(2016) 2016 brides

Does anyone know of places to get nice and not too expensive made to measure bridesmaid dresses? I have some plus sized bridesmaids so custom sizes would probably be good.

Also, I have a bit of a headache. I told my bridesmaids that I'd give them a colour scheme and they could get any dress they want. Some have been bridesmaids before and are thinking of reusing one of their old dresses while my other 2 are new bridesmaids and will have to get new ones. Should I offer to pay for everyone's dresses (even when some wouldn't be getting new ones)? Not really sure what the proper "etiquette" is. o_O

Can share which bs u booked?
Hi mine is Kelly's Bridals but we haven't confirmed the package yet. U can see their web for the price http://www.kellysbridals.com/packages/

Our package is a special one cos we ask for diff items so mayb u got to email in and check lor.

So far I went to three shops, feel that their services and pricing most straight forward with no hidden cost. I'm visiting one more shop with fiancé bt likely to confirm with them.

Hello, can I hv the detail of the package ?
Hi mine is Kelly's Bridals but we haven't confirmed the package yet. U can see their web for the price http://www.kellysbridals.com/packages/

The one we have is 10 hour photography, 5 hour videography, same day delivery highlight, 1 off the rack dress, 1 custom make dress to rent (can choose evening dress or bridal), 1 off the rack dress, 1 kua, 1 off the rack groom suit, 1 bespoke groom suit to keep, 2 makeup and hairdo plus trial at $4488.
Then if we just rent everything, means no custom dress and suit then its $3888

As compared to my package, yours feel ex. Mine $4,588 - Pre wedding photoshoot plus AD package plus AD Photographer (10 hours)
Hi can share which one? Also yours include videography n same day deliver on actual day? cos our parents special request video. then most bs don't have or v ex.
So far we are offered 10 hour photography, 5 hour videography, same day delivery highlight, 2 off the rack dress, 1 kua, 2 off the rack groom suit, 2 makeup and hairdo plus trial at $3888, or 4488 if I want to custom make my dress to rent, and he custom make 1 suit to keep.

Hi can share which one? Also yours include videography n same day deliver on actual day? cos our parents special request video. then most bs don't have or v ex.
So far we are offered 10 hour photography, 5 hour videography, same day delivery highlight, 2 off the rack dress, 1 kua, 2 off the rack groom suit, 2 makeup and hairdo plus trial at $3888, or 4488 if I want to custom make my dress to rent, and he custom make 1 suit to keep.

My package is from the aisle bridal. Sign up during roadshows can get more add on. But no videography.

@JasTay hey! can share w me their gowns and ur exp there? the package looks good as it consist of ad pg vg too.

after visiting a few, i realise that the way kelly run her place is v diff from other studios. its in a industrial building, and its quite hard to find. i got lost and had to ask people for direction. but once u get there its quite a homely feel i would say. kelly greats us, served us water and started asking about what we need for our wedding.

since her price all online, its quite easy for us to tell her what we need or do not need. she then goes on and calculate for us how much our package will cost according to our requirements.

after cleaning our qns, we went over to look at her dresses. thats when we understand that most of her dresses were custom made (which got me quite interested), so they come in all different sizes. thats a good news for me as i am around uk 10-12 so some places i went to really can't find dress that fit me. i tried about 5 wedding gown n 3 evening gown.

kelly then went through our package again with us and checked if we want to confirm anything. we told her that its the first shop we visited so we are not sure if we want to commit yet.

really got to comment on her excellent non pushy attitude though, she immediately smiles and say its ok, even tell me to try a few more shops and see what kind of dress shape i like the most. personally i really appreciate this. cos so far of the 3 we visited this is the only one that never try to push us.

My package is from the aisle bridal. Sign up during roadshows can get more add on. But no videography.
i went there also! actually its opposite the building from Kelly's Bridals. their place looks good though but they seem to push more on the pre-wedding shoot. also there are a lot of plus plus from early hour to ampoule and eyelash...

