$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

hi choc, i am having sliding windows at the service balcony to prevent rain from getting in. cos the purpose of that area for me is to serve as an alternative from hanging out the clothes mah, so if there are no windows and rain gets in, kinda defeat the purpose, lol

for me, i have windows at service balcony for security reasons plus i dun wish rain water get in contact with washing m/c.

Hi Fallingflakes and Cynthia
Yaya i agree with both of you... I was thinking without window, wat is gg to happen to my laundry
when it rain... any of you install window grill?

I m worried that there will be any difficulties to take in and out the laundry pole? The service balcony seem small area

hi choc
if i didn't remember wrongly, i did have window grills..cos I am staying at L6 (consider low floor)..added security reason.

i not so worry to take in and out of laundary, cos i am used to it. worst case, I will cry for help! :D

Hi ppl... im back... MIA for a few weeks due to renovations... btw, im at 62*

Hi choc, for me i installed window at service balcony. If u hav observed, the new flats service balcony is facing the aircon ledge. Basically if there is spider-man thief, can access the block lor... haha, no lah, my concern is the rain and dust.. cos laundry will be hang there.

choc
u staying in the 656X blks isit? yup, the service balcony is kinda of small... for me, no probs in taking in n out the clothes as I knocked away the wall bet kitchen n service balcony... :p yup..i also put windows at the service balcony cos rain does get in.... esp during the the end of year monsoon season.... :p

Hi Yane,
yap agree with u... I did wonder before if spider-man thief can come in cos it seem easy to climb in..hahaha..I think i more worry on water geting in and flood the svc balcony :D

Hi Lavender,
I m staying in 656X... I dun have budget for hacking the wall between kitchen and svc balcony, by the way did you need to get approval from HDB for hacking the wall between kitchen and svc balcony

Hi Choc, is the rain water getting into ur flat badly when it rains?? Then if so, then better do the window now. Ours actually not very affected...on big downpour, only the outter 30cm or so got some water.

I din hack that wall. I removed the door & lourver window though.

hahaha..i am too kiasu perpahs?
i also forget got grill or not...?
tml going to view my flats to see the progress of renvo.

Hi Yane, I still duno whether the rain will flood my svc balcony or not, cos i yet to move in. I m still have not start reno yet.But i think it is better to install window to avoid flooding later when move in.. :p

Hi Cynthia, u not kiasu, it is always beta to play safe... hehehe. But i tink i not gg to install grill for now.. mayb in future if got kids then install bah.

the H*b is really very slow... those misc rectifications havent finished yet. now is the 5th week since i last submit my defect list...

today, meet up with contractor, and we not going to have grills already.
if next time got kids, i will just close the balcony door.

the tiles almost done, next week will be carpentary..going to complete in most 1 month..so excited to see my love nest.. yeah!!!

hi anne & devila mum
dun be stress...
when is ur AD?
i am sure you found your ID right? once H*B settle those defect, renovo will complete no longer than 6 weeks...
dream home is on the way...

Hi Cynthia,

MIne AD long over. Wanted to rush reno to be in time for my baby 1st birthday in Jul. Now dunno can make it in time for his celebration or not..

hi anne
if, HDB get back to you by end of may, chances quite high...
but not to forget you also need time to transport and pack your stuffs...

oic oic...
i also hope my flat ready by August. cos my FH birthday is in August..
will hope to suprise him with my first home cook dinner.

Based on your experience, which one shall be done first:

1. HDB smooth floor render/screeding(for bedrooms and study room)
2. Homogenous tiles laying in living room

I am confused by the sequence told by different friends...

based on my understanding, screeding is to smoothen out the unevenness of the floor and has to be done before laying of tiles. otherwise the tiles will not be lay on a even ground.

screeding will only be done if u want to lay laminates. for homo tiles, no need screeding... so depends la, u lay tiles first then HDB come to do screeding, the screeding level can follow your tiles level...

devila, how's ur reno progress?

also, how come from your living room windows got a lot of cables hanging out? raining also those cables outside the window.

I forgot to say screeding for laminate.

Hi Swatdila,
Can ask HDB to do screeding first for laminate, then after that, do homo tiles.

Based on HDB screeding application form, the maximum height by HDB screeding is 40mm.

Thus, I guess the HDB screeding should be done first before the homo tiles in living.

its up to you actually... just take note of the lead time requirement for screeding. 3-4 weeks. so if u can wait, by all means go ahead. if not, tiles go first otherwise everything will be delayed...

