(2011) 2011 Brides

anastasiazen >> Most bridal shops will let you try on some gowns before you sign up with them...
In fact, you should insist before you sign up with them...

Been quite quiet here recently...

Started my PG search and inevitably thought of VG as well...

HTB is thinking maybe not to have a VG... My sister didn't have 1 too, which makes me wonder if I really need a VG...

What do u guys think? Do u guys think a VG is a must? Or it's a good to have...??

hmmm...i think VG is definitely not a must...but it's good to have one...
i guess it depends on a personal preference...
after your wedding, will you be watching the video? or do you prefer to look at photos? or both?
for me, i chose to have VG because i wanted to watch our wedding video in the years to come...
to hear the sounds and see the movements and relive the big day again

Kass, I agree with Marian that VG is a good to have but is not a must have.

My 2 sisters had their wedding done differently as well. First one without VG and second one with VG. She was the one who did the express highlight as well and everyone had a good time watching the wedding video. This made me feel that in years to come, the video may be used as a tool to re-live your wedding.

Yup, def a gd to have thing if the couple can budget for it but if without, it's also alright..

There's a few considerations for me & my fiance when we decided to have VG..

1) If we didn't have VG, I wouldn't be able to see what went on during the gatecrashing and I wouldn't wanna miss that! hehe..

2) As what many has said, it's gg to be a very busy day n I don't tink i'll be able to see the little details of e overall pic of my day without VG..

3) My friends & family who weren't able to be around to witness e events can have an idea of what went on in the day and this acts like a form of entertainment for guests during e banquet..

4)I like e way how some express highlights are done to make my day into a short movie highlight, telling a story rather than just showing the rough footage of what went on..

5) I have always wondered how much moving pictures memories do we have of our loved ones as it's often photographs that we have and so on a big day, it's a good opportunity for us to record down how our loved ones participate in it as well as their voices.. =)

talking about VG, went to my colleague's baby shower last sunday. was nice watching her wedding video during her baby's full mth cos' i didn't know her when she got married.

even her hubby's friends were like sitting there and laughing so happily abt what happened that day. and if u thot guys wun be wasting their time watching other ppl's weddings, i saw otherwise!

my family loves to take videos of the lil' ones when they r young, even dug out one of my neices' baby videos (she's 17 now!) to watch during the wkends.

definitely something fun having, but not a loss if you dun, like what the rest of the btbs have said! some ppl like flipping albums more than to watch thru' a whole hr of wedding highlights, so both works...

j0yle: That's very nice! haha.. I bet u guys must have laughed a lot at ur nieces' videos as well as ur colleague's wedding hightlights =)

So u confirmed ur PG/VG already?

well said pinkglove.

For myself, I think that video-ing the part of us exchanging vows is very important.. as pictures can't capture the feel and emotion when we exchanged vows..

In years to come, when you have kids.. you can also show them what is like on your wedding day.. and its easier for them to enjoy with sounds & movement..

I agree as well
I was initially against the idea of having a VG but HTB said that it's better to have because if we regret it thereafter, it'll be impossible to get a video done.

Also, we may want to relive the moments of the AD and perhaps, our parents as well?

kass: what's ur budget for PG? Tell ur HTB if u can have e best of both worlds? haha...Then get a gd PG and an average VG? hehe..

Pinkglove >> Actually thought of that... But we only budgeted for PG, which prob will take up the full sum. So VG have to spend with "leftover" money lor...

I don't mind an average VG, but I also wanna make sure that my VG doesn't clash with my PG...

actually that's true, very impt.. cos my fiance went to help his fren take wedding photos n her VG n PG have never worked before so eg. e PG asked e bride to slowly enact e part whereby e parents cover e veil for e bride so tat he can take e photos but this is like a gonner for VG who needs to capture real emotions cos e feelings will never be e same again..

so it's def gd if they've work tgt n not get into each other's ways.. We r e opposite, we wanted gd VG n average PG but end up spending more cos we wan them to b able to work well n we really like e PG's works, so we just increase our budget in e end ;p

yup, i agree with pinkglove...
my fiance and me also decided to spend more on VG and less on PG...but after visiting a few VGs and PGs, we realised that for them, being able to work together is important...so after we chose our VG, we asked him to recommend us a few PGs that he had worked with before...so in the end our PG and VG are good friends and they're happy they'll be working together :D our budget also had to be increased...

pinkglove: the same thing happened to my friend as well! Her PG and VG made her do a "re-take" of the unveiling of her veil, the groom kissing the bride etc. They even made us (the bridesmaids & groomsmen) get ready outside the room so they can video us.

So I think it's important to engage better PG and VG.

pinkglove>> i decided on unique colours in the end, but have not signed the dotted line yet. was considering 2PGs and 1VG for AD, but unique colours package recommends 2VGs and 1PG. I'm fine with the latter, so taking unique colours, with their instant photo session as well.

they practice quite well on the glid-cam, i like the effects!

marian>> wat's ur final budget for VG/PG in the end? mine's bout 4k after checking out so many... thanks for ur help too!

Joyle,
congratulations on settling your PG and VG!
the instant photo session sounds really fun :D
my final budget was 5.5K in the end...

5.5k! that was slightly way above what u budgeted ya? but it's kind of difficult to resist the PG/VG u love.

i took the bao ga liao package again.. haha~ lazy to liaise with too many ppl. busy with work as well.

