(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

Yanting, so happening!! btw wat is PTP.. saw quite few web they mention this term.. haha.. in tat case perhaps u can find those MTM lor.. but quite pricy!! u buying for them or??? u wan same color only or both same color and same design for all ur jms?

Wah Yanting, u really happening! Lol.. as for the jm with armpit hair, ask her shave lah..aiyoh faintz! When u viewing layout? Ivy how abt u?

I think same color same design will make a nicer jm team, but think quite hard to fulfil as my jm also on the large size..haiz! Shall see how!

Jasmine, I should view my layout around the same period as Yanting ba.. cause we took at around same timing too.. perhaps in 2-3 weeks time.. jm's dress same color and same design.. I don't mind la but my here 2 oki wif sleeveless 1 wan sleeve.. so I may just use same color but design wise let them choose lor.. no point buying the design they dun like then they wear 1 time then hang inside the cupboard le..

Ivy, I just surf mylittlebow website, quite alot of jm dress & they have diff shades of pink..u made me want to change my pastel pink to fushia pink liao!! Wahahaha

And the purple they carry is v nice also..Lol shit lah I'm indecisive nOw!

Jasmine, it's always good to hav more choice than only 1 choice.. tat's y I say pink is much more easier to find.. is juz the design u wan only.. Happy browsing..

Ivy n jasmine, I only happening in the kitchen! Haha..

Ivy, PTP is point to point, usually means armpit to armpit, but I alwaz feel that human is 3D so I alwaz take the measurement 1 round fr armpit to armpit then divide by 2, so far works when I do online shopping
ya I'm buying for them so MTM is too ex!! Haha.. My budget is only ard $30.. Haha I so niao.. If possible I would like to have same color n design.. Cos I think photos will come out nicer n neater.. Unless really no choice..

Jasmine, that jm refused to shave all these yrs cos she feel the hair shave le will become thicker n more dense.. Ya me n ivy shd b seeing layout in 1-2 wks time bah.. It's 3 wks since we selected our photos liao.. N yup I also agree pink is so much easier to find!

Yanting, cause u gt so many jms.. if MTM will cost u a bomb!! budget $30 should be oki to find online ba.. for ur case, the jms will look neater if all same design.. for me only 3 jms.. as long as they are the same color I should be okay..

Ivy, ya lor that's y I was telling Cynthia earlier that more jms may mean more headache lor.. Haha.. Talking fr experience.. Haha..

Yup, such a headache especially our wedding requires lots and lots of planning already! As for the cold dish, i double check with them again, the hotel said that is their company policy and cannot change??? But anyway, no choice lo.. At least my perks are ok, 1 complimentary wine per table + additional 4 bottle of wines. Free flow of beer. Wah, Yanting.. yout JM very funny leh! Her armpit hair also must let u worry.

Yanting, ya tat's true.. anyway there's pros and cons for more and less jms ba.. see hw u see it.. either way u still can enjoy the process

Cynthia, then no choice for the cold dish le.. at least u got 1 complimentary wine per table and free flow of beer..

I've group chat w my jms & they r ok w anything I decide..phew! But I think I'll bring them go shopping for their dresses at city plz, am worried the sizes online do not fit nicely.

Would want them to still wear it for other purpose rather than for my big day only
My budget is $200 for the 4 dresses. Hopefully can find something nice. So Yanting, I peifu u for having so many jms..to me, it's not an ez task to coordinate them!

Am looking forward to meet them up & discuss abt sabotage plans too! Lol suddenly so busy!

Oh anyway, this Sat is the last day of 7th mth, ladies, we can proceed to the unfinished tasks! :p

Haha, nothing to peifu me abt la jasmine, juz so happen both grps r my close frens n I feel bad abt juz asking either grp so I end up with so many lor.. Haha.. For gatecrash, I've arrowed a gatecrash IC liao, so she's in charge of planning, coordinating n leading the gals on that day too
yup I think we'll start with inviting those frens on our guest list but nt yet informed one, so that we cn quickly firm up our guest list..

Jasmine, ya 7th mth is finally going to be over which means our much more busier days/weeks/mths coming too..

