A Place for Singles

ohh....read from papers....yest was the daughter who took the stand....a gal with sharp tongue....and her replies made the audience giggled...

so frequent that the judge said he will order to clear the room if someone starts giggling again...

no other news yet. Morning queue was even longer than yest's....

Heh..yah lor Latina...now I llok damn haggard..not enuth sleep and with all the bags coming out! Ha...

Salsa..thanks for the report...where you working...why so near court..haaa..

I think that Valli abit not in right mind...ummm

It's in page H4 of the straits times...check that out man.

oh really?? i better buy straits times today.

if hearing still ON next week, maybe i kaypo go and listen also like those sam pat aunties kekeke wah liao, if i do this, i will be so malu man whaahaha

morning!

ggal my in laws were malaysians... they came over to singapore to work.. now they are citizens... but their relatives still mostly in malacca, johor or KL... then got some relatives staying at their house cos working in singapore.. so basically everytime i go their house will hear those accent...

Morning peeps... was at the airport last nite cos hb wanted to send his students off... Reached home after midnite.. damn tired today also.. zzz

Ceci ohh... no wonder la. Actually isn't it strange that if they work in sg, or watch sg programmes, they still got that accent??

I din follow the news last nite cos din watch any tv at all.. will check out the news online later.

i felt those ang mos SHOULD PAY even if trishaw is slow. at most one trishaw can carry one person. how did 3 buffalos get in???

i get very peeved with dishonest ppl. just had one lately. sigh

hahha ah siao, i also not agile enough to squeeze in with those ah pek and ah ma...hahah

Nov 1, 2007
EXORCISM TRIAL
Plaintiff cries loudly on the stand
She shouts 'Don't touch me...I want my medicine' and bawls as lawyer recounts what happened
By Selina Lum & Carolyn Quek
THE moment Madam Amutha Valli Krishnan took her seat in the witness box, she began bawling.
The woman, who is suing the Redemptorist Order of Catholic priests who run the Novena Church, two priests and several church-goers, also covered her eyes with her hands.

Her sobs set the tone for her brief 15-minute appearance in the High Court yesterday.

The packed public gallery did not get to hear much from her, except when she made corrections to minor details in her affidavit.

She claims that on the night of August 10, 2004, two priests and church members subjected her, against her will, to a so-called exorcism in a room at the church.

She also claims that the ritual left her suffering post-traumatic stress disorder and that her condition worsened last week when the trial began.

So many people turned up to get a seat in Court 4D yesterday that queue numbers had to be handed out before hearing began at 10am. In all, 70 people got in, filling the public gallery.

Most of the day saw Madam Valli's daughter, Miss Subashini Jeyabal, 22, being cross-examined by two of the defence lawyers, Mr Anthony Lee and Mr Denis Tan, who attacked her credibility. But she insisted she had told the truth about what had happened to her mother in the church.

Several times, her mother's lawyer, Mr R.S. Bajwa, objected to the lawyers' questions, saying they were badgering the witness.

But Justice Lee Seiu Kin noted that Miss Jeyabal was quite capable of handling the questions. The judge added that in a case which hinged on witnesses' testimonies, he would allow rigorous cross-examination.

It was after 4.30pm that Miss Jeyabal finally stepped down from the stand. Her mother was up next.

All eyes were on Madam Valli as she walked in tentatively, her hair tied in a high ponytail and a blue windbreaker over her navy blue blouse and slacks.

The former national race-walker hobbled slowly to the witness stand with the help of a walking stick and aided by her domestic maid.

As soon as she took her seat, she began weeping and sobbing loudly, dabbing her eyes with a small towel and burying her face in her hands. Her lawyer told her to compose herself.

Between loud sobs, she clutched the Bible and took her oath in a trembling voice.

Miss Jeyabal, seated in the back of the courtroom, gestured for her mother to calm down, prompting lawyer Denis Tan, who is acting for three defendants, to object. Justice Lee reminded Miss Jeyabal not to communicate with her mother.