Joyle,
yup
had a hard time trying to convince my fiance...
hehehe...that's good! it's good that all of them are a team so that everything will run very smoothly on your big day :D

Morning girls!

purplebottle: that's very off right! Sigh.. it's not supposed to be acting on that day lor.. i also saw another VG who kept talking throughout e event n he actually included his voice as part of e express highlights loz..faintz.. but then again, i guess it depends on e expectations of e brides n grooms as well as comfortable budget =).. anyway, r u gg to choose ur gowns in June?

j0yle: That sounds like a good package with instant photos included! Will be fun for e guests =)

wow.. alot of you have started looking into PG/VG...

I havent done anything yet, except for confirming my hotel wedding dinner venue..

Hmmm....

i still can't decide my banquet venue.. haven't really look into PG/VG yet too.. u girls are really fast eh..

purplebottle: same for my friend's church ceromany! the PG didn't manage to take the part when the groom unveil & kiss the bride.. he made the groom kiss the bride & kiss the bride.. and he went around snapping.. quite turn off lor

clint: Cos our wedding earlier than urs mah..u still have lots of time so don't worry =) I think really need a good PG to be able to capture e 'real moments' cos AD events just go past very fast, the PG has to be experienced n good enough to know when to capture e shots..

Pinkglove: Yup, confirmed my wedding venue banquet already but havent confirm the BS. Thought I still have time since it's Nov 2011.. seemed like another 2 years ahead. heee

pinkglove: yes, it was as if they were making a movie. Haha!

I'll be going down to TWP in June to see if I can get any OTR WG. Otherwise, I'd probably talk to the designer about what I have in mind.

Clint: Oh yes, it really is a turn off! The emotions and all will be different the second or third time!

pinkglove>> since its a gd package, i thot why not. htb open to the idea too, love taking lomo & instant polaroids at gatherings.

marian>> i guess our htbs also dun wan to regret not agreeing.. haha~

clint>> come to think abt it, i do see some pics and videos of awkward couples who seem to be re-doing the special moment cos' their eyes are wandering ard to see if the VG/PG is done. i hope i wun get that!

purplebottle>> u not getting MTM from TWP?

I am back from my holidays.. How's everyone? =)

Despite that, my Ad is still not confirmed though we have a rough date...

joyle: The package I signed up for is OTR (with the option to topup for MTM package) so I was thinking of going down to see if there's anything OTR which catches my fancy ;)

Are you with TWP as well?

joyle: I get what you mean.. its really very awkward lor! Your package with Unique-colours seems good yea.. I'm quite tempted to have instant photoprinting or photobooth for the dinner.. some entertainment for the guests..

zhuzhu: Welcome back!

purplebottle>> went to see TWP, but not with them. love their gowns, but cos' got quite some top-ups so i didnt go for it.

clint>> yeap~ quite comprehensive package to start with..

hello gals!! jus wanna share my experience with a freelance videographer i met during the week.

i met this VG in Bishan on tues evening. Supposed to meet at Bishan MaC. but he sms to ask if we can change to another restaurant bcos his WIFE wants to eat there. for a moment i was quite blur as i didn't expect to be meeting his wife too on such business meeting.

Anyway i agreed to his request since it would be a quick meeting. However, when i reach Bishan, i found out my HTB had already got me a drink. so i nicely ask if he can come out of the restaurant to have a quick meeting instead? and guess what?? his reply was: i am having my dinner, give me 10 mins.

i thought he was very unprofessional but still decided to give him another chance by waiting for another 10 mins.

when i finally get to meet him, he did not even bother to intro himself or his wife. he took his own sweet time to take out his laptop and even engage in small conversation with his wife!!

me and HTB felt left out for awhile but decided to end everything fast. i am really disappointed with such work ethics. even though i am paying a lower price as compared to the better VG, i would feel that being professional is very important.

Wa.. that's not only not being professional but also no EQ! Totally cannot trust this type of person to do a proper job! It's very impt to get a reliable and good VG.. Can't imagine him trying to finish e food n let u wait!

haha of cos not engaging him!!!! but just feel angry and cannot imagine why will they wanna bring their wife on such meetings.

are they not confident to meet couples on their own??

or are their wife insecure??

he even commented that my schedule was very packed and suggested me to hold my tea ceremony in church.

but my schedule was not packed at all lo. its jus church, den groom's house and bride's house for tea ceremony. travellig time between all 3 places is only 15-20 mins each.

Rachel: Should tell us who is this lousy VG, so that we can blacklist him!

His attitude the first meetup reflects his work ethic on the wedding day as well.

Can u imagine that during the wedding day, the VG asking u to wait for him to come and film the lowering of the veil cuz he is still eating his breakfast?

hahaha!! ya! my sister in law say maybe he bring his wife on AD too.

but i dunno is it i unlucky or wat lo. den i think he very free. he even go and check up my facebook. and apparently we have some mutual friends la, so during the meet up he keep asking mi how i know this? how i know that.

my personal life he so kpo. maybe he thinks this is one way to break the ice. i dunno lo. jus feel he is not professional and rude!!

if u search for wedding videographer in yahoo, his website should appear in the 2nd search result.

its my own guess that he is doing it to break the ice la. but i seriously dunno why he bother to check my FB. maybe if i am too ugly he dun take my job is it?? hahaha!!!

hi sapphire~ i havent met my AD PG/VG yet, but i quite determined to get them. hope they dun turn out like what u experienced, if not i'll be super disappointed.

deciding on Unique Colours. U met up with quite a few PGs? cos' seems like only a few will meet up outside. Unique Colours got no office, so it's also meet outside. Not them ar?

sapphire,im also with Moo Media. we paid 40% as deposit.

j0yle: u mean u've decided withtout meeting them? how come leh? Ya, most have offices but I've also met professional freelances as well.. but they're also not cheap..haha..

I'm suddenly very keen in getting a CS, hopefully will be in time for my PS too! Am going to check out some CS shops.. *excited*