Yanting, I actually tried to start informing my intention list of guest these few weeks although is 7th mth but I tink should be oki one la since is only verbally and by sms to juz confirm their attendance and is not a formal invitation.. so now roughly got the numbers there and I'm starting to work out my table arrangements..

Hi, do you guys know any free programs similar to photoshop which can allow u to edit the color tone tat u wan from photos?

Ivy, haha actually I also dun mind verbally inviting frens during 7th mth, but I'm too busy n lazy to do it.. Haha.. No more excuse aft 7th mth! Heehee.. Actually have such program leh, I downloaded b4 but can't rem the name offhand nw.. U google for something like free photo editing program, shd have a few programs..

Ladies! Where do you all get tuxedo shirts from? I've went to Taka and Tangs, but not nice leh! Went Raoul at Paragons, 1 shirt is from $189..

Hello everyone,

I'm having my wedding at Hotel Rendezvous in Dec 2012. Glad to see the links on JM dress...

Finally, some nice dresses...

Cynthia, we get it from the BS itself.. cheaper than outside selling after checking at department stores..

Icemelon, welcome to Dec2012 btb thread!! I hope that the links do help u in choosing/selecting ur JM dress..

Hey icemelon, congrats & welcome to the thread!

Cynthia have u found ur shirt for ur hubby?

Clong, yes I'll be giving out cakes together w invitation cards.
Have u found any confectionary? I got lobang per box for ard $8-9 if I remember. Need to dig the info from my frd. The confectioner is quite popular doing wedding & baby shower cake pkg.

Cynthia, my htb also bought fr G2000
if u wan real tuxedo shirt mayb u cn try tailor made, I've heard of my htb's frens saying they tailor made shirts quite cheap dunno where..

Clong, the giving out of cakes depends on whether your parents ask for 喜饼 bah.. My mum say she most prob won't ask for it, cos anw she needs to ask for "sweets" as offerings to the dua beh gong at hme, so she'll juz ask for sweets for relatives as well.. So easier for us too.. Initially my htb n I were still thinking I'll make cupcakes as my own 喜饼! Haha..

Hi everyone! Been crazily bz! Just had my food tasting yesterday! Hey icemelon! My wedding is at rendezvous too! I've went to Zara to see the shirts.. Might consider G2000 and Zara =] I think wedding cakes is a must? I will be sending together with the invitation too.. My bro got the cakes for his wedding at bt timah.. If I rem is about $6-7 per box. Was thinking about vouchers, but i think the elders might think that we r not sincere enough =x

Clong, for me wedding cakes/biscuit will go wif the invitation cards for the elderly and relatives..

Btw, can I check with you all something? Do u all heard before something like we got to buy shirt and shoe for the father-in-law to be? for the angpow given out to those not yet married ppl on AD, does the $$ comes from the bride or groom?

Clong, the cake shop is Sweetest Moment. Maybe u can google it. They have a variety of cake boxes think can mix & match.

Cynthia, can we have the cake shop ur bro ordered his wedding cakes? $6-7 dollars is cheap leh, I wana compare w Sweetest Moment. Thks in advance.

Ivy, nv heard of the practice u mentioned. Instead, bride's parents have to buy belt wallet & a pair of trousers for the groom in exchange during GDL. As for angbaos given out to youngers, $ is fork out by wedding couple itself. For my case, hubby giving out for his side & I'm giving for my side. So it depends how u wan to work it out.

Jasmine, tks for ur info.. cause I oso first time heard of tat too.. and is being mentioned by his elder sis.. haiz.. btw ur parents planning buy belt wallet & trouser for ur htb? for angpows, we had also planned like wat u mentioned..
his eldest sis so extra.. haiz.. damn sian lor..

oh ya.. btw another thing to check with u all.. if both sides are bringing in the hard liqueur and wines, do we put separately in terms of one side is groom and other side is bride? if not, hw do we differentiate? I dun wan after the banquet, one side say tat side drink their side all tat crap stuff.. then different face oso.. better plan first.. headache..

