$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

hi tannabee, cost of reno really depends on how extensive u want it to be and the materials used... but at least will hit 30k. mine already costs $35k including WIW, glass replacing the walls, kitchen cabinets, overlaying both toilets and kitchen, 2 feature walls for bedroom, bomb shelter, living room, shoe cabinet with sette, study table and shelve...etc. btw, that does not include aircon. i got my mitsubishi inverter system 4 aircon at $3593. think a lot of people take toshiba

Hi fallingflakes,

hee.. so blocks of 656 is a greenhouse too, not jz treetop at sengkang.. heheh... i think string curtain will look mysterious, good choice if you do. i also like string curtain... but only scare my baby will play with it... and becos all strings, scare he might tangled with it... a bit of hazard concern. in fact i am also worried abt the all-glass concept for my little one... hopefully he wont be that adventurous to play with the glass.. my glass wall are of 10mm thick, hopefully is strong to "attacks" by my baby son..

Hi tannabe-wannabe,

Welcome to the family of 656!!! it will depend on your concept... out range here is about 30k plus cos got a lot of carpentry work. if everything stick to basic, 20k plus should be sufficient..

Hi fallingflakes,

your quotation sounded reasonable too. we are abt 1-2k difference.. oh ya, another way is to tint your glass wall at balcony... then they cannot see thru, only at night when you switch on lights..

Hi tannabee-wannabe,

my reno not yet done cos HDB still rectifying.. target to start work on the last week of may. you not able to collect your keys on sat? mine collected on sat, special request also.

Hi tannabe-wannabe,

i'm ur neighbour!

from the information that the many kind souls have provided here.... i guess 30K will give u a decent reno.... but bear in mind that Aircons, Lights, Toilet accessories, sink, tap, wc , Hood and hobs are not included

hi swatdila,

i agree... initially want to take 2x12k but i think again, the living room not really that big after putting in funiture, etc. after minus all those think around 20k btu shd be sufficient. mine is 2x9k = 18k btu. think not that bad..

hey Anne, u are also from 656?? I think i mixed u up with Babu...*oops*. At first i was thinking of tinted glass but then it wont be open concept anymore leh. but then again, i also dun want my neighbour to be able to look inside mah! if say i put string curtain, do u think can cover? cos string curtains also got "gap", if u get wad i mean...
Don't worry lah, 10mm is ok. Ours also do 10mm the ID say super solid. But personally, i feel u gotta take care if ur baby got those roller thingy, as in, u put him on this roller thing and he can use his legs to push it about. it MIGHT knock into the glass...

Tannabee, my reno just started 2 weeks ago only...

Swatdila, 9000 x 2 is a lil "small" for living room leh (it is such a long stretch). After consulting the aircon guy we decided to put 22K BTU unit at that area. The mitsubishi "Long and Wide" model. Can blow longer distance too...

By the way, does anyone know how to clean walls if they get oily?

Anne,
Maybe will ask my contractor abt the air-con thingy again. I do actually like the study room. Prob will do up so shelves and display my soft toys..

I would love to put a mirror to reflect the dinner area but kinda scare the kids would bing bing bang bang there..

Ya.. string curtains are nice.. I will be getting 1 set and hang in my room.

Hi Anne,

Thanks for your advise.
Will do so when meeting the contractor again.

I went to IMM Gain City and the sales man there suggested me to install Star-Max System 4 (non-invertor) for the 3 bedrooms + 1 Study room, I dun have budget to install aircon in living room...

Any body who also install Star-Max System 4 (non-invertor)? thks.

Hi YH,

Wat is the total BTU for system 4? the last room, in this case if it is your study room, will not be cool if you on all 4.

26K BTU totally.

If all on, it will be: 7k-7k-6k-6k (BTU)

The sales man informed 485BTU per sqare meter is good enough. Study room is about 18sqm, 18*485=8730, a bit less.

If not all on at the same time, this model has two compressors, which can provide 14K and 12K for one single room with full power...

I am not sure if this model is ok or not?

we are not in the hurry to renovate our place coz we only wanna move in mid of next yr...

currently trying to save as much as possible so that we dont have to loan a big sum of money...

actually i put aircon also is just bcos this one difficult to install later. so boh pian, hv to add in. like my current house, i hardly on aircon, my other 2 bedrooms, the fan coils like on maybe less than 20 times in the past 7 yrs. haha.. unless it is the really hot mths, otherwise the area here is actually quite cooling, no need aircon one...

Hi Swat, thats a possibility too...

i am getting more and more tempted to hack the service balcony wall to make a bigger kitchen. Got to see what quotation i get for my existing design...

lots of possibities, just see u got $$ anot only.. haha..

i didnt hack svc balcony bcos current house no svc balcony, so want something new. prefer to keep laundry in there so that we can close the door and the kitchen dun look messy.. currently my laundry basket all in the kitchen so a bit messy.. but the kitchen now with the svc balcony a bit small hor. anyway, in my svc balcony, i built some top cabinets also...

ya i agree things look much neater if there is a svc balcony....but i look at the small kitchen we have... i can just imagine how cramp it will be with the cabinet and fridge....

hiya all, fallingflakes, anne,
(seen ur gals mention my name

i've finish the flooring of my living/dining area, kitchen, both balconies, storeroom. left the 4 bedrooms and my foyer. (MY ID HAVENT show me the DESIGN of my FOYER yet!!!!!!
) and tat's all...
all my reno works had stop cos need to wait for HDB to do my toilets be4 i can proceed with anything else.

hdb can only start to do my toilets next Thursday.... so mean while, nothing can be done. the tiles given me to choose by HDB contractor, (a gal named May) are all plain tiles, hence, i've spend another $400 buying decortive tiles from outside....

still no news of the cement screeding yet. that has to blame my ID not HDB. my ID, nowadays, always MIA or blur blur at almost everything de
the design for the carpentary works up till now still cannot finalize, cos he very very very very very slow.....
aiyo.... how to finish in time??? i dont care, since i have a hand over date on my contract.... if cannot make it, i sure shoot him down in a blaze!!!!........

