(2012/12) Dec2012 BTB

Actually if hotel provide the card and the printing and already in the package, why not take it because it will save yr time and save your money too if its in the package. Unless if you don't want the card and printing and the hotel will deduct the money then you can choose.
Actually the card and the printing is quite good too.

Yanting, oh tat's a good for u.. can save some $$ from there.. btw the inserts we have to pay from our own pocket one rite? only the cards being provided for up to 70% of the guarantee guests are provided for most hotels rite?

Blessed day, they only mentioned "Printing of wedding invitation cards for up to 70% of guarantee guests".. does it include the inserts??

It's true that printing is up to 70% of guanrantee quest.If it's more than that, then you have to pay to the printing company.But, before that, you should roughly know how many you need and some maybe you can email them. Then you will save money too.
It's normally not include inserts. You can bring back and just insert,its easy job and you will enjoy the process too. Somemore you can insert some extra things into your invitation card to make it special

Ivy, haha u sound as if I'm missing for v long..coz my lappy dwn & quite bz w work for this 2 wks..tiring! So far have not touch anything since collection of albums. Need to have a deep breath before continuing..haha anyway now still 7th mth, so some things can't be done yet.

My AD is 9 Dec, Sunday
So far, 90% guests cfm, so I think I left with purchasing GDL stuff, printing of invites, GDL, AC & meeting up w bros & sis for briefing of respective tasks..havnt even draw up my AD schedule yet..dun dare to think.

Btw gals, just to ask, those having luncheon, do you still order catering? I'm caught between whether to order or not..if nv order, it'll not be nice to have relatives empty stomach early in the morn & lunch only starts at 1pm? But if to order, who delivers so early in the morn??? Omg rite! My mum says she will cook some dishes early in the morn since she will not be sleeping but wat abt my hubby's side? Faint leh seriously!

Blessed Day, ur wedding over or coming soon?

Jasmine,

My wedding over already and i'm a wedding planner now.That's why i understand how you all feel, stress out and worried.
I would like to help as much as i can

Blessed day, u are a wedding planner! :-) so nice of u to help us with our queries here.. :-)

Can I check wedding planner is it the same as wedding consultant? if we already booked banquet, BS all tat, do we still need a consultant/planner?

Jasmine, ur AD is one week after mine..
I think I'm oso left with purchasing GDL stuff, printing of invites, GDL, AC & meeting up with bros & sis for briefing of respective tasks and oso my AD schedule too. all these still can't be done till we visit our fenshui master for the dates and timing after lunar 7th mth.. oso not yet view our final photos layout and collect albums.. busy n stress mths ahead.. ~.~

Hi Ivy,

It's my pleasure to help with any queries

There are many people out in the wedding world masquerading as bridal consultants, wedding planner and wedding consultants, whatever title they may assign to this job. Actually it's all almost have a common bond and it also depends on how individual take this professional in different aspect.

For me, a wedding consultant primary function is to help a couple discover and implement and manage all of the necessary task required to host a succesful wedding event. Some wedding consultant will just consult and give you the idea how to plan for the wedding or advise you how to handle the situation. It's more like consulting.

A wedding planner is the one person who knows the most about the event.Despite what you may have heard, did you know that hiring a wedding planner (alots of people also called a wedding consultant) can be a huge help and save you money? If you’re planning on hiring a wedding planner, you’ll want to do so as soon as you start planning. They’ll help you search for the perfect venue and find great vendors that will fit within your planning budget. (In fact, a great planner will have relationships with vendors and will often be able to help you negotiate deals you wouldn’t be able to on your own.) Once you’ve booked your vendors, they’ll oversee the relationships with each, and help pull everything together. The best part is, they plan weddings for a living, so there won’t be a problem they haven’t encountered before and they’ll know how to handle even the stickiest of situations, and keep you calm in the process.
A wedding planner means what you think it means. Wedding planners.. SURPRISE!! plan weddings. They can be hired at any point in the wedding
planning process. Some brides start with a planner from the very beginning and some jump on board with only a few weeks left to go.
Planners visit vendors, negotiate prices, help develop themes, control budgets, and offer advice in every aspects like, wedding dress,cakes, decoration, plan menu,music, invitation, relationship, emotional matters and so on........ The list of what a wedding planner can do for you is endless. It's like a personal assistant cum best friend for you thru your journey to your wedding day

Well, the above description is also based on my own philosophy and vision
So, maybe other people will not agree with me but as i said, it's all depends on individual on how they carry they responsibility.

