(2016) 2016 brides

Hi @DJ2016 , I think it's better to check with the solemnisers/JP in advance to see their schedule. cos they schedules can be quite tight. 3 months in advance, you might not be able to get the JP of your ideal choice. :)

Hi all! Pardon me.. can i know why is it so important to be selective on the JP? I always thought any available JP will do.. haha.. my fiance n I havent research on that part yet and our date is Oct 2016. Haha.. thanks for the enlightenment! :)

@eupgenie hello! i guess if you are not particular, then JP will do.. the reason for me to be slightly more selective is because i read online there are those who had bad experiences, and since this is such an important day, better to be safe than sorry.. :D

Hi @eupgenie , I guess some couples can be more selective on who they want their JP to be? Like someone who is old, and looks fatherly, or prefers a female JP, etc. Someone who speaks English, Chinese, and certain dialects.
i guess it all boils down to the couple's preferences - if the couple is okay with any, it makes the work alot easier. :)

Hi @DJ2016 , I think it's better to check with the solemnisers/JP in advance to see their schedule. cos they schedules can be quite tight. 3 months in advance, you might not be able to get the JP of your ideal choice. :)

yup :) agreed to find out their schedules earlier and save the date :) I'm a May BTB and seems like now, the JPs are already committed on my dates :(

Oh dear.. so i am like LATE...... So who's the popular JPs here? LOL. Help me with the shortlist, pls. English speaking and friendly and not too long winded cos my soleminization is before lunch banquet.. so not a lot of time if JP wants to 'nag' at us first on marriage...LOL

Hi @eupgenie , I guess some couples can be more selective on who they want their JP to be? Like someone who is old, and looks fatherly, or prefers a female JP, etc. Someone who speaks English, Chinese, and certain dialects.
i guess it all boils down to the couple's preferences - if the couple is okay with any, it makes the work alot easier. :)
@eupgenie hello! i guess if you are not particular, then JP will do.. the reason for me to be slightly more selective is because i read online there are those who had bad experiences, and since this is such an important day, better to be safe than sorry.. :D

I see i see! Thanks Caren_c & StrawberrieShortie! I will start scouting for a JP this wkend! Thanks again lovelies!

good luck to all of us! hope we can all find the JP of our ideal choice <:

Btw you ladies all got your AD photographer/videographer & Bridal Studio yet? Can share the packages? :)

@DJ2016 you can refer to this site (www.kiasubride.com/top-40-most-popular-solemnizers-in-singapore/)
so far the most popular one is...
1) Dr Phua Tan Tee - if you get him, count yourself very lucky before it's sooo hard to get him.

The rest has some mixed reviews, so its really up to you too see who you trust to engage for your Big Day! :D

Thank you! Both links are very helpful indeed! :D

Btw you ladies all got your AD photographer/videographer & Bridal Studio yet? Can share the packages? :)

I gotten AD Pg+Vg under PurpleLambs. Its $4k for 8 hrs engagement and nt inclusive of many surcharges. ++ end up around $5k. AD bridal studio i have nt decided yet. Maybe I will go with Bluebay which is my pre wedding shoot provider. Haha..

@twinklez yes I'll be choosing gowns in august for my pre-wedding shoot in sept. I should try to loose wait but I'm too lazy ahah

Has anyone gone for or are thinking about pre-wedding counseling? We were thinking it cannot hurt and this is afterall our lifelong happiness. But I realised that the counseling centers usually operate for normal operating hours only.

Anyone has any recommendations though? I got interested after seeing the eagle counseling post.

Just secured a JP today! So happy!
I was just randomly asking cause I wanted to know when should I start booking & JP agreed to solemnize for our wedding in Oct 2016!

Just secured a JP today! So happy!
I was just randomly asking cause I wanted to know when should I start booking & JP agreed to solemnize for our wedding in Oct 2016!
Tt's early! I'm oso a oct 2016 btb! I thought of asking next year. Maybe I shld start looking out..

May I know who did you book with?
I'm also an Oct 2016 bride!

Simon Sim!
He thought we were solemnizing in Oct 2015 & agreed to us but when he highlight the year to him again, he said he will pencil it down.
Not sure we are lucky or what. Cause I know most jp do not accept rom this early.

@mandylove youre so lucky! :) Congrats dear!! my fiance and i couldnt get our top choices, but we managed to get a JP who said he can tentative do a soft booking for us. :) Quite worried though, cos it isn't 'confirmed'...

