(2015) 2015 brides??

zrhs

my bf doesnt allow me to have any say in the ring.. he ask me to trust him and i think he went to do a lot of research and he will either design the ring himself or choose sth he believes i will like *fingers crossed*
i only know it's sme jeweler frm orchard

Trust your bf then ! U can show him what u like ... So he will hv a idea lor ?

zrhs

I see, your ring setting is with or without side diamonds? You chose super ideal cut or cushion brellia?
I kinda like filigree ring setting but not sure if it would add additional cost to the ring.

When I suggest to my BF I want to choose the ring tgt, he also object. So afraid he will choose smth I dont like! >.<

Super ideal diamond, without side diamonds ...

Setting without side diamond cost $500 ... With side diamond is $1200 n above.. Over budget if I choose side diamond. And it will also over take the solitaire attention.

Go rings shopping with him, let him know ur preference ba. This is what my friend does, we two couples went rings shopping tgt , lee hwa gold heart love n co sookee , 4 of us exchange opinions lol

tulipkiss

Welcome & Congrats!!!
Not too late , just that we planned early. Haha

Don't need wait until BF proposed la.... As long as you both have the same directions you can start plan your wedding.

My BF haven proposed too. We are still waiting for our house to be ready .. also estimate around 2015.
We had already went to Master for date selection. I had just chosen and custom made my proposal ring, can't trust guy in choosing this expensive stuff. haha i want my ring to be worthwhile and not disappointment. Also, both of us can enjoy the process in choosing the ring. So now waiting for the ring to be ready and let's see when he will "surprise" me with a proposal
hello! you're so fast!
as mentioned, my house is estimated to be ready by 2015 too... all i have done is to look through some pretty wedding venues that's all -_-

how about housing renovation/decor, when do you all intend to do it? before wedding or after?

tulipkiss

When I suggest to my BF I want to choose the ring tgt, he also object. So afraid he will choose smth I dont like! >.<

My boyfriend also.. -_- don't want me to choose the ring together with him.
He said, "why not you plan the proposal as well?" >.<

But I gave him a gauge of what type of diamond I like.. Hopefully the ring will turn out suitable.. *prays hard!*

Chill and let ur guy do it!

My fiance never consulted me on the ring and he did so much hw on his own and proposed with a beautiful ring that I love so much!

U shld trust that ur guy will choose one suitable one for u!

bngak

clever guess..yup from Jannpaul. Really thumbs up for their paitent services.

Haha, really good decision. Everyone I know shares the same sentiment about Jannpaul. Really one of the best people when it comes to diamonds. My friend's bf also got hers from them. Very sparkly. Heh. :)

For the same price their diamonds are really better.

bngak

Specs sounds good, rmb to post pix after your BF proposed! :)
Who attended to you during your appt?
I dont want my BF to spend so much on the ring cos I knw I have a lifetime to ask more from him. Hehe.

Hi ChezzieL, I'm on quite a tight budget as well. AD 2015, BTO coming up 2016 (but usually pple says the flat will be ready abt a yr in adv.
The buffer time is not really enough to save up for reno and furnitures!

So what I do nw is to shortlist all the vendors, then next yr start to go for wedding shows/fairs.

My date of delivery is 2016 too! But when I went to sign, the HDB person told me to prepare by 2015 cuz likely date of completion will b about 1 year early or more.

Think that's a good way to start. But should really research on all the vendors before gg down to the fairs. Like know their price and the packages so u know whether if its really a good deal. I didn't research enough and ended up paying for my bridal package which turned out not to be as good a deal as I had believed it to b...

bngak

how much budget do you all usually set aside? I have not do any budgeting yet.
House renovation will be clash in the same period of wedding, so I will hv a big burn hole too.

@Phoebenghx : at first was Michelle but she is not feeling well keep coughing than she ask her colleague Rei to assist. From there i had been liasing with Rei.
All staffs are good in explain the different aspect of diamonds ... however comes to opinion, Rei do not dare to give extra opinion. I understand her point because diamond is really very individual, some pple cares abt the size while other care about color. You can just set a budget and spect you want and they can try to find the diamonds that matches your requirement. For me, we give them the spect and budget to work on. Rei found 2-3 diamonds for me to choose from, I give my bf to make the final decision.

Really quite stressed planning the finances for the Reno. Cuz it will come about the same time.. Think whatever we recover from the Ang Baos for the wedding will go to pay for the house.. Budgeted about 35k for the hse (reno incl furniture) assuming we don't lose too much for the banquet....

ChezzieL

Specs sounds good, rmb to post pix after your BF proposed! :)
Who attended to you during your appt?
I dont want my BF to spend so much on the ring cos I knw I have a lifetime to ask more from him. Hehe.