Wah Ivy..ur sil v extra..she thinks her daughter getting married izit?! Lol alamak think we both have sil issues..damn sian & jialat! But just remember its our occasion so dun let them affect us ya
towards her, I see no evil & hear no evil alrdy! Haha

Ya I'll go shopping w hubby & buy his things 1st den claim from my parents or we go shopping tog.

As for wine & hard liquor wise, becoz we r the one paying for it, so it doesn't make any diff lah..pardon me being bad, I think mostly is in laws side want to be calculative rite? How exp can they be, even drink their side how many bottles or whose side alrdy open how many bottles, so what? Just share the costs if they so scared to lugi can! Zzzz...

Cmon for me, I think it's a joyous ocassion so just celebrate to hearts content & stop thinking of whose side make losses. Alot of times is becoz of family issues that create probs for wedding couples..esp unrealistic demands! y stress us when we alrdy have to handle 99% of our wedding!!

Jasmine, ya.. same sil issue!! damn kapo n annoying.. one thing tat I already started to understand even when not yet marry is tat.. marriage is not our own.. is marrying the whole family members!! Now I totally agreed!! can't wait for my bto to be ready sia.. I agreed wif u tat mostly is the in law side tat is drinking majority of them.. wan calculative and wan face!! haiz.. I can foreseen a lot of problems ahead.. anyway we will settle the alcohol issues before the AD with the hotel/in law/dad.. time is running up... suddenly like a lot of things not yet done then now this sil giving problems!!

Ivy, think my mum has told me b4 abt the traditions of buying stuff for fil n mil, but it's also a old old tradition.. My mum also gonna hush hush abt it when she meets my pil wedding discussion, cos she say the more they ask for, the more ma fan it is for me n htb..

Jasmine, me also got sil problem leh! Rem my banquet table thing! Haha.. Guess nw the in thing is having sil problem n nt mil problem.. Hahaha.. N ya I agree with u, if both sides dun b so calculative with each other, then won't have any headaches at all..

Haha Yanting yes u made me recall! Anyway, Ivy & Yanting, i think my sil is the worst & dumbest in the world!

She made alot of sarcastic remarks when we booked our hse ( cfm regret taking the location), booked our wedding venue ( shld have book this instead), booked our bs ( why din u ask me)....booked holiday ( i wan to go too, pls also book for me & kid), alot of idiotic things lah.. Oh did i mention she also booked a nite stay at our wedding hotel?!

There is way a million things to complain & i'm so used to her sickening manners, she will always make unreasonable request to my husband & expect us to listen to her!! Now we totally bo chup her & i nv speak to her. Even when i go holiday w my own frds, she asked to join! Wtf!! But anyway, she is always rejected by me lah..Shiok!!

Ivy, im in same boat as u, eagerly waiting for my bto & wave goodbye to my sil coz she is staying w my inlaws too!! She also thinking of moving in to our new hse..how Great my sil is rite!

Ok back to topic! Lol..Ivy whr u getting ur alcohol from? I asked quite a few shops, price range is almost there. Am thinking wat to do with the leftover unopened bottles, since no shops willing to offer us on consignment basis.

Jasmine, haha your sil really power!! So scary.. My sil also alwaz say she wanna join us for holidays, but I alwaz take it she joking nia so I juz smile smile n nvr do anything for her.. Haha.. Btw my htb cousin go n tell my mil she cn book a rm at the hotel juz in case she tired that day, n my htb really thinking of booking for them. If he does that, im sure sil n family sure all stay over too! I nearly fainted!! Cos our banquet at Carlton, they stay in queenstown, only 10min drive away leh! Go hme rest so difficult meh? My parents stay Jurong extreme west leh, further rite.. Then some more my mil say wan to book a rm next to ours!!! I nearly died when I heard that! Wth! My htb ask y she wan to b next to us, n she said in case she need to get stuff fr us then easier ma! *me died on the spot* how insensitive cn someone b rite? Luckily my htb say we'll b busy that nite, dun come n take anything fr us, n can't book next to us cos we having bridal suite. But I'm still violently objecting to even booking a rm in the hotel, cos that means we can't even have our 二人世界 the next morning, imagine the whole kampong go eat breakfast tgt, check out n go hme tgt
I need time alone with my hubby!! But on the other hand, I'm also worried abt they coming to my bridal suite n mess up my rm if we nvr book rm for them
i've gone with them to hotels b4 n i saw how gd they r at messing up the plc, i told my htb im nt gonna have to clean up my bridal suite b4 i cn rest that nite rite?? So, I totally understand wat u feel, I hate it when they try to stick on to us everytime.. Like my mum says, they muz learn to let go rite, we r nt small kids anymore ma.. Aiya, say liao then fire big.. Haha.. Btw your sil dun have her own plc meh, y she wanna move in with u ah?? Anw, there r wine companies that do consignment for events one.. U cn try 62557271, this my fren's contact.. But most prob I'm getting fr another fren's uncle. We went wine tasting last sat, nice wines! Yum yum.. Abt $25/bottle, n we dun really mind having leftovers, cos cn keep for our housewarming or gathering with frens blah blah..