Mr Bajwa asked for Madam Valli's affidavit to be read out in its entirety. She wept quietly as he read out her personal details.

He moved on to recounting what allegedly happened at the church, but he had barely mentioned how she walked up the church steps, when she shouted: 'Don't touch me, don't touch me!'

Sobbing loudly, she continued: 'I want my medicine! I take my medicine first!'

Justice Lee then adjourned the hearing for the day.

As people filed out of the courtroom, she was heard asking a court official why they were leaving.

'I want to continue,' she said.

The hearing continues today.

shame on those angmos.. that guy still dare to comment it wouldn't blow up to such a big issue if the bullies were 3 asian guys.. what the F***!

my friend has this very bad encounter with angmos... till now if any ang mo dare to provoke him, he sure will beat them up...

well looking at those pple, they're probably hooligans n bullies in their own countries too....

latino, u can cut Q n scold them mah..kkeek

Wah... seems like that Mdm Valli is also a bit boh hor sey leh... :P Maybe they need an expert witness to testify whether she was already on medication before the exorcism...perhaps she was suffering from bipolar personality disorder.. hmm..

Ya.. those chao angmos dun pay up still wanna make fun of the uncle. They are really disgusting. Shld be ashamed of themselves. There's another report of Korean tourists who paid the rishaw rider $5 for a $15 ride >.<

haa.....cecilia think u better update us every day on Valli's case....haaa...

Yah confirm boh hor seh one....how come her children dunno about it.

chao AM lar...

aiya.. i can access straits times online ma.. so just post lor...

i can't stand ppl bullying the elderly also... he already so old but still earning his own keep.. i can't help but feel heartache when i saw the video...

ggal i also think she is a bit mentally unstable.. i think the defending witness include someone to testify on her mental condition...

Latest News

Nov 1, 2007
Exorcism case: 'Don't strangle me. Leave me alone,' woman shouts on stand
By Jermyn Chow
Madam Amutha Valli Krishnan was back in the witness box on Thursday morring - with her maid sitting next to her - when hearing into the much publicised exorcism trial enters its fourth day.

The maid was seen calming her down. As her lawyer, Mr RS Bajwa, took her through parts of her affidavit, she could not contain her emotions and started sobbing - in a repeat of Wednesday when she took the stand.

Her maid also cried with her.

When Mr Bajwa narrated the scene in the room where the plaintiff had alleged she was pinnned down by two men as the two priests carried out the exorcism rites, Madam Valli burst out: 'Don't strangle me, don't strangle me. Leave me alone.'

She also demonstrated to Justice Lee Seiu Kin how she was held down to the floor by the two men.

She started bawling and hitting her own forehead when Mr Bajwa read out her account on Father Simon Tan's insistence in wanting to hear her urinate when she went to the toilet after the alleged exorcism.

Mid-way through reading her affidavit, Mr Bajwa had to remind her to compose herself as she repeatedly broke down and buried her face in her hands.

Madam Valli, 51, is suing the Redemptorist Order of Catholic priests who run the Novena Church in Thomson road, two priests and several church-goers for damages for the trauma she suffered after the alleged exorcism on Aug 10,2004, which left her unable to work.

Earlier on Thursday morning, the lawyers for both sides and the two priests, Father Simon and Father Jacob Ong, met behind closed-door chambers for a discussion before hearing resumed.

When hearing began, Senior Counsel Jimmy Yim, who is acting for Father Jacob, applied to the court to allow psychiatrist Dr Ken Ung Eng Khean of Adam Road Medical Centre to sit in as an observer during Madam Valli's testimony.

Opposing the request, the plaintiff's lawyer Mr Bajwa said Dr Ung will be impartial when he takes the stand. Justice Lee disallowed Mr Yim's application and Dr Ung had to leave the courtroom.

Before proceeding to cross-examine Madam Valli, Mr Tito Isaac, for the Redemptorist Order and Father Simon, sought to put her at ease.

'I am not going to hurt you. This is a temple of justice. There's nothing to worry about,' he assured her.