As i mentioned above, you can hired wedding planner/consultant at any point to takes care and guides through all the different procedures for each different case.

Hope that i did answer your queries and make you more clear on this topic.

Hi Ladies, can I check with you all whether ur bros & sisters are same numbers? is okay with more bros than sisters or vice versa one right?

Ivy, I would prefer to have equal no but think most prob I won't
I've 9 sisters, but think my htb cn only manage to get 8 bros max n this include 1 of his female gd fren liao.. Sianz..

Hi Ivy,

You absolutely do not have to have the same number of attendants on both sides...I have done weddings where the bride and groom have a best friend of the opposite sex. They decided that it would only be best if the bride's best friend stood on her side and the groom's best friend stood on his side.

It was absolutely stunning because the bride's male friend wore a vest and tie to match the color of the bridesmaids' dresses....likewise, the groom's female friend wore a black dress which matched the style of the bridesmaids, but had a sash that was the same color as the groomsmens' vests and ties.

Be creative with things because it is your day...do what you want!

Lots of weddings have uneven sides. Perhaps your last bridesmaid can walk back down the aisle with a man on each arm (lucky her!). And as for seating at the head table, alternate male female, beginning with a bridesmaid at the end, you two in the middle, and then ending the table with a bridesmaid. i.e.

Bridesmaid
Usher
Bridesmaid
Usher
Bride
Groom
Maid of Honour
Best Man
Bridesmaid
Usher
Bridesmaid

GOOD LUCK!

Yanting, wa ur sisters are a lot.. haha..

Blessed Day, thank you for ur advise and ideas.. will work towards the way we want.. =D

Ivy, ya lor my htb says my jiemeis only fr 2 grps of close frens already so many liao.. His bros already include pri sch frens, sec sch frens, JC frens n army frens still nt enough to match mine, then he bo bian liao.. Hahaha..

Yanting has so many jms!! Have u decided how much to give for gatecrash angbow?

I from no jms to now 4 jms..lol..I think enuff since hubby side got 4 bros also. I scared too many jms share 1 angbow, e amt divided Liao like so little..

Ivy when u viewing layout?

Jasmine, layout dunno yet should be by end sept/ early oct ba.. they say will call me.. ~.~

Yanting, ur hubby give anybow very xiong since u gt 9 jms? haha.. btw when u going to see ur layout ah?

I got 3 jms but hubby's side will have 5 bros.. =D

Clong, my sisters will be my reception & I'll give them additional for their efforts.

For emcee, I intend to give $80.

Ivy, 3 jms is enuff le, I'm not thinking to have jms the traditional way but close frds who come & help me thru my wedding preparations. So from 0 jms to 4 jms in same color dresses

Have u decided on color theme?

Jasmine, my theme color will be Tiffany Blue..
how about urs?

Clong, one/two of my jm will be my reception.. Emcee is htb's ex-colleague so dunno hw much he will be paying her...

Jasmine, I oso like pink very much.. but I find it too common.. then tot of blue.. so is easier to ask bros to match us.. lol.. hmmm hard to say, nowadays guys do like to wear pink.. =D

Tiffany blue is nice too, but I prefer electric blue & of coz my fave color still pink! Haha dun care lor, I wan my fave color for my occasion! Lol

Anyway, 1 of the bro damn fat..duno got his size or not lor, n im thinking..will he resemble a pink Pig? Haha yes I'm bad but the tot of it is funny! Lol

Jasmine, u are bad but I like it.. lol.. so did u manage to get ur dresses for ur jms? so will u be buying for them as a token of appreciation for their help? do we still need to give them ang bao? for me, I will buy the dresses for them and treat them a meal before the AD.. how about u?

Jasmine, we haven't decided how much to bao for gatecrash ang bao, mayb $288 or $388? I think the eventual ang bao amt they take back shd b ok bah, cos all really close frens.. Aiya I think e bros will b ok with your pink theme one la.. I see many pink themed weddings with bros wearing pink.. Alternatively u cn get them wear white with pink bow tie or something?

Ivy, I also dunno leh, that time say 4-5 wks fr photo selection, so shd b another 2 wks fr nw?.. My color theme also Tiffany blue!
but haven't been able to find a nice dress of this color yet..

