(2012) 2012 Brides to be

Jean: ya lor, dun care Premium or Standard, as long as is ur house can liao!! LOL

Mrs Ho: I went by to check out the progress. On the 9th floor liao! *excited!!!*

Gen: I reckon Reno cost will be ard 30k at least...

suesue: I'm oso v excited to hear it has gone up to 9th flr!! 15 more floors to go... Yeah~

Very long nv post...I have been reading this thread but co got firewall that prevent me to post...
Sze sze, I have added you in FB...

mrsho, I have also signed a package with bliss bridal, but paid only ard $300 deposit. But after reading oversea ps, tempted me... but we still need a local one for AD, right?
my flat will be completed in end 2012, but seem abit slow in progress, cos some blk either 2nd flr or still in foundation status and the highest flr is 31. think might be some delay for mine.

anotherday: yup.. u stil nid a local package. but if u go c bluebay's gowns hor.. u also wil be tempt to sign the ad package from them le.. hahaa...

if u wan go over bluebay/cang ai can let mi noe.. i can arrange for fitting/discussion of package..

Hi Kelly, you can find master like master tong to calculate auspicious date for you up to year 2012. you can have a whole list of date and choose one that you like like what many of us did.

anotherday: i reckon if i sign up for an overseas PS with a local bridal shop, the AD gowns will then be included too... thus this is why i hope to let go of my bliss bridal, do not feel like holding on to two packages when having PS locally dun tempt me anymore... :p partly cos i already took a local PS with a freelance PG last year, so no point i take local PS again... nevertheless, if let say really cant sell my bliss package, the most i have total three PS lor... hahah

actually our FR EDD is said to be May 2013... but it seem like our process is much faster than some of you all EDD end-2012... how come har?

suesue & mrs ho: Wow wow wow!!!! So fast liao.. making me excited also loh. keke.. i hope they have put up the hording around FP site liao.. then can safely say in 2yrs will get keys. usually the foundation takes the longest time. Once it's done, the rest like LEGO like tt alr.. Maybe after you guys move in for 6mths to 1yr, then it's my turn to take my keys and move in.

Kelly: Which one in PG? Spectra?? Lucky you. I wanted to get one in PG as well coz my mum's place in PG. But all very close to the central so too cluttered for me liao. But now, it's getting more and more scary to come home to PG for me coz there're just so so so many huge vehicles. LoL.. If i'm not wrong, there're min 5 construction sites in PG now. 1 close to completion.

Gen: New/resale flat pretty much the same as long as both of u like it then it's the perfect flat liao. An advice given to me by my uncle in purchasing resale flat is to find one with very good reno that you don't mind living in as is. Only things u need to change are the aircon and toilet amemnities. Which will come up to only about 10K. As for me, i'm not doing more than 20K for reno coz we only doing the master bedroom, kitchen and living/dining area plus aircon. Hopefully can also achieve the 'simplicity with functionality and a touch of class' look. Need to be child safe as well if not nx time got children then gotta change this change that very troublesome and costs $$ as well.

Anotherday: i dun think there'll be any delay la..coz they gotta start building foundation from one side to the other mah.. so the side that is completed with foundation sure start building the LEGO 1st.. u can trust HDB 100% to deliver the unit to you min 1yr b4 the actual completion date. usually they give 5yrs to complete the project but they normally only take 3yrs to do so.

jean: precisely! when i went down to FR last dec, it's just the foundation built.. to think now May, it's already 9th flr! hahaha

mrs ho: yah..to think they went from 3 or 4 storeys mid April and just a couple of weeks they've built to the 9th floor alr.. think by 1Q 2012 u guys might be able to get your keys liao..

talking so much abt flats... what about you all wedding preparation? found a venue or got any ideal venue?

Sabella: Hey babe, Do you have the master contacts to share? does Hotels or restaurants allow early bookings for dates in 2012?
Jean: Mine is PG Sapphire! =)

mrs ho: so far only the BS was booked. as for the venue, we're having a headache between indoor or outdoor or beach setting or party style. But i just saw a outdoor event venue at Rochester park. Think in the 4Q of this yr we really gotta get down to it. So right now is more of getting down on paper what we want and what is important and what we can do without. But our initial invitaiton list is out. Definitely needs some trimming down tho.. LoL.. And we gotta look for a master to get the good dates too.