Hello. I was also thinking of booking mind in jb. Which bridal shops you all went in jb?
Mine is sample studio in jb. Can search for sample studio in jb if you're interested! Some of the other studios have quite good profile for example impegno wedding, yz wedding or monokara bridal.

my bf and me quite superstitious so better check first. have you managed to shortlisted any bridal shop?

I booked mine at JB Cos I realize the prices in singapore is way too ex ... But my package need to find AD photographer and videographer.

Mine was at Mount Austin area.. need 30 mins from the custom. A.F photography. Mine AD gowns is from them. Jus need AD photographer.

How is their gown selections like? I really love their photography thou. Planning to book them for pre-shoot, but want to see if they have good selection of gowns to choose from. :)

I'm going for gown selection in Dec... Considering my a UK16 to UK18... They managed to have gowns for me to try on and look good... I can update u after my gown selection on 19 Dec... (maybe u pm me so I don't forget) hahahaha

Yes, I also love the photography... Initially I wanted to sign with z wedding but I feel too expensive.... Plus the design keep repeating... I have seen same design for 5 weddings liao....

So it was a bonus when I signed up and found out that the photographer was previously from z wedding...

I'm going for gown selection in Dec... Considering my a UK16 to UK18... They managed to have gowns for me to try on and look good... I can update u after my gown selection on 19 Dec... (maybe u pm me so I don't forget) hahahaha

Yes, I also love the photography... Initially I wanted to sign with z wedding but I feel too expensive.... Plus the design keep repeating... I have seen same design for 5 weddings liao....

So it was a bonus when I signed up and found out that the photographer was previously from z wedding...

Thats awesome! Looking forward to your gown selection! Ya, one of the concern of commercial bridal is that their gowns are "over-worn" (design/hygiene/quality drop by then its your turn to wear it etc.) I just started looking around (2017 bride :x), hvnt really check out alot bridal packages prices but i guessed z wedding will be ex (after all the social media hype and bridal shows going on - but nice gowns and photography too i must say heh).

Pls share with us your experience after u select :D

We only booked our venue at Ramada Singapore for a cosy 10 table wedding lunch . Nothing else, pretty lost at what to plan and do. Still looking around for bridal shop.

I'm also having 10 tables lunch at raffles hotel. small and intimate wedding affair just for family and close friends. :) I booked my bridal with zwedding.

Thats awesome! Looking forward to your gown selection! Ya, one of the concern of commercial bridal is that their gowns are "over-worn" (design/hygiene/quality drop by then its your turn to wear it etc.) I just started looking around (2017 bride :x), hvnt really check out alot bridal packages prices but i guessed z wedding will be ex (after all the social media hype and bridal shows going on - but nice gowns and photography too i must say heh).

I would confidently say the gown hygiene is good as they are pretty new to the wedding studio biz.. And I ot a really good deal... Saved $2.5k by signing up with them and so far pleasant experience..

Anyone has feedback on

1) Tim Palace
2) Shin Yeh

So far this is some of the few we've shortlisted but no much review online
My office is near shin yeh and my colleague just had her solemnization + wedding dinner there last month. But a small one, two tables in the function room. She said the food was salty and not up to her relatives taste buds as they are Taiwanese cuisines based. Atmosphere was nice thou.

Hi all, sorry but I have a number of questions that I would like to seek answers and advice on!
  1. Would like to ask what is the "traditional" procedure should I have an ROM a few months before my actual banquet.
    The tea ceremony, guo da li, gate crashing, etc.. Which one is usually done for ROM and banquet?

2. Any recommended place for a small ROM event?
    Usually people just cater some food after the event right? Or can just sign and say byebye haha.

3. What about photography and gown for ROM?
    Do bridal studio have package or some trial thing for a simple ROM ceremony, and an actual one for actual day banquet? How much will they charge for ROM?
We wanted to hold our ROM on the same day as our luncheon but due to unforeseen circumstances, we would like to bring forward the ROM proceedings.

