$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

ooh i see.. you will be doing full height glass in ur study room and kitchen too? if you have almost the same items as mine, a bit difficult to keep within 30k.. i recce a few ID companies, their prices are the best cos a lot of glass and now sand expensive... sand = glass.. sigh..

as for fengshui, better engage him fast to view ur flat and give advice before you commit in your drawing, dun be like me, happily designed with them already then fengshui uncle say "No". sian.... spoil all my ideas..

as for aircon, lighting etc, edwin and his manager will bring us around to shop for the cheap and good.. they will be our shopping partners, they give good advice while you shop. =)

the screeding is still ok. ID manager came personally down with us to check the standard. he say ok, even. hee. the screeding is done by 1 china guy & 1 malaysian. china uncle very friendly one.

errm tannabee i also dunno the exact reason for hdb doing it for free leh, but since they can do it and i can save money, why not? That day they came my ID was there so everything already instructed properly and the work is good also.

i think as long as your contractor agree that they will gurantee the tiles to be even, should be ok. Otherwise they point finger here and there... very troublesome.

People like us just want the reno to go on smoothly

hi tannabe-wannabe,

HDB do screeding for free for all of us. This is to faciliate owner who wish to lay laminate or got ppl dun wan to lay tile or laminate, jz a cement base. And further more, their skill ar estill ok, that is why i ask for screeding by HDB, can save a few hundresd leh...

Hi Anne, ya the study will be full height glass but kitchen will just be a glass swing door.

i think the main difference between yours and mine is i am not hacking my svc balconey , so my kitchen cabinet is also smaller. I am also not having platform for my bed.I am also leaving the wall at the balcony untouched.

however, i am asking for parquet for my 3 rooms rather than laminate .. i guess thats where the it will cost me....

BTW... the idea for the WIW is great.. i strongly recommend it to anyone having the same floorplan as us

actually this is mainly for 1 or 2 room flat where the ppl cant afford to have tiles or laminates. hence a screeding with a cement base is to even up the rough surface so that they can stay in the house without any major reno. but since they have open up this option for lower wages household, might just open up for all types to be fair. we gain from the it.

YH
I've been using the mitsubishi star mex sys 4 (non inverter) for 2 years. So far, no problems. compressor n blowing units r very quiet. My config is 12k(study room) x 12k(master bedroom) x 9k x 9k(the 2 bedrooms). Got it fix for abt $2600. Cos I got my air con direct from the wholesale center.

devila
thanks for the info.
I'm definitely out on thurs..friday see how...if hacking's all done on thurs...friday I'll prefer to stay at home. :p

wah... parquet flooring... very expensive.... 2 to 3 time more than laminates... why opt for parquet where laminate can serve the same purpose? initially i also want parquet but see the colour very dark, will make the whole room look dark. anyway i also choose laminate of a darker tone. when this sat you go arts n thot, you will see the colour of the laminate on 2nd floor when you step out of the lift. look cosy but cheaper!! if can compromise between laminate and parquet, dun waste so much on flooring.. scully 3-5 years later, see the floor sian liao, then change flooring. then will not heart pain also... just a thought. hee =)

actually many people also suggested doing laminate instead of parquet. They say parquet easily scratched etc etc

i like the solid feel of parquet when u walk on it cos i find laminate too thin. but the main reason is becos my wife like parquet...so.. wat to do... haha

oooh... wife like ah... then no choice... wife is the biggest!!! hehee... or maybe ask her to feel the laminate this sat.. see if she can change her mind, then u save $$... hee

Hi Lavender,

Do you mind PM me the contact for your aircon?
i am looking at mitsubishi system 3 and system 2 for the 5 areas in total. Inverter or not i havent decide.

thanks alot Lavender

Swat: i was told that laminate and parquet difference is about 1K for 3 rooms... dunno how true is that

Anne
for electrical appliances, do go to places like SAFE, Courts or Harvey to find out what u like n take note of the model number n brand. U can go then go to those neighbourhood electrical shops to find the best deal... do shop ard... usu those neighbourhood shops r much cheaper than harvey,etc... Boon Lay shopping center got alot of those electrical shops... somemore can bargain one... :p This is how I got my electrical stuffs... :p it maybe tedious but to me it's worth it...can save $$$ mah...:p

matthew
no probs...

