$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

new to this forum, my flat is in 656B, now looking for contractors.

Will be checking for defects this weekend, can anyone advise wat are the common defects?

Hi YH,

Yup, me going to lay laminate in 3 bedroom and studyroom. actually, laminate are not that hard to maintain. I agree with your wife's point on the laminate but you are not going to leave the windows open all day long right? anyway also got warranty. =) normally rain cant get in unless it is really very big. ME and my hubby all in for laminate, cos more cosy and easy to maintain cos dark colour.. not easy to detect hair drop.. hehe..

HI Matthew,

SOme common defects are window frame/stopper, kitchen/toilets wall tiles. Bedroom doors alignment, main gate and mine is common toilet door (very old/discoloured). Letterbox rusty. They will change the letter box door.

List of defects listed below:
Defects for HDB unit at:
Address

Living & Dining Room
Does the balcony door panel on the left hand side screech when sliding to open or close?
Does the balcony door have rusty screws on the frame, hinges and lock?
Does the balcony door panel have any dents or scratches in the frame?
Are the main door and gate lock and knob old and rusty looking?
Is the main door is aligned properly? Is there difficulty is locking and unlocking main door?
Does the main door and gate has mouldy hinges
Is the main gate is overall rusty?
Is the main gate easy to close in order to lock?
Are the doorbell switch screws rusty?
Is the main door see thru hole rusty? When looking thru, can you see clearly?
Are there cracks near the balcony frame?
Are there cracks on the wall along the passage way towards the room
Is SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?
Are the screws on the telephone point is old and rusty?
Are the switches near the entrance to the balcony and bedroom is difficult to on or off?
Are the screws on the power sockets rusty?
Does the power box, behind the door, has a cover that is difficult to open or close?

House Hold Shelter
Is the door handle is rusty?
Can the door close smoothly?
Is the door seal is old and flaking?
Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?
Is the power box cover is broken?

Kitchen
Are the screws on the window frame are mouldy or rusty?
Are there any missing screw on the hinges ?
Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of kitchen?
Are the switches are difficult to on or off?

Main and Common Toilet
Is the louver window is difficult to open or close?
Is the window handle bent?
Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of bathroom?
Are there any leaks at the joints of toilet bowl? (indicate with masking tape)
Are there masking tape marks on toilet bowl seat cannot be removed?
Are the magnetic hinges on the top of the toilet door rusty?

Main Bedroom/Common Bedrooms/Study
Are the louvers of window difficult to open and close?
Are there any missing screws on the windows? Any screws not secured?
Are there any rusty or mouldy screws on window hinges and frame?
Is the door magnet is old and rusty?
Are there any cracks and hairline cracks on walls?
Does the ceiling have water mark, indicating seepage?
Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy
Are the switches are difficult to on or off

Hi Fallingflakes,

The rectification of kitchen tiles take about 4-5 days. The Toilets another 4-5 days. HAcking each, take abt 1 day. Mine is considering fast, only delay becos initially toilets are carried out by another group of contractor but last min switched to them. hence delayed a bit.

Matthew,

my id is arts & thots, you may want to ask them for quotation to compare? i find them rather creative and most important can negotiate-type. cos i have a lot ideas but still wat to keep within budget. they can find good alternative for you.

hi Anne, i wont be rectifying the kitchen tiles cos gonna overlay them. Only the toilets need to be rectified, but gonna get the h*b contractors to use the new tiles we bought instead of wasting time using theirs then after that my contractor got to overlay again.
kinda silly leh, diff contractors for windows, doors...etc.

HI Fallingflakes,

Ya loh, very silly... but best part is they are all within the same company. Dont understand why they cannot concurrent rectify, same company mah, waste our time waiting. The tiles i chose for my kitchen is white.. to match my cabinet, which is red & black. heehee.. but my flooring is grey/black/white light strips.

Hi Anne,

Thanks for the advise... will be keeping an eye on these common faults.

anyone from 656s having walk in wardrobe in master bedroom? will it eat up alot of space? will the wardrobe be big enough if we do it as per the show flat?

Hi Matthew,

Mine is a Walk-In-Wardrobe (WIW). But will seal the original entrance as WIW but hacked the slanted door and rebuild a new corridor plus door due to fengshui and concept wise. Mine is about the same as one forumer here, think is devila.

Have to sacrifice, no choice. the shape of our MBR is too funny. *headache* my worry is the moist from toilet will affect my wardrobe and clothes. hopefully it dun... *pray*

Hi Anne,
Think we will start chasing them from next week onwards...
Hey.. from the way u describe your kitchen, looks very nice..
Mm.. maybe my kitchen will have a black& white theme... just thinking first since I cant have a all-white kitchen.In long run, it will be a all-cream kitchen.

Hiya Fallingflakes,
At least you get a chance to slam close the letter box.
We cant even open ours.. can only turn the keyhole.
Lagi worse than you.