Thanks alot! :)

Hi all, sorry but I have a number of questions that I would like to seek answers and advice on!
  1. Would like to ask what is the "traditional" procedure should I have an ROM a few months before my actual banquet.
    The tea ceremony, guo da li, gate crashing, etc.. Which one is usually done for ROM and banquet?

2. Any recommended place for a small ROM event?
    Usually people just cater some food after the event right? Or can just sign and say byebye haha.

3. What about photography and gown for ROM?
    Do bridal studio have package or some trial thing for a simple ROM ceremony, and an actual one for actual day banquet? How much will they charge for ROM?
We wanted to hold our ROM on the same day as our luncheon but due to unforeseen circumstances, we would like to bring forward the ROM proceedings.

Thanks alot! :)

Hi! I'm kinda in the same situation as you. I'll be having my ROM on a different day from my banquet. We haven't exactly decided when though, but it should be either a couple of months before the banquet, or the week before (we want a specific date that has a special meaning to us).

1. For us, we're planning to have the ROM on its own, and the tea ceremony will take place on the same day as the banquet. We want to keep things simple, so we'll just have a tea ceremony at the hotel's bridal suite a couple of hours before the banquet on our AD. I'd imagine that gate crashing will take place on the same day as the banquet. As for Guo Da Li, both sides are not very traditional so I think we'll be skipping that.

2. It depends on your personal preference and budget. For us, since our ROM and banquet will be quite close, we'll be keeping the ROM simple since we want to allocate most of our budget to the actual banquet. Possibly, just the closest people will be there (20 or fewer guests), so we'll just sign and then maybe have a meal together. I'm considering having it in a hotel suite or a private dining room (was considering Cassia at Capella).

The charges really depend on your guest list and location, so you have to think about those. It can go up to $100 a person, or it can be as low as $40 to $50. The most no frills experience would be to sign at the registry itself and then all go somewhere together for a meal. You just need 2 witnesses, so the guest list can be as small as 4 or as many as 80+. Typically, most hotels / restaurants have solemnization packages for a minimum of 30 people and the cost can range from $1k to $4 - 5k.

3. Personally, I managed to negotiate with my bridal studio so they're allowing me to use my trial make up and hair session for my solemnization. I'm also converting my tea dress / kua to a long ROM gown, so I'm settled on those. Photography wise, I'll probably source one of the freelance photographers who are looking to build up their portfolio since we're keeping ROM quite simple. I think Bridal Studios do have packages that cater solely to ROM, but it might be more cost effective to have ROM worked into your actual bridal package so you get is as a perk rather than having to pay extra charges for it. Alternatively, you could just buy a nice dress from Topshop or another nice boutique, do your own make up or get a make up artist for about $80 if you're keeping things simple.

I've also heard of some people using the hotel's food tasting session for their ROM, so that's another nice way to save money. :p

This is my two cents worth, I'd love to see what others have to say! ;) And congrats! :)

Hi! I'm kinda in the same situation as you. I'll be having my ROM on a different day from my banquet. We haven't exactly decided when though, but it should be either a couple of months before the banquet, or the week before (we want a specific date that has a special meaning to us).

1. For us, we're planning to have the ROM on its own, and the tea ceremony will take place on the same day as the banquet. We want to keep things simple, so we'll just have a tea ceremony at the hotel's bridal suite a couple of hours before the banquet on our AD. I'd imagine that gate crashing will take place on the same day as the banquet. As for Guo Da Li, both sides are not very traditional so I think we'll be skipping that.

2. It depends on your personal preference and budget. For us, since our ROM and banquet will be quite close, we'll be keeping the ROM simple since we want to allocate most of our budget to the actual banquet. Possibly, just the closest people will be there (20 or fewer guests), so we'll just sign and then maybe have a meal together. I'm considering having it in a hotel suite or a private dining room (was considering Cassia at Capella).