@mandylove I'm a May btb! ((: so I'm gg to start sourcing for my bridal studio and AD photographer/videographer soon. Hehe I like to start early so I got more time to play around w.

That's really nearing. I haven't started on anything except JP & venue with verbal booking cause they didn't allow us to book more than a year ahead. So we can only pay the deposit in oct.

@mandylove Ooh which hotel venue is that? Yup don't worry, you still have quite a while. Just enjoy the status of being engaged first and do your 'homework' of bridal studios, etc hehe

Hi Caren_C,
My Bridal Studio is My Bridal Room for my pre-wed and AD. Their service has been good so far and my htb also introduced his colleague to them. Will be having my PS next month. Package-wise.. i think mine might not be the best package they can offer cos i think my htb and i are pretty lousy bargainers and the package they threw in during their open house or promotion period is better than what i have.. :( ... how i wish i can have the perks extended to me for the "business" we sent their way...LOL.

Haven't decided if we are hiring a videographer as of now.. as ours is a lunch banquet and not sure if going to have gatecrash.

(*just emailed one of the JP. Hope he is available on my date;) *cross fingers and toes*)

Hi all, just booked my wedding banquet on 21st Feb 2016 in Genting Jurong... Gonna share some photos for those who are interested :)ImageUploadedByForum1435026895.207444.jpgImageUploadedByForum1435026915.829323.jpgImageUploadedByForum1435026941.689475.jpgImageUploadedByForum1435026955.590207.jpgImageUploadedByForum1435026973.422975.jpgImageUploadedByForum1435026987.855791.jpg

Hi Caren_C,
My Bridal Studio is My Bridal Room for my pre-wed and AD. Their service has been good so far and my htb also introduced his colleague to them. Will be having my PS next month. Package-wise.. i think mine might not be the best package they can offer cos i think my htb and i are pretty lousy bargainers and the package they threw in during their open house or promotion period is better than what i have.. :( ... how i wish i can have the perks extended to me for the "business" we sent their way...LOL.

Haven't decided if we are hiring a videographer as of now.. as ours is a lunch banquet and not sure if going to have gatecrash.

(*just emailed one of the JP. Hope he is available on my date;) *cross fingers and toes*)
Great that you like the service! I read about ppl who have issues w their bridal studios, and I feel so unjust for them. ): pay the money end up still feel so upset.

Can you share your package details w me? (: so I know roughly what should be included included the package and what more I can negotiate for hehe.

Great that you like the service! I read about ppl who have issues w their bridal studios, and I feel so unjust for them. ): pay the money end up still feel so upset.

Can you share your package details w me? :) so I know roughly what should be included included the package and what more I can negotiate for hehe.

I took the $3688 package... i think my package details are what was stated on that piece of paper they showed us...LOL. Told you we are super lousy bargainers.:rolleyes: AD photographer i top up. They have a promo recently where they have the free AD photographer throw in as perks. It's better for you to go down and speak to them and take a look at their gowns. You can tell them a couple who's having their photoshoot in july recommended you..the couple where the btb is erhmm nicely put: petite..frankly put: short ...lol.

Hi everyone! Planning to have my AD in 2016 too. Preferably May. However, the tong shu dates won't be out till next year and my HTB wants to pick a date using both bazi and tong shu. Since Tong shu out only second half next year, do you guys think it'll be too late to book a venue by then? sighhh

Hello, I think if you use ba zi, then dont need tong shu.. tong shu only out from Aug onwards.. And yes, i think venue will be an issue. My Bf and i started planning in march for november dates, but was given none unfortunately :( so have to delay till May. I went to David Tong, and he gave me quite a few dates in Dec and Jan, and when those dates didn't work, he gave me new dates in March and May. price was i think 138 or 188..

i think better to start planning early, especially if you have specific hotels that you are aiming for.. Also, note that people usually dont have wedding in Feb (CNY) and April (Qin Ming) which means the number of months that you can choose from will be reduced too!

