(2011) 2011 Brides

hi clint...

hi smilem..

i am planning to hold my AD in 2011 too, but have not settled on a date yet. Will be getting my date/s tomorrow.

have all of you booked ur venue yet?

i have having a headache thinking whether to have it, as my mum is TOTALLY against the idea of me having it in a hotel

pinkscrump: this is wat happen to me also not my mum but my MIL... so after some discussion with my hubby we decided to hold my banquet at safra.

kass: mine is after wedding shld slp on our new bed and not hotel bed.. haha
but dun hold on hotel also quite gd coz my AD is 01 Jan. per table cost me almost 1k or if not min need 40 tables

Jacqurine, gotta say I'm kinda fully prepared.. now is the resting period coz my solemnization is in 3+ month time and need to start to get busy again after my holiday in June... so now its time to concentrate on work...

well, my mum nearly got into a fit when i told her that wedding dinner cost 1k & up per table for next year....than she told me to have it in a rest or CC. (i kept quiet, best to keep quiet when my mum is in her mood).

and she told me better not to take any photo album etc...cos its a waste of money.

yah, tats my case right now...i dun know what to do for now...so its a wait & see situation

pinkscrump, you can try hotels like M hotel/ Marriott/ Novotel/ Grand Park City Hall/ Holiday Inn if you really want a ballroom.. these are the cheaper hotels whereby per table is below 1k.. or if you get a weekday date, you dont have to worry about per table..

hi cow cow,

well, i guess i can only decide after i get my dates tomorrow than i can think whether weekday or weekend, and i am looking to hold my AD in nov/dec in 2011 cos school holidays ma...

i have been looking at the hotels package, everywhere is going UP. = (

my gfs told me, after dates, than i need to count how many tables i need...than look for hotels...= (

pinkscrump> after reading your comments, i juz felt that its u getting married not your mum.
do what u want to do else u regret it.

u can try & convince your mum that there's always cheaper hotels + weekday guess the rates some are about $600 - 700/table. cowcow suggestions is good cos' they are those more affordable hotels

Kass>> what kind of designs u looking at? I custom made mine at some jewellery maker at lower delta, quite reasonable pricing.

Jacqurine>> dun like hotels cos’ of the “bed†tradition.. hmm.. some restaureants are quite nice too… can consider..

Cowcow>> ur ROM is getting near! So fast leh.. haha~ time flies, I remember some of us just saying that 2011 just began and we got like 1yr plus to prep.

Pinkscrump>> like what siy said, ur mum’s unhappy, but best u do at least something u like, like a mini PS for keepsake if u want, if not u might be the unhappy one in future.. hotels-wise, there’s definitely something to convince her, so find out what’s her issue.

pinkscrump -
Try to find a compromise if you can.. it's the biggest moment of your life, so make sure it is something you want and will be happy looking back upon.

I always feel that it's easier to convince and talk to our own parents than try to force an idea on our in-laws. Do your research before going to your mum again. It is easier to talk when you are clear about what you want and have your facts ready to support it.

pinkscrump: how many tables are u looking at? you can get those all-in-1 BS which includes gown + PS... at least the price will be lower and your mom won't see PS as wasting $ since its all in the package..

joyle: can PM the contact for your WB?

cowcow: im feeling excited for u!! a few more mths to your ROM.. hows the progress?

hey ladies,

my mum doesnt want us to start off the marriage in debt, which i can totally understand. which is why she is like against us doing it in a hotel. But ever since i raised the topic till now (abt 2wks or so), she has not mention anything abt the wedding dinner.

now, its more like my dad who is asking me abt it, and he is on a totally different wavelength as compared to my mum, so he does not mind us doing it in a hotel.

for photos - my bf is quite particular, i think? as he likes to take photos.

till tomorrow, when i get the date for AD, than i will start to worry how many tables i have & the hunt will began for venue/gown etc...

i am still trying to get a JP for my rom this december. 2 JPs have already turn me down as they are booked. So i will have to call another JP tomorrow.

sigh......

Pink = i agreed wif mum.. not to start off marraige in debt. sighz.. but in SG.. it bit difficult.. i can only say we try to cut down the debt.. i also ve my banquet in country club.. not bad.. although dun ve hotel ambience, still it nice to ve diner at... n also ve so-call bridal suite..

Personally i tik PS is needed coz i won't b wearing WG evrytime i go for PS.. oli wedding.. once in a year whereby i nit photos to keep my memories (kekke..jz in old liao.. still can refresh.. when young how i look like)..