Jasmine, wa seems like ur sil wan to be around to spy u.. can't stand the way they act sia.. like they know everything.. then they help in a minor thing then will keep on saying it for mths/yrs.. tell her wedding hotel stay for the night all taken up.. totally wasting ppl time.. hmm for alcohol stuffs my in law ordering from his friend dunno where.. will let u know if I can get the info from him.. if u wan u can try http://www.winebos.com/Weddings.html and http://www.cellarbration.com.sg/

Yanting, ya speaking of all those stuffs really boils me up.. remember Jasmine and I are juz the beginning lor.. at least u gt ur own flat after marry wor.. so envy!! If $25/btl, hw many u will be ordering? u gt hw many tables?

Ivy, ya I know I'm a lot luckier than u n jasmine le.. But having my own plc aft wedding also have its own set of problems, for eg my htb intend to get his family over for dinner regularly, n honestly speaking I really hate the whole family's table manners, my whole hse will b messed up n dirtied like dunno wat.. N I heart pain my new furniture n swee swee hse.. I cn so imagine the kids running ard the hse with their oily fingers n with rice grains dropped all over..
nightmare coming..
We've 28 + 2 tables, hotel giving complimentary 24 bottles, cockage waiver for 1 bottle per table, so likely we'll get 36 bottles ourselves.. Mayb cn use some for hse warming, or cny gatherings at our hse next yr..

Hi all, the pastry is at 4 chun tin road. Name of the shop is Ng Kim Lee Pastry House. Its those traditional kind of cake shops. Hope it helps! =)
I'm actually staying with HTB already and it has been almost 5 years since. MIL probs have already long dealed with especially HTB is the least favorite son of theirs -_- plus my in-laws are those very very very traditional ppl. One word of advice, tolerate!! LOL, well at least till your own flat comes.. Where my house is coming next year, can't wait!!

Yanting, ya.. very annoying to see fingerprints here and there especially in ur new house!! but this one really can't be help.. haiz.. btw how about ur hard liquor? hw many bottle u ordering?

Cynthia, 'tolerate' is the advise with in laws.. haha.. I suppose with endurance and patient too.. now is not only wif in laws but also wif sil..

Hi Jasmine, Thanks for the info of the bakery shop.

Hi Cynthia, Ng Kim Lee Pastry is one of the bakery shop i am considering too. I heard is quite cheap. I read the review their pastries are very nice.

I am thinking of giving to my relatives as I find very weird if I go their house empty handed when distributing the invitation cards.

Hi gals, ya totally agreed that wedding is really two family affair. But the scary part is when all want to contribute.

My girlfriend also have this problem when she arranging her wedding.

Hey Cynthia, thks for ur info, will check it out! Wow ur hse ready next yr? So awesome! I guess me , Ivy & the rest have to wait for at least 2 more yrs? Sianz..

Anyway, Yanting, ya I feel u coz I also dun like me hse to be messed up esp when they dun wan to control their kids. Hey at least ur sil is insensitive nia, mine is dumb dumber dumbest ok!! She is gng to get her divorce done since like many yrs ago but talk only, nv action. FYI, she's just staying 1 road across my in laws yet she apparently moved everything back niang jia except her hubby..she dared to complain that her sil v buay zi dong always stick to her in laws & her hubby..but pls leh her sil not married yet of coz stay w parents wat right! They also not staying w her she still wan to kbkb!! Den she got married Liao dun wan stick to her hubby still stick to her own parents then y still get married! She even forbids her daughter from acknowledging the father, bad!

