A REAL WEDDING CAKE

hi hi gals... hotel was mentioning they might charge a slicing fee if the cake is not baked by them... anyone had any experience with this 'fee'? Thanks :p

hi shern,
din occur to me about that but u could ask him.
anyway, flowers were taken out b4 serving & i din hear any guests complained of food poisoning. so should be safe lah

Hi, Coco
Yep, was asked to pay surcharge so in the end got the hotel to bake the cake instead. Altho' more expensive than some outside bakers, it was less of a hassle since no need to worry abt delivery and payment on actual day before dinner when shd be relaxing in bubble bath or having makeup and hair done

Dear gals:

Never occurred to me to get a real wedding cake til i read this thread! Was thinking it'd be expensive to have a real wedding cake for 350 people for my banquet in 2006..

So i thinking of having one smaller 2 to 3 tier one for mi ROM this dec! Then the cakes will be given to the close close relatives & frens that we're inviting and can still keep the leftovers.. hehe..

Any comments or suggestions?
109617.gif

hi sashamama, i had a small 2 tier cake for my ROM. cos i had a buffet, the cake wasn't even finished, so i guess a big one is not necessary. it was complimentary, so i'm unable to give you the price.

Dear Shern:

Thanks for ur advice!
Mi have 36people, including ourselves, but excluding the JP & the Photographer, yet to ask if they're joining..
My dinner is sit-down 8course lunch at Pan Pac's Hai Tien Lo..
Wonderin how big the cake shld be and how much it'd cost and if there're other suggestions apart from those mentioned in this forum.. I'm budgeting abt $200 for a 3-4kg cake.. Think if i have one for ROM, wun have one for banquet, will do away with the dummy cake too! So wld wanna get a beta cake for ROM..

109927.gif

hi sashamama,

no prob, dun ned a cake tat's too big...maybe can get a more fancy cake for tat price. think mine was less than 2kg. when's your AD?

ROM this Dec, AD Banquet in 2006

So this ROM most prob get a real 3 tier one, 1st tier we keep, 2nd tier da bao for frens and relatives, third tier eat as dessert.. hehe..

Then AD one most prob 1st tier keep for us to eat, 2nd tier for the two VIP tables, the rest cld just be dummy cake!

hehe..

Anyone has any idea if i shld keep the ROM or the AD 1st tier for a year with regards to the tradition?
110548.gif

Hi, Sashamama

If it's a fruit cake and can be kept for long, traditionally couples have it when their first child is born. Of course, these days not common to have a child so soon after, so some keep it for their first anniversary

hi gals.. u sure the cake can be kept for so long?! hehehe...

i've juz confirmed a buffet dinner for wedding dinner.... so there will be a couple of desserts at the buffet table... tink its still a good idea to hv a real cake? struggling b/w wanting a real cake vs trying to save some $$... =P

hi no-time, get the hotel stuff to slice it up and serve it with the rest of the desserts as well, that's what they did for mine (can have smaller cake, as not all will eat)....or can even serve individually (ensures that all the cake is eaten) either way, still can 'ta bao'

yup fruit cake can be frozen for 1 over year!

Hi, peeper

See if you can spare the $300-$500 for a real cake. Maybe sacrifice something else? Like flowers or an extra photo?

I paid $4XX+++ for mine, offset $30+++ in exchange for the small one the hotel would have sent to our room as part of the wedding dinner package.

As for the dessert buffet, maybe can just choose those different from your wedding cake. E.g. if you are having fruitcake or chocolate cake, then for the buffet choose less chocolate stuff like chocolate mousse or another chocolate cake. Maybe go for mango crepes or pudding, mixed fruit tarts, soupy types (maybe hot for the older guests) and just one other type of cake, maybe cheesecake.

hi gals... if i wan to get the real cake... when b4 the AD shld i contact the baker oredi?

tks. still deciding leh... must calculate total costs n c if can afford first... heheh

shern, most probably not.. wanted to save the $$$ for other areas.. I dun even dare to eat the cake that are kept for more than 3 days, let alone 1 yr plus

Hi, I am planning for real wedding cake too... May I know is it very troublesome to take out the flower deco b4 cutting to serve the guests. Mine will most likely be a garden wedding, cake will be chocolate fudge...(initially planned for cheesecake) but I doubt can withstand the long hours... And the flowers used for deco, do I have to rinse it b4 decorating? Sorry, so many questions as I planned to DIY the deco.

