A Place for Singles

Re. the two brothers, must summarize from start cos some events were crucial in the build-up...

Before Cao Cao's death, Cao Pi and Cao Zhi were potential successors. The latter was more favoured by Cao Cao in the beginning, as he was pretty smart since young (not only in poems hor) and with the help of Yang Xiu and another adviser (cant rem his name liao), Cao Zhi slowly shined as a minister.

In tears, Cao Pi seeked help from a minister, Jia Xue (a high scholar), and the adviser told him to stay patient as Cao Zhi would screw up eventually owing to his love for wines.

Just a day or so before Cao Army marched on to a crucial battle, Cao Pi brought some wines to Cao Zhi and said some stuffs to lower his guard. Being over-confident with his own ability, Cao Zhi invited his two advisers (Yang Xiu and the other) for Cao Pi's wines, and they drank, got drunk and even danced merrily to their heart's contents.
Cao Zhi didn't wake up on time for the march, and missed it. Thereafter, Cao Cao heard from his men abt Cao Zhi's drunken stupor and dismissed him as the successor liao.

After Cao Cao's death, Cao Pi smoothly arose to the throne, but in his mind, he felt that Cao Zhi would be a thorn to his plans and wanted to find the opportunity to get rid of him. Well, Cao Pi had gotten rid of his two advisers beforehand liao... and he also wanted to get rid of another brother (Cao Zhang). Fortunately, Cao Zhang was a plain fighter and didn't possess much wits. So, he wasn't a threat to Cao Pi.

Then, he "invited" Cao Zhi over for some issues (in my vague memory, i think it was abt Cao Cao's funeral as described by HBH), and wanted him to atone for his mistake by creating a poem in seven steps. If he succeeded, he would be let off (Cao Pi confidently thought he couldn't).

Cao Zhi managed to do it, and shocked Cao Pi (nope, don't think he was moved, he was ready to execute Cao Zhi... but he had to fulfil his promise). Cao Pi, henceforth, delegated a governor's role to Cao Zhi in a faraway town so that at least, he felt that the latter wouldn't be a threat to his throne....

and the 'soya beans' poem was famously passed down from gens to gens because Cao Zhi actually didn't have any intention of a revolt because they were flesh and blood brothers, no matter what. But, Cao Pi was just plain vicious and as paraniod as his father.

Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.

What the heck?

I thought we were going to carry on super-ink Chinese conversation?

How come suddenly all gone off steam liao?

"Rotten wood cannot carve"....haiz...
And I thought we could do something intelligent for a change...

Really is a "Ah Tou who can not be held up"...

Oh yah... I wonder who that was...

Anyone seen skylar lately?
Is she still searching for Zhuge Liang?
Did someone tell her that it's not Jing Cheng Wu?

no lah.....skylar went to buy some soya beans...
She is examining the beans...trying to understand the Qi Bu Shi

wah....bro....say pple "Rotten wood cannot carve" leh....

"Ji suo bu yu, wu shi yu ren"

HBH! yoz yoz yoz.....1 more day to go!

Simi tai chi!!

Nabz!! Miss me izzit?? Yawn.. Kill thou who had awoken me from my beauty sleep!

Powderful, HBH!
Well, I must admit that I had add sooo much laughter to your faces rite?!?! Xpecially that damn powderful... laft soo hard somemore! & not forgetting that string of smses that you had sent to further disgrace moi!

eh since ur chinese ink soo good ah.. I kinda expect u to dress up like those olden days pple, with the 2 sticks in hand then goes.. clark.. clark.. clark... & also your Xiang Shen on HBH's big day tmr hor!

HBH, congratulations on your BIG DAY tomorrow !! have fun and just be a himbo, let your xiong tee do all the work... lol

Fark off lah.....you are that monkey lor.

You dun even dare to use your own nick to post.

Old? Just make sure u dun get to that age lor.

Salsa, dun get so worked up...

Let me dedicate this poem ¡¶²»Æø¸è¡· to you...

ËûÈËÆøÎÒÎÒ²»Æø£¬ÎÒ±¾ÎÞÐÄËûÀ´Æø£¬ÌÈÈôÉú²¡ÖÐËû¼Æ£¬Æø³ö²¡À´ÎÞÈËÌæ¡£ÇëÀ´Ò½Éú½«²¡ÖΣ¬·´ËµÆø²¡ÖηÇÒס£ÆøÖ®Îªº¦´ó¿É¾å£¬³Ï¿ÖÒò²¡½«Ãü·Ï¡£ÎÒ½ñ³¢¹ýÆøÖÐ棬²»Æø²»ÆøÕæ²»Æø.

hahaha.....no lah, no angry, procrastinator.

this kind of siao ginna....juz want attention. Perhaps....bored in their lives....pathethic soul

green......maybe ginna needs to think of more nicks. Lobster lah...crab/crap....or maybe busy offering cute biscuits

eh... the chinese character didn't come out?... funny... it came out nicely on my screen except for 1 character.... hee..hee.. who wants to do translation this time round...kekeke...

No curse you all lah... nvr die before meh..lol...

Salsa,

How abt trying encoding-chinese simplified? If not, powderful can translate for you into English so that he can exhibit his bilingual skills... btw the title of the poem is "Song of No Anger" (bu qi ge)

haha Thanks latino...

I preparing to turn in soon liao with after a glass of warm milk and cute biscuits.

Yeah tomm my door gifts shall be cute biscuits. All printed with my face to make it even more cute. As for the prawns, I got them to peel all the shells liao. Whoever eats the dish will be committing adultery with the chef and his assistants. Don't say I never warn in advance...

Oreo not cute lah... at least must be hello panda or hello kitty type lol... I am still thinking of my thank you speech... Thought of just going up there and say, Kam Xia. lol

you will do fine la. you write so well, sure can speak well too. most importantly, everything must come from the heart.. jia you !!

yeah, oreo is bad choice...haha.. i old too, dont know how to appreciate cute biscuits.... lol

haha yeah that's the most important thing about thank you speech I feel. Everything straight from the heart. Just suan le go up there and impromptu haha. I feel that would be the best way to go ba...

Never really like biscuits. But last time there's always this small small round round biscuit which they always get back from temple with a bit of harden syrup sweet on top of it that one I like haha. Now a days if go praying at temple still can see that

Green,

Think it is call "roti huay" (hokkien)... i think nowadays, incense shops will include this kind of biscuits when they sell the pre-packed 7th mth offerings which includes paper money, tea leaves, dried stuff...

I remembered in my younger days when i ate this kind of biscuits, i will tend to eat up the biscuit portion 1st and leave the colourful part till the end cos i am saving the best for last...kekeke...

i still like these type of biscuits. actually i will eat the hard icing first then the biscuits. many confectionary shops still sell these biscuits and i hv a packet in my pantry now.