We are currently looking at tinydot photography.. haven't really don't much research.. but I know for sure that Chris Ling is very expensive. Sure can't afford. Haha.. wedding is an expensive affair.. lol. But it's something I'm looking forward to..:D

I saw tiny dot too, and i liked it.. but a little expensive.. haha. i think dazzle is the popular one in tiny dot, but yea, with popularity comes price :P

@caren_c This is my package with Yvonne Creative:
its 3988, including trial make up, wedding gown, evening gown, men's suit, AD make up and hairdo, bridal bouquet, bridal car deco, pre-wedding photoshoot with gown,s men's suit, make up and hairdo,table top wedding album, mini album, wedding frame. Applicable for all gowns selection, without any hidden costs.. unless you wanna make to measure, then you will have to top up...

The price i paid was really value for money. i went to check a few other places before, and the price is not all inclusive.In my opinion, their selling point is the serivce.. They were like super patient, tried to understand my need and let me try some gowns too, instead of just talking about the packages. you can go and make an appointment and take a look.. they just recently opened a store at AMK (near YCK mrt), which is pretty convenient, with a wide selection of gowns...

I saw tiny dot too, and i liked it.. but a little expensive.. haha. i think dazzle is the popular one in tiny dot, but yea, with popularity comes price :P

There is another photography company called Jovial Photography. Their price is quite competitive I think.. on the lower side cos they are a new company. Not too sure whether to engage them though.

@twinklez @strawberrieshortcake @Jacqueline.sst @caren_c I am also a May 2016 bride! Uh oh, I also thought there's still time to book JP, seems like I better start my research and booking already. Which dates are you all getting married in May?

Btw, my husband and I might be doing our ROM earlier for our flat. But we still want to have a 'solemnization' kinda thing on our AD, with the march in and exchange of vows and ring etc, partly because we booked Alkaff Mansion as we really liked the garden, so a waste if we are not doing march in any more.

So anyways, obviously I technically don't need a JP for AD since we've already signed the papers, but I am thinking if we should still engage a JP just because they know e sequence and the things to say at a wedding, compared to finding anyone to 'solemnize' our wedding...

any thoughts (if anyone even understands what I am saying) haha

Anyone sign up with carlton? We are considering as one of our options!
hi sweesummerdreams ... my htb n i oso considered carlton. even went dwn to speak to the coordinator .. but as usual, px is the concern. food supposedly to be good or maybe better but htb recently went for wedding lunch said tt std dropped ... so a gd thing we din sign up oso. juz my personal opinion

@sweetsummerdreams Carlton was one of our choices, but the price for 2016 has increased, so not really very attractive anymore. For carlton hotel, ify ou have lesser than 25 tables, you will get the room with the shorter ceiling. when i went for carlton wedding dinner in november, it was not bad :)

@bonbons yay hello fellow may btb! ((:

My AD is end may. When's yours?

Ah... im not too sure about having a JP there to 'solemnise' but there's no cert to sign. I have never heard of anything like that. If you're a Christian, maybe you can consider inviting your pastor along?

Or you can invite speakers to go up and talk like your friends and relatives? Just a suggestion! (:

@twinklez @strawberrieshortcake @Jacqueline.sst @caren_c I am also a May 2016 bride! Uh oh, I also thought there's still time to book JP, seems like I better start my research and booking already. Which dates are you all getting married in May?

Btw, my husband and I might be doing our ROM earlier for our flat. But we still want to have a 'solemnization' kinda thing on our AD, with the march in and exchange of vows and ring etc, partly because we booked Alkaff Mansion as we really liked the garden, so a waste if we are not doing march in any more.

So anyways, obviously I technically don't need a JP for AD since we've already signed the papers, but I am thinking if we should still engage a JP just because they know e sequence and the things to say at a wedding, compared to finding anyone to 'solemnize' our wedding...

any thoughts (if anyone even understands what I am saying) haha

@bonbons ahh, yes i understand what you are trying to say.. if possible, maybe you delay the arrival of the flat? that's what me and my HTB to do. our key collection is in july, and we are thinking of just showing HDB the deposit invoice for the banquet, to confirm our intention of getting married.. then get solemnized and banquet at the same time in may 2016 all at once...

if that doesn't work, then.. maybe you can engage someone who is important and of some age , and know both you and your HTB, to run the whole process? I think you dont need a JP. If you ask the JP its like marrying twice leh.. and the real reason he should be there is to sign the cert, but if he go and no signing of cert, like will be super weird right? that's my opinion la :D

OMG... We need more JPs! All of them are booked.:( Is it okay if i start mass emailing all at the same time and hoping one will be free:p or do it one by one? o_O