Hi ChezzieL, I'm on quite a tight budget as well. AD 2015, BTO coming up 2016 (but usually pple says the flat will be ready abt a yr in adv.
The buffer time is not really enough to save up for reno and furnitures!

So what I do nw is to shortlist all the vendors, then next yr start to go for wedding shows/fairs.

Thanks! Will do that and start planning my budget properly too. BF hasn't proposed yet either lol.
We're thinking of not doing in a hotel, like either a garden theme or Chijmes.

tulipkiss

Chill and let ur guy do it!

My fiance never consulted me on the ring and he did so much hw on his own and proposed with a beautiful ring that I love so much!

U shld trust that ur guy will choose one suitable one for u!

Hahaha but over the years, I've grown to know that our tastes are very different! :confused:
I think I shall drop some hints at least.. Just to be safe :p

tulipkiss

Really quite stressed planning the finances for the Reno. Cuz it will come about the same time.. Think whatever we recover from the Ang Baos for the wedding will go to pay for the house.. Budgeted about 35k for the hse (reno incl furniture) assuming we don't lose too much for the banquet....

That's why now I'm wondering whether to shift wedding 'forward', so that it wouldn't clash with the house reno etc. I would imagine it to be quite stressful, not only on financials, but also our brain juices to plan both wedding n reno o_O

How much should be budgeted for wedding?

tulipkiss

Haha, really good decision. Everyone I know shares the same sentiment about Jannpaul. Really one of the best people when it comes to diamonds. My friend's bf also got hers from them. Very sparkly. Heh. :)

For the same price their diamonds are really better.

Yeah cos they're "suppliers". So we don't have to pay for marketing cost of the diamonds and such ;)
I accidentally saw my boyfriend asking his friend about JannPaul some time back. Since then, kept telling him to bring me along when he go for diamond 'consultation'. LOL. But he bo chap :/

G&Z

Yeah cos they're "suppliers". So we don't have to pay for marketing cost of the diamonds and such ;)
I accidentally saw my boyfriend asking his friend about JannPaul some time back. Since then, kept telling him to bring me along when he go for diamond 'consultation'. LOL. But he bo chap :/

haha! i didnt ask him to bring me along but to tell me what's goin on but he ignored me too..we went to see see look look at tiffany & co, 20k for a 1 carat diamond, not sure abt the specs.. so i told him to just go to those jewelers as it will be cheaper, dun buy the brand

so many of you are getting the house at the same time... will be super stressful.. the bf n i decide to get a house after wedding coz i cant buy another hdb...

tulipkiss

haha! i didnt ask him to bring me along but to tell me what's goin on but he ignored me too..we went to see see look look at tiffany & co, 20k for a 1 carat diamond, not sure abt the specs.. so i told him to just go to those jewelers as it will be cheaper, dun buy the brand

so many of you are getting the house at the same time... will be super stressful.. the bf n i decide to get a house after wedding coz i cant buy another hdb...

Yahhh we also went to Tiffany and Cartier to look see look see, then decide it's not worth to get the engagement rings from there. Maybe wedding bands in future, but not the diamonds. Haha...

So you mean you already have an HDB? Or, your name in your current parents' house?
I think nowadays most people plan their weddings according to house ready dates, lol. No choice, flats/houses all take years to complete. Unless don't mind staying with parents after wedding first..

zrhs

hello! you're so fast!
as mentioned, my house is estimated to be ready by 2015 too... all i have done is to look through some pretty wedding venues that's all -_-

how about housing renovation/decor, when do you all intend to do it? before wedding or after?

Will be doing it before wedding and hopefully able to complete before our wedding.
So i guess our saving will wipe out completely!

G&Z

Yahhh we also went to Tiffany and Cartier to look see look see, then decide it's not worth to get the engagement rings from there. Maybe wedding bands in future, but not the diamonds. Haha...

So you mean you already have an HDB? Or, your name in your current parents' house?
I think nowadays most people plan their weddings according to house ready dates, lol. No choice, flats/houses all take years to complete. Unless don't mind staying with parents after wedding first..

yea my name is currently under my parents' place..only child so left the place to me.. so after wedding, will stay with my parents first..

the bf is in love with the cartier wedding bands so chances r high that we will get the wedding bands frm there..

Danielle Chua

We plan to wed in 2015 too! Just bought Style Weddings so that we can start budgeting :p (kiasu also hee!) I saw this Wedding Accolade thingy. Did you girls see it?

