(2012) 2012 Brides to be

mrsho: thanks! i will check them out!
wahaha garden wedding is kinda like my "dream" wedding too LOL! but now, too late!! =X

they have customised background, but that costs... btw i heard my friend said palette pictures increased price wef of this year.. maybe u all can go check out with them further!

garden wedding is relax and fun, provided ur crowd is not a lot... i abit miscalculated this part and nvr expected the majority (mine is 220 pax) to reach before my solemnisation.. a bit out of control...

magdal: oh.. have to look alternative now..
for my case, HTB and i like Conrad but even with table setting of 12, it cant meet my min 40 tables (400pax).. how many tables are you looking for? max? min?

I will shortlist a few BS before i start my next task.. BS Shopping.. this is why i wan to get feedback if any reco BS.

mrs ho: congrat on your wedding, finally over .. tai tai now.. quite active in FB and you have alot of photo to share.. will tell my htb on Eirik as he will be the one shortlisting PG.. quite fun to have instant photo booth.. handmade dolls for JM & XD..

shanna: as for 2nd PG for morning, think we can get XD to take a few shoots at the Groom side also can..

Julia: i have been to BOWS for 3 times too.. haha.. i just tell them that my agenda for today only on venue/hotel/resturant.

thanks binary.. yap i had great funs on sunday, thou time seem to be running out... haha

sabelle, oh u from swiss too? but i guess we have nvr met before ba... :P

sabelle, maybe met before during sch day ba.. hee~ ya i ran thru ur friends' list, and guessed u are from band... :p anyway nice to meet u here! hehe

@julia: hahaha.. that’s funny.. for us, it was really hard to reject, especially those with no ppl in their booth.. they r damn persistent

@magdal: aiyo.. that’s so sad to hear. Once in a lifetime memories lor..

just went to marriott's wedding show. it's so nice there!! only one ballroom and the whole reception area is for your guests. but the thing is, we are having a hard time trying to match their min. tables of 18 cuz we r only inviting those that are really close to us. but the both of us really like it there! n imagine.. 18tables, u can get the grand ballroom. hahaha.. dilemma..

nefariouskat:
huh for marriot grand ballroom, onli need 18 tables?? i tot need 20+ tables for marriot grand ballroom??

nefariouskat: ya loh~~ no choice
what's the package for marriot now??

Sabelle: a band member? me too~

any good ID to intro??

sabelle, magdal: keke im also from the band! =X

im heading up to JB on 20th to check out fables, they r having a wedding show there, but not sure only theirs or with other BS too.
for those interested it is from 18-20th feb at plaza pelangi~

shanna and the girls: rem to ask for MUA to follow out on PS!! it's FOC from JB BS.. unlike sg, it charges to have a MUA to follow outdoor.

Shanna: I'm from Fables. wa later i go n see my package much cheaper, will faint!!

Mrs Ho: no lei.. my BS didnt let me have MUA to follow....
i think depends on which JB BS...

btw, i'm from band too!! wow.. band is a popular eca!

Shanna: nope doing in May. I signed in Dec. but i asked a few brides in the fables thread.. no bad comments on them

i shd hav waited till their fair.. onli 2 mths diff!!

one thing to note, fables dress more plain. if u like elaborate ones, can see venus.

nefariouskat> marriot min 18 tables?!?!
their ballroom so big wor...
they allow min 18 tables meh..
i see their pkg b4 not so little wor.. hmmmm..

bem: thanks~ im not so keen on elaborate ones, but of cos not too plain too~ keke, hv to go see b4 i decide. yup, intending to check out venus n SG bridal too.
i think they had a wedding fair in nov last yr too~ i asked my fren to check out for me cos she lives in JB. but the one in feb, i just asked Fables directly. keke.

Shanna : SG bridal much more ex than Fables. their pg style is rather diff. its either u like it or not.
i feel fables oso changing their pg style to become quite weird. did u see their blog? the photo hav alot of ps effect...
i mayb going down to the fair to see some of their local outdoor pics too

Julia : ya marriot is definitely not min 18 tables. i think nefariouskat wrote wrongly....

i have two friends who signed up with fables, nice pic taken!

hmmm i think so long as u ask for it, insist for it, the BS will give u... it's just how persistent u are... hesitate that u not signing lor if no MUA to follow up.. unless u are good in doing touching up on ur own when at outdoor, if not, ur makeup will turn messy etc due to sweating....

my view lah.. so far my friends sign up with printemp and dawn, both allow MUA to follow out... and one couple per photographer too!