Kelly: oh...okok... very convenient spot. near mrt and compasspoint if u need to do some shopping. Heard that they have plans for a shopping mall in central area. So how are your plannings for the dinner coming along? think you'll be one of the 1st to get your keys..

hey gals....i'm quite stuck right now... so i need a poll. What is important for you gals when it comes to holding your wedding dinner?

jean: im holding mine at OneRochester... actually im a 2011 BTB, but i got "struck" here enjoying chatting with u all instead... haha.. if let say ur guests are below 250, it's not a bad idea to do it outdoor... but if u are inviting more than 250, guess indoor is easier to "control" the crowd...

when it comes to hold my wedding, i want to do it to my liking, of cos must discuss with my hubby too on his budget... afterall once a lifetime, it's going to be a lifetime memory for me... i prefer to move around during my dinner and catch up with the frens/relatives and not to have everyone restricted to fixed seating in the ballroom... this is a reason why i opt for an outdoor wedding...

i got my date from this Master Ng Khoon Seng, his office is at Beauty World at bt timah there..

hp: 94557856

he's an uncle of my hubby's fren, thus he charged us S$80.. not sure how he normally charges others, perhaps if keen, you can check it out...

Thanks thanks... hmm..my mum goes to one at Beauty World too.. not sure if it's the same one but his office is a small unit with a divider that splits the unit in half. front protion has a few feng shui items and the back is his simple office with a file cabinet and just a table with a com. Maybe i check with my mum see if it's the same person.

mrs ho: haahaahaa... coz we're very fun to talk to so you're "stuck" here right? LOL...i so bhb.. hmm.. under 250guests.. then our initial guest list will need serious trimmings..

yah...i'm pretty much the same as u.. i love to mingle with my guests instead of the usual style weddings whereby your guests get sitted and then entertain themselves. But i'm not sure if the older generation will appreciate new style wedding dinners or not leh. Hmm..usually only buffet style is ideal right?

I hope to do it to my liking as well but gotta consider budget coz there's a certain amount that i dun wish to exceed. my htb's friend is holding it at their saf chalet. sounds quite good to me.. maybe go attend liao then see how it really is. The chalet is open to the sea also.

jean, just a note, what ever you prefer, please take into account your parents and his parents opinion on what they will like.... cos a wedding is not just the 2 of you, it also involves 2 families.....

if you have a cosy, small sit down dinner, still possible to mingle with guests.... my dream wedding was a small garden affair...but now is a 35 table formal chinese dinner, after the parents input....

for garden wedding, i like halia, Au Jardin, secret garden, jewel box....they do both buffets or sit down dinners... maybe you can consider long tables instead of round table settings... also...

I totally agree with prisc on the point whereby it's not just the 2 of us. =( very often we are trying so hard to make everyone happy and in the process we have to sort of give up our dream wedding. Although a wedding is a once in a lifetime event, I would rather keep it small and intimate than don't even know 50% of the guests as they are all the parents "friends" -.-"

Jean: I am not sure if I will be one of the first few to get my keys. =p the blocks are trending up north too slowly for my blk. the blocks ard are moving way faster. I am looking to have the house ready before doing the customary.

mrsho: thanks for sharing the contacts! I will give him a call once I discuss with my hubby. =)

i do agree wedding is never a two-persons thingy... it will involve LOT of people around you... family might say something, friends will suggest something... for me, im the "rebellious" type, i cant probably please every single one, so long as our parents and hubby and mysf are ok with the plan, i try to turn deaf on the relatives/friends' words... >.<

for me, i think im pretty lucky cos both side parents are ok for a garden wedding... rather, it's the other elder relatives that have more concerns than our own parents... they scare of hot lah cos outdoor sure dun have aircon mah... scare their angbao given to us dun "justified" to the buffet food that they are eating, they think it's the normal mee hoon lah, fried rice lah, nuggets, etc... anyway im not really into angbaos, been saving enough all these years to "afford" giving the close ones a good treat...

ya bear in mind that these garden affairs can be much more expensive than normal ballroom hosting... it's good to work out some budget too if u intend to have outdoor wedding theme and be prepared to incur some "loss"... :p

aiyo, toking abt the no, of tables i aso wanna faint liao..
went Melaka with my bf n his family laz weekend, then his mum n sis started discussing how many ppl to invite then finally his mum said to me, "min 45 tables!".. LOL
so I need a big big space to fit all these tables..