Hi Lavender,

Thanks for the advice... shall go this weekend to recce... heee... hopefully my bargain power is as good as yours...

swatdila,
is it? maybe i remember it wrongly cos i remember it more expensive. think I pluck the wrong figure..

Matthew, paisei..
kao_embarrassed.gif

sian.... spoke to edwin yesterday and he mentioned that 30K not possible due to the amt of work i wanna get done...

although i am not hacking the kitchen, he said that the hack is not a major cost factor, but rather the false ceiling and glass doors are....

low morale liao. Guess i am typical singapore, want cheap and fresh and good

hey Matthew, if u knw wad u want already maybe u can go straight to contractor? If u want i can give u the contact no of FH bro's contractor, cheap and good. Just tat u got to tell him what u want to do lah.

i thk hacking only cost a few hundred... but the touching up and replacing with glass may cost a bit... a bit here and a bit there becomes a lot.... haha

oh dear, ya edwin told me too. he say your items quite expensive, a bit hard to hit 30k. sorry Matthew cant help much liao. Never mind, you do a comparison with and without ID involvement. To me, ID is good cos can help to do co-ordinator and someone to fall upon when defects come in.

hi swatdila,

ya loh, dunno why glass so expensive where it is a common item in decades... my house those glassy stuff already cost me a few K.

Hi Anne: you have been a great help already. I believe the price is reasonable cos i am really doing alot of stuffs but its still too high for me. so i'll meet up with him this sat for further discussion... see how ba..

I really dunnno understand glass is so expensive as well.... its really something that we have taken for granted.

Hi Fallingflakes: thanks again... will keep you guys updated on my reno developments

for me i tot want to hack study rm wall and replace with glass, i tot it was cheaper than i expected actually... but in the end i didnt go with it bcos i will gv that rm to one of my kids when they are older, so with a glass wall, a bit troublesome... so i left it as it is....

The 656 series is hot now, may I raise a thread here:

What might be the HDB valuation range for this batch of 656x EA flat 5 years later?

Considering the following factors:
1. New Pioneer MRT
2. New Jurong Point
3. New Park in the current bus-int
4. etc... (If you know...)

thks.

the reason i bought 656 is beacuse of the new MRT and also becos its near both set of parents.

I actually walked from my 656B to the proposed pioneer mrt site to make sure its not more than 5 mins before i confirmed... LOL

i am sick and tired of taking feeder buses to lakeside mrt

ya... but might sweat mah...imagine early morning havent get to office already sweaty, damn low morale.

so once we reach the pioneer mrt site, my watch say 4min, i tell my wife: buy

its faster to walk to pioneer mrt than jurong pt... some more with pioneer mrt ready, u walk to boon lay mrt means u may not get to sit hor...

i hope that pioneer mrt will hv like shops (like admiralty) so will be more convenient.. the shop at that place also quite ok for emergency purchases bcos it opens quite late.

swatdila
your dream may just be true on the Pioneer MRT...
if u r free these few days, u can walk over to the nearby coffee shop(the one next to the future MRT), there's this notice board wif the blue prints of the MRT station. Seems like it's another Admiralty kinda of stn... shops at overhead bridge one...

YH
wah!! if so, that'll be like almost $100k more than the amt we paid now...

Hi Anne,

after meeting up with your ID and another one over the weekend, i guess there is no way i can get 30K.

I think i might get an even higher quote than you... sian

anyone found any water marks on your toilet ceiling?

i saw some yellowish marks on the ceiling, where the pipes are... does that mean there is seepage?

wat are the rectification that HDB must do? i'm afraid their contractor just paint over it and try to cover the problem

hi Matthew,

so far mine no water marks. you definitely have to report the defect. They will check the unit upstair, the waterproofing of the floor. if it is really water seeping, no matter many time you paint over, the ceiling is still patchy and feel wet. unless upstairs dun turn on any water at all which is impossible.