(2012) 2012 Brides to be

chinzilla: i faced the same issue as u... initially my mum everything oso say simple lah, anything lah, dun need have this and that, blar blar blar.... it's really those 3 gu 6 po faults, too big mouth and say the unnecessary and "shake" my mum on...

i just keep highlighting to my mum that so what those aunties have 20 tables, big dowry etc... their daughters end up divorcee or unhappy in their marriage... oopz! i know im very bad! but i just want to tell my mum all she shld be wishing for is i married well and live well after the wedding... dun ask for the unnecessary and make my life hell with my in-laws, cos i will be facing my in-laws for life.

in the beginning when i said like this, she was also unhappy and thought i sided with my in-laws... but later on think my papa also say her lah... hahaha

for the pin jin, my hubby gave my family $5888. im glad my mum is "awaken" and took only $1888 with $1000+ she bought a gold necklace and gold ring for my hubby and gave him during the tea ceremony...

chinzilla: oic.. so 20 tables is meaning 20*1000 per table.. meaning ur mom wants ard 20k for marrying u off? hmm but does she noe u r paying for e wedding too? like tat, act she is "robbing" her own dotter of her $$...

shanna: how does ur mom keep for show onli? e AP will be in the AP box n who will noe how many tables of AP ur mom took?

actually now i'm confused.. none of the relatives will noe how many tables AP our moms take unless our moms say rite.. cos the AP will be in e AP box n counted by the couple, right?? *confused*

bem: normally for relatives, they wont drop the angbaos into the box at the reception, they will personally pass it to the parents...

bem> usually those angbaos from relatives will be passed to ur parents directly instead of them dropping it in the angbao box..

oic.. hee.. sua gu :P

i shall see my sis wedding how.. i think for me, i will ask my mom to gif me back the AP.. let me count e $$ properly den i pao back for her nicely...

if not, v messy. wont noe whether u earn or lose or wat....

bem: ya, wedding lunch. think i will be having my solemnisation on stage after the first march-in, cuz when we went to calculate the date, the master also gave us the timing for solemnisation which is 1-3pm! so no choice lor.. ROM on stage. but was also thinking of gg straight to the hotel after gg to my HTB's hse. will see how ba. cuz the timing for fetch-the-bride is also very early.

initially i also din know that relatives will give the angbaos directly to our parents. i still happily budget, assuming we will get the angbao from our relatives :P

my mum did not specifically say how many tables she wan and how much for pin jing. so i guess we will give ard 5tables and S$1K for pin jing, since the other time when my bro got married, they also gave the bride's side S$1K.

think if we say nicely to our parents, they will understand ba. cuz ultimately, we will be the ones footing the bill. dun think they would wanna see us being troubled over money ba?

girls, a little sharing with u all of my thought and what had already happened....

on ur wedding day, no matter how time flies, how busy u may be with guests... have a brother or a sister to remind u -- TAKE A FULL FAMILY PHOTO WITH EACH SIDE (ur hubby and yours).

this is really saddening when i realised i nvr did so on my wedding day.

it's over.

thus, dun be like me... get ur xiongdi jiemei to be the reminder... cos sometimes when crowd is too big, we tend to slip this off our mind...

mrs ho: thanks for the advise. My PG gave me a homework to do and i didnt really pay attention to it. It is a namelist that i am suppose to filled, the Very Important People whom i want their pics to be included, both in candids and in group photo.

On the day itself, PG has an assistant. I am supposed to assign a xiongdi to point out to assistant who they are: impt family members etc so that my 2 PGs wont miss them

From what you shared, i sld start working on the list..

Hi Ladies...

Its scary to read about the horror stories of the tables. My mum was like that too. We really wanted the ROM to be meaningful and just to have the closest family members and friends and it seemed like she wanted the whole neighbourhood there. It was challenging as I was paying for the whole thing myself and I spent a HUGH amount of money on my grandma's cancer surgery, hospital bills and funeral expenses during the same time. It was so sad, she passed away the week before the ROM.

I just honestly told my mum. I cannot give you what I do not have. I don't have the money to give you 20 tables and then for you to keep the ang paos but I'll be ok if you want to pay for the 20 tables and keep all the ang paos from the tables. That's fine with me and I'll come around to take a photograph with them. (Lucky in the end she didn't take me up on my offer *phew!)