i aso like to go ard n mingle but i think for mine, probably half of them i dun even noe who they r!! LOL

suesue, i think hor... u will spend ur whole dinner taking photos... no time to mingle...PG tell me that for 35 tables, i should not expect to have time to mingle with frens for extra pics even :p

Mrs ho, i sooo jealous... but for 35 tables, garden wedding abit difficult....so i went formal :p

Kelly, i think we need to expect that if we even know 50% of the guests already good lor.... hahahaha

hahaha i think quite waste of time to hold the dinner and not knowing the guests. it's like lacking personal touch.

sometimes i cant help thinking is the "face" so important that we gonna eat bread after the dinner cost later due to so many tables holding or have something like small celebration yet cosy and enjoying much better? hahaha... another reason why i want garden wedding cos it have to be in small affair...esp when the parents know it's $130/pax, they really then think CAREFULLY who do invite... ya if not, like what u all say, i have no time to mingle around and i might not even know who are those 50% of the invitation... :p

true true... i also don't wanna have to deal with the "debt" incurred just for the "face" issue. although i told my htb that 35 tables is the max that i am willing to go up to but best if it was 30...or even lesser. Coz i wanna hold a wedding dinner where we can mingle with our guest and really have a celebration. I want it to be fun and heartwarming.

Actually, if your fren were to tell u that due to table restrictions/cost restrictions, they will hold a separate buffet celebration. Will you guys be offended? Like not being invited to the "VIP" event. And will you guys still give AP? Coz my htb's job, he can't invite one without inviting the other as well. And that would add up to alot alot of guests and in fact i would think that his colleagues will take up 15 tables. So i was thinking of holding a chalet celebration for his colleagues that i do not know.

I am the eldest daughter also eldest grandchild and my hubby is the eldest son. so i think there will be alot of "face" involved. it can get frustrating at times but I am quite stubborn de I will push my way through to have everyone to give in to be for at least 75% =p

kelly, same here, first to get married in both families and already getting the face issue... my mum just decided that she does not like the hotel that i am having my wedding now and wants us to change, but i'm not budging cos i already signed and paid a deposit... any cancellation is going to incur a huge penalty now...

my solution will be tell her that she can have her own separate menu for the 3 tables... but thats all i'm offering .....

jean: for my friends-list, i only invite those who im still in contact for the past ONE year... then from there, i cut down the names if the person isnt at all close to me...

i'm not offended if my wedding fren spend a separate day for celebration on us... cos afterall i know fully well we cant probably fit in every single one in the dinner, unless we are extremely rich... :p AP is a gesture of congratulation and well-wish, i will still give no matter what... this is my view...

wah... like tt sure a lot of pressure on you guys to "guang zong yao zu".. but lucky thing is that your family members will still give in to u. =) I guess all of us mustn't forget to have fun in all the preparation. So have u any choice picks on where to hold your dinner?

i find this quite helpful. At least can help with narrowing down a few of the well known places that can fit the number of guest invited. Also gives you an estimate on the pricing..should be per table la.. heeheehee...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquet_price.php?day=Both&amp;capacity=Any&amp;budget=Any&amp;sort=Price

pris: *hugs* i'm sure your mum will understand. We on our end want our parents and elders to be happy with the dinner and they on their part also want us to be happy on our wedding day.

mrs ho: hmm.. good idea.. heehee..sounds like the way i clear my stuff from my room. Hmm..okok..if my htb really can't cut down his colleagues to fit into our number of tables then we'll hold a separate celebration. Maybe to make it a formal invitation to the celebration, doing a simple invitation card would be nice?? Or is it not necessary?

jean: u sound like ur htb has lotsa colleagues to invite... roughly how many? no way to reduce ar? :p just a simple card will do if doing a separate celebration...

