$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

Lavender,

Oic..I tried to apply for the post but application rejected.. kekeke.. and now that we have a house, I cant applied for that post.

Ya.. my in-laws will be staying w/us.
We had designed our kitchen cabinets to housed for the oven if we buy one.

hi lavender lover, i sent u a PM...

yap..i also will miss my parents kitchen..its rectangle shape..lots of space to prepare food.

Anne
actually not really... initially I'm not used to the layout... so got some problems. But after staying for so long... u'll know which angle n where to place the poles for your own ease.
Now, dun really find it a problem hanging my clothes out... I place the pole on the window grills n the other end near the sink... it'll be abit cramp even with or without hacking the wall. Cos our kitchen n the service balcony is really small compared to other places. Can't be help. but wif practice, u'll definitely get the hang of it w/o hitting your cabinets. no worries.

this thread really moving so fast...
Oshgosh, you really fast huh...
so fast your reno completed liao...
me only into day 13...

Hi Anne,

what wall tiles did u use for ur service balcony?

i'm planning to hack the wall and extend the kitchen, but since the service balcony area has no wall tiles, is it possible to get the HDB contractor to do that? If possible, how much do they charge if we use the same tiles?

dun think they cover service balcony, i din laid any tiles for service balcony cos i only put an island worktop on the service balcony for my sink for washing of plates, cultery etc. it is like eating a bit more into service balcony, not in straight line.

Hi Anne,

do u have a picture of how it is like?

i actually didnt want to hack, but MIL wish to put an oven, and if dont hack, really no space

dun be surprised if it is the contractor... cos remember my case, they even brought their rice cooker.. wat if they bring woman to our place.. cannot imagine that cos i did come across.

one fine sunday, my hubby and i went to check the progress. Then a short while later got this contractor bring a woman. They got startled when they abt to enter my place and saw both of us. they quickly walked off. the lady even bring a cardboard to sit down one.

Hi Mattew,

Dun think you can get the same color of the tiles even if you want. They will have only the similar shades.

We are also thinking whether to hack off the service balcony too.

Your MIL is staying with you both too ?

Hi Em,

because the kitchen tiles are having defects, i will be getting the HDB contractor to change all for me... so i was thinking might as well just pay them to lay the tiles on the service balconey as well, if i am going to hack the wall...
still thinking whether to hack or not.

MIL not staying together, but we live within walking distance, and she loves to bake.So she might wanna bake when she comes over

or maybe can follow Anne, hack and no need to lay tiles in servcice balcony.. got to try and visualise how it will look like...

if looks good then less trouble and less cost

oic.. that makes a different story..
cos our contractor has checked for us that there wun be any similar color if we were to hack down the bal.
Will consider leaving the wall empty w/o tiles.. they look simple and nice too... maybe..

alternative, u can ask ur reno co to draw for u so u can see how will it be like w/o tiles.

matthew n EM
for me, I've hacked off my kitchen tiles too as it has hollow tiles that time... so I bought a new set of tiles for kitchen n service balcony cos dun really like the one given by HDB...very plain..so I topped up wif decorative tiles...basically kitchen side one, HDB provided but I paid for the decor tiles n the tiles at service balcony.
Matthew, u can ask the HDB contractor to put up the tiles for ya if u have bought the tiles for service balcony...if not, ask your reno to do it also can.

Anne
wah...that's abit scary leh... u can ask your neighbour to look out for ya??? ;p

to all
quite alot of new occupants have moved in... think 656B the most...

Em
think some new occupants have moved in though not as many as 656B.
my new neighbour staying opp me has shifted in n think unit 345 one got shift in too think the low floor one. Unit 339 n 337 also got new faces...

Hi Lavender,

I agree, like when I dropped to see my empty house, the unit opp me had already began their reno. Think they may move in soon.

Me still waiting for HDB to rectify the flaws first. so slow.. Argg....

Hi lavender,

My neighbour is an old auntie. Anyway the HDB contractor finished their work. Thank goodness.. would not have this happening again..

