garden. Wei Chan is very a nice guy and the cake they do looks very nice too...
Taste good too. Tasted their triple chocolate cake yesterday too... yum yum....

stubbilla

hi cc2,
wow, u got wei chan to do your wedding cake! heard he's good. I'm thinking of engaging him too

can share how heavy your cake will be and how much?

cc2

Hi HP,

Wei Chan don't go by the weight of the cake. Mine is a 3 tier triple chocolate cake with fresh cream as the external layer. The total height of the cake shld be ard 15". He's really a very nice guy and very patient.

girlfriend

cc2,

Sorry, do u mind sharing the size of your cake & the nbr of guests u intend to feed & of coz the most impt thing hw much is it? heheheh

cc2

Hi girlfriend,

Here's the pic of my cake

your_image.gif
. Was supposed to serve 40 tables of guests but end up only manage to serve 31 tables and hb was quite upset abt it cos most of his frens din get to taste the cake

girlfriend

cc2, can u send the pix to my email address?

U can find my email by clicking my nick! Thank Q!

I will be meeting up wif Wei this week. If budget allows, I will b getting a real wedding cake.

cc2

Hi girlfriend,

I think u got to talk to Wei wat are ur concerns and your likes and dislikes! Cos he dun have a per kg pricing.

girlfriend

CC2, thanks for your info.

Your cake looks delicious & lovely!

Anyway do u knw the size of your cake?

Wei recommended 7, 12 & 15.

cc2

Hi Angeline,

My cake is done at Pine Garden's.

Hi HP,

Yup, we use orchid. My 2nd choice was another kind of orchid which is more rare but the flower is bigger and Wei suggested this orchid.

Hi aureus,

the link can be found in my earlier post.

Mine bottom layer is 18", the middle one can't remember and the top i think it's 9"

girlfriend

ic CC2, yours is much bigger than the suggested size by Wei.

Btw, did you serve dessert besides your wedding cake? coz I m thinking of replacing dessert with wedding cake.

cc2

Hi girlfriend,

We serve yam paste as dessert. We serve both the cake and yam paste together so that the guest wun mistaken either one as the last dish.

Hi Purple_poppy,

We discuss with Wei and came out with the design. The cake is done by Pine Garden's Cake.
Mobile
65) 9622 0449
Tel
65) 6457 6159

girlfriend

CC2, thanks for your info.

I was thinking if we are on tight budget and still want the cake, we can replace dessert with it.. and exchange the dessert for some other items mayb d/c per table or change to another dish etc etc..

cc2

Hi girlfriend,

Where are u having ur banquet. Most places wun give discount for removing one dish. Perhaps changing to another dish might works but then again it got to be of the same value lor!

shern

anyone with recommendations for delicious and less pricey wedding cakes other than those already stated in this thread?

wenn

hi there

my triple layer choc cake for my wedding in Nov03 was oso from Pine Garden. price was 300+. my apologies that the photo is a bit dark as the restaurant dimmed the lights during our cake cutting. oso din have time to scan the close up of the cake that my AD photographer took.

105828.jpg

do give Wei a call & tell him ur budget. i'm sure that he will do his best to match it

c0co

hi hi wenn... is the cake yummy? The patissier guy called Leong keep saying either your cake look great or it tastes great. Cant be both. So sad to hear that.

wenn

yup, my guests loved it. some of them took more than 1 piece of the cake
reason why some tables got extra cake left is bcos my banquet dishes at Noble House comes in huge portions. even i was full halfway thru food tasting

I just wanna say that my cake looks great & tastes great!
i only know that The Patissier is very expensive & out of my budget. anyway, when u visit Wei Chan, he will bring out his cakes to let u taste. mine was not too sweet so that the guests wun feel ge-lat. it's covered with fresh cream & not the very-sweet marzipan. so far, another fren of mine has signed up with him liao.

wenn

hi lynn,
i dun have his email addy with me now. but cc2 has posted his contact #. I will re-post it again.
Pine Garden's Cake
Wei Chan
Mobile 9622 0449 Tel 6457 6159

His shop is opposite Nanyang Poly in AMK

wenn

Hi no-time,
Wei quotes his cakes by inches & not kgs. mine was
top 8"
middle 12"
bottom 17"

jellytots77

hi CC2 / Wenn.... just curious can i know tat u all put the real cake on the stage b4 the banquet started and till abt the last dish b4 the dessert isit.... huh.... so the cake can withstand so many rain and blow (mean openly... no offence) huh.... also u all use the real cake for cake cutting cermony too....

Sorry just really curious to know.... hope u gals dun mind

wenn

hi jellytots,
as my hubby was brought up in a different culture, he feels that it's proper to cut a real cake rather than a dummy one.

heehee, dunno if got extra ingredients or not
anyway, wei delivered the cake at 6pm & placed extra rose petals on the table for decor. my photo montage & 1st march-in started at 8.30pm.

my guests were wondering if it's a real cake or not. yup, we were the 1st couple in Noble House to use a real cake for cake cutting. on hindsight, i forgot to tell them to give the the cake was brought into the kitchen b4 2nd march-in to be cut. the fresh cream din melt.

jellytots77

hi wenn...

actually i also love to have a real cake instead of the dummy one cos think dummy quite obit leh... but always scared tat the cake especially the cream wont last loh.... so can i know when did u take the cake in for cut huh.... and so all ur guest manage to have a share of the cake huh...

btw how many tables did u have on ur AD.... and can tell me estimate how much u spent on the cake itself

Also u and CC2 have the same bakery isit...

opps so many questions....

cc2

hi jellythots77,

Yup, our cake is from the same bakery. They delivered the cake ard 6.30 and after cake cutting ceremony, the cake is brought into the kitchen for cutting. I had 40 tables.

wenn

my cake was brought in b4 2nd march-in. not sure about the time but should be 9+pm. my dinner finished around 10.45pm. i had 28 tables. cake was catered for around 270 to 280 guests. in the end, got extra to ta-bao home cos i closed 2 tables b4 dinner starts. mine was a hot wedding date so some guests couldn't make it.

my cake cost below $400 becos it's in fresh cream. if i took choc cream, would be around $440 if i remembered correctly. anyway, Wei will ask u how many guests u have

wenn

hi lynn,
erm, i'm not sure... mine was decorated with rose petals so no need for cake topper... maybe u could ask them

wenn

jellytots, no lah... petals/flowers included with the cake... wei asked me how i wanna place the petals & i showed him an example i downloaded from the web