A Place for Singles

yeah laundry, we waiting for you to tell us when is your LIBERATION DAY !! gathering for REGULARS ONLY and in honour of MISS LAUNDRY !!! yay !!

Wahahaha....

Latino, u really come in here to ask the meanings of hokkien swearing ah! kekeke..

Salsa,
no see u on msn, must be super busy man! whah.. ur boss very the da nan ren leh!! double Phui!!

Powderful,
i think u might need the med more than Laundry leh.. coz u r still living in the dunno wat dynasty era leh.. whahahaha....

hahaha ggal !! ok got it, thanks ! oh oh...kekeke no wonder powderful dont want to explain here.

eh, what abt gathering next fri, 31 aug?

I think tmr, my boss will be the same as today *roll eyes*
Nvm! At most, I make 2 trips lor. No big deal.

Ok ok....shall we have the celebration on 07Sep?
ah siao shld hv finished his mth end by then..

eehhh.....7 Sep...after Diana's bday and before powderful's bday....

prepare that flour for powderful. He needs some touchup for his face

Contentment is lower level than satisfaction...

Contentment is when things are not what you want, but you choose to settle for less...

Satisfaction is when you get what you want...more shiok than contentment...

Tio boh?

Powderful,
I also say its not the same but been debating with my frds coz got 1 kuku head die die say its the same..

u r planning for outing on 7 Sept ah.. me cannot cfm yet.. kekek

Skylar.. u're not talking abt sex right? kekeke...

Ok.. contentment = ok w what u got (it's satisfactory), whereas satisfaction = happy w what u got, more than just contented.

It's like I'm contented w the food I eat at the hawker centre...good enough but maybe leaves me wanting something more. But if I have a juicy steak at a restaurant, I'm satisfied cos it's so much better than the hawker food, and I dun crave for anything more.

Ggal..
No lah!!! aiyoh.. kekeke.. just a philsophical qns. coz the kuku head says in dictionary both meaning are the same!! arruuughhhh.. dumb ass & he insist that we all AGREE with him.. DUH!

con·tent·ment (kən-těnt'mənt) noun.
The state of being contented; satisfaction.
A source of satisfaction: the contentments of a comfortable retirement.

sat·is·fac·tion /ˌsætɪsˈfækʃən/ [sat-is-fak-shuhn] –noun
1. an act of satisfying; fulfillment; gratification.
2. the state of being satisfied; contentment.
3. the cause or means of being satisfied.
4. confident acceptance of something as satisfactory, dependable, true, etc.
5. reparation or compensation, as for a wrong or injury.
6. the opportunity to redress or right a wrong, as by a duel.
7. payment or discharge, as of a debt or obligation.
8. Ecclesiastical. a. an act of doing penance or making reparation for venial sin.
b. the penance or reparation made.

Well... according to definitions from Dictionary.com above, both are v similar la.. but realistically speaking, it's not really the same?

Mine is from Merriam Webster...so content is "limit" in requirements, desires or actions...

Satisfaction > Contentment?

Skylar, asked your fren to come in and argue with me...I'm on a roll....

Contentment is when u only get to go Spa once a month (or lesser)

Satisfaction is when u get to go Spa every week and dun need to pay cos it's always Complimentary thru Credit Card or Magazines

So can we all agree that Satisfaction have more shiok factor than Contentment?

Skylar, you win your cuckoo fren asked him to come look for me...I award him a plate of tofu...

actually for a sissy triangle wielding royal wimp, u had the best description... (prob inspired by my harping)

Contentment is lower level than satisfaction...

Contentment is when things are not what you want, but you choose to settle for less...

Satisfaction is when you get what you want...more shiok than contentment...

super agree.

Only if you can agree with me on my muscial instrument of choice...the satisfactory Triangle as opposed to being contented with the way inferior Harp...

But alas, I guess not everyone is perfect (unlike me...)

wah lau, sei fei cai, you really kns. i throw tofu at you ah!! you are perfect meh...hng!

get definition from dictionary.com. i also know !! hng! hng! :P kekekek

HARLO!!! Sorry sorry very long never report :p

I have not forgotten you all hor!! Just been busy settling in. Just finished catching up on this thread since my last post which was before I flew! Gosh happening sia... and a lot of mozzies (like Ggal would say... hee)...

All's been pretty fine here. School only starts next week so it's been lots of orientation all this while. Heard pretty much the same stuff over at the Tokyo/Sapporo/Hokkaido orientations. Otherwise, we just go to the education centre to zuobo. Oh yeah the education centre is just diagonally across from the famous Chocolate Factory so anyone who wants Shiroi Koibito just let me know! (Ya I know of the recent scandal but well...)

