(2012) 2012 Brides to be

wah, so strict ah.
But then very hard for us to look for the gown that we like before sign up lor. At least they should let us see.. (_ _)!!

shuhua, not only to look at their gowns, but also on their PG's style...

Suesue: my htb specialist..

Shuhua: you get an idea of the kind of gowns that they carry from their pictures.. Maybe you can research on the type of gown n look that u want then see if they hv any loh.. They might or might not show u their actual gowns. U interested in any BS in particular?

Hello everyone! I'm newly engaged. It's an exciting time now... (^_^) We are deciding on either FEB or JUN 2012. Hope to get some good tips from you girls!

I am interested in overseas PS, aiming to go Aust, New Zealand or Taiwan. So far, I only know Bluebay and Julia Wedding News provide oversea packages (including AD). Any idea which BS also provide same services? Dunno where and how to start BS hunting. Headache..

Shuhua: actually most BS offer overseas PS, juz whether their photography skills is as good..
My dream Wedding is a HK company so their main location is in HK, they haf their own specific location for shoot. they aso do TW, NZ.. can go n check out them, their photography is GOOD!!

PS style and PG skil are very important. Normally when you go enquiry or attend those wedding fair, consultant will show you a lot of album sample, gown photos etc. Depend on your preferance, style can be simple & natural; grand; lively & fun etc.
Sometimes, hear from other brides' opinion may help in making decision.

I have friends doing overseas shoot in taiwan with CangAi the album looks quite good. but in my opinion, I dont see the point of overseas shoot. =p I am very practical, I rather spend it on quality furnishing for the house.

If excluded airfare and accomodation etc, fly Taiwan considered a better deal. My friend flied Taiwan last Dec, the package is only S$2k and have a lot of poses, more pages, more hairdo/# of gown for PS etc compared to take in Singapore.

Acacia: Congrats and welcome to the "club"!! Hee..

Personally, I feel that a wedding album is one which the couple can take out 20yrs later, after being left in a corner for ages, and still be able to bring back memories of that day. Whether it's overseas PS or local, as long as it was a fun day, it'll be a great album. If u wanna talk about senery in SG, I'm sure there are lots of places. You just gotta search around. But if u n ur htb has the extra cash, no harm doing an overseas PS.

Just last week, my htb n I were doing some sums and realised that the banquet n renovation will come up to slightly over $60k. And there's only 2.5yrs to save tt amount. So my dream of getting 2 different PG to do my PS is gone liao.. Not to even mention doing an overseas PS... Oh well.. But I guess it'll all be worth it when I see tt our house is done up beautifully.. =D

Jean ~ Thanks for warm welcome! (^o^)

I have the same views like you... That the album will be left to collect dust after the wedding. Or like what Kelly said, rather use the money on house. But it's quite tempting to for overseas PS though... The skies are nicer there!

If take overseas PS, we have to incur more costs for gowns on AD?

I agree with Jean, at the end of the day, after a tough day at work, it's really good to go back to a comfortable and relaxing home. =)

Acacia: usually if the BS that brings u for your overseas PS will also cater the gowns for ur AD.. The only extra costs will be the air tix n lodging.. Unless u only engage them for the PS... Which really isn't cost effective.. A local PS + AD gowns n stuff will cost anything from $2800 to $5600.. Depending on the "brand" of the BS...

**WAVE**

Hi, wow! looks like i had miss out quite a fair bit from this forum and now more and more 2012 BTB. Was discussing with my htb earlier on and we decided to have our wedding on March 2012 (subjected that the date is ausp.) cuz our flat will be ready by 1st quarter of 2012 (anyone knows will it be earlier for hdb bto?).

I need some help here, as i had reformat my computer sometimes back, many checklist previous kind brides here sent me had gone! sob, so anyone have any wedding-related checklist can you pls send me?

Jean ~ Wow... That's a lot of added costs for wedding.. Considering the hotel banquets will be approx $1.2k/table during 2012, I think overseas PS is out of our budget. Oh well, we'll go browse at the upcoming bridal show this weekend, and the one at June. Have you signed up for BS and PS? When's your wedding day? ;D

Karen ~ Hello! Are moving in to Punggol Arcadia? My friend told me his will be ready by 1Q 2012 too.

hey Acacia-Aoki, would you like to consider bridal package for resale? cos on hand i have a pretty comprehensive bridal package to let go of at any reasonably offer from you as i plan to go overseas for PS and do not see a need to hang on to local PS...
if you are looking for further way to save up more in your wed planning, this might just help you up.. anyway, i welcome you to email me if you are keen to know more details...

cheers~

Hi Acacia!

Nope, mine is in yishun, Dew Spring. Hopefully it will be on March 2012. Otherwise we gotta push our wedding earlier to Dec 2011 which is next year! Gosh, up till now nothing is plan.