I can't stand those chicken back side relatives that like to talk nonsense. Can't agree more that many of the super grand weddings end up in divorces... all the wayang but not meaningful at all. I'm really really glad that we kept ours so small and got to spend time with the people closest to us. Love WAS definately all around that day.

I've updated my photo album with more pics to share...

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=315737&id=709840750&l=0b8966fbb5

mag: i think give AP more appropriate? for me, eg my friend is having a ROM seperately frm her wedding, then i will give a AP on her AD regardless it is lunch or dinner, for ROM will give a small gift.i will also inform my friend beforehand.

bem:like the others said, those AP that is in the AP box, she will leave it, those that my relatives pass to her, she will keep it first and end of the day return all to my sis (and me).
keke, its abt trust la, my parents definately wont secretly keep aside part of the APs. they knows we r the ones footing the bill ourselves and we arent high earners. haha my parents wont be easily swayed or affected by what those kaypo relatives say, they will just ksiao to take so those relatives wont talk or ask so much. =X

thx everyone for their advice =) really appreciate it. I managed to talk to mum last night and in the utter most surprising turnaround. Guess she was caught up in the face thing. She doesnt want tables, and Pin Jin (hee ya i got mixed up) and she wants to pay for the jewellery. From one extreme to the other. =S

but really wary of relatives; words can really sway ple. Think i'll still bao an AP for my parents =p

Mrs Ho, thx for the reminder and your sharing! Guess it must be really hectic on the day itself? Had friends saying its hard to finish the phototaking at the tables. Was it that bad?

magdal: for lunch i gave my friend an AP still.

http://www.danielbeh.com/blog/ - my PG just posted an article on his thoughts on wedding packages. Gd for a quick read. =)

chinzilla: cos on the day itself, we wont really know what will happen and even thou we keep reminding ourselves must do this do that, in the end when we see crowds, we could be nervous/excited, then ar we might just slip the mind in doing the most simple and important "small" thing...

it's very good to list down one by one what u hope ur sisters/brothers can help or remind u...

for me, all my 14 xiongdi jiemei were very free that day... cos i nvr assign anything except reception doing... cos i thought i can rem on my own.... but ar well... over liao...

Mrs Ho: wow you have 14 xds n jms! that must be very awesome in the pics!

Chocolatebasket: Hi! My photographer is very new on the scene leh.. before he takes my wedding pics in 2012, I hope he will have more practice with other weddings first :D

Chinzilla's pg looks good too. The pics are nice

I went with my PG because of the feel they gave me, they are a couple and I just feel that they understand what LOVE and Marriage means so that is why I go with them. and I do appreciate that they try to update me now and then on their progress so I know I am in safe hands.
they dont have a website, still very small as of now. but you can look on FB: Hendra R. Photography

min min 87,
Sometimes, who you engage might not have the best skills or is the most expensive but most importantly someone whom you can relate and work with.

Thanks for sharing. I'll check out their facebook tonite!

By the way, congrats on your upcoming wedding =)

mag: but hers is wedding lunch right? so shld be considered the banquet alr? unless she states its only Solemnization. maybe u can ask her whether hers is solemnization only or AD on tt day?

For those who are interested in JB bridal studios, there's one bridal fair coming up from 18 Feb to 20 Feb at plaza pelangi.. you might wish to check it out.

avatar: keke yes im gg! on 19th feb! :D

mag: hmmm if thats the case, abit tricky. maybe u can check with her again when the date gets nearer?
if not, i think her invitation card shld state ba.

hmm i also had such scenario where my friend invited me for her ROM lunch plus traditional banquet dinner... both in diff days... hmmm if she's a good friend, then just bao her "extra" lor... if just a normal friend, either dun attend one of the functions or for the ROM bao her $50, then dinner bao her $100-120 lor...

any brides here know what i should start doing for my AD on Jan'11?? haha... im reli at lost of what to do....

i had settled my PS & booking of place for AD...

Mrs ho: thx for ur advice! Dun b too sad, think there will b a whole lot of other beautiful memories to make up for the photo taking.

Nefariouskat; I'm going for the engage encounter. U may wanna consider that or the marriage prep course. It's conducted by the catholic society tho I've heard alot of the lessons r not too religion focused n apply to non Catholics as well .

hi kohbros, my wedding was held at Church of St. Teresa. Book as early as you can, as it's very popular. They have 2 timings -- 11am and 3pm.