Phoebenghx

I guess our savings will be wiped out too.
Proposed completion date of my BTO is mid 2016. (If 1 yr earlier will be mid 2015, which I hope it dont happen as I cant produce any marriage cert to collect my keys.)
AD tentative Oct/Nov 2015. Mine is all lumped together; wedding, reno, furnitures. *stressed*

zrhs

I guess our savings will be wiped out too.
Proposed completion date of my BTO is mid 2016. (If 1 yr earlier will be mid 2015, which I hope it dont happen as I cant produce any marriage cert to collect my keys.)
AD tentative Oct/Nov 2015. Mine is all lumped together; wedding, reno, furnitures. *stressed*

Whr is ur new house ? As long as u hv evidence like banquet receipts etc to prove that u will wed later .. There is a few months allowance to submit ur marriage cert.

leess18

Does wedding/brides magazine helps ? Got alots of tips n info ma ? I did not flip any of those mag before

Do you want to read these bridal mags? I have quite a lot of past issues that I jut barely flipped through only. Almost new. Don't mind selling them off cheaply.

It is actually good to flip through these mags as it gives you an idea of the gowns and stuff carried out by the various companies before you shortlisted anything.

Oops btw I am a oct 14 btb. Sorry for hijacking :p

Phoebenghx

Whr is ur new house ? As long as u hv evidence like banquet receipts etc to prove that u will wed later .. There is a few months allowance to submit ur marriage cert.

My hse is at Woodlands. How abt yours?
Oh, cos the HDB CSO told me have to present the cert cos we applied under fiance/fiancee scheme. ?_?

tulipkiss

Oh, cos the HDB CSO told me have to present the cert cos we applied under fiance/fiancee scheme. ?_?

If I'm not wrong, you can produce banquet receipts etc, and submit your marriage cert within 3-6 months (of coz i have heard of 1-year cases)..
No need to present upon key collection if you don't have it yet.

tulipkiss

yea my name is currently under my parents' place..only child so left the place to me.. so after wedding, will stay with my parents first..

the bf is in love with the cartier wedding bands so chances r high that we will get the wedding bands frm there..

Yes!! Same! My boyf quite like the Cartier wedding bands too. So I thought I may get the wedding bands for us.. (If the proposal ring he bought is nice enough :p)

Phoebenghx

If I'm not wrong, you can produce banquet receipts etc, and submit your marriage cert within 3-6 months (of coz i have heard of 1-year cases)..

Thanks, that's great! :)

Cartier's Love wedding band is nice! Esp the rose gold one. Hehe.

zrhs

Do you want to read these bridal mags? I have quite a lot of past issues that I jut barely flipped through only. Almost new. Don't mind selling them off cheaply.

It is actually good to flip through these mags as it gives you an idea of the gowns and stuff carried out by the various companies before you shortlisted anything.

Oops btw I am a oct 14 btb. Sorry for hijacking :p
Thanks for your offer but i already sign up my bridal package.. hehe

Mine at Dawson.

Yes!! Same! My boyf quite like the Cartier wedding bands too. So I thought I may get the wedding bands for us.. (If the proposal ring he bought is nice enough :p)
how much roughly for a Cartier Wedding Band?

G&Z

We plan to wed in 2015 too! Just bought Style Weddings so that we can start budgeting :p (kiasu also hee!) I saw this Wedding Accolade thingy. Did you girls see it?
oh it's out? I bought the Female Brides... was wondering when it will be out.. btw welcome!

Does wedding/brides magazine helps ? Got alots of tips n info ma ? I did not flip any of those mag before
magazines gives you ideas just like pinterest... just that those magazines like style or female are more for local.. buy one and try?

haha im sure it will be nice!

Thanks, that's great! :)

Cartier's Love wedding band is nice! Esp the rose gold one. Hehe.
yes! rose gold is nice! the bf likes the rose gold rings more than yellow gold or platinum

Mine at Dawson.

trinity classic - $2010
trinity slim - $1450
cartier engrave rose gold - $1960

i only have the prices for the above :)

tulipkiss

Mine at Dawson.

Depends on which series!
I'm looking at the one that has cartier engraving with 1 diamond stud (sorrie, not sure the name of this ring), i think it's almost $7 per pair.

bngak

That's why now I'm wondering whether to shift wedding 'forward', so that it wouldn't clash with the house reno etc. I would imagine it to be quite stressful, not only on financials, but also our brain juices to plan both wedding n reno o_O

How much should be budgeted for wedding?

I am not too sure either.. think depends on how extravagant we choose to be.. Mine I est will be roughly 50k in all incl 5k budget for a short honeymoon.. But I'm not sure what other costs might come along the way.. But from what my friends share, it's about 40k to 60k so far that I'm hearing.. :confused:

I've heard of that too.. So I actually planned my wedding after the estimated date of completion....:rolleyes: Hopefully.

Yea, the trinity is actually what my HTB was looking at too! Haha, seems like cartier is a popular choice among the guys.

tulipkiss

I am not too sure either.. think depends on how extravagant we choose to be.. Mine I est will be roughly 50k in all incl 5k budget for a short honeymoon.. But I'm not sure what other costs might come along the way.. But from what my friends share, it's about 40k to 60k so far that I'm hearing.. :confused:

I've heard of that too.. So I actually planned my wedding after the estimated date of completion....:rolleyes: Hopefully.