The charges really depend on your guest list and location, so you have to think about those. It can go up to $100 a person, or it can be as low as $40 to $50. The most no frills experience would be to sign at the registry itself and then all go somewhere together for a meal. You just need 2 witnesses, so the guest list can be as small as 4 or as many as 80+. Typically, most hotels / restaurants have solemnization packages for a minimum of 30 people and the cost can range from $1k to $4 - 5k.

3. Personally, I managed to negotiate with my bridal studio so they're allowing me to use my trial make up and hair session for my solemnization. I'm also converting my tea dress / kua to a long ROM gown, so I'm settled on those. Photography wise, I'll probably source one of the freelance photographers who are looking to build up their portfolio since we're keeping ROM quite simple. I think Bridal Studios do have packages that cater solely to ROM, but it might be more cost effective to have ROM worked into your actual bridal package so you get is as a perk rather than having to pay extra charges for it. Alternatively, you could just buy a nice dress from Topshop or another nice boutique, do your own make up or get a make up artist for about $80 if you're keeping things simple.

I've also heard of some people using the hotel's food tasting session for their ROM, so that's another nice way to save money. :p

This is my two cents worth, I'd love to see what others have to say! ;) And congrats! :)

Hi! We wanted to do it on the same day as the banquet but now high likely we got to push forward by a few months. Initially wanted to do it before the banquet so it would be at the hotel, ROM, tea ceremony and banquet.

So since the ROM needs to be brought forward by a few months, so how should the tea ceremony, guo da li, gate crashing be done? Then what to do during banquet day if everything is done during ROM? Hahaha.

May I know which studio did you signed up with? I would like to be cost effective as well. Not really interested in having many different gowns since I'll be doing a lunch reception.

Would like a simple affair for the ROM :D

Hi! We wanted to do it on the same day as the banquet but now high likely we got to push forward by a few months. Initially wanted to do it before the banquet so it would be at the hotel, ROM, tea ceremony and banquet.

So since the ROM needs to be brought forward by a few months, so how should the tea ceremony, guo da li, gate crashing be done? Then what to do during banquet day if everything is done during ROM? Hahaha.

May I know which studio did you signed up with? I would like to be cost effective as well. Not really interested in having many different gowns since I'll be doing a lunch reception.

Would like a simple affair for the ROM :D

In our case, ROM will stand alone on one day and everything else (gate crashing, tea ceremony) will take place on the Actual Day. My reasoning for this is actually quite practical, because we have a AD photography package so I want to make the most of that one day. :p Also, since we have a nice bridal suite and pre-cocktail reception area, might as well get the gate crashing (maybe) and tea ceremony done there as well. As for Guo Da Li, I don't think we'll be having that, but if we do, it'll probably be on a separate day; possibly on the same day as the ROM, or the same weekend. Since that is a simpler affair that we might not even be having (we're not traditional at all :oops:), I haven't really factored that into my planning.

I signed my bridal package with The Aisle Bridal. c: They're quite flexible. I told them initially that I wouldn't need a tea dress / kua and they were willing to let me convert that to more photographs from the photoshoot. After we decided to have our solemnization on a separate day, I ended up getting a ROM gown instead, so I'll have just the wedding gown and the evening gown on the AD - which is about right for me! I think I might ask them to let us use one of the suits for my fiance on our ROM day instead of having two on the AD. The lazy thing will probably be pleased that he doesn't have to keep changing his clothes. =.=

When / Where will you be having your solemnization and banquet? Sometimes, if in doubt, you can ask your wedding coordinator for some advice. It was my coordinator's idea to use the cocktail reception area as a possible venue for our tea ceremony since we won't need it for our solemnization.