whatever they give u or u ask for, make sure it's written black & white lor in the invoice...

venus indoor shoot is really nice.. total ard 13 background available! but outdoor shoot so-so only.. so it really depend on whether u prefer indoor or outdoor...

mrs ho: mayb cos fables onli hav 1 MUA. if she follow out den no one else can take their ps tat dae??
not sure. but ok la.. got photoshop, i think wont be tat bad :P
ur frens who sign up w fables, do they hav blog that u can share w us?? :P

bem: that's for wedding lunch. think dinner, at least 35tables for weekends

magdal: should be more or less the same as 2011, oni diff is the pricing, of cuz :P

julia: ya, for wedding lunch, min 18tables. actually they increased to min 20 for 2012, but the co-ordinator say they r ok with 18, as long as it is not a hot date

will be going to regent to have a look as well.. since they r also gg to having a wedding show soon. hopefully i will like that place as much as i like marriott ba..

nefariouskat: really?? i'm doing a wedding lunch and so far, i'm always onli looking at those smaller ballrooms.!! i tot those grand ballrooms usually need alot of of tables. me abt 15++ tables. 18 tables shd be fine...

regent ballroom oso min 18 for lunch?

but if the ballroom is so big n u onli hav 18 tables, wont it be v bare and empty??

bem: thanks for sharing, yah i did notice their style kinda changing abit. LOL~ thats why, i wanna look at venus n Sg bridal also. hehe.

mrsho: hehe, printemps n dawn is also from JB ma? wahahaha i saw a PS on printemps website which is in perth, quite nice~ do u roughly know what is the package your frens took for both?

shanna: haiz!! dun remind me.. i didnt like SG style.. i mus tell fables better not gif me tis kinda look! a few photos w tis style is ok. but not e whole album!!!

primtemps.. i dun think their indoor backdrop is v nice.. i see some is super plain. better check on their indoor pics if u intend to take indoors....

happy cny to all!!

shanna: my friend's package from printemps is RM4888.. the basic one lor... but im sure there's top up cost incur in later part.. haha

ya for SG, it's either u like or dislike...

printemps and dawn are under same management i heard... both at JB city square...

bem, mrsho: thanks~ keke.
btw just wanna check with u girls, its like, my sis n some other friends told me, best to view the gowns they hv (for AD) b4 we signing the "contract" cos, later they dont hv any gowns u like then how? cos besides the PS pics, the gowns for AD also v impt... but if at wedding show/fair, they dont display their gowns there, so how to sign b4 seeing???

keke, why i worry is bcos last week went to choose gowns with my elder sis, and out of the many many gowns, only found 1-2 that we liked. evening gowns were more difficult!

shanna: it depends on u.. are u v fussy?? fables say tat if u like e PG gowns u can borrow it for AD.
anw pelangi plaza is near to fables actual shop.
so u can go e shop see e gowns?

fyi, i did try on e gowns b4 signing. but i tried on PG gowns. not e AD gowns.
but ok la. i think gowns.. all abt e same
AD gowns will be more plain than PG gowns thou...

shanna: it's a matter of lucks.. but somehow im sure such a big shop, definitely got a piece of gown that u will love lots! just make sure u maintain ur patience when u go trying the gowns, and just keep digging from the wardrode.... i keep hesitate that none is my best choices, that's only when they start bringing out the best gowns in the shop for u to try on.. if not, the beginning will be normal gowns design... this is my view...

normally PS gowns and AD gowns are two diff ranges... this is how a JB BS works...

unlike in sg BS, gowns for PS and AD must be the same...

bem: ya.. they actually need 20 tables but for those not-so-hot dates, can negotiate 18tables. i did ask if only 18tables, won't it look bare.. they say can cover up with deco.

think i will go regent to have a look.. cuz their nassim room needs min 10tables oni

hello da jia! the cny wkend has come to an end.. but hope all of you had a gd break. =)

have you ladies decided on ur AD photographer? If so, can share?

bem: haha i think all of us would be more fussy on wedding gowns n want the "best" ba, haha cos its once in a lifetime only! and we want to look our best ma! haha! but ok la, im not that fussy la~ =X

mrsho: haha i agree with u but the nicer ones usually hv to pay more right? cos more "premium" like better quality and prettier "blings" on it.

nefariouskat: how many tables u looking for?

if u wan ard 15, u can see Oriental Garden suite. max is 13 tables. its a v pretty room with adjoining area for rom..

some other smaller ballrooms is sheraton - max 144 pax. mandarin orchard - min 150 pax. grand copthorne - various. traders - min 150pax.