Yea, the trinity is actually what my HTB was looking at too! Haha, seems like cartier is a popular choice among the guys.

40-60k! :eek: Part of it will be covered by ang bao money eventually right? :x

My completion date is est Q3 of 2015. I had wanted to plan wedding in Q1 2016... However, now realising that most developments will complete earlier than expected (heard end of 2014), we have to shift wedding "forward" a year earlier to Q1 2015. Which makes me kan chiong coz have to start booking stuff in a few months time and we don't really know what we want yet.
They should have better expected completion day, or give a longer grace period. Otherwise, makes us very uncertain when planning stuffs..

My boyfriend actually likes the cartier LOVE ring with diamonds. Coz he loves diamond more than me:rolleyes:
Nobody likes Bvlgari here?

Phoebenghx

40-60k! :eek: Part of it will be covered by ang bao money eventually right? :x

My completion date is est Q3 of 2015. I had wanted to plan wedding in Q1 2016... However, now realising that most developments will complete earlier than expected (heard end of 2014), we have to shift wedding "forward" a year earlier to Q1 2015. Which makes me kan chiong coz have to start booking stuff in a few months time and we don't really know what we want yet.
They should have better expected completion day, or give a longer grace period. Otherwise, makes us very uncertain when planning stuffs..

My boyfriend actually likes the cartier LOVE ring with diamonds. Coz he loves diamond more than me:rolleyes:
Nobody likes Bvlgari here?

Bvlgari is nice (Black with rose gold) but I find it too thick.
Personally I like Love&Co wedding bands, LVC Purete collection.

Phoebenghx

My BF's grandma just pass away. ):
Does anyone knows what's the impact if we dont follow the "marry within 100 days / after 3 yrs" tradition?

tulipkiss

Does anyone knows what's the impact if we dont follow the "marry within 100 days / after 3 yrs" tradition?

Sorry to hear that.
Actually same situation as me. His grandma passed away last week. But since both of our immediate families are not the traditional type, we won't be following the 100 days/3 years "rule". Had "double-check" with both sides parents, and they themselves don't even understand the logic behind the 3 years/100days practice, so they're okay with not following.

Danielle Chua

Hi Danielle! I haven buy the latest Style Weddings.
What's Wedding Accolade??

Phoebenghx, it seems to be some award thingy that will be presented to the bridal shops with good customer service? I guess its something like the SRA Retail Award where there is mystery shopping involved? Took 2 pics for you to see. Since my wedding is in 2015, I still have time to wait till March next year to find out who has won the award before I decide on which bridal shop to sign up with :p

image.jpeg image (1).jpeg

Danielle Chua

I like to check out the wedding gowns and see what wedding shows there are :p there are also interviews of wedding couples too, which I think is quite nice :p Not bad, I still managed to stumble upon this accolade thingy. Haha! So I can wait next March to find out who has won the award before I sign up with any bridal studio :p

G&Z

Sorry to hear that.
Actually same situation as me. His grandma passed away last week. But since both of our immediate families are not the traditional type, we won't be following the 100 days/3 years "rule". Had "double-check" with both sides parents, and they themselves don't even understand the logic behind the 3 years/100days practice, so they're okay with not following.

my condolences... i have no idea what is the logic behind.. think it could be out of respect.. i thought the 100 days/3 years rule only applies on parents..

tulipkiss

Phoebenghx, it seems to be some award thingy that will be presented to the bridal shops with good customer service? I guess its something like the SRA Retail Award where there is mystery shopping involved? Took 2 pics for you to see. Since my wedding is in 2015, I still have time to wait till March next year to find out who has won the award before I decide on which bridal shop to sign up with :p

View attachment 7860 View attachment 7861

That's September's issue? :) I think I will go and get it too, loL!

tulipkiss

my condolences... i have no idea what is the logic behind.. think it could be out of respect.. i thought the 100 days/3 years rule only applies on parents..

But if respect.. what's the 100-day period for? Grace period? Keke..
100 days is too rushed for anything in this era.. And 3 years, HDB wouldn't wait for long for my cert after key collection.. so it's not practical to really practise that tradition imho.. Anyway, like what I've said, mostly importantly is how your parents/his parents think.. Casually sound them out and see what's their opinion? Most likely they wouldn't mind, otherwise they would have mentioned something? :)

G&Z

Hehehe! My HTB say I so kiasu and can't wait to marry myself off... :oops:

i bought the previous issue a few mths back.. most of us here have not been proposed yet.. haha so no worries abt being kiasu :)

marchbtb_15

Actually if you go take a look at David tong advice in his posts. He say as long as it is not immediate family members then no need to marry within 100 days or 3 years later. If I'm not wrong. You can ask his advice too! Hope this helps!