U can try OCC.. if u dun mind.. within budget..u can email me if u nit details [email protected]

woa JP nit to book 1/2 year more in adv... i ve not get mine yet..

clint, thanks! haha! i was thinking of settling the logistics stuff with Halia after my holiday in Aug.. work is bogginh me down recently...

pinkscrump, sure you are able to convince your mum about the budget... my MIL initially rejected the banquet at Fulerton as well but we did our sums and showed her the final result. so all you have to do is to prove to your mum that there are more affordable hotels and sometimes the price of per table from the hotel is almost the price of certain restaurant..

As for PS, like what clint had suggested you can try 1 stop BS.. think now they accept installment plan as well.. All mums will want the best fo their children. Just convince her that you can manage and she will be fine..

Ladies, shall we set a date for the meet up?

sapphire05: i book le... if nt rmb wrongly we chat before also le... hehe...
wedding dinner: Mt Faber Safra
BS: White Link
PG: Mirage Picture
wat abt u?

hey girls, im back! Very tired but happy from all e travelling.. already back at work e next day..
clint: i echo ur thoughts! we machiam like little superstars..haha.. but it was gd to receive e well wishes
My gown's quite dirty n even a bit torn ..
I think my designer gotta replace that layer.. gasp!

cowcow: tks for initiating! im usually free on wed & thu .. hmm, what about we put down a few dates n see which date can most pple make it? what abt 2nd week of july?

pinkglove>> welcome back! nice FB pics that u upload.. feels very honeymoonish.. ha~

clint>> i PMed u.. =)

Jacqurine>> mt faber safra is nice, got the hotel lobby stairway, nice for a pre-dinner PS. one of my choices too..

pinkscrump>> can slowly strike off those hotels which are way off. my dad didnt like the idea of hotels too, say waste of money and what not, he say no need banquet (=X).. like cowcow, took a bit of convincing by telling him the sums and also the gd deals that we got during the bridal show. he quite convinced that i can manage afterall cos' i still give him money and dun look like im financially burdened.

ladies...im quite fine with all the dates now cos usually do last min. meet-ups with frens & HTB too busy recently :p let me know the location & try to be there early. fingers crossed as I been OT too much recently.
kindly find a quite less crowded plus easy car parking area for me will do

Hi Jacqurine.. saw the things you've booked and I remember liao

Me, same as you... done those things. Hee..
AD: 11.11.11
venue: Hilton
BS: JawnHappyEverAfter
PG: OneEyeClick

Hi Pinkglove.. Welcome back!! Would you need to pay extra for the damage on your WG? For my BS, I need to pay $850 deposit (refundable) for my pre-wedding shoots. If there's no damage/not too dirty, $850 is full refundable, else my designer will deduct whatever costs for the repair and return me the balance.

Im fine with all dates too

Hi sapphire! I'm not sure if I need to pay for any damages,will koe tis wkend when I return my gown..let u koe then ;) but my gown's really quite dirty, my fiance say I'm literally sweeping e streets.lol. E innermost layer's quite black n I hope it can b cleaned thoroughly & def need to replace e outermost layer xoz there's a small tear in e tulle..

but my mua says my gown not very bad state cos no oil stains n mud, xos he has seen brides who took photos in beaches w those stains n it's really hard to remove them so gals b careful if u go beaches for PS..*praying that I don't need to pay for any damages!*

So we meet in e city area? Bugis/city hall/ orchard?

welcome back pinkglove! saw ur PS and holiday pics on FB.. very nice! i'm so anticipating how my PS pics will turn out..

joyle: thanks for the contact!

cowcow:
5/7- clint
6/7-
7/7-
8/7- clint

Sapphire05 (sapphire05)>> I have my PS at seaside after raining, come back with lot of sand, a bit wet & dirty. Nobody asked me for extra $... maybe bcos I go out with their PG? Did you BS package incl outdoor? If yes, why still need to charge extra since it is sure will get dirty... (serious damage then i can understand)

Hi Candy... my BS and PG is different. I didnt go for one-stop-bridal-shop.

So Im taking my actual WG and EG out for pre-wedding shoots.

Are your PS pics ready for viewing? hee...

Sapphire05 (sapphire05) > Not yet, going to select photos this Sat. Not sure can get the soft copy on the same day or not. I also not taking one stop BS, my package didnt incl AD MUA & PG.