(2012) 2012 Brides to be

actually i ask my sis, she say no need to get MUA to do for my sisters n mum(s). they say only simple make up but they charge $60 n abv, bo hua..
plus, i got budget.
my mum also say she no need.

actually, i think on the day itself, u can give under table money to the MUA from your BS to do make up for your sisters and mums... no one will say no to extra cash...

shanna: http://www.weddingbeetle.com/ this car co quoted me $280 for renting of their beetle car for 24 hrs, exclude petrol.. so far this is the cheapest quote i got... some others chop the price high up to $400 lor!

ya i oso just need a simple makeup plus blow a simple pom pom hair for the mothers, for sisters just a simple makeover... i did come across a cheapest rate of $50 from a MUA - Wendy Lau, she do makeup for Jack Neo and co too... hmmm still considering her... hehe... mothers will forever say dun need to makeup, but we also hope they stay pretty on our wedding day mah... hehe

jean: our own bridal makeup will take 1.5-2 hrs... do u have so much spare time for ur MUA to makeup for your mothers too? cos for a simple makeover for each mother take 30-40 min... by the time, your schedule to start the dinner might be delayed cos your mothers are not ready yet... this is my view...

mrsho: thanks!
hmmmm, i think hair will ask them go salon to do bah~ then we pay for them.
(both our mums hv short hair, so easy to handle!)
make up wise, i think we will still KIV lor, see if our budget allows.

shanna: the bridal shop do provide me with a merz car, petrol and driver... but cos i prefer beetle car, my htb will drive himself, so we dun need a driver...

Gen: shortlisted Novotel CQ as one of the hotel. cuz hotels the ballroom very small so very little choice..

Sze Sze: i think i asked Noble Hse b4, dun think can do so many tables.. u try asking?

Shanna: i think own sis n mum,MIL will engage a pro MUA to do for them, for jie meis i think will ask them to go salon n do themselves.. LOL

ALL: I've set up a wedding blog, do support.. hehe. http://kaisuezwedding.wordpress.com

suesue: my sis initially signed up for my dream wedding too. but after paying deposit, she kinda regretted n switch to another bridal for TW package.. her frens told her abit overcharged for the HK one.

hmmm regarding MUA, i will consider lor, if i can engage a MUA who can bargain with for grp de, then maybe i can consider... arbo budget constrained.

mrs ho: cos i nvr engage bridal, i think driver is my hub's fren bahs.. maybe wont get a "branded" car, just borrow from his frens. :D
( or maybe i askmy hairstylist can loan me his jaguar anot. :p)

Hi gals... Im not new here, disappear for 2mths and now im back. u gals are so active in this thread. Thanks for all the wonderful info. *kudos*

Juz a brief intro, I am 2012 bride, havent got my dates yet. Bf and myself are both rat. Im still pondering whether to hold a banquet or a simple buffet leh... right now, im tinkin of booking a Villa in sentosa to hold my wedding/ solemnization bt the max capacity is 50pax. dunnoe if its enough... bt i tink its special to hold in a villa leh... wat u gals tink leh?

mrs ho: hmm... yah hor... oh well.. either way, i'm sure that i'll be getting a MUA for the mums n one of my cousins who's lk a younger sis to me...

kiko: welcome back!! hmm.. 50pax isn't alot... unless you're only inviting your close relatives.. but villa will have a special feel i guess...

kiko: 50 pax do tables like very empty cos only 5 tables... buffet looks nice as you can mingle around with your guests and chitchat with them, take photos, etc...
Villa at Sentosa is nice!

shanna: mmm, im juz gonna do everyting together. solemnization/ wedding. mi and bf have decided not to hold banquet, i dun really like traditional banquet feel... and of coz no $$$$, budget constraint lo...haiz...

Jean: yes, special feel, bt do u tink its similar to those poolside event? im only plannin to invite relatives bt bf side alrdy have like 40pax liao... faintz.. m still liasing w the wedding planner bt they like not very prompt leh...

