(2012) 2012 Brides to be

helo all!

tis been some time. =)

btw, anyone interested in goodwood park?! they've got wedding package up till sep 2012.
can send u guys if u wan. =)

Xiaoyan: Probably you might want to increase your budget just in case overspent. It's 3 weeks away from my wedding. Just did a final calculation. Didnt know i spent so much $$. My whole wedding expenses come up to $60k. Paid $44k so far. Balance of $16k to pay on AD.

Mine was just church wedding, follow by lunch banquet. Nothing in the evening. I think even if i recover angpao.. my nett expense will still be abt $40k.

avatar82 : y u spend so much? but good thing is i don even have 60k savings la so definitely wont spend that amt. To me, wedding is for show only so wont spend so much la.

avatar, WOW, thats alot, how come so much??? o.O
i did my calculations, estimation on the main things like, BS, MUA, AD PG, VG, AP, GDL, PJ all these add up to abt 13K for now. for the more basic things ba. anymore things i need to take note off?

xiaoyan: 10K might not be enuf. maybe need to add in another 4-5K extra just in case.

hi jazz: goodwood park is not bad, but too ex for me le. =(

shanna: let me explain to u, haha..
My BS is 3k, wedding lunch is bout 5.8k, AD photography i can just get 4hours pkg wic is bout 500+ only. i don have any GDL. PJ is given my HTB and my parents wont take all.

Xiaoyan: hmm.. i also dun know why i spent so much. Probably we plan early and the expenses were spread over 2 yrs. so didnt feel the heart pain until we do the calculation.

Banquet ($18k)
Honeymoon ($12k)
Proposal ring + wedding jewellery($12k)
Bridal package+MUA+bridal car ($4.5k)

and the remaining $14k go to miscellaneous items like wedding band/ PG/VG/florist/helpers angpaos/card printing etc etc...

avatar82: cuz u stil got honeymoon, i think dat one can wait ba, anytime also can go..
My proposal + wedding rings only cost 2.3k. Aft all wedding bands for daily wear, don needa buy so exp ba. I mean is up to individual ba.

xiaoyan: icic.. then shld be enuf ba..

sigh, as the days go by, so scary lor. more n more money spent.
feel like not having any banquet lor, just ROM, take the money n go honeymoon better. =X

there are certain things which you need to take note

-> Topping up of photos (Alot of my friends, even the super giam one can resist topping up photos. you might need to set aside another $1k to $2k on this area)

-> Even for a simple church wedding, there is alot of hidden cost? Engaged encounter course: $200, church rental: $200, floral deco: $500, angpaos to choir/altar boys/priest etc: $400 and others. for your event, you need to buy wedding shoes?? some accessories? pay for your parents clothes & makeup? manicure/pedicure etc. hehehe.. there are alot of small items which you don't find it expensive at first. But u will be surprised when everything add up to quite a substantial sum.

Shanna: To be frank with you, i'm regreting having banquet now. cos it's tedious monitoring guest attendance/do table arrangement. If i can choose again, I would rather just fly my close family to Bali for a small cosy wedding and go for a longer honeymoon. hehe.. banquet is a waste of time.

Shanna: i also thot of jus rom then honeymoon but cannot still got relatives..

avatar82: lucky i not havin church wedding, my BS pkg alr incl parents and in-laws clothes. I gg to let my mum us the trial make up that is FOC. I only have one bridesmaid, no jiemeis so i guess wont spend alot on angbaos..

avatar: precisely! alot of small things add add add into a big sum... now i also feel so stress abt the guest list and the budget.feel so heartpain for bf cos he is studying n working PT!
every time i calculate my costs, it will go UP, UP and UP. geez.

avatar: no wor. mine is less than 1.5 yrs.

ed jes: our ADs are all in 2012. mine is feb 25th.
u can scroll up n see the previous posts for the list.
i think only 1-2 of us here changed to 2011.

Shanna: I see. I actually tot of doing it on the 29th Feb but it's a weekday so change to 28th Jan.

Yah no choice but to sum up lah if not really overspent then jialet liao.

OneRochester $26,000
bridal package $3,600
AD MUA $950
MUAs for 2 mothers/3 sisters $380
doll-gifts for jiemeis/xiangdis $560
AD PG $1900
AD lunch catering at home $900
door gift $300

ok these are the so-called fixed amounts liao..

no idea what are the miscellaneous costs, cannot remember any... haha

so i guess a 50k in budget is pretty safe? :p

avatar: yes totally agree. quite a few of my frens also think that banquet is just like acting for family to see. wow your rings are expensive!! where are they from??

anyone have experience of wedding at Seafood Paradise at flyer?