Back to topic, dun think will get so many bottles coz we're more of beer person, duno how to appreciate wines..so perhaps get from Ntuc or cold storage.

Cynthia, oh ya I know of that pastry shop! The jap restaurant next to it is gd! Haha.. Well, on the gd side, u've dealed with the mil problems since 5yrs ago, so u no need headache abt it nw le..

Ivy, ya can't b helped but I think my sil knows I dun like pple to mess up my stuff.. When we 1st brought them up to see my empty hse when we juz got the keys, her son almost straightaway went to the toilet n play with water, I only tell him dun wet the flr cos my common toilet is along corridor to bedrooms n I dun wan anyone to slip n fall, but think I frowned abit, then she called her son to 1 side n scolded him n she v black face with her son aft that :0 I won't b buying hard liquor cos my mum asks me nt to, since we've a lot at hme cos my dad likes to collect hard liquor for their unique bottles.. N I dun think many of my guests will b drinking hard liquor n beer bah, wine shd b more popular, that's y we getting a bit more..

Clong, I think handling both families' expectations is something every couple has to face bah.. Juz a matter of how they handle nia.. Hye..

Jasmine, wa nowadays I alwaz hear at banquets there's beer leftover, ask pple to drink more beer.. But mayb u won't have enough beer.. Haha.. If u getting fr ntuc or cold storage, u cn try Brown Brothers or Long Flat.. Nt bad n middle tiered pricing..

Yanting, my hotel only provides wine, so we will not be getting beer also since its a luncheon. I think most ppl prefer wine to beer nowadays.

Clong, thks for sharing the pastry shop, will consider too. What u say is rite..both sides wan to contribute to our headaches indeed.

Ivy, also agree w u! Help out a little machiam we must owe them e whole life..walao eh faint!!

Jasmine, yeah, i waited almost 3 years for my BTO flat to be ready!

Yanting, I'm not getting hard liq for my banquet too. My dad was saying no point as where most ppl drive now and they dont really drink. Unless your guest is those hard core ones =)

Hi All, can I check whether the hard liquor and wine should be purchased by the individual side? not the groom side pay rite?

Btw when will u all be having ur GDL? planning to go where to buy the GDL stuffs?

Jasmine, ic n ya since yours is luncheon usu won't b so siong in the drinking..

Cynthia, ya lor most pple will go for wine over beer n hard liquor nw. Some of my dad's frens r hard core drinkers, but they also had wine during my bro's wedding dinner.. End up my parents brought a few bottles of hard liquor there, only drank tiny weeny bit.. That's y my mum ask me dun buy..

Ivy, I think the buying of alcohol is up to u to arrange bah.. So far my parents nvr say anything, so we'll most prob buy with our joint acct money, as with the other wedding expenses.. If u purchase separately for each side, will have more headache n unhappiness cos still have to keep track each side drink how many bottles le ah? Then wat if 1 side says they drink our wine leh, then u siao liao.. We shd b having our GDL on 4/11, that's the only wkend that we've to do it b4 our wedding.. Haven't tot of where to buy my stuff, but my mum say no need go those shops that sells such stuff n buy their GDL package cos they include everything n usu overpriced. So she ask me juz buy loose n watever we need cn liao.. The more complicated it is, the more headaches for us.. N my mum v naughty, I told her my mil dunno the customary stuff, she say gd then ask me dun tell her so much, if nt later she ask for a lot of things then me n htb ma fan.. Haha..

Ivy, it depends how u & hubby wan to settle the liquor thingy..if ur mil so scared she lugi best u fork out the cost for it but make hubby pay for other things. Den u must always remind her in yrs to come she nv lugi..Lol joking joking! For me, $ is nv an issue between me & hubby coz like alrdy husband & wife y so calculative. Whoever pays also the same..not enuff, the other got to top up..so it balance out.