Ms Ho: mmm, empty arh.. i dunnoe leh, coz if buffet hor, will it b 'ma fan' for the elderly? and do i have to include 'buffet' in my invitation card arh??? if relatives see buffet, hongbao lesser liao...sob sob... *hehe* bt of coz, im prepared for tat liao.

kiko: yup actually we r also quite "tight" cos bf still studying overseas. so trying hard to save from now til wedding lor.
doing a simple one also.

my wedding also gg to do buffet but sit down type. ehhh, dont intend to include the word "buffet" lehs. :p

kiko: dun have to include "buffet" in your card... for me, im also doing buffet dinner... just invite them and let it be... hahaa~ or you just gotta explain to the relatives that it's not those cheap home buffet, tell them you are treating them something good...

but hor, even if u put buffet, i dont think they will so "mean" to give u very little...
as in, they will still give at least 60-80 per pax bah.

kiko: usually on the invitation card, they'll just write groom and bride cordially invites you to their wedding celebration at venue on date at time... it's quite generic... doesn't matter whether it's hotel or outdoor or pool or at a chalet...
i kinda feel like doing it at a chalet or restuarant.. a lil tired of the hotel setting.. i want my wedding to be a celebration.. not everyone just sit down and eat and my hubby n i walk in and thats all kind... sigh...quite a headache on this...

Shanna: wah... 60-80?? i think i'll feel paiseh to give that amt loh.. doesn't matter if it's a buffet. I think 100 should be an amt that i can feel good about giving...

woot woot! Shanna and mrs ho doing buffet too… good good… at least I can get more info frm you gals… hehe… okie, got it gals, so I dun have to include the word ‘buffet’.

Shanna: yes, trying to save also lo… doing banquet or should I say wedding is not a cheap ting nowadays. Very stress lo…lol

Jean: yes, it’s a villa w a private pool. Here’s the link: http://www.silosobeachresort.com/villas.htm
Funny ting is that they dun have the floor plan / much pics for the villa, have juz spoken to them liao, askin for all the relevant info.

Ive alrdy added the group 2012BTB hehehee… my email [email protected]

Mrs ho: hao de.. if they ask then I’ll have to say tat…keke…

Btw gals, buffet type no food tasting de arh? I juz spoke to the coordinator and she say buffet dun have food tasting leh. Wonder how the food will be like, coz they do not allow external caterer…

kiko: oh...my bf brought me there before but not the villa la... just the resort side... should be a different side. Anyway, it would be nice to hold it there.. coz it's tucked away from all the hustle and bustle.. and good for cozy celebration. Hmm...maybe u can set an appointment with them to ask to look at the place.. always have a look at the place before placing any booking...

kiko: mine is external caterer, so i can try the food.
but i alr had good feedback from my frens n my BF use this caterer during their events so shld be not bad.

Shanna: no wor, I juz spoke to the coordinator, she told mi she can only close 1 eye if its 55 pax including kids… haiz... need to go see see the place first…

Jean: thanks thanks… yesh, mi also dun like traditional hotel style leh… feel so near yet so far from the guest… :P both our parents are okie w buffet style, hopefully, the elderly dun mind also.

Aiyo, u dunnoe the guest lo… $60-80 is good enough liao leh… I heard frm my frens tat some give $50 hong bao for wedding banquet leh… or $100 for the whole family leh, u neva know.. also depends on the guest u invite.

yah... i totally agree w u that some guests are really stingy.. i've even heard of those that give empty angbaos... *shake head* what has the world come to... haahaa... i guess at the end of the day, it's how well u know that person an who you invite.. i guess those that give such small angbaos are those relatives or friends of parents that have totally no idea who u are.. can't blame them also...

Mrs ho: cool~actually thought of holding at oneochester, very cosy place rite and heard good comments bout the food there leh… tat’s b4 I find the villa, so now decided to hold in the villa…hehe

Jean: ic ic… u mean the pooside? How u feel arh? The coordinator recommend poolside if I wan 70-80pax, like tat I can get frm any poolside in town liao wat… notin special to mi…

Yes, will arrange a mit up w them and have a look at the place. have wait till my bf is free…

Shanna:
how come all of u can try the food sia… arggggg….. I wanna try the food there also…bt not allowed… where u holding ur wedding arh???

suesue: yup have checked with them..they can put up to 50++ tables.. so shld be ok..coz i like their interior deco.. althu some tables may be blocked by the pillars, i dont care! whahahaa

jean:
true true… so muz really shortlist the guest… for mi, I cant do much also… Wont b inviting much frens only those close one and most of it are relatives… ive got no choice..hehe

kiko: i will be most prob holding at FCP.
regarding my guest, mostly is relatives, frens for my n HTB is arnd 4-5 tables MAX. (all single except a few).
will inform the relatives that we r holding a small wedding only, so not to bring their kids.