Is there a difference having banquet at restaurant or at a hotel?? (other than price of cos..)

bem: yes, actually restaurant food usu taste much better than hotel food.
but may not look as grand or as "pretty" as hotel. either than tt, not much really.

bem: My proposal ring is from gold heart. About $6k. The other $6k was a set of si dian jin bought by hubby for my wedding. My wedding band was only $1.3k from lee hwa.

hmm... banquet at hotel, u get to stay in the suite?

hi all~~

first time in this thread.. =)
i'm a 2012 BTB too~~

dec 2012 to be exact.. haha..
have booked my BS..
now looking ard for venue.. LOL..
ok i know i'm v kiasu.. =x

julia: dont worry, u r not KS. shld start booking now alr. cos many hotels are open for booking for 2012 alr. some alr hv slots taken up. early is better than last min.

xiaoyan: not all inlaw wil buy de. some couples fork out on their own. my sis too.

eva: i was also thinking of gold and red theme. But i guess depends on what is the colour of my evening gown. cos can't be too off from the theme or worst still blend in with the table cloth. haa.

wow, i think my total costs will sum up a lot too cos of the no. of tables i am getting. hopefully the ang baos can cover at least 75% of the banquet cost. then my total costs will be somewhat below $50k.

bem: i think for restaurants there are no hotel stays. not sure if some restaurants do tie up with the hotels not. but food is definitely better and place is more cosy.

shanna> haha.. ya.. but mine is dec 2012...
more den 2yrs to go.. LOL..
my bf always say i so KS.. everything oso wanna settle so fast.. >.<

i know tung lok classics tie with orchard parade hotel...
den pearl river palace they do provide hotel stay too.. but not specified in their pkg..
and peach garden miramar tie with miramar hotel..

julia: haha its ok la. my bf also thought i was KS. now he knows im not. cos many places filling up esp our date is a popular date as well.

some restaurants do tie up with hotels for room stays. can enquire with them.

shanna> when is ur AD?

ya lo.. all these men...
must really wait till things cock-up den they realise its too late.. >.<

xiaoyan> afterall the si dian jin is for show only...
if not glam enuff is oso the in-laws no face.. =x
opps.. hehe.. =p

Xiaoyan: Yup.. SDJ usually bought by MIL. MIL bought me 1 set of SDJ. My hubby bought me another set.

Julia: It's gd to settle everything early as price of banquet goes up every yr.

avatar> ya lo! banquet price increase every yr..
but not all venues open for booking cos my date in dec 2012..
most i think open up till mar2012 at the moment?
so i oso cant book yet.. haha..

yup, for SDJ, i think maybe i ask my MIL gimme big AP instead better lor. =X
im not keen on gold.. wahahaha~

Julia, i think most will be out next yr.

some hotels they might allow, bargain abit lor. hehe. lock the price down. :D

Shanna: hahaha... Angpao also good. hehe.. can spend on things u like.

Julia: If your wedding is in Dec 2012, most probably by nxt yr march will know the pricing liao. I also booked around 1.5 yrs earlier. Really cheaper.

Avatar: oic. i didnt see the si dian jin thingy..

Julia: wow. u jus started research n u alr noe so much!! thanks thanks..

Mulia: i'm going down mandarin orchard on Mon to see the mandarin court
Marie is e coordinator. yup she is really nice n enthu!

still considering between hotel n restaurant. cos anw i dun want a grand affair. just a simple meal will do.. anyone attended at humble house or flyer?

Bem: flyer? u mean megu? hmm.. i went to Megu to attend wedding before.. the food so so only.

For restaurant, probably you can try peony jade? hehe.. nice nice...

shanna: yaya.. tt date soo popular.. we called a few places..all gt tentative booking.. or already booked.. like SMC, grand cop, hotel intercon, hotel RE....how's ur sourcing?

szesze: still deciding.. i went to see amara le. stil not bad. also looking at M hotel n carlton. gg for site visit next week. then decide btw these 3.
i think acacia also hv problems with booking with hotels. hope we all find our dream hotels soon!

xiaoyan: congrats!