The weather's been crazily hot in the first week I was here. Yes HOT, up north in the winter wonderland. Like 33-34deg hot. I shouldn't be complaining since it's 40deg for some of the other Singaporeans further south, and in no time I'll be bitching about the cold. -.-" but it's like the temp dropped 6-7deg overnight last thurs morn accompanied with icy winds, and then 2 days later it's hot again. I was pouring with sweat today in my full suit while the Japanese dai lup mak's were all unfazed.
But ok lah every night (except the first few nights) is like sleeping in free aircon.

Oh my apartment's pretty nice actually! I have a great view of the city with mountains in the background and the gorgeous sunsets (some afternoon sun would be good in winter!). I can take in quite a number of crashers since the other room's almost empty so that's good if and when I have some Singaporean company. Haha.

The crows here are EVERYWHERE and they are noisy and bigger than the chickens back home.

Wah lau eh! I think something that the Singaporeans miss most is SPEAKING IN SINGLISH!! Which is why I think it is really about the most unique characteristic Singaporeans share. It's such a torture when you can't use almost irreplaceable words like 'sian', 'paiseh' and 'shiok'! Some of us using a particular mobile phone provider've been calling one another just to speak in our 'mother tongue' cos it's free to call between 1pm-9pm. Most of us are pretty sick of faking a funny accent just so that the angmohs can understand what we say. It's getting better for me as they gradually get used to my accent, so hopefully I can speak like I usually would soon enough.

Anyway, I've been asked more than a couple of times "So which part of Singapore are you from?" Haha.

Sorry very long and random post.

I MISS YA ALL AND I WANNA GO FOR THE GATHERING!!

Welcome back to this thread, RaRa!! *Hugz* Ya we all miss u too. Guess we shall toast to u when we're finishing up that $499 bottle of wine or slurping up the crab gravy at Laundry's Liberation Party ;) Keke... Okok.. we will promise to bring along a BUFFET of Sg food if we get to visit u next yr in Hokkaido!

Hi Rara, aiyah...whenever you feel the urge to "speak" singlish...just come to this thread loh...

How? Got any Japanese babe frens can introduce to me and Ah siao?

powderful, now i still in angmoh company. wait till school starts ya? hahaha...

speaking and typing diff lah... talking loudly and uncouthly more shiok keke...

RARA !! WELCOME BACK TO SINGLES !! MISS YOU VERY MUCHYYYYYY !! so sad, cant chat with you that day on msn. now dont want to disturb you althou i see you on n off...kekeke

btw, would be interesting to know what was your answer when they asked you which part of SG you are from?

once a young filipina in manila told me SG is in India...i almost died !! so, we are all
Sin-dians...kekeke

anyway we will keep you posted of the gatherings.. see if we can take some shots of the wine n makan makan and maybe post it here. not to make you turn green but to let you know we will celebrate again when you return... oops one year later..

you sure you want to intro hot babes to fei cai and ah siao? erm.. spare these gals the agony of having tofu thrown at them or one who grumbles abt anything under the sun esp the lack of $$ la...kekeke :P die die, i sure kena bashed soon... hehe

join us here whenever you can ok...we shall speak SINGISH and of course some hokkien swearing words ...kekeke

morning morning!

Rara!!!!!! din get to chat wif you much on msn. Hope to catch u one of the nights

alot of 'happenings' in Singles recently.....but...but.....we are not tat interested anyway.

*poof* off I go for the event again.

Morning peeps...looks like another loooong day ahead :P

Latino, so funny... we're Sindians har...

Salsa, chatted w Rara last evening but it was v late la.. BTW, I got some stuff for u....

good morning peoples!!

Hi Rara, hope u r doing fine there....

i heard gathering...tentatively 7th sept is fine...but hv to confirm again...coz tat wk we hving meeting....tat y nw i busy rushing the preparation for the meeting.....

ok...got to get back to work....

tata!

ooops....juz realise, i was actually 'booked' on 7th sept lioa....mitting a gf before she fly to japan to study....heehee...guess i cant juz in the celebration for laundry....

I'm getting a headache from naivety, stereotyping, taking words out of context etc. Think I dun wanna be a human in my next life liao. Mebbe come back as an inanimate object like a harp or triangle. At least I'll bring joy to 2 persons.

Since ALL of u are so busy, guess I'll have to sacrifice & settle for individual treats from u folks. Not bad sia. 10 over treats. My meal expenditure shld be halved for next mth.

Siao, I onz u ah! But where's my drink? Teh tarik hor. & I need fruits after. Buay pang sai. My experience tells me tat teh & fruits together confirm diarrhoea for 3 days after one.

G~gal, lotsa peeper cannot leh...