(so lavander, if u are reading this, pls do go out on the 24th and 25th if u can, since there will definately be lots of banging and noise pollution for hacking n tearing of the tiles out)

finally met my direct neighbours
they are a family of malays and they have the cutest furball cat
. the cat has very very pretty 'sexy' eyes!!!
i'm glad to have met them
a very friendly and lovely family
it would be very 'crowded' with my dogs and their cat around!!!
cant wait to let my dogs 'smell' the cat from next door whenever they pass each other's path!!!

hey Devila! U mean u have more than 1 dog??? How many u have? Would be cool to see them chasing the cats!
Wah how come ur ID so blur one...mind saying which co is it? Can pm me if u dun want to tell the whole world... btw do u have a blog? I saw a blog on renotalk "Mr& Mrs Devilaz" and for a moment I thought it was you, hahaa
how come ur cement screeding is done by your ID when u can get hdb to do it foc? My ID got hdb to do and they are pretty efficient, workmanship also quite good~
Today they will be starting work with my toilets. Take about 3-4 days. Haiz, I hope they do a good job. Maybe go buy drinks for them, lol. Btw Devila, plain tiles at least better than the current ugly plain tiles lor.

HI Devila,

Can see you are very stressed over the reno. wonder what will be mine... think ishd pop to my place to check the progress also.. i also want to start reno fast cos so near to jul.. dun wan to pay more GST for the barang barang tat i need to buy.. sian.. hopefully HDB can accomplish by next week with all the rectification. so cumbersome.. think i also need to chase my ID liao..

not sure about the fault rectification process.

So once i have check all the faults, i fill up the form and attach the main door and iron gate key.

After that wat happens? Someone from HDB will contact me? If so, will it be one person going thru all the rectifications or different people will come to me for different faults.

Matthew,
you only attach the metal gate key, not main door key. submit already, they will rectify your defects. But u must not lock ur main door

Hi Anne,

Thanks for the reply

So that means they will just go in and do all the necessary work themselves unless got to choose tiles?

In that case will they let us know when they will be going over to our house and do the rectifications? Or they will go and do without informing us since they have the key

Hi Matthew,

for my case, it is like tat. Mine also got screeding, they also will call me 1st. mine also involved tiles changing.. actually i also call the supervisor to ensure work are done in my timeline. cant afford to waste time. so far so good, call they will expedite.

ic..... so how is ur reno coming along?

i will be meeting Edwin at his showroom this sat for quotation and discussion. Hope i get a good price so that i can finally end my stressful and tiring contractor search

ooh i see. great!! tell him anne (jurong west) introduce one, maybe can get good deal out of it! hehehe... dun worry, he very fun lovin gone.. he is a very tall guy and tanned guy. like a big boy. dun see him big sized, he very approachable one.. my hubby and i clicked with him on the 1st visit cos he will take your ideas and get u good suggestion, his manager also very nice guy.

I am targeting to start reno like last week of may... hopefully they can accomplish th ewhole project before Jul... wan to miss the GST increase.. hehe

haha i already told him that Anne introduced me to him....

i figured that its will be easier to get a nice quote since both our floor plan is the same, and i am doing maybe 85% percent of wat u r doing....

so 85% of 36K = almost 30K! which fits my budget... haha wishful thinking

hehehe... well you never know, you might get a 30k as you wished!! later i msg him to give u good price, how abt tat? ur name is as your nick right??

his manager is very good in designing cos his project all mainly condo and bunglow one... i saw his artpiece, very "WOW"... hopefully mine is also WOW type.. hehe... and he monitor all project under him n his team (edwin included in his team) and give inputs in the drawing concept.

thats great.... hope everything turns out well.

heard so many reno horror stories... really hope that i can give my life savings to someone trustworthy ...LOL

did you see their website on their showroom? if his quote is within ur 30k, high chance u will engage him? their office is 4 storery high of which 1,2 and 4 are showroom. i fall in love with his granite slab feature wall for bedroom but my kuku Fengshui master say earth element and dark colour not allowed.. initially i have that as my MBR feature wall, in the end have to remove it... so sad..
kao_cry.gif

me also scare of those irresponsible renovators... tat is why i keep very close tab on their movement too. so far still very good. not i chase them, is they chase me for update. hee

yah... if within 30K i will be very very interested. Cos 30K doesnt include lights, toilet accessories, aircon. Add those in will be about 37K liao.. plus furniture = almost 50K.... PAIN

Actually i also engaged Fengshui master... but i wont be following his advise strictly. I didnt wanna engage him in the first place, but our parents just want a piece of mind.

But those obvious things like bed cannot face toilet door and main door, position of stove etc will still follow ... others will be up to my own discretion

i heard that its better for your contractor to do the cement screeding. otherwise if your tiles end up uneven, the contractor might blame it on HDB for uneven screeding instead.

anyone heard of this ?