Hi Em,

mine speed up after i have sent them a praising yet reprimanding email.

lavender, u mean the ur opp neighbour move in liao har? ok la now not so lonely for u.. haha

the 656c one i thk confirm move in or wat.. inside see kids all...

swatdila
ya... they shifted in two weeks back but still doing some minor touch ups cos their previous place needs to be released to the new owner..that's y they shifted in pretty early n their reno was rather fast...:p when u shifting in har? ;p

i no hurry la... my reno also not complete, final stages.. after that i will check and if any touch up required, to complete first before i move in. once i move in, i dun want any more work to be carried out la.. i not yet sell my current house anyway, so thats why i can afford to man2 lai... after that i will slowly move in my stuff bit by bit until i can find a time to shift all the big stuff...

i have already shift in last fri. and my neighbour start to renova their hse. r u in this thread? u knock our door and intro yrself. only my hubby around...

hi oshgosh,

Did you hack your service balcony wall? could be my wife and her parents who knocked on your door.

i guess i'll be getting movers to do it...

at least if they damage the things, u can still complain.. if u get ur family and friends to do it, u cant say anything if they accidentally bang ur things

Any one (staying at blk626~630) have any ideal for JW EA, the service balcony and balcony have already come with cement?

Thinking of saving $$, not to put any floor tiles at this both area.

cynthia
if u have alot of stuffs esp bulky items, good to ask movers to do it.
else u can do it yourself one bit by one bit at a time if u have the transportation n not in a rush to move in.

wah...some workers at one of the unit below me really work OT!!! Knocking on the walls way past 11pm! Lucky the noise stopped after 11.30pm. Tot there's this regulation on noisy works not to be done after 5pm??? Maybe they tot nobody stayed in the units above it so... hopefully, such noise will not happen again.
Gosh..didn't know the sound really travels up... I can even feel the hacking(the vibrations) n hear the din even though the unit doing the hacking is like at least 3 floors below during the day!!

devila
think your toilet tiling works still in process. doing your kitchen toilet....

Hi Cynthia & Lavender,

Finally the hacking are done. Pretty fast from approval to hacking less than 3 days. My contractor applied via online.

Cynthia,

I agree with you. the thread move superb slow.

Matthew,

You firm up with your "contractor" already right? cos Raf told me you found urself a contractor instead.

HI Lavender,

do you mean Devila's toilets not yet done by H*B contractors? cannot be as hers is so much earlier than mine. Mine already done previous week.

hi Anne,
yeye..i think i have still have a lot more to catch up with.. i sourcing out contractors, ID packages..hope to source out the best one..but i guess all guys will get Impatient with the process of sourcing out the quotations? ( my hubby is one of them who quite slack)
and on coming customary which we hope to get 2nd feb 2008. as my rom date is 2nd feb 2007..
heee...
Iam glad to have new neighbours ya....=)

wave to all neighbors....all JW friends...
finally see a bit improvement..guess most of us are busy with renovations and for those whose house has been renovated, perhaps they are spending time admiring their love nests now..

i am quite lucky, cos my FH did a good follow up with contractors, anyway, those contractors also dun like to liase with me as I seem nasty to me. My FH is angel and i am the devil..(LOL)

my renvo should be done in the next 2 weeks.

hi anne,
getting the approval is fast, hacking the wall even faster.

helo helo,

wow hacking walls ar..actually i did mention to my hubby regarding this matter. and in the end decide not as for future use.

May i know wad kinda style you all is renovating/?

Anne
devila's toilet still doing... it's done by the hdb contractors...very slow progress....

cynthia
I moved in a long time liao...2 years!

Mandy
welcome to JW..Think your flat is near the Jln Bahar side right? Most of us here r near the new upcoming Pioneer MRT station.

Hi Anne,

yeah i have signed with Ernest Interiors. Total reno package is about 36K. I will be hacking and reconstructing the walls for the walk in wardrobe, hack the study wall and replace with glass, hack the service balcony, Hack and reconstruct the kitchen entrance and install sliding glass door etc etc. Major reconstruction work.

Overall i am quite satisfied with my quotation. I was waiting for Raf to email me the quote before i make my final decision. keep telling him i never receive but he keep saying he email liao. In the end i just sign liao... dont wanna wait anymore.