As for GDL, my date is 17 Nov. will be buying the stuffs at Chinatown. Same as Yanting, will not be in pkg lah coz they cfm include alot of unnecessary stuffs. There's this shop selling at wholesale pr in Chinatown mkt 2nd floor, runs by a Chinese couple from China.

Yanting, ur mum trying to protect u. Really dun have to know or follow exactly to tradition lah, like my sil, when married so strict & tradition, in the end also divorce. Best is keep quiet.

Yanting/Jasmine, tks for ur info.. really got to seat down and settle/arrange the alcohol stuffs.. else actual day chaotic.. haha.. Anyway u both not buying package for GDL ah? my htb say more convenient lei.. cause if buy individually they say more ex and scare left out something tis and tat.. btw the Chinatown shop price reasonable? my GDL is 18/11.

Yanting, ur GDL date is early!! btw any news from WL.. sianz.. still waiting for the call to finalise the layout and choosing the frame photos..

Ivy, My GDL + An Chuan date is damn early chose by our geomancer. Imagine is on 14/10? Yanting mine is so much earlier!! After an chuan, cannot sleep on the bed. I was like huh?!?! 2 months cannot sleep on bed? LOL! No choice gotta follow lor.. GDL & AC stuffs bought in Chinatown people's park. They have it in a package, my mum paid about 200+ for all the stuffs (with teapots, lamps etc.), my MIL paid 100++. Until one fine day, i went to JB KSL, this small little push cart store selling wedding stuff and they are like so cheap compare to what we have paid! They have everything there as in everything is wrap up nicely for u! Ladies, do visit KSL (can't rem is 2nd or 3rd floor) to source if u all have the time =)

Ivy, ur GDL date almost same as mine, I was given 17 & 18 Nov..haha coz need to go JB to collect gown for my KL banquet on 18, so I decided on 17 Nov.

Btw, the shop in Chinatown is much cheaper den I can find at other shops. Coz I have the list from Master David Tong on what to purchase, so I doubt I'll be getting pkg. The shop owners also have a file of info for diff dialect grps & they will advise u on wat to get. Pkg is definitely more convenient but I think coz they include a bigger amt of everything, tats y more exp.

Y WL so long havnt get back to u? Maybe u call them up to arrange the earliest convenience date. Yanting u view layout Liao?

Cynthia, ur GDL+An Chuan are really early.. which means ur htb got to slp on the floor with mattress for 1 mth + at least? I oso tot of going JB there buy lei.. but doesn't seems like gt time to go.. so perhaps should settle down here with the package.. the one u referring to is push cart and not a shop ah? push cart can put so many things..

Jasmine, ya lor.. WL had not yet get back to us.. I will give them till end of Sept then I will call them up.. when we go select photos they say around a mth plus wor.. dun tink Yanting had view her layout too.. cause we almost the same timing.. haiz..

Ivy, chinatown shop even cheaper than jb. I compared when I went in for my ps..Lol ks hor!

It's shop, not pushcart. They have a huge range of wedding items, at mkt lvl 2. U go recce lah

Jasmine, ya I know my mum's gd intention, but she will still ask for the essentials la.. Marriage is more than following traditions, it's also a management of the relationship between husband n wife, n also the relationship of both families..

Ivy, ya my mum also says 4/11 GDL so early, but no choice, no other wkend dates given to us le.. N WL also haven't contacted us.. Think I'll call my coordinator on mon to chk bah.. Abit buay tan liao.. N I'll see wat my mum wanna buy for the GDL bah, n juz go where she wanna go buy bah.. I juz hope my mil won't tag along me n my mum go buy, cos she v long winded at times.. Best is me, my mum n htb go buy everything jiu hao.. Haha..

Cynthia, whoa your GDL so super early!

Cynthia, blur me now den I see ur reply..zzz..ur GDL & AC in 2 wks time. Omg really early sia! So ur hubby alrdy prove his love for u by slping on the floor for 2 mths! Nice
haha

Yanting ya I agree..mil v lorsor 1..ltr 说者无æ„,å¬è€…æœ‰æ„ end up all unhappy. I think I'm gng to get all the stuffs w hubby only..I also can't stand this type of situation.