(2011) 2011 Brides

hey girls, thanks for e very practical suggestions! I think i need such reminders! hehe..

clint: i didn't know of a bigger size table to sit 11! cos that'll really come in useful for vegetarian or muslim friends.

I think providing some small packets of simple games for really young kids to play's very thoughtful.. the older ones usually have their PSPs etc to play ..

pinkglove: yeap.. coz I was asking XL like what do people usually do if they invite muslim or vegetarian friends.. its either put all of them into 1 table or sit 11 people in a table & serve individual portion of food.. I think the putting 11 people would be a better idea..

prisci11a: thanks for sharing.. I'm quite tempted to get a cupcake tier.. Now just surfing around for cheaper vendors..

hi clint, also can consider profiteroles instead on cupcakes...the patissier is not very expensive and is something different from cupcakes

they can also customise to suit you ... my friend did this:
http://www.thepatissier.com/novelty_item.aspx?cid=3&id=135&pageNum=0

clint: later ur bf faints again knowing u wan cupcake tier? haha..

I showed my bf wedding cakes and cupcake tiers.. we agree that cupcakes more convenient to distribute but the wedding cakes are just soooooo nice and pretty!! actually, too pretty to even eat it! haha..so we're more inclined towards having wedding cakes. I'm ordering a few cupcakes for my friend's birthday from a vendor, i even had it in my colour theme to 'trial'..haha.. if it's nice, next time can just mass order..hoho..

i just remembered something, for pan pac, they actually help to set up 12 person tables and baby chairs with kids cutlery, if you inform them for tables with kids

Anybody doing a 20pax table for the bride and groom family table? I'm intending to combine e 2 red tables into 1... so I don't have to be seperated from my family..

prisci11a: The Patissier is my favourite cakeshop!! I tried their cakes once and fell in love with them immediately.. but their price is usually on the higher end..

pinkglove: he is already rolling eyeballs whenever I mentioned something new.. usually I will go google some super nice photos that I think he will like.. then slow influence him to accept my idea.. HAHAHA!!

which vendor are u getting the cupcakes from?

cowcow: if you

btw here's an example of the kids' activity book that I mentioned earlier..
http://www.kidfriendlyweddings.com/detailPAK.htm

cowcow, wow!! i was thinking of that.. but not very convenient for my side cos my parents are divorced... it will b very special since not may ppl do it now a days, so far only seen it once...

oppz..click too fast..

cowcow: if you put a 20 pax table.. how will u be doing your march in? Just wondering.. saw this mega VIP on the HK serial.. "Tang Xin Feng Bao" when the 2nd son married..

clint, the price indicated about $2-300+ depending how many you want...but i in love with having a wedding cake... so i still looking for a budget cake maker.... so far only have Pine garden and designer bakes on my list with lower end budget for wedding cake

Cowcow>> I thought of that too cos’ my mum doesn’t like the feeling of me sitting at another table and gives her the feeling that the daughter is really married off (to the next table!)

Clint>> think jus have to walk either side.. haha~ will be good if there’s no red carpet as the red carpet ends at the red table and not the stage!

hmm. ya i also tot bride and groom's parents sit in one table. the other VIP table will also be mixture of bride and groom's side.

tats wat i always tot. if really separate until so clear like not so engaging also leh. hahahaa

clint, i will walk pass each side of the table for the 2 different march in... the table will be right below the stage (kinda in the middle) so both family can see..

lish/rachel>> i think normally it's the bride and groom will sit with the groom's family.. the other red table will be the brides' family.. usually the groom's family & friends will take one side of the aisle and the bride's the other, so the red table also..

cowcow>> smart move~

hmm is it? no leh. for all the weddings i go to. the bride and groom will sit with both sets parents. this is the most 'make sense' arrangements to mi. hehehe

didnt know got other practise.

Hi Joyle.. is this the way?

I also heard before that... both parents will sit with the bride, then the rest of the remain seats (4 of them) will be allocated to the elders in the family.. eg. grandparents etc.

rachel/sapphire>> think both way works, i see more of the one I mentioned! but I think 20 to one table is a win-win situation!

oooh icic. hmmm. up to individual i guess.

but 20 to a table looks abit awkward. i see pple doing long table which doesnt look so weird. have also seen western pple putting the host table on stage.

cowcow: smart!

most weddings I attended, the bride & groom will sit with the groom's family.. even for my sister.. so the other VIP table is the bride's family.. same as what j0yle has mentioned..

rachel>> the long tables very western-style.. think most chinese traditional parents paiseh to sit and dine facing the guests.. but it's very nice cos' the bride and groom are facing their guests, like royal family, wave wave abit..

went to Kim's place to MTM ROM dress..
ended up with a 3-in-1 design instead of a ROM 2-in-1 dress + CS!
hope it can be made into reality!

clint/pinkglove/rachel>> can share how much u paid for the lace for ur CS (if any) & where u got urs? cos' gg shopping for lace nex month..

j0yle: laces start from $20+/m for German laces to $100+/m or more for french laces. I got my french laces from Arbic street at $70/m and as i did a short CS, i need 1.5m of laces and I paid $100 for e laces after a small discount.

