$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

actually its not hard to compare.
the prices for EA can be $7k cheaper.
or you can do al lar cart (sorry dunno how to spell)..

Matthew,
I heard that it might be related to the floor which are are staying as well.... The lowest the floor, the higher chance they ask you to engaged PE for assessment.

I also want to hack away the wall between study room & kitchen and balcony. Can't think of anything to put in such a TINY balcony.

For those who have hacked the study room and the kitchen and combined them together, may i know where did you do the cooking and washing? Is it in the kitchen or the study room area? I was told by one of the IDs that we might get into trouble if we do the cooking in the study room area if someone complains.

Wow...
super big... i only hack the svc balcony and i find it enough.. if you hack all walls, will it be more diff to maintain as oil from kitchen may linger to studyroom area..

where does you guys buy your funitures, applicances and lightings apart from Lavender's boon lay area.

dunno where to head for funitures... nova, vhive etc...

Ya, that is my initial plan but not using the whole study room for the kitchen. Will only use half of it.
The other half will be for my bar counter. BTW, Is there any kerb after completion if you hack the svc balcony?

Anne
u can try Ikea...
IMM also got quite alot of furniture shops too.

Desmond
dun have any kerb...my kitchen n service balcony all same level...

devila
???tot your reno almost finish???? left only carpentry stuffs?

devila,
thot u started ur reno, how come still HDB??

Desmond,
mine too, level between service balcony and kitchen.

Hi Lavender,
I went IMM and sungei kadut yday. Like the service of star f*rn*tu** (both IMM and sungei kadut) and Novena. Excellent.. N*v* @tradehub has the lousiest service. we almost got into a heated arguement with the saleguy last sat. Very hard sell and keep insisted us to buy his product. the face immediately turned black when we say we want to consider. If his attitude is the same as the other 2 companies, i will buy immediately. As we need to digest the design and dimension, we said we need to go back measure and come back tomolo. that is where he use hard sell tactic which pissed us off. And my baby son is hungry, keep crying and they still refused to let us go.. keep asking us to put deposit 1st etc... that is where the last straw. we stormed off.

Devila's hubby,

Wat happened? why the workmanship is so bad? is it also under this contractor Raymond?

My MBR also not very well done but yours is really bad. Have you try dropping or contacting a higher management level in HDB to expedite your case. Yours really delayed too long. And if i remembered you wanted fast as you need to move in to your new apartment early right?

If you need contact person (higher management) in HDB, let me know. I see if i can help you. This is really terrible. No wonder devila is so frustrated. Mine sped up after i sent a email to Vanice as I cant stand the delayed from initial 2-3 weeks to 5 weeks.

sigh....

It took 3 - 4 weeks for the toilet retification to be done and this is the result. We are really sian over these now. Actually one of the toilets are still okay, it's only the kitchen toilet that are giving us the problems now. We already closed one eye to the hollow tiles that is still there even after retification.

And YES , i do really need some help here ...but i dun know how to do it except complain to upper management , but will they help?

Devila's hubby

my rectification although i didnt do as throughly as the rest of u, i only had a small list of minor defects. even that took so long to complete. finally i just wrote to her and say, if there is nothing you can do to complete this, pls let me know who i can escalate to. after that she completed the works within the next week....

hi devila or D.hubby,

Liew, how come ur toilets got those greenish stuff?? so long rectify still can rectify until like that?? what the heck is h*b doing manz, delaying everyone's stuff for so long. Any hope of getting ur contractor to do the work for u instead? wait for h*b workers to do a good job can really wait until neck long manz. like i mentioned in my earlier posts, they sent ONE worker to do my TWO toilets. lagi best. *shake head* Actually, you may want to ask ur own contractor to oversee the rectification thingy for you (just in case u haven), cos somehow they have their ways to get things done faster!

Hi fallingflakes,
Mabe cos of the small pic thus it does not show it too well, the green stuff are actually the cement. The hdb contractor did not close up the gaps, and the gaps are so big that dengue mosquitos can breed there.

I have no more money to ask my contractor to do it for us....

Hi Anne,
Can u pass me the contacts for anyone that can help us on this? really appreciate it. Thanks!