I'm quite tempted to hold my solemnization in a hotel suite. My uncle is going to be our JP and we're only going to have our respective parents there so I'm thinking of just sneaking everyone in as day guests and just have a quick and intimate ceremony. :rolleyes:

In our case, ROM will stand alone on one day and everything else (gate crashing, tea ceremony) will take place on the Actual Day. My reasoning for this is actually quite practical, because we have a AD photography package so I want to make the most of that one day. :p Also, since we have a nice bridal suite and pre-cocktail reception area, might as well get the gate crashing (maybe) and tea ceremony done there as well. As for Guo Da Li, I don't think we'll be having that, but if we do, it'll probably be on a separate day; possibly on the same day as the ROM, or the same weekend. Since that is a simpler affair that we might not even be having (we're not traditional at all :oops:), I haven't really factored that into my planning.

I signed my bridal package with The Aisle Bridal. c: They're quite flexible. I told them initially that I wouldn't need a tea dress / kua and they were willing to let me convert that to more photographs from the photoshoot. After we decided to have our solemnization on a separate day, I ended up getting a ROM gown instead, so I'll have just the wedding gown and the evening gown on the AD - which is about right for me! I think I might ask them to let us use one of the suits for my fiance on our ROM day instead of having two on the AD. The lazy thing will probably be pleased that he doesn't have to keep changing his clothes. =.=

When / Where will you be having your solemnization and banquet? Sometimes, if in doubt, you can ask your wedding coordinator for some advice. It was my coordinator's idea to use the cocktail reception area as a possible venue for our tea ceremony since we won't need it for our solemnization.

I'm quite tempted to hold my solemnization in a hotel suite. My uncle is going to be our JP and we're only going to have our respective parents there so I'm thinking of just sneaking everyone in as day guests and just have a quick and intimate ceremony. :rolleyes:

On the AD, like most hotels that do it complimentary, our hotel cocktail reception area will be converted into an area for tea ceremony and ROM (11-12pm). After it is done, the doors will then be opened and cocktail would commence (12-1pm). But the problem is that now I got to shift my solemnisation to an earlier date, so there would be additional cost and probably need to hunt for an additional venue =x We actually went to many different venues before settling on one.

My parents aren't traditional and they are the ones who asked me to have gatecrash, tea ceremony, ROM everything at the hotel! Haha. I have not started Bridal studio hunting, trying to collate the things to look out for before signing for the package. And not too sure if bridal shops are generally flexible. I'm not going for those bespoke designer gowns, just a classic timeless kind will do, and of cos very good service haha.

How much you sign up you bridal package with the aisle bridal ? Email them but never get a reply

On the AD, like most hotels that do it complimentary, our hotel cocktail reception area will be converted into an area for tea ceremony and ROM (11-12pm). After it is done, the doors will then be opened and cocktail would commence (12-1pm). But the problem is that now I got to shift my solemnisation to an earlier date, so there would be additional cost and probably need to hunt for an additional venue =x We actually went to many different venues before settling on one.

My parents aren't traditional and they are the ones who asked me to have gatecrash, tea ceremony, ROM everything at the hotel! Haha. I have not started Bridal studio hunting, trying to collate the things to look out for before signing for the package. And not too sure if bridal shops are generally flexible. I'm not going for those bespoke designer gowns, just a classic timeless kind will do, and of cos very good service haha.

Yeah! I kena the same thing with my venue (Fullerton). :c So sad that we have to incur an additional cost, but I guess at least that gives us more time for the reception / tea ceremony. Still haven't decided if we want to do the tea ceremony at the Roof Garden or in the bridal suite.

I like my bridal studio, but I'm kinda regretting that I signed before looking at White Link or Divine Couture. Every time I look at a bridal magazine, I always find myself attracted to their gowns. :eek: But I guess The Aisle has a really wide collection of ball gowns that they don't feature in magazines / on their website.

How much you sign up you bridal package with the aisle bridal ? Email them but never get a reply

I'll PM you. c: