(2012) 2012 Brides to be

hi all.. been really really busy with work.. i really have alot to catch up with the threads.. my AD has been changed to 1 Oct 2011..

I just got the wedding bands from Love & Co.. They are having a 10% discount for the month of November.. f.y.i. for those we're thinking of getting the wedding bands from there.. =)

anotherday: R u getting new flat or resale? for me, i'm looking for a resale flat.. here's the reply from HDB regarding the presentation of marriage cert when taking AHG.. hope it helps.. =)

If you are buying a resale flat from the open market under the Fiance / Fiancee Scheme with the CPF Housing Grant, you must produce a copy of your marriage certificate before or on the date of completion of the resale transaction.

Nevertheless, we do exercise flexibility based on merits of the individual case, to allow deferment in the submission of the marriage certificate if you are unable to produce your marriage certificate on the completion appointment. We will need to see some documents before we can evaluate your request for deferment of marriage certificate. You will need to submit the following documents by fax at 6490-3666 or by post to Resale Office at Atrium 1st Storey, HDB Hub, Lorong 6 Toa Payoh, Singapore 310480 before resale first appointment (that is, with your resale flat application) :-
Letter from Church or Receipt from the Registry of Marriages (ROM) to confirm the arrangement for solemnisation of the marriage; and/or
Receipt from hotel/restaurant to confirm the booking of wedding banquet.

Sze sze: oops, were u the one who sign with bluebay?
Charlotte: mine is a new flat, maybe still can write in lar.. I thot can't for those who took AHG, if not y their deadline not the same as those w/o AHG.. Anyway, thanks!
Jazz: seems quite useful, at least there's an overview..

haha... ya i saw sggrooms b4.. LOL...
there nth much one la..
got no forum... cos i think those grooms wun bother to participate...
jus look at how much grooms we have here.. haha..

charlotte: meaning we can just show them proof of hotel's contract if we wanna apply for AHG for resale flat? cos HTB n i also intend to get a resale by next yr.

magdal, haha~ all same same la XD I can't access the sggrooms link leh o.O"

mrs ho, omg! you also know angela?? :D (stalking ppl randomly in FB cuz too sian at work lol)

girls, next time when u all arrange parents' meeting, pls do not go for dim sum... so cold lor the atmosphere, cos everyone shy shy, dun dare to order dim sum.. best if just go for a set menu... :p

i settled my si dian jin yesterday.. so exp lor the gold now even thou i only picked a damn thin gold necklace... and my white gold ear-rings with total 0.3c diamond is much more exp than my gold too... my MIL immediately say wow so exp ar when she heard the ear-rings price, but still get it for me in the end.. haha

mrs ho, angela kang lol~

I very scared of arranging parents' meeting! -_- Will be quite awkward... :P Thanks for the tip! Wouldn't have thought of it haha

Your MIL dotes on u leh, so nice of her!

ya during the dim sum ordering, both parents are like "anything anything", then my bf not auto enough, keep asking me to ask my parents what they want... but answer is forever "anything". quite awkward lor... then dunno how to start out a conversation as both parents are those quiet quiet type ones...

ya MIL asked me to choose the si dian jin mysf... then i feel very paisei to pick too, nvr open mouth ask anyone to buy me anything before mah, somemore will be costing so much.. so i keep sticking on to the thinnest gold... then i nvr expect white gold with diamond to be much more exp as after checking out the price for gold necklace/pendant/bracelet that i picked which is few hundreds each...then who knows when calculate the final total, it was a shock, then we realised the ear-rings are so exp ($1800)..

Serynn: you got to copy with those numbers behind

mrs ho: most couple arrange parents meeting on the food tasting. think i will make it on the foos tasting time, so what ever they dont like on the food. still can talk to the chef

where you got your si dian jing??

magal: i got my si dian jing from poh heng...

gold necklace 500
gold bracelet 200
gold pendant 200
white gold + diamond ear-rings 1800

plus a white gold + diamond pendant and a gold necklace for the AD which MIl will put it on me... these set is ard 1500.

hmmm my mum had a meet up with my HTB parents last month for the viewing of our banquet ballroom... my dad was not ard as he had to work during the weekends...
Throughout the meeting, both side are so paisey... somemore my mum is so called one against two... hahaha...
but heng they still do chit chat around... & we still went for dinner after that....
actually we as the person who know both side should try to let them mix around bahx..
think the next meet up will be during food tasting period whcih might be next 4th quarter (as my AD will be on Jan 2012)....

von: i reckon so.. cos it's not a set that i bought.. i just randomly pick and match... the sets are too thick and exp! plus gold si dian jin to me is just a yi shi yi shi... i actually can go without, but just to please my parents since they "want" me to have it... :p

Shanna: Yup.. But they mentioned that its case by case basis, but I heard usually not a problem.. Just make sure you submit the document that indicate the date you intended to get married before your 1st HDB appointment.. =)

charlotte: thanks! will ask htb to check it out with his agent.

mrs ho: keke, my parents n htb's mum can get along v well, been to dinner tgt a few times and they always invite her to our place n then continue chatting for another 1-2 hrs. >.<"" LOL!

keke, yah that's quite a relief for us. but both my parents n his mum is quite easy going ppl, so i think thats why they can click~ LOL!

mrs ho: quite cheap wor~

Von: haha~ dont see much guys chatting in there :D

shanna: my mum keep asking me to bring my htb parents out with us. but i dont dare~

cheap ar? haha... a bit scare scare to pick the jin wor... :p

anyway i just online registered my wedding date.. yeah~ and it costs $26 for the registration, fyi.

mrs ho, wa~ really quite cheap! I think HTB's mum has a gold ring to pass to me, then just buy 3 more items can liao. :D

shanna, so good leh! my parents and his parents totally different... my parents those business ppl, very ya ya type, then his parents those down-to-earth and quiet type... dunno how to communicate lol

i dun tink MIL will buy si dian jing lor...

Cuz my HTB mention that his mother already prepare a gold necklace for me.

Planning to have my ROM in march n i haven plan anything yet!!!

jas, you also teochew? I think at least for teochew it's kind of mandatory... (otherwise the elder generation will !@#$%^)

First, book solemnization venue (decide on no. of pax and whether u wan lunch/high tea/dinner), book JP, then remember to file notice of marriage at ROM website 21 days before. Then prep ROM dress, partner's shirt/tie/pants, MUA, photographer, notify witnesses-to-be, invitations, and solemnization venue's setting/decor. I hope I din make it sound too complicated. :x

hi serynn,

no.. i m not teochew.. but thought that MIL willl always prepare all this for the bride?

I will be doing a small event... the headache part is the venue plus i haven got a JP yet... lolx

but nowadays the oldies even thou not a teochew will feel if the daughter marry without a si dian jin, the daughter is like a cheap-stake..

mrsho: hmmm i think to each of his own ba, my parents r very easy going, they just request the norms, nvr ask for much PJ(just abit yisiyisi can alr) or tables (AP will return to us). keke they knw my hubs side not those rich/well off family so they wont request much.

Ya ... headache with my inlaws and my parents. FIL is those high flying executive and my parents are the simple kind . You know the simple aunties and uncles . I scared my ROM do small small then the qing diao clash .
Some more i am getting very confused with the traditions le. My in laws are christians den say some practices are very un christians and den yet want some traditions to be included making me very confused . Luckily I am daughter don't need to follow the proper wedding stuff else my grandparents will want all the frills. Sigh .

Mrsho : the flowers are really very nice.

jas, unless your parents request, then I think dun really need.
Book JP first! Their schedule v v packed one (at least the more popular ones)~

shanna, so good... my htb's side also not rich/well-off, but my parents will still request for many tables + they want to keep the AP. -_-

Gen, ya I so understand... but is opposite situation... MIL and FIL simple uncles aunties type, but my parents are business ppl... the qing diao confirm v weird. -_-" I think chinese traditions haf nth to do with religion ba? Other than having a church wedding, I don't see much differences for weddings for my christian friends... what traditions do they wan to include?

Serynn, shanna: my HTB also not rich/well off too. lucky my parents didnt request much from him.
But is my brother who me to give this and that.

all the expenses we paying by ourself

Gen: Guess my in law knows that they cant give me anything. so they didnt say anything if i having church wedding.

nope my inlaws want to eliminate every other traditions except the Church - Tea Ceremony - Dinner . Other than that they don't want anything else.
Headache.

My parents are not the not well off type . just that my family is very traditional. e.g. the ping jin and stuff . I think my parents will want that lo .
Imagine my niece/nephews have to follow the name system - Surname / Generation name / Given name

Gen: Actually religion &amp; tradition are 2 different issues. My husband is a catholic, but i'm not. We still go through the customs and inlaws are okay with it.

Was thinking probably it's because we paid everything ourselves (only receive $400 token wedding angpao).. hubby elder brother got married a yr before us and inlaws fork out abt $60k to help them with their wedding. so they really participate throughout the whole wedding process.

Probably you and hubby can settle everything yourself. Can save some trouble &amp; less quarrel.