Hi Anne

wah.... sounds very cheem.... if possible can you email me how u do it? If you already have the plan in soft copy... the odd shape is giving me lots of headache

my email : [email protected]

Hi Em,

I also like the kitchen concept. hopefully it turned out the way i expected it to be. Once i got the finalised plan, i will scan and post here to show u. About the letter box, you have to pull with a bit strength cos initially mine is also very tight, my hubby thought cannot open. I refused to give up, i pull it with my might, kabom, it really opened. all packed with a lot of junk. SCV cables and yellow pages.

Anne,

Thanks, I would love to see that.

my strength is pte ltd. kekeke..
nm.. it is one of the defects so wait for HDB to rectify.

Anne: ya lor so silly leh the way they do things, just let one person be in-charge can liao wad. waste of time. think we as free as them!

Matthew: For the WIW i converted the whole current MBR into a giant WIW (30 ft), after hacking the wall so as to connect the sec bedroom and current MBR into a bigger MBR. I think same as Anne?

EM: u gotta pull real hard at the letterbox. too long i think rusty liao. rem, when u close it, SLAM IT!!!

Fallingflakes,

your WIW is super big, mine is only the original passage to MBR... small one... hehe..

ya Em, you have to pull as if you are saving your dog in the well... and slam it as if your boss give you more and more work to do.. that is what we get for paying over 200K... all rusty liao... sigh... and super slow rectification... despite i am one of the few who collect the keys earliest in my unit block... =(

Hi fallingflakes : i dont think i can do like yours cos i have to keep the 3 rooms. But having such a huge WIW is really cool.... too bad my wife dont approve of hacking 2 rooms into 1

wahahahahaha thats a good one Anne! About the stupid letterbox i mean. that day so funny FH and i were at the stupid letterbox trying to close it after taking out the stupid PUB bill ($153.93!!!!!) and i happily slammed on it. Then there was another couple there also (just got keys i think) and waiting for us to move aside, and the girl said to her guy "wah i think too long liao become rusty, we better go buy oil or smthing" wahahahahahahaha

Anne: wad slanting door u talking abt?

Matthew, if dun hack it then whole room super cramp leh the WIW can only be abt 4.5 ft cos we bought a king bed. 4.5 feet cant even house all my clothes, FH one i think can dump in the storeroom, so on 2nd thot might as well do a big WIW lor

Hi Fallingflakes,

WOW!!! SO expensive??? That reminded me to check my bill... dunno will faint or not if i see the bill... to think that the contractor seem to be bathing in my house.. Imagine got soap in the toilet... got rice cooker in my storeroom.... they win liao...

But dun worry, the our block co-ordinator say will change the lock... hee..

fallingflakes is a solid woman!!! how i wish i can do the same as you... but cannot, have to convert the smaller room to guest room... no choice, parents-in-laws ever hint to come over weekend to short-stay.... there goes my weekend..

the door is the 2 bedrooms. The cant be properly closed and locked. Have to slam a bit to fully closed. And when closed, can see the bottom slanted out... terrible worksmanship...

Anne, the $150 is DEPOSIT (cant refund one if i am not wrong) and the $3.93 is the real bill including gst, lol. wah! how come u allow ur contractor to bathe in ur toilets, u never say anything?? liew, somemore bring rice cooker! owner haven even use they start using already really win liao!

i thot u got 1 more smaller bedroom? right nw after hack liao i still got 1 smaller room for the guest room...unless u already got a kid and that became his/her room?

Fallingflakes,

Ooh, not total is 150++? Phew... that one is not my contractor but the H*B contractor... Yup the smaller room will be the guest room.. initial want to give my baby son that room, but think think.. he is my son, shd be given the bigger room.. hehe

my dear fallingflakes,

still got studyroom... they will say they can stay there.... or worst still sleep with my baby...

one more baby? now got one already draining my energy...

wah but Anne, room so small how to squeeze in 2 adults and a baby cot?? Anyway, now that i think of it...hacking also got advantage besides having more space...that is, discouraging stayovers cos in the future, the current guest room will be for kid! then that will only leave the study room, but that one we got custom the furnitures, so....want to squeeze also hard, unless they dun mind sleeping on the sofa, hehe

ya..we din hack ours too..need 4 rooms..planned to use the study room as recreation room till further changes so we plan to do up a door but in that room can only put window aircon. Reno Contractor told us if we were to run the wall aircon on the wall, it required piping.. kinda ugly.. Now, all rooms have been reserved already for different usage.. kekekee

that room i put aircon, piping go thru kitchen.. in that room no piping, rahter just a short distance to the fan coil.... window aricon means u got to change to sliding windows?

Hi Anne,

I met up with another contractor yesterday and she suggested a way to do walk in wardrobe at the long walkway in the master bedroom.