I was looking online and found these shops. They look so pretty! I love those white ones!

er i dun understand why it says I am not allowed to post on oAsis cake and cheryl - shuen

no-time (peeper),

a week in advance is ok. however, better to approach the baker early, maybe a month in advance in case they have too many bookings and do not want to take in new orders loh

for my case, I order the wedding cake 2 weeks prior to my AD

anybody tried oasis cake (reversed) b4? I'm thinking of getting her to make a wedding cake for me? any idea y the name is banned from this forum?

Hi scrubbed,

It's because of advertising
Like u, I shortlisted Oasis for my wedding cake. I found Joanna really nice & eager to explore new ideas. However, I found her a little pricy because her cake goes by weight. And since I wanted fondant (which is heavy enough) and her 'roses' are made from marzipan (did she show u a sample rose? they weigh a ton!!), I thought my cake would really cost an arm & a leg.

So I went with Cheryl -Shuen (another name blocked on this forum
) because Cheryl's flowers are made from fondant, more delicate and more dyeable.

Coming back to Oasis, I'm not sure if Joanna has done other wedding cakes other than the one on her webpage. If that's exactly what u're looking for, I think Joanna's great. 1 word of advice though, ask to taste marzipan & fondant. Marzipan's made from almonds and some people are turned off by its taste. It's also easier to colour fondant because its base colour is white whereas marzipan's light brown. Have fun with your cake!

Anyone has a quotation from Cheryl -Shuen?

I'm thinking of getting her to do my wedding cake too? But a bit budget lor, dunno but her cakes looks expensive, kinda like the same price range as cake avenue?

She charges by weight or size?

Pls advise...

Hi Lynn

I was corresponding with Cheryl some time ago. It seems like now she is partnering with a hotel (believe its a 5-star one) and she is no longer accepting orders on a personal basis. I am not too sure how you can get her cake, but if shes now affliated to a hotel, most likely you'll need to order thru that hotel or have your banquet at the hotel.

hi! i'm looking for someone to make chocolate cupcakes(those wif fudge inside)to replace the wedding cake. any recommendation?

Lynn & Muahchie, Cheryl's now with Shangri La. I'm not sure if you need to hold your banquet with them if you want a cake from Cheryl - better to check with them.

Pricee, off the top of my head -Pine Garden. But really, if you are just looking for cupcakes (quaint idea btw!), I'm pretty sure you'll be able to find several bakers who can accommodate your request. have fun scouting around

Hi Katgrrl

Thanks for telling me! I didnt know that. I think I'll shop around. I am thinking of Canele. Its under the Les Amis group, very delicious patries they make.

Hi Gals!!!

Hope that someone can advise me. I would like to get my own wedding cake for my banquet. Would like to check if we are able to change the 'DUMMY CAKE' that is in the hotel package fior something else? Anyone here have any experience?

Thanks a million!!

hi jiggly

i had checked w the hotel that i fell in love with, and they said no for the exchange...u can still bring in the real cake and they will still give u e dummy cake

quite expensive leh. i'm looking at ard 60 pax. din know a real wedding cake coost so much. any idea if pine is cheaper? btw, wat flavour is yr cake? any pic to share?

hmm..might b..but comments fr other gals who had their wedding cakes from PG said tt cant compare..cost diff type of cake..depends on which u like

i prefer cheryl's so decided to order fr her..

havnt decided on flavour..meeting her on sat to cfm d flavour n d design

zen,

actually i'm nt too sure..some1 did mention to me b4..but i forgot liao..

for myself i like d looks of Cheryl's cake more than PG.. i tried sample of her cake n like it very much..my FH oso prefer hers..so v decided to order fr her..

actually very excited..she has done a sketch of my cake for me n it's nice! hehe..cant wait to c my cake actually..haha