(2011) 2011 Brides

Rachel - That's so sweet of your family to bake your wedding cake for you

I know the dummy cake offered by the hotel only has a small section of real cake for us to sink the knife into. The rest of the cake are all fake. How

We're thinking of ordering cupcakes for our church wedding to make up for it but it will depend on how we manage our budget for now.

Good morning everyone!!!
Hope you enjoyed and had a gd rest during the long weekend =)

Rachel>>>Thats something very sweet!!!
having to enjoy your wedding cake with your HTB on your first anniversary =)
most of the time the cake is a fruit cake with a small content of liquor... thats why it can be kept for a yr =)

For my hotel, i dont even have a small section of real cake in my dummy cake haha...
the dummy cake has a small slot, not seen by the guests, for the knife to fit in haha
so it looks we have cut the cake...

Xingli: yar I saw it!! its quite hilarious lar..

pinkcoral: thanks for sharing the link

I had always wanted to have a real wedding cake.. Just that I was quite worried if the guests would be still able to eat the cake after like 9 course of food.. since now there's a way to keep it for a year.. No worries for having a real cake!

hehe! yup yup! i think it has to be a fruit cake! thanks for sharing the links gal. yup cos my hubby is eurasian, so we are following the western culture mostly!

clint: i dun think guests will be able to eat the cakes anymore. unless u serve with dessert and provide them boxes so they can tabao!! hehe

Yup same for me .. it would be the dummy cake with a small slot, not seen by the guests, for the knife to fit in to 'cut' the cake.

I dont intend to get a real cake.. save costs. heee

same here... save cost...
moreover i will be staying with my in-laws so dont think it would not be nice to occupy a space in the fridge to store my wedding cake for 1 yr hee hee

If I do have a real tiered wedding cake, I don't think we will keep it for a year also.
Wedding cakes are so ex! I won't be getting one either. But the hotel dummy cake looks really yicky. :/

pinkglove / clint, i was thinking of a 2 tier sponge cake... got a quote range from about $800 - $2000 on it... i was thinking that i will cut cake at my solemnization, so at least family n frens get something to snack on before the dinner.... cos solemnization planned at 630pm and wedding dinner to start around 8pm?

I saw a lot of very pretty settings done with cupcakes, i was also thinking about that as an option but the feedback about cupcakes, from my friends, was the that there was a lot of leftovers and they ended up getting their relatives and jeimeis to ta pao home...

meaningful, plus i save on snack platters... ahahahahah.....

I also checked with hotels before, a lot of them can also offer fruit cake as door gifts, packed in foil n small cake boxes..

Pinkglove, if i remember, you signed with Orchard hotel right? I checked and they can also do it

Rachel, soo much more meaningful when the cake is made with love
wish somebody want to offer me that..... ahahahahahah, but we dun have any baking experts at home....

pinkcoral, actually is ok not to do the cake cutting thing, is more for photo-taking really...... i had a few friends that didn't have the cake cutting as well....

if i dun get cake, then i probably will not do the cake cutting either.....

I think cupcake tiers are cheaper.. 1 cupcake is about $2-5 depending on flavour & design..

I'm very inspired by western weddings.. so hopefully my budget can allow me to have a real cake or cupcake tier..

hmm... I once went to a wedding with cupcakes provided before the wedding... One problem about it was that none of the guest knew if it can be eaten... since the hotel staffs did not serve the cakes... In the end... The whole tower of cupcakes seemed kinda untouched after the wedding.. and it was only then the staffs starts to offer the cakes to the leaving guests..
Prolly can write a note to state that the cakes are not only for display, it can be eaten?

my friend had a cupcake tier too. but she did a buffet. so the cupcakes were very popular and finished very soon.

but for 10 course chinese dinner not sure if it will work.

priscilla: yup, im with OH. U mean they give fruit cakes as wedding favours ah? But i like those really pretty cupcakes instead of normal flavoured cakes.. haha.. anyway I'm also thinking of having the cake /cup cakes during my solemization so that guests can have some food..hehe..

I am just so in love with 2/3 tier real cakes la or even those delicately designed cupcakes.. never eat see also happy.. haha.. but it's really a bit extravagant for me.. but back then, i did include it in my budget when i was planning..haha.. just that there's bound to be other stuff that burst e budget.. haha..

cowcow: good point! cos some of the cupcakes look too good to be eaten! People probably wouldn't dare to touch it. So must have a "please eat" sign.. lol

hi ladies,i've not received all my photos n album but my PG sent me some low resolution unedited photos of my PS for me to admire in e meanwhile.. haha n as promised, i'm going to share some in FB. Have set it under privacy because I don't wish all to see. i should have included those of u who's in my FB. let me know if i've missed u out.
n im undecided between 3 similar shots, u guys can give me some comments.. tks!

and your picture number 5... is the exact same pose & place where Gigi Lai & the male lead actor of Gems of Life (HKG drama) took their couple pic in the show!!!

clarin, yup i seen the shop, they also have baking classes, i think..... but i will b too lazy to bake and decorate the cup cakes... heeee

pinkglove, yup, OH can give cake as a wedding favor option.... if u like, i can ask my sis who did her friend's. the designs were pretty and also the cup cakes had different filling inside... so sad that they were left for ta pao as well.......

tks ladies for the comments. It's a clear winner for e 2nd photo..haha.. really helped me in making a decision.. hehe

tks sapphire n clint for e compliments ;)

sapphire: really ah! I didn't know that! i muz go check for dat photo..haha..

priscilla: tks for e link!

Hi Pinkglove.. I cant find the exact same pic of the one you took from Gem of Life. If you recall, if you watched the drama before, the picture (same pose / venue as you took) was a mega huge pic placed on the wall of Gigi & the male lead's house in the drama.

I like that picture alot hence I remembered vividly.

I can only find one picture from the net similar to the one Ive been describing.

1494700.jpg

sapphire: haha, will show my bf! cos he's e one who had tis idea of our shot there where we were and told our PG about it & our PG managed to find e angle cos it was quite difficult with many pple around us. I think my bf'll be proud of himself..haha.. and it happens tat he esp like Gigi and I like Chen Hao.

rachel, nope, just a reccomendation.. my sister's fren used them and i found the cupcakes really nice... hee... with filling and very pretty patterns..

sapphire, steady leh, can actaully find the pic!!

HI pinkglove.. where is this place in Paris? I must go visit the next time I go there.

Hi Priscilla.. heehe.. I like Gigi Lai alot and I like this particular picture/scene of Gigi Lai and Chen Hao (I always forget his name).

rachel, i was saying that they can give fruit cake as wedding favor.. hahahahah... had u confused...

sapphire, yeah she is pretty... they seem to get matched together quite a bit i think....

sapphire: it's called montmarte.
U muz go there take photos too! But muz go quite early in e morn so that there's not too many tourist around there..

my friends asked me what's beneath our legs when they saw e photo, i tell them once u see liao, u will say "chey".. haha.. it's actually just a flight of stairs lo..haha.. so we say, photography works magic..haha..

sapphire: i looove that pic from gems of life too!! n i also wanna have similar pic for my wedding shots. but im doing it in singapore, so dont think its possible

Hi Gals....been too busy to come in lately.
wow so many photos to see from Rachel

nice one Rachel....

Rachel> I be going to BKK early Sept, pls tell me where u get your nice items from??

Hi siy and lish, I got all my stuffs from chatuchuk. Platinum not much of bridal accessories. I go home dig out the name card of this seller in chatuchuk for u all.
Actually it's only this 1 store I found. But he got quite alot of selections! All v v nice!