Lovely day,

your video is super, cos of the dance! gosh your hubby can dance too
Aww..sweet. you are pretty n your gown looks stunning

Thanks for the church info
enjoy your Vday and marriage.
God holds your marriage with His everlasting love!

chinzilla: i juz went to their website and under FAQ, it states that at least one partner must be Catholic. both of us are not

i went to MCYS website.. there's actually a list of places conducting those marriage prep course and saw Fei Yue Community Service (the only name i recognise in the list).. anyone heard any comments on them?

heya nefariouskat: apologies ! Care corner is quite known as well. Maybe u can look through the details and see wat calls out to u?

Just curious is the fees rebursable?

ya, but up to $70 only

think when u go for ur session, can ask the person there how to go about claiming for the $70 cuz it is only claimable upon the completion of the course

hi morning 2012 btb gals ,

how's wedding preparatioon?
who will be our first btb for 2012? Feb now.. so less than a year of preparation liao..

2012 BTB does not have any btb detailed listing to track.. may we shall create one and share online like other BTB threads..

seems like the 2012 is drawing near..

Anyone engage a PG plus a half day VG package?

Any intro from u gals? as i'm currently looking for one for my Jan wedding...

Headache! cuz its seems like most VG are full day service & no hald day (morning) de leh...

Hi all, i'm a BTB in 14 Jan 2012. I'm really lost at what to do. I've only settled my banquet, dunno what else shld be done lor. Anyone can share their wedding packages with bridal studios with me as i'm gg to source and nego for one very soon.

Hi sharon~ welcome welcome. which hotel have you book? wow Jan bride. still left mths only le

Von: not for me yet. but wil engage a half day VG too

sharon: ya which hotel?
me worse... i'm planning 7th Jan... hahaha.. alr told some relatives alr.....!!! but was it hard to book? i think jan is pretty unpopular for weddings rite....

for me, i bot wedding band n BS alr. banquet not yet

Hi bem,

I'm planning for 7 Jan 2012 too. But most of the Hotels ballroom had been booked for 7th.

No choice settled for 7 Jan AD, dinner on 8th Jan.

You better start looking for your banquet real soon!

Great to find a thread wif so many 2012 BTB in here chatting! :D

I've juz booked my banquet at merchant court for 14 March~! :D a weekday though so hopefully e banquet would nt start too late!

hello to the new BTBs!

sharon: kek, im gg JB tmr to check out the BS there. if i sign my package there then i let u know ok?

binary: im still stuck at just booking my hotel n PG. keke now on the lookout for VG!

bemL jia you! hope u find your dream hotel soon!

jean: hi! yours is SMC? the ballroom is gorgeous! i wanted to book SMC very much but my date was taken and i hv a struggle to match up with the min tables so i gv up!

shanna> have fun BS shopping in JB!
BS there give many things..
my sis sign fables.. she took her PS liao..
and brought back many things.. haha.. envy~

we are now pending GPCH next wedding show which is ard april to go book for our banquet which is in dec 2012.. =)

Julia: keke, thanks!! i hope so too! excited!! haha actually, its my first time gg to JB too! if its not for booking my BS, my mum perhaps wont even let me go, and she even asked my sis n BIL to go with me n htb tmr!

welcome our new BTB..

Shanna: ic.. same here nothing done yet..

currently i'm sourcing BS but have similar concern as Sharon... what should we look out for have u book ur BS? what is the basic package like? think have to BS hopping and trying their available gown if possible.. else after package confirm no gown then have to MTM.. additional costs..

Julia: for JB BS, will the sg custom tax us on the package we sign up?
cos we might be bring back big photo frame, big album.. etc.. everything ok for you sis?

Good morning to everyone and welcome new BTB!

Hi Binary, the customs will tax, i got see once a couple holding frames being stopped before at the customs.... maybe you can ask the BS is there a way to deliver it to singapore to avoid the tax..

Seems like so many of u are using BS, i am going to do ala carte for I have always dream of my own wedding gowns.. happen that my MIL is a seamtress.. so we are going to conceptualise my own wedding gown, at least my cheong sam!

Hee hee, super happy today cos come into office boss buy breakfast and see that my PG got new photos to show on his facebook, so really happy that my wedding pics will be in good hands!
Hope all btbs here also have an awesome day ahead! :D