Clong, yup I'll b giving ang bao for emcee n 1 of my jm who's gonna sing my 2nd march-in song

Yanting, wa u gt the same color theme as me.. hehe
tink our final layout will be ready around end sept/early oct ba and they should be calling to inform us when they are ready ba..

So are you all giving ur jms ang bao or in terms of something else? =D

Ivy..hahah sibei funny rite! My this bro is actually my god bro, closer than own siblings kind..so even if i force him to wear, he will LL give me face! Haha but if really no size, like Yanting said, white with pink tie or just wrap him up with a bale of cloth lah!

I think i'll treat my jms for meal & give them angbow for their help, for dresses wise, if we shop tog, I'll buy for them lor, but if timing cant match, no choice they have to source for their own ba. Btw, whr u gals gng to get jms dress?

Wow Yanting, ur jm singing for ur 2nd march in..cool! Hey hey hey, who says pink is common huh..looks like tiffany blue is another common choice now wor! Haha

Jasmine, haha.. I do love pink ttm.. my cupboard clothes are mostly pink color.. so for a change will be getting blue.. lol.. ya Tiffany blue too getting more common especially this yr.. haha.. btw I'm getting my jm's dress from online blog..

For me, I will buy them the dresses and treat them for a meal before my AD..
not giving them angbow as they can get it during the gatecrash.. =D

Ivy, care to share which blogshop u get from? Would like to have a sneak peek

Im now working on budget of all the angbaos thingy & emcees speech! Am active in this forum now sourcing for suitable speeches..haha

Jasmine, ur pink color should be easy to find.. u can try this blogshop: http://www.fairebelle.com/11-bridesmaid.. u can oso try one shop at Bugis Village called "Full House".. their bridemaids/sisters dresses are nice.. but a bit more ex than the blog I mentioned.. I not sure which blogshop my sisters will be buying from.. they choose then I pay.. but the above is one of the few tat they are considering.. hope it helps..

Jasmine, ya I'm getting her to sing 最é‡è¦çš„决定 for my 2nd march-in! But wondering whether it'll b too slow for march-in leh.. Hahaha, ya lor so coincidental me n ivy also chose Tiffany blue for jm dress! But if cant find nice Tiffany blue dress, I may consider changing to yellow
I'm gonna get the dresses n accessory to go with the dress for the jms, then treat them to a meal, probably a gd hme cooked meal if my hse is ready by then! Haha..

Ivy, Thanx for all the links! Muacks!

Hi Ivy & Yan ting! So sorry for the late reply!
My venue is at Hotel Rendezvous, what about u girls? The only thing abt this food tasting is excluding the cold dish =_= Kinda weird right?? Now waiting for my FIL to settle his guest list, waiting for my album to be done and watermark for my instant prints. If u planning to have instant prints, look for busybody studios, prices are competitive among those i have surveyed =) Now my headache is jie meis! Having not many gfs, i have engage one of my BFF and one cousin. Issit too less? The 2 girls are not those fun types and not really helpful.. Sigh!

Hi Cynthia, how come food tasting w/o the cold dish? tot should be all dishes tat is to be served on the AD ma.. weird sia.. better double check with the co-ordinator in charge? Can I check with you where do you get the instant prints services from? I personally feel tat 2 jie mei are okay.. as long as they are ur close friend/cousin and they are here to share ur joy.. most importantly, you got to enjoy the whole process..
sometimes too many oso very hard to co-ordinate although they can help in more things.. u can always get help from ur htb's side bros.. =D

Hi Ivy, excluding cold dish because they said what very difficult and troublesome to prepare?!?! Jiemeis wise, i would love them to have/wear the same dresses but one of my BFF doesnt want to wear dress. Sigh! What can i do? Like i say lor, they are not very helpful =( and they will say something like huh u only have 2 jiemeis?

Instant prints u can check out www.busybody.sg =)

Hi Cynthia, oic.. then no choice.. but tat's the first time I heard such thing.. hmm for your jiemeis... maybe u can ask ur BFF to wear the same color top as ur cousin's dress(should be ur theme color).. scare no one to help.. u can ask ur other cousins/relatives to help out lor.. no worries about tat.. I oso hav 3 jiemeis only.. so dun let tat minor thing bother u on ur preparation for ur big day k!!