Sze Sze: really??!! i tot they can't do that many tables.. LOL
i'm shortlisting Pioneer Spring @ Mt Faber and Hilltop @ CSC.. my bf's fren got very high praises for Hilltop, she even gaf them a $100 angpow when they r losing $3,000+..

kiko: their pool ok la... just very open loh.. then u cannot stop people from going to the pool coz it's not a private area unless they willing to close the area. my htb n i did consider holding our ROM there if we wanted to do it separately. not a bad environment... different pools have different feel to it.. so u gotta go take a look w your hubby and see if it's the right feel for your celebration..

suesue: wow!! Pioneer Spring so good ah.. i quite like Mt Faber's environment... very serene... maybe i should ask my htb if he wanna short list tt place...

kiko: if it's a private caterer, it sound more reasonable if cant taste the food... but if it's part of the villa, i dun see why cant taste the food..... what is the food yuck?? then you will be paying for bad thing liao lor... my view lah... if the food is nice, why are they "afraid" of you tasting it? it can be a small portion with you n your htb tasting only... try one mouth on each dish also better off wor...

sue sue: both the place looks good...

jean: hao de... will go take a look. hopefully someting i like then i dun have to stress bout venue anymore...hehe...

hi all! guess ive missed tons of stuffs here. heh.

suesue:
hilltop food nt bad! =) but service average thou. but in terms of accessibility tis quite ok. bt batok mrt is within walking distance and i guess they have shuttle bus as well? =)

mrs ho: i dun see y i cant taste too. like ya said, wat if the food not nice...*stress* im really gonna demand for it, if ive decided to book the place....

btw gals, im juz wondering, how come buffet more expensive compare to normal banquet arh?

kiko: ya u are right.. some pple like me before always think outdoor buffet will be cheaper than hotel banquet... end up my outdoor buffet cost is more expensive than 5* hotel wor... hehe

mrs ho: WAHHHHHHHHH~
actually, dun mind i ask u ladies, arnd how much r your budget for your wedding?? as in, any amt u all set??? or just pay whatever u hv to?

Kiko: not really depending on how u compare.. a table on average for hotel is about 1k++ per table which is about 100++ per pax, buffet is about 70-80 per pax.. restuarant is about 500++ per table so definitely less than 70 per pax...

why buffet more ex than restuarant? coz they gotta add in the costs of the equipment and stuff.. and if the kitchen is not there then travelling fee is also considered in their costs..

Shanna: our budget is no more than 60k inclusive of reno for our home.. so if spend more on reno then lesser on banquet. if less on reno then got more to spend on banquet.

shanna: yup, buffet lo... the coordinator told mi cannot have food tasting leh. its their internal caterer wor...

mrs ho: YA LO!!!! y is tat possible leh? all along thought buffet is cheap leh, mayb not more than wat i have to fork out for banquet, bt when they send mi the quotation, im like... WTH MAN!!! lol..

shanna: i nvr set any budget yet until i went to onerochester and the planner give me a quote of $142 nett initially! i faint when i saw the quotation! i was expecting around $100 nett leh... haahaaa.. then after sitting down and discuss with my htb, he knows i like the place lot, so we just go ahead with it even thou it's over our so-called per head budget, in later part my htb managed to bargain the cost per head down to $130 nett... we just think it in another way that if we do hotel banquet, we might need more than 50 tables too, cos my family tree very wide.. if we do at onerochester at 200 guests, in this way we do cut down some costs liao... (we save on inviting 300 guests more) at least at this "wu lu" place, my relatives would rather i dun call on them... anyway i still hold a buffet lunch at my house in the afternoon, most of them will attend the afternoon... so night time is mainly friends and colleagues, with some real close relatives lah...

Jean: like wat mrs ho mention, our buffet is more than a 5* banquet leh... mine cost bout $130 per pax and not including drinks...

Shanna: we only intend to fork out 20k (hopefully lesser) for our wedding... since its small and simple

as for reno, mmm, i still dunnoe, bt not a big issue for mi atm...

kiko: wow ur $130 exclude drink?? mine still got free flow of juices/soft drink/coffee/tea till party end, plus 25 bottles of red/white wine, plus 30l barrel of beer...