I guess its similiar to wat you did and i felt that it looks very nice and practical. Looks like i will be doing that way if it fits my budget.

does any of your contractors charge GST?

My friend's doesnt charge. Didnt feel any pinch in the past with GST, but for a 30K reno, GST is 1.5K!

HI Fallingflakes,

We are still sleeping in the MBR, baby not sleeping in cot cos 10 months liao.. sleeping together with us.

Hi Matthew,

YUp yup, yours is same concept as ours, only i change the entrance to the other slant wall instead and construct a walkway within the bedroom 2(linking room).

My contractor does charge GST but end of the end rounded off.

Hi Anne,

haha thats exactly wat the lady suggested to me as well. cut the odd shape out of the bedroom beside the master and construct a walk way.

How much does your contractor charge u? I'm still running around looking for contractors. Think no need ID cos the design wise i am more or less settled....

Hi Matthew,

mine is abt 36k as mine got a lot of capentry work.my id company's parent company is hoe aik construction (got 20 over years experience), tat why i chose them and is the positive & approachable attitude of the ID win me over the 6 quotations/id companies. actually no harm asking quotation from them, you got more choices. their charges not rather expensive. eg. kitchen charge are like $100 per foot run, as compared to other companies is like $110/foot to $125/foot.

36k include the follow:
-top of tiles (better ones)
-wallpaper from the foyer to one side of living room (same side as the bomb shelter (BS) wall
-partition for the BS with tic-tac door
-shoe cabinet with seatee (the wall hacked and changed to one-side mirror
-tv console and feature wall for Plasma/LCD TV
- divider in the living room
-full height glass for studyroom with glass swing door
-full height glass for kitchen with sliding door
-hacking of kitchen/service balcony wall & door
-hacking & building of bedroom wall with MBR (the one WIW and new entrance)
-30 ft kitchen cabinets with solid surface
-homogenous tiles for living/dining and kitchen
-laminate flooring for 3 bedroom and study
-false celing in foyer/living/dining
-MBR vanity top
-glass swing door for my WIW and partition for backdrop of queen size bed
-2 side tables
-curvy platform in MBR (for platform bed)
-WIW (pole systems - similiar concept like in IKEA)
- painting of whole house
- one book shelves in study room.

Cant recall small items if there is any..

Hi Anne,

just activated.

for the amt of work that was done... especially so many hacking and glass doors i would say that 36K is a very decent quote, based on wat i have been quoted by the contractors i met

I am doing the full glass with swinging glass door as well for the study and the WIW will be like wat u did. But no hacking in the kitchen, so smaller cabinet.hopefully can meet my budget of 30K

Hi Matthew,

I have just PM you. Should be able to keep within 30k, cos i got alot of misc items, like partition wall, wall paper, mirror glass.. hee..

ya.... plenty of glass!

i just need glass for study.... maybe also kitchen door.

what about aircon? i am thinking of system 3 for 3 rooms and system 2 for study and living.... looks like that is gonna cost me a bomb too

Thanks for ur mail again

Hi Matthew,

I took 2 sets of system 3 for ard $4k (Toshiba)from natur*l cool, recommended by my ID. 2 for living/dining, one for study and the remaining 3 for the 3 bedrooms. I din take invertor cos would not be swtiching on the aircon whole day. normally at night. living/dining, should be only when needed and will not be whole day one.

Hi Swatdila,

Do u mean that I have to change window if I were to use windown air-con?

Mm.. thanks.. maybe i suggest to my contractor to run the study room air pipe thru the kitchen.

And Natur*l cool allow 2 round of installing without extra costs. My ID say, 1st round is only to run pipping and wires, when the house is completed, then run the second round for the aircon set. he say to minimize problem occur if the workers abuse the aircon by switching on while they work. my ID very good, he will source whatever cheap n good. The hood and hob is very cheap and good. the horse power is 900 and only cost $699 from bellari.. =)

Hi Em,

Better not buy window unit cos maintenance is higher and cumbersome. think cue from the EA showroom at Blk 656D level 3. Their pipping also not visible and look neat.

yes, window aircon can only be installed on sliding window.. otherwise maybe for casement window, one window hv to be removed?

to go to study, no other way to go except thru kitchen lor. unless u want to conceal the pipes in the false ceiling, then can run thru the dining area..

better to install aircon in 2 visits.. some places charge extra for 2nd visit hor... i also using nat cool.

hi ev one,

new to this thread.

i ve gotten a unit 656B exec flat... Have yet to collect my keys as I have deferred it till july due to busy work schedule.

Can anyone advise me on the total cost on revonation based on exc flat?

hi Anne, i think mine is smthing like urs, a lot of glass. my balcony also hack change to glass on both sides but then nw i realise that my upstairs neighbour might be able to look into the passageway leading to the bedroom if he/she stands at their balcony. haiz, dunno whether to put string curtain or not for that side of the balcony