Hi Swatdila,

If not considering the lead time, did you mean: doing screeding first is better? so as to let contractor to match the height of HDB screeding, which is more flexible...

that part i dun know actually but mine say she do tiles first better, then hdb follow her level... so mine i did tiles first.. then wait and wait for hdb to do screeding..

devila
relax lady!! dun stress.... well, least your toilets r hacked...something's done.
after this, the progress should be fast liao...

Screeding is a fast process. I submit the screeding on 16 April, by 25 April, it is done. All my HDB defects are finally done!! Yeah!!

Screeding for laminate shd be earlier than laying homogenous tiles, provided you are refering to bedroom laminates. Only then the homogenous tiles are laid in such a way to be of same level as laminates. hope this helps.

Hi Anne,

Can I ask you something? Did you hatch off your service balcony?
If so, any idea if the beam of the service balcony door be hatched off?

Had mixed feeling whether to hack off the service balcony.

Em
is yours the blk 656X series? If so, I hacked mine off... took the whole wall down n expand my kitchen out to the service balcony. find the kitchen very small if dun hack...needed space esp I cook often.

Hi Em,

Yes, i planning to hack the wall. I doubt the beam can be hacked, as i think it is part of the main construction to support the building. I am planning to locate my sink/washing area at the raise floor (service balcony).

Hi Lavender,

yaya.. Mine is 656A.
indeed the area kinda small but it does look nice too in a small kitchen.

Hi Anne,
oic.. we are just thinking to expand out the kitchen cabinets.

Gee.. yesterday we tried opening the letter box.
Finally, we can opened it. Lotsa junk inside. OMG !

anne
i took the whole wall down leh... include the windows n doors everything.... it's ok to hack.. got permission from HDB that time.
whihc beam u toking abt??

Em
oh...u staying same blk as me then...
welcome! gee..for me, dun really like a small kitchen.. even now wif the wall at service balcony been hacked, I'll still go n buy a shelf to put my rice cooker, kettle n the water container (for plain water) on the shelf. Cos my kitchen top not enough space.
expanded my kitchen cabinet out to the service balcony also... still not enough..
esp when I put my oven on the kitchen top. So I can imagine when i dun hack the wall, think my kitchen would be so cluttered. Now still at least got some work space for me to cut the meat n prepare food etc....

Em
I took it down too...my kitchen now no beam... I made my kitchen top a T shape one... not the usu L shape...
My sink n dish rack wif cabinet is placed where the windows of the service balcony...
dun know if u can imagine...basically got cabinets running along the length of the wall till the part where it used to be the wall that divide the balcony n kitchen... then cabinet run out wif sink below to form a T. My kitchen top continue to run into the service balcony stopping at where the tap is located where I placed my washing machine.

Hi Lavender,

Nice to know you.
M I ur neighbour ? kekekeke

I thought that beam cannot be removed. Reno co. has summited to HDB for approval.

Have you already moved in ?

Em
I have been staying here for coming 2 years liao...keke..
yup.. guess it makes us neighbours though not same floor.

my reno co that time submitted to hacked also...was approved for hacking.

Cynthia
still can place washing machine... my kitchen top is extended till before the tap in the service balcony... just nice for a washing machine(mine is front loaded) wif the remaining space... still got some extra spaces to put a broom n a laundry basket beside the washing machine.
The cabinet in the service balcony, I put all my washing powder, floor cleaning agents..etc.

oh lavender..i get what you mean..quite a good idea.

i am a proud owner of 65X too..

for me, i dun really cook so i dun need a big kitchen.

cynthia
good for ya.. sigh..for me no choice..needed space to prepare food... :p that's why I needed a bigger kitchen. Else I'll not bother wif hacking the wall liao if I also dun cook often.

Em
see ya ard...
so far only met devila.

kekeke.. that kitchen is meant for my mil using..
I dun know how to cook.. thinking of getting an oven so I can learn how to bake.

I have yet meet any of them. :P

Gee.. are u a housewife then ?

Em
yup... i'm a housewife.. or a homemaker or domestic manager...keke...

i see.. so your MIL is staying wif u then. oh...u planning to get an oven too? just be warned that once u place the oven on the kitchen top... your rice cooker, etc need to find another place liao.. that's why I got this DIY shelf n placed it near the kitchen door for my cooker n the rest of appliances. Still miss my mum's kitchen... so big n spacious. sigh...

HI Lavender,

DO you have any problem with the putting out the poles for sunning from your extended kitchen? i am afraid that my pole will hit the kiten cabinet etc..