Well, any bride here gotten any hotel package for 2012? I shall be sending email to respective hotels nx week.

Acadia: there's a wedding show this weekend?? hmm.. we've gotten the BS last year. Was just walking around then end up kena dragged into their roadshow. LOL.. The PS is open for 5years so we have until 4Q 2014 to take. I think maybe coz we were not actively looking for a BS at that point of time so they threw in lots of stuff to entice us to sign w them. Their gowns are quite pretty. Went to look at them a few months back to set my mind at ease. I guess those bad comments were posted up by their competitors. So if you happen to read any forum about any BS, do keep an open mind coz it could be their own people trying to push their own sales numbers or competitors trying to put others down. Best if you and your HTB can go to the BS tt you guys are interested in and take a look.

Mrs Ho ~ I'd just sent you an email. Actually, we won't be selecting BS until after hotel in confirmed. Taking a step at a time. ;)

Karen ~ Oh... From what I gather, a lot of hotels are snapped up for 2011 already. Initially we were thinking of Dec 2011 (Dates given by Master).
But decided against it coz we rather go for 2012 so to not worry about banquet booking.

Jean ~ Morning! We're going after lunch. Here's the link: http://www.wedding-travel.com/wt/exhibition.asp .
Wow! Did you done any research prior the sign up? My gf also got pulled into BS roadshow on a normal shopping day.
Lucky for her, the BS has good reputation. She haven't try the gowns though.
I'm more skeptical... It's hard for me to commit without research. I'm a terrible customer! Haha!
I'll update you after the our trip to the bridal show.
Hope to see hotel booths, and that they'll reveal possible price package for 2012.
PS: Which BS did you signed up?

i agree with jean... sometime communication with the bridal shop is very important too.. dun expect others to know what u want... best is to raise up ur concern before your gown fitting and PS... work get done better with good and positive communication...

keep an open mind makes our wedding preparation nicer~ haha

my view..

Acacia: Wow!! seems like alot of masters are promoting 2011 for wedding.. My master also told us to do end 2011 beginning 2012 before CNY but then time too short alr.. so we still wanna stick to our original plan. at least got more time to save and not so tight w the budget. Having more cash on hand is always better than having just enough. then at least not so stressed.
I didn't do any research at all. Same like your gf loh. Normal jalan jalan day with my bf at suntec and then kena pulled loh.. LOL.. how far their reputation go, i'm not sure. But then i did call them up after reading more and more bad comments that i wanna meet up with the lady that we signed with. Then i told her what i read and she say that i can judge for myself loh..good or no good is up to individual coz each bride got different wants and needs mah..then she let me try one WG n EG.. which was quite pretty but the WG i alr have an idea of what i want so nearer the date maybe i go try their gowns see got any that's similar to what i want.
i guess everything just take them as they come bah.. sometimes a very reputable BS but u buay gam w them also LL... so maybe just trust ur gut feel then wun go wrong bah..nothing is more important than the right feel..
anyway, my BS is universal bridal..at toa payoh there one..

Jean ~ Yea... Many of my friends are getting hitched during 2011! But I'm happy with my Feb 2012 date. When the hotels release the price package, we can be the first few to book. ;D

Today's Bridal Show is more for Taiwan BS. We concluded that we will consider local BS only. We like the gowns and suits from Golden Horse Awards. The album is of good quality. The best part, they are not pushy at all! But we couldn't commit coz we still wanna browse a few more before decision. I think I nego a lot... BS will be unlucky if I choose them. Haha!

PS: When you gonna go for PS?

i heard that GHA not really good. My friend took GHA gowns and stuff. Though it was like 8yrs or so ago, she's not satisfied with their service and complain photos not nice... i've seen her wedding portrait.. not very nice.. but maybe their standard inprove alr. i'm not sure. There are lots of BS around but if wanna save money, no need to go look at tanjong pagar area one.. those min 4-5k package. My BS can't find any ads or website but they seem to be doing quite well.. so i guess they must have their plus points. The last time i went there, i saw them making their own designs on a plain gown.

Actually go and see those wedding shows is good coz at least can update ourselves on the bridal fashion. Like what i tell my htb..march in is like a catwalk.. let everyone see how pretty the brides are. LoL..

My BS told me to take my PS 6mths before my AD. So still got a long way to go.. and i wanna try to tone up a bit more before my PS.. if not my AD photos and PS photos will look like machiam i put on weight.. LOL...

hey u all, i'm aso planning for 1Q of 2012 hopefully after my hse is completed. Rite now, no rates for 2012 for any hotels yet. But we'll be checking for a good date first then decide..

Suesue: usually if u hv a date on hand will be much easier for u, after mid this year should be able to start booking hotel alr coz my frens all say tt alot of dates are booked 1yr b4. So 1.5yrs b4 the date is the safest. Can say is almost sure get at all hotels.