Asked to give the dates of birth of her two children, son Jairajkumar Jayabal, 28, and daughter Subashini Jeyabal, 22, Madam Valli kept stating Aug 10, 2004 - the date of the alleged forced exorcism on her in Novena Church.

Earlier, before Madam Valli took the stand, her daughter, Ms Subashini Jeyabel was overheard telling her mother to 'be calm' and 'not to look at anyone in the courtroom besides the lawyer'. Looking frail, Madam Valli rested her head on her walking stick or her daughter's shoulders.

Her family and maid arrived in court at about 9.15am, avoiding the media glare outside.

About 70 people packed the public gallery of Court 4D on Thursday morning, some of them turning up as early as 7.30a.m.

yah!

my colleagues went in for the hearing just now .. and they said it was interesting....and indeed...the woman kept crying and crying...

Pple are oredi queueing outside for Part II

Eh... the exorcism happened on my bday :P So coincidental..

Skylar i think she was too traumatised that's why she kept crying everytime the incident was brought up.

actually i would think she IS mentally unstable.. i mean after 3 years, if you are that traumatised by that incident you would have been awarded to IMH, suffering from depression... something is just not right

BURLP..............excuse me..very full just had subway at harbourfront...

ai yah...that valli drama mama lar.....ummmm

Cecilia that was interesting piece of news...

Anyway, keep us posted!

So salsa you have not answer me le! Must wait for me to see u ask u personally ah....

Cat....my offc is inside Supreme Court building...but I am not under Sup Court....but we are closely related to Sup Court...

does that confused you? hehehhe....

Everyone is in such a lethargic mood??? Ok let's have some jokes abt marriage... ;)

One day Little Jonnie says to his father:
I want to get married.
Father: Oh, so do you have someone special in your mind?
Johnny: Yes...Grandma
Father: What? There is a problem now; you want to marry my Mother?
Johnny: Why not? You married my mother

A man and a woman who have never met before find themselves in the same sleeping carriage of a train. After the initial embarrassment, they both manage to get to sleep; the woman on the top bunk, the man on the lower.
In the middle of the night the woman leans over and says, "I'm sorry to bother you, but I'm awfully cold and I was wondering if you could possibly pass me another blanket."
The man leans out and with a glint in his eye said "I've got a better idea ... let's pretend we're married."
"Why not," giggles the woman.
"Good," he replies. "Get your own blanket."

A guy is reading his paper when his wife walks up behind him and smacks him on the back of the head with a frying pan.
He asks, "What was that for?"
She says, "I found a piece of paper in your pocket with 'Betty Sue' written on it."
He says, "Jeez, honey, remember last week when I went to the track? 'Betty Sue' was the name of the horse I went there to bet on." She shrugs and walks away. Three days later he's reading his paper when she walks up behind him and smacks him on the back of the head again with the frying pan.
He asks, "What was that for?"
She answers, "Your horse called."

A man gets home, runs into his house, slams the door and shouts, "Honey, I just won the lottery! Pack your bags!"
The wife says, "Great! What should I pack for? The ocean or the mountains?"
He says, "I don't care! Just be out by the end of the week!"

A prisoner in jail receives a letter from his wife: "Dear Husband, I have decided to plant some lettuce in the back garden. When is the best time to plant them?" The prisoner, knowing that the prison guards read all mail, replied in a letter: "Dear Wife, whatever you do, do not touch the back garden. That is where I hid all the money." A week or so later, he received another letter from his wife: "Dear Husband, You wouldn't believe what happened, some men came with shovels to the house, and dug up all the back garden." The prisoner wrote another letter back: "Dear wife, now is the best time to plant the lettuce."

:D

CHEY...got update mah...so I post to remind you go in to see..chey...haaaa

ok ok lar..quite farnie though..haaaa

For those who bored and sian..with that blog..sorrie lor....haaa..just ignore than..;p

No la.. not sian la.. ur bb so cute.. see everyday also not sian
Kekeke... ;) Eh u post more pix here la.. sometimes lazy to go to the blog still can see.. haha