Devila's hubby

You have to be firm in your email. Tell them the inconvenience and frustration build up during those long waiting time. Free service should not be equal to sloppy work as H*B does pay them for their service. If such rectification is causing the delay in reno, what is the purpose of getting the keys early whereby it cant even be ready due to H*B's side...

contradicting agency & authorised contractor... i have to keep chasing too at my time... now to chase my ID and to monitor closely on every little details..

ya manz i agree with Anne. the rectification really takes a very long time lor. and best is they rectify didnt even bother to let u know lor. they changed the letter box hole thingy and my current key can't even fit in. Call that V*ni*e then she tell us if not we also won't know! finally after a few days then we can go down to collect the new keys, liew.

same thing happened to me.

i asked v*n*ce to inform the contractor do not lay the toilet tiles becos i need to hack some walls in the kitchen.

in the end the contractor called me and tell they gonna lay the tiles today!

lucky i stopped them in time. dunno why there is no communication between hdb and contractors at all

Hi Em,

cement screeding is mainly for laminate flooring. HDB do for us FOC where contractor will charge from $150 to $200 per room.

Hi fallingflakes,

I agree. Bad communication. We have to put "bananas" on the specific place to lure the monkeys to work there... *headaches*

Hi Matthew,
You need to get used to it. It happen many times to us too.

One piece of advice if u want to meet them.

When they say they coming at 8am or 9 am or 10am , pls remember to add a few hours to it. So u no need to wait in vain.

Or when the contractor confirm to come for eg tomorrow (exact words: "i confirm come down one !!" when u repeatly asked to confirm whether they coming anot) , somtimes u need to assume that they will not be coming at all.

When u call them on that day (when u are waiting and they are not here yet) , usually they will say it's traffic jam. Pls also take note that the traffic jam can jam for many hours one hor... somtimes for 5-6 hrs....

Most importantly , bring some books or entertainment else u might be quite bored waiting.

Devila's hubby

so jialat? my one and only mtg with the officer was ontime.. the contractor was with her.. i showed all the defects, then she say within this week finish.. when it did not complete i wrote in ask for escalation...

wah sounds like a nightmare, devila's Hb! got jia lat until like that ar, liew. ours we dun even knw when they come, cos they only say "will be done by ..." or "i will come down in the afternoon/morn". And as we dun bother to take leave to go down, the only way we check is by asking our ID or going to the flat at night. btw, they like coming at weird timings too. u would have thot that they dun work on sundays or after 1pm on saturdays. there are times we were at the flat with our ID then got some jokers walking into our flat at those weird timings! got once, one joker came in, mumbled smthing abt the door and before we know it, within 10 mins, came back to where we were standing (we didnt bother asking what he was up to) and told us he changed the door knob and the window grill rubber! so i think the best thing is dun bother waiting for these people to turn up. Just make sure wadever they say they will do is done by the agreed date can liao!

I'm currently looking for some ideas on how to renovate my living room, kitchen and MBR. Can someone please send me some photos of their flat for reference. Any good ID to recommend? Thanks.

ya manz tell me abt it, somemore our flat dun have concealed wiring, stupid trunkings exposed so ugly. heng got this wonderful thing called BOX UP and FEATURE WALL!

i also hope to have box up and more feature wall, but that means will be more costly for renvo.
somemore my fiance dun like to have false ceiling cos he think will make the house more warmer..sian...

hi cynthia, false ceiling will make the house warmer? didnt know that...
haiz aircon trunking so big and ugly....in the common toilet shower screen area! space there already so small now still got one silly aircon trunking there, liew. now i see the advantages of getting those built n design flats, cos got concealed wiring!

thought all our wiring are concealed, only those additional and relocation of points need to be exposed?

Design n Built also the same thing, only different is floor tiles are done up already and shower screen.

wirings are all concealed unless u add in additional points, etc. wat Anne mentioned is right... D&B flats comes wif floor tiles. that's the only diff.

the reason why i say false ceiling makes the house warmer because the ceiling is lower means air circulation is not as good.
second, false ceiling using spot lights, which is brighter, also means warmer.
when ceiling lower, means light more closer to us, also cause more heat from those light.

of cos, false ceiling can make your house looks neater when all wirings are hidden and more morden look.

for our house, its rather much simple looking.