hope this helps!

shanna: not necessary to go for the "premium".. i know venus in jb work in this kind of packages... but other than that, places like dawn, SG, printemp, etc all one package for all gowns...

bem: ard 14-16tables. where's oriental garden? mandarin oriental? thanks for the info! i did consider mandarin orchard but read from the mandarin orchard thread that their co-ordinators are not very helpful.

nefariouskat: yup its mandarin oriental.. i think level 5. i visited it during their wedding show. v nice cosy place. but oriental is ex thou.

huh mandarin orchard, e cooridnator v frenly! mine was marie.. but i think i dun wan it there cos i dun really like the steps ballroom. prefer normal looking ones.

in fact, i'm considering restaurants inside hotels, and oso buffets.... hav u considered these?

bem: haha.. actually i like the steps ballroom! at least from the photos, cuz looks unique but then again, later walk halfway down, i fall n roll all the way to the stage :P
hmmm.. mayb can arrange to go there to have a look.
nv considered restaurants leh.. den buffets.. cuz inviting mostly relatives and think old ppl prefer sit-down banquets ba

nefariouskat: u can consider fullerton ballroom... they have steps for u to walk down and march into the ballroom... look very palace style...

Sorry I have to rant. .. and the forum seems like the best place.. I never thot it will happen to me! ugh.

My mum was perfectly happy not taking any drowry and not having tables, coz my and the HTB are footing the bill + his parents are retirees. But after visiting the relatives; they told her for their wedding they gave 30 tables + a big drowry and that got her thinking why she doesn't have that, is it shortchanging herself.

I keep explaining that their family arent the traditional sort + not rich so alot of things they dont view as necessary. But she thinks im siding with them.

i really wish those relatives kept their mouths shut.. SIGH

mrs ho: fullerton is too expensive le
was aiming at less than S$1K per table for our wedding lunch.

chinzilla: 30tables??? juz for relatives? invite who?! 30 tables is like 300pax! sigh.. sometimes, relatives are really double-edged sword. try talking again to ur mum ba. mayb give her like 3-5tables to appease her?

nefariouskat: me oso thinking of lunch! u planning to do rom plus tea all in tat morning? i'm thinking of doing tat but seems v rush..

chinzilla: ur mom doesnt have any tables? meaning nv invite her relatives or nv invite her frens? actually e main thing is to ask ur mom who she plans to invite.. scarly she ask for the tables n end up no one to invite??

cos for my wedding, is oso onli me n my bf footing bill. we dun divide until is whose tables. we jus invite all the necessary relatives plus ask our parents if they have any frens to invite..

dun think i will "give" her tables. coz me and the htb are footing the bill in the end. Kinda taken aback by the sudden about turn once she talked to our relatives.

they had 30 to give coz their wedding was close to 60 tables. mine only 25...But i dun think mum wants the absolute amt.

bem: haha actually we did assign the tables roughly ard 5, and it was quite similar to what you are doing.

but i guess what the relatives mean by tables is that the guy's side foot the bill for the tables, while the bride's side gets to keep the angbaos from the tables.

which is headache.

im crossing fingers its just a phase.. thx for hearing me out !

mrsho: wah really? then thats good to hear! my sis originally took the normal ones, but end up sawing a "premium" gown n that costs extra $300! she was quite relunctant at first, but then we kinda convinced her that since it's once in a life time (and we can see she really liked tt gown) so she took it in the end!

i think Chinzilla's mum (or her relatives) meant the APs for the tables, like if u give your mum 10 tables, then the 10 tables of AP will go into her pocket.
Chinzilla: i think u talk to ur mum again and ask her what she wants first? then u tell her that both u n your hubs is footing the bill, so u cant give her that much.
as for dowry, i thought shld be your mum prepare de? that one is å«å¦† right?or your mum meant the Pin Jin? i believe PJ is a must (for traditon) but also can just give yi ge yisi yisi like that, no need a big sum. kekem maybe bring your mum out for a nice meal, then talk to her nicely over it? as for my mum, they ask for abt 8-10 tables, but the AP she will "keep" for show only, after tt will return to us, and PJ she will also take abit cos she knows we r paying for our own. but me n hubs intend to see how much we hv "left" after our wedding and then give my parents another AP after the wedding.
My mum's relatives also will "talk and ask alot" thats why my mum say need to ksiao abit~ =P

bem: my sis is also doing lunch wedding, she decided to skip the morning crash gate and go straight to the hotel for ROM. tea ceremony will also be done at the hotel.