Hi Cynthia, dun worry abt not having enuff jms, it's ur big day I believe ur cousins will be more than glad to help
if ur BFF doesn't want to wear dress, maybe u can standardize both jms to wear uniform colors w shorts, something casual yet fun loving

So how's ur food tasting? Everything ok? I still thinking to go for food tasting or not coz my hotel charge me 50% for it as I do not have 25 tables..stingy rite! Abcxyz...!!

Yanting, we still waiting for more of ur wedding pics leh! Lol

Hi Jasmine! Maybe i would forgo having JMs for wedding.. I've seen other thread with brides with no JMs. Which Hotel? I thought all hotels provide complimentary food tasting for wedding? Hmmm, can try to bargain and talk through it? My food tasting is on this Sunday, but looks like gonna change date.. my in-laws keep on delaying and changing.

Hey Cynthia, it's a gd idea to forgo jms, but still have to need their help, so maybe u assign tasks for them to do, at the meantime, rope in other frds or cousins to help out too
Or u can actually have bros instead of jms? Haha I've thought abt this before but my bros will kill me if I made them wear tutu!

I'm having my luncheon at Crowne Plz Changi Airport. They quite stingy in perks, even red wines they only have 12 bottles complimentary, gonna top up at our own cost.

Jasmine, mine oso 12 bottles complimentary.. gonna top up too.. ~.~

Cynthia, no worries about without jms.. ur relatives/cousins/friends will be able to help out too.. juz hav fun in the process of planning!!

Initially 2 of my jms hav decided on their dresses but the last 1 come back to say tat she dun feel comfortable wearing sleeveless dress.. haiz.. -.-''' but can't force her oso ma.. so might need to source out again!! extra work!!

Ivy, so we in the same boat lah..haha I tot only my hotel so stingy lor..I see alot having free flow beer or at least 1 bottle of wine per table..

U so fast look at jm dress Liao, r u buying for them? I havnt have tIme to bring them go shopping yet.

Hello gals! I'm back! MIA 2 days cos super busy with a cupcake marathon.. Haha..

Cynthia, if your food tasting without cold dish, how to know whether it cn make it anot huh? Then on AD cn complain the cold dish cmi n ask for disc? Haha.. As for your lack of jms, I think it's ok too.. I've a gd fren, she's the only jm for her own sis wedding last yr! Turned out ok too.. Well, like ivy said, more jms sometimes cn mean more headache too, cos of time coordination n sis dress coordination.. Think positive n things will definitely turn out well!

Jasmine, I haven't even seen my photo layout yet leh.. So no more photos to post for u.. Haha.. U wait huh.. Gd things r worth waiting for.. Heehee.. Wa, I tot my hotel v niao liao with the perks, yours even more jialat than mine..

Ivy, my gd fren advised me that when choosing jm dress, we shd choose wat we like n nt wat the jms like.. Cos we can't please everybody, if jm A dun like this n u change to something else, then jm B dun like that how.. So it'll juz create more headache for u.. Then for eg I've 9 jms, I'll die if everyone tells me something they dun wan to have for the dress.. That day I saw something online n posted the pic n sizes for my jms to choose, 1 told me "huh? Y all your designs sleeveless one? Cn have something with sleeve? If nt, I'll have to do something with my armpit hair".. Faints.. Then I juz tell her "ya, u shd do something abt your armpit hair then!" hahaha..

Jasmine, only free waiver of corkage fee for duty paid wine and hard liquor for guaranteed tables..

I give them the website but some they search online themselves.. should be buying for them... if online can't find then try shops lor.. but shop I seldom see tat color I wan.. haiz.. got fast look at jm's dress meh?? less than 3 mths to go lei.. I rather settle this fast so tat I can go into other more major stuffs..

Yanting, wa cupcake marathon?? haha.. ya true in the matter of jm's dress but I understand tat some ppl dun wear sleeveless.. can't force them oso ma.. btw where u getting ur jm's dress??

Ivy, haha cos my fren ordered 200 cupcakes n I spent 16hrs baking n packaging them yday, haven't add on the time I spent preparing the deco stuff for the cupcakes.. So it's like a ultra marathon to me lor! Haha.. I'm trying to get them online too.. But limitation is that a lot of those nice ones r quite small, n the size variation of my jms is quite big.. I need max PTP of 18".. N sun I juz found out 1 of my jms is pregnant!
so I also have to make sure the dress cn fit her 6mth tummy by then.. Haha