AD photography i'm still sourcing but i think i've found the right video/cinematographer to record down the day's happenings and highlights. but their photographers...i'm not too sure.. unless they can show me better AD photos.. gotta see how the co grow also. Maybe 2yrs later, they'll have better AD photographers..

he has LOTS of colleagues!! and i mean LOADS!! just his colleagues already 70+.. and of the 70+, only 20+ are must invite coz i know them. All these not including friends that he might wanna invite and his family members. He has LOTS of relatives coz although he is only 28 this year, he's an Uncle with nieces and nephews his age. So just his side will be 20 tables alr. Then i no need to invite my frens already coz i plan to have 30 or less tables...

jean,

im using Eirik Tan Photography... check this out... http://www.eiriktanblog.com/ or http://www.facebook.com/eirik.photography

will ur hubby's family go biggest than mine? haha.. my mum has 13 siblings, each of them have 3-4 children (meaning my cousins lor).. then my father has 11 siblings, each of them oso ard 3-4 kids! then most of my cousins are married too (u see, im 28 this year, some of my nehphew/niece are almost 20 this year! cannot understand how did our grandma generation managed to give birth to so many children)... i cant have big affair, i cant afford too.. which is why i go for outdoor, so that i can "restricted" the invitation, cos family too big, we oso seldom keep in touch... :p

oh...i've heard of him before. how much is he charging you for your AD photography? if you dun mind telling la.. coz my video/cinematography already cost quite a bit liao. if photography less than 2500 i can still consider. But his photos are just so...... FANTASTIC!!! So beautiful!! captured all the joy..

haahaahaa... definitely not bigger than yours but i'm lucky that my mum isn't inviting all our relatives coz my late great grandpa and late great grandmas (yes..i had 2..which i got to know one) and in total they had 24 or was it 28 kids which translates to loads of relatives, which all are still alive. But i guess my mum knows me quite well. Unless it's people that i know..if it's not, they ain't going on the list. haahaahaa... right now quite thankful for small families and relatives that can't be bothered to keep in contact.

my bf side also have very big family..he's a great-grand uncle at his age nw. we are not very close to each other but every year will have family gathering once or twice and his parent will talk to everyone. Lucky thing is his parent also support not to invite all pple in a single family, maybe only the senior. my side also rather big, i rem the family protrait which we took when my maternal great-grandma pass on, i rem ard 100+ in the photo, but we dun see each and everybody yearly. so can dun invite also. but i think mrs ho has more family members
having said all that, my parents and his dun even mind if we did not hold dinner, it's me... lol... scare i regret not having one.

WAH!!!! ur family really huge!!! keke... hmm..lucky u... then like tt you can hold a outdoor event liao.. and can have fun and enjoy yourself plus on top of that you wun regret not holding a celebration for your wedding.

Alot of us hold dinner coz of parents. If we can have it our way, i guess majority of us will just do a high end celebration cum party cum get together style kinda outdoor thing or something along tt line...

jean: i bought a $1900 package from eirik tan, including 10hrs shoot, 1 magazine album (just like the one we have from bridal shop) -- 30 pages 15"x12", all images edited and return in DVD... estimated around 500 photos to be returned to us!

ya understand... i reckon sometimes we just have to please the parents too... and precisely cos family tree is too huge, i realised our kinship are "worst" than those in small family... cos too many pple, hard to gather around frequently too... i guess so... :p

sze sze, wow u are another one going to hold a grand one... try looking ard goodwood park n fullerton? i find their ballrooms pretty nice too!

sze sze: u can try orchid country club. i think for your size of guest, u can only take country clubs.. unless u wanna hold it at suntec. OCC can accomodate up to 800 and they have a ridiculously high ceiling that's 2 stories high. and your march in u can choose to either have a very LONG march in or come in on a buggy..or both.. keke..

mrs ho: thanks thanks so much.. that a really good deal and not very ex leh.. will show my htb his website tonight then we can short list him. hmm...yah...extended families usually either lose contact with each other or not close. Unless u wanna talk about paranakan culture la.. they still have those gatherings gatherings now and then. but not many in sg practice alr. coz i think very ex to hold so many banquets in a yr.

Julie: thanks for the link. Very beautiful place. saw the buffet setting. but does it have the formal chinese sit down dinner? And if u dun mind sharing further.. approximately how much per table? if u dun feel comfortable telling me, it's ok =) thanks for showing me another option. wouldn't hv found it on my own.. =P

Sometimes I think it's quite hard to invite like the elders of one family coz sometimes they will be very self invite their whole family ie the son and daughter in laws grandsons grand daughters. end up the whole clan will be there and that's like more than 2 seats!! can you imagine the chaos on the actual day. -.-