Are u doing a long or short dress? How many metres of laces do u need? Because I experience difficulty in getting some of the shops to sell me 1.5m of laces because they usually wanna sell more, like 3m at a time..or they land up with only 1m of loose laces.. Ended up I finally managed to find a shop which's willing to sell me 1.5m of laces at a slightly different shade from the intial one which i wanted.

3-1 dress sounds great! I can't imagine how to have ROM 2-1 + CS, Sounds interesting!

j0yle: I bought german laces as I find the pattern nicer.. like what pinkglove say, the shop will usually push to sell u all the laces at one shot.. I bought the laces at about $30/m.. got 2m of 1 design as the main fabric and another 1m for Kim to cut out the flowers to layer on top.. u also need to get the inner satin cloth which is about $6/m..

I love your idea of a 3-in-1 dress... can't wait to see your final product!

oh ya does any of u have any idea how much kim would charge for MTM bridesmaid dresses? or u guys got any lobang to share about where to make? thanks!

Thanks pinkglove/clint for the tip!

Kim told me to take a look at french lace.. haha~ but I'll take a look at arab st first!

pinkglove>> I didn't do CS in the end.. but one of the design that I told Kim was mandarin collar for the dress.. =)

giraffe>> You looking for western style or chinese?

I asked Kim abt the bridesmaid dresses.. she said bridesmaid normally have simpler designs, its workmanship plus material cost, workmanship is bout $100. Materials like duchess satin abt $12 per m.

j0yle: i see..I like mandarin collar dresses! and actually when u look for the laces, my suggestion is u don't have to tell the salesperson what type of laces u are looking out for.. Just ask them to show u a variety.. then from there u will be able to truely know which are the type of laces u like.. That's actually what I did after going to different shops to check out e fabric..hehe..n after some time, u can even identify which's German lace and which's french laces cos they look n feel very different... Anyway it's fun shopping for fabric cos there's so many to choose from! But I think if u can, go after hari raya cos confirm a lot of them buying fabric now and usually they buy big quantity and the salesperson won't really entertain 'small' clients like us..haha..

pinkglove>> haha~ thanks! hmm.. meeting Kim 11 Sep to go buy the laces, just nice after Hari Raya.. but.. 10 Sep is public holiday! need to check if the shops are open..

will go see the range they have! must be interesting.. learn something new also.. =)

oh.. even better that she's going with u.. she knows the sales people very well.. so they won't dare to 'chop' u also when they know u are with her ;)
Yes, I really learn a lot from shopping fabric! Makes the whole part of MTM more interesting..haha.. u can also see shops which specialise in selling all sorts of embellishments and crystals.. makes me wanna buy e whole shop down manz.. haha..

hi joyle, i bought german lace. i managed to find a shop with a chinese aunty. she was very nice. my lace was supposed to be abt $70/m. but she was left with only 2m for that particular piece i like. so she charged mi $100 for everything.

i saw some japanese lace which looked very nice too and price is much cheaper than french or german ones. yup go down and have a look urself!!

rachel: i didn't know about jap lace! .. i was thinkin of using laces to DIY some items too.. maybe i'll go check out these jap laces..hehe..
are u doin a short or long CS?

pinkglove, i doing a short one also. hehee. like more occassion to wear it in future. somemore i quite petite leh. cant really carry long dress well. hehee.

yup yup. jap laces quite nice and affordable. but the aunty selling the cloth say if i wanna tailor make, might as well buy better ones since already paying for workmanship which i agree also la.

if u jus wanna buy laces to DIY stuffs, then i think u can go take a look at jap laces! hehe

Liu ou ling (liuoulingz) >
I chatted with my friend over the weekend and the photographer from Coffee & Tea Dreamworks is by the name of Adam.
Heard that the other photographers' photos are well-taken too. You took the same photographer?

pinkglove/rachel>> sounds like an interesting excursion to arab st! thanks for all the information! will go have a look at jap lace also.. maybe I will find another country's lace on my trip?

sapphire>> think MTM + affordable + good is even better!

Good morning all!
Your MTM sounds like fun! I'm heading to Shanghai in 2 weeks with my mum and we're going to do my CS there... But wanna research right now on the designs and materials. Don't wanna kenna chopped by the tailors!

For CS, where do they take measurements? My friend want to tailor one for his gf... but he is wondering where to measure for me to give to the tailor...

Another question, for those who are doing their own cakes, is there a cutting cost involved for your venue/hotel? GWP mentioned that there will be a cutting cost for them to cut and serve the cake for you.

kass, i haven't asked.... but i planning to serve during my soleminzation not for wedding banquet...
think i need to go check on that .....

Girls: so am i right in understanding that if you want a MTM cheongsam with Kim, you pay for the workmanship, design your own style (with consultation from her), and buy the materials yourself? How much does it cost in the end?

What about someone named Wilson who i read about in a different thread?

hi moss389>> Kim has some lobang for the materials actually, but she will buy the basic cloth, but stuff like laces, she prefer not to buy for 1st time customer cos' she dunno what you will like. haven't gotten my dress done, so can't help u on that..

Wilson is from Max Couture at Katong Shopping Centre from what i gathered.. he charges more from what i observe in the CS postings.. he's shop is near the famous Teo Heng KTV at the ground level..

hi j0yle_t >> thanks! HTB's house is really close to Katong Shopping Centre though, and Wilson seems to have good reviews in the CS thread.

Where is Kim located?