I'm sure you'll be able to get a good date. They say try to get 2 dates just in case.

Hmm..yesterday my htb n I discuss on when we'll wanna hold the dinner. Then the more we discuss, the more it seems like we're only gonna hold the dinner in 2013 coz of the housing. They haven't even cleared the "forest" loh.. Haiz......

jean, when is ur EDD for your flat? no worry, once they clear the forest, everything will be like lego! haha.. i was at my FR yesterday, 11th flr liao! haha

Mrs Ho: 11th floor liao ah????????? waaahhhhh!!!!! damn exciting leh.. but then aso i'm scared leh.. like suddenly so fast sia....
))))))))))))

Jean: where's ur flat again? r u FP (Fernvale Palms)?

suesue, if i din rem wrongly, jean's flat shld be beside our FR... ya i went to the opp block to view down on our FR, alamak our flat layout looks so small! 94sqm is really omg... haha

Mrs Ho: That's the standard for the new flats lor.. LOL. which floor u took ah? u same blk as me rite? 435A?

mrs ho: Hmm... When we went for 1st appt, the date was Sep2013.. Then when we go sign agreement, the date stated was Sep2014. Really a bit sianz 1/2 alr.. Tht can get by end 2012 if the date was Sep2013.

Suesue: yup yup.. Mine's at FR. Just right beside u gals.

My mum's place also this standard size. Actually, quite easy to clean up. Esp for CNY spring cleaning. More time to spend relaxing and enjoying our home. Keke.. Smaller space also bring the family closer mah..

suesue, mine is 435C at 23rd flr...

jean, why got two dates? our FR only stated EDD is 31 may 2013. it's verbally from the officer that we can expect sooner date like ard mid 2012...

partly cos of the corridor along our bedrooms, i feel it has taken up some sqm lor, too narrow also cant put anything there... haha, from the top of opp blk when i look down, i really feel small everywhere in the layout... :p

mrs ho: I'm not sure either.. But if follow the sep2014 date then I guess it'll only be ready earliest mid2013.. Sigh.. Oh well... If 2013 then get our keys, n our dinner will only be held after our home has been renovated so the earliest also after mid2013. Feeling quite upset actually..

jean, no sad no sad... how come u nvr consider doing the wedding first, then stay in parents-in-law's house for perhaps a year before your new house is ready? :p

It's actually not me who dun wanna stay w my in laws but it's my htb.. Coz his place alr crowded then if get married 1st will be staying at my place.. We kinda staying together now alr..at my mum's place tt is.. To me, I dun see the difference.. Now alr staying together so shouldn't be an issue.. But I get hints from him tt he wants to wait till we get our keys.. Oh well..I guess maybe 1more year is not much of a difference..

Jean ~ We spoke to Kent and Veron from GHA during the fair. Kent seems to know his stuffs, and the best thing is, they are not pushy. So far, they are the only BS we spoke too that didn't attempt to force us. Still as courteous. That's why we are considering.
But I heard from a few that they don't like the management. Anyway, we'll go for this weekend's fair again. http://www.adwebdesign.com.sg/wedding-fair/ What's your exercise regime? I am still slacking. Hehee...

Hey Suesue, Mrs Ho... You are all gonna be neighbors? That's exciting! My HTB and I still waiting for balloting result...

Acacia: icic...maybe coz they dun really like the management so they become human n not sales person. I went to the wedding fair and almost cannot leave coz the Taiwan BS keep hanging onto us and want us to sign.. Haahaa... My exercise regime ah... Not really a regime la.. If my fren go swimming at her sis condo then I tag along loh..I think I wun be going to see any wedding fairs unless they hv hotels also.. The BS all very scary loh...

Jean ~ Hahahaha! Yea, taiwan BS are exceptionally aggressive. It's such a turn-off! When will the hotels participate? Which hotels are you considering?

I love swimming too! But now I don't have timea during the evening to swim... Can't do it during the day for fear of getting more tanned. =P I love skating!

actually i find wedding fair very hard to see see look look lor... especially when u stop by to just take a look at the albums, salesperson start dragging you and refuse to let u walk off easily... then at that point of situation, we hardly have any time to consider and digest properly on what they have offer... thou i must agree bridal fair is a place where u can ask for more freebies!

Mrs Ho> yes, sometimes it is really very difficult to check/see clearly on wat we need/want during wedding fair. But it is good to visit more fair, understand wat is the package about, and learn more diff BS style, etc. Dont decide/sign package during first few visits...

Hey ladies! http://www.bows.sg/

Here is the list of merchants:

# Amara Singapore
# Bridal De Couture
# Bridal Zone
# CANGAI Wedding
# Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
# Edmund Leong Photography
# Fingertip Nail Care Pte Ltd
# Